Used 2014 Lexus IS 350 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,997 - $28,994

Used IS 350 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Awesome blend of sport and luxury.

Byron, 11/14/2015
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I wanted to drive mine for a few months before rating it. My first impressions were nothing but positive, so I thought I would drive it for a bit before advising others. Here are the categories that are important to me: Looks: Exterior: I love the way my IS350 F Sport looks. I've read that it's polarizing, and I think that's pretty accurate. For me, it's perfect. Looks: Interior: I love the interior. This was the main reason I chose Lexus over Audi, BMW, or Mercedes. Since I'm on the inside, I care about that more than the exterior. The mouse takes some time to get used to, but now it's like 2nd nature. I love the way it clicks into position depending on which screen I'm in. It doesn't just free float like a traditional mouse. It knows where each button is on each screen, and gives physical feedback as you toggle. The guages are one of the best features. It's extremely easy to have the info you want clearly visible. Performance: I almost always drive in Sport+ mode. The only time I drive in Normal mode is on the interstate (for the extra gas mileage). In town, it's just too much fun to drive in Sport+ mode to worry about the gas savings. The F Sport in the RWD is the way to go due to the 8 speed transmission. Every gear is so smooth and acceleration is adequate for normal driving. One of my favorite parts of driving in Sport+ mode is the throaty engine sound when the RPM go above 3k. It gives the extra feel to the experience of driving a sports car without having it become obnoxious.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Will not buy another Lexus

wasgmguy, 04/08/2014
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Just traded in my 08 cadillac CTS on this new 2014 IS350 AWD. I have been a GM guy all my life and decided to go with my first import car. I looked at BMW, Audi, Ford Fusion and a few others. If you are looking for a true sport sedan, look else were. This is more luxury than sport. It has a very comfortable interior and perfectly laid out. It does handle great and has very impressive performance. I still think BMW does handle a little better. Audi was a little too stiff riding but had a lush interior. But Lexus fit all my requirements this time. I have only owned it for a couple months, so far, so good. I hope it's reliable as they say. Updated Oct.09/16 Reliability has been OK. Something drained the battery one day, and when taken to the dealer, they had no explanation. This happens to my friends GS350 constantly. The voice activation/navigation is a joke and Lexus should be embarrassed. Lots of road noise for a car of this price. I will be trading this car in for another brand once the warranty is due.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Switched after 4 BMWs and a lot of problems

Mike H, 11/15/2016
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I am a self admitted car guy. I have had no less than 8 cars since 2000 and have either driven BMWs or Volvos. I see a lot of posts about Lexus vs. the BMW. I would ask the BMW owner to specify when they are reviewing their car-is it before or after 50,000 miles. I have had a 3 series, 5 series, 2008 X-5 4.8 L and a 2014 X-3. In 50% of my BMWs, I had major mechanical issues in or around 50,000 miles. Without hestitation, my favorite car was my 2008 X-5. It was fast and luxurious, but after spending 3 days at the dealer for a high pitched transmission whine, I decided not to wait for the full repair bill. I recently picked up a 2014 Lexus IS 350 F sport with 19" wheels. The car is an absolute blast to drive and the interior is amazing. I find the sport+ mode super responsive with an engine that has no lag and keeps giving. What makes me love this car is the reliability. With the BMWs, I was constantly worried about a major repair bill-with the Lexus, which I bought with 39,xxx miles, I feel like the car is just getting warmed up. It's a car that is both reliable and fast and one I can see myself driving for a long time. It clearly is not as fast or tight as a 335, but it's way more reliable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great car, with a few exceptions

Tom B, 03/02/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I lease a Lexus IS350 with the F-Sport option, and for the past 3 years it has been a lot of fun to drive. I turn mine in this May so I figured I have enough experience with it to write an honest review. First of all, I'm not a race car driver, so I don't much to compare against. But this car feels very sporty to me, has plenty of pickup, good handling, and a snappy suspension. The infotainment system is fantastic. I especially love the 2nd display sitting behind the steering wheel. It's top-notch; plenty of bling and wow factor when you show a friend how the main dial moves over to reveal a 2nd screen. And it's functional, allowing you to do 2 things at once (music + navigation for example). The voice activation is decent enough. I really grew to like the center console "mouse" so if you test drive this car, don't be too put off by it. It grows on you. There is one big negative though, and you should know this before purchasing or leasing. The road noise is excessive. I realize this is a sporty car that sits low to the ground, but that shouldn't be an excuse for having to jack up the volume on your music at 55 MPH on a road that isn't all that old. And yes, this is with the standard tires AND with new replacements. The bottom carriage of the car simply does not have enough insulation to block out what is happening underneath. It wasn't a deal-breaker for me, but I can imagine some people would hate it. If you test drive, make sure to insist driving the car on a highway, preferrably one that hasn't been re-surfaced in the past couple years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my IS350

LexusLover, 03/17/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Love the feel and handling of this car. It's so fun to drive. Only qualms: Car vents for air conditioning could be stronger, I have to turn air all the way up to feel anything and then it's loud and annoying. Also, I should have opted for the better quality sound system. However, I feel confidant that it will always take me to and from wherever I have to go...safely. Previously I had 2 BMWs. I love the way my IS350 drives better than the 3 series I had. I also had the X5 and loved it but it was too big. I opted for this smaller sporty car and have the same fun driving this as I did the X5 even though they are two completely different vehicles. I wouldn't trade this car for anything.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Upgrading from '06 IS 350 to '14 IS 350 F-Sport

element118, 06/11/2016
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

No doubt there should be a difference upgrading from an eight year vehicle to a newer car! Overall, I am very happy with my current addition of a 2014 IS 350 F Sport, definitely an upgrade from the 2006 IS 350 Sport I previously owned. Here are some observations: I'd give the current '14 IS 350 F Sport car a 9.0, vs. a 7.0, not surprising it has been 8 years in evolution. Plusses for the '14 IS include: very cool LFA-inspired instrumentation (although wish mph could be toggled to "analogue"), heavier, but substantial steering, sport modes incl S+, being able to change vehicle settings (incl door locks), LED lights, super comfortable front seats, more rear seat room, folding rear seats, plus I got F-Sport breaks and the air in-take. I do feel it is much faster (w/8spd transmission), although per rated HP it is not (prob get +5-10HP with the F-Sport air intake). Mark Levinson sound system is better by a small margin; like the USB connectivity, EnTune and Bluetooth radio Drawbacks vs. the '06 IS 350 incl: lack of ventilated seats, no memory seats (should be at least 2 sets, at least on driver's side): no sunglass compartment (ok since in did not work properly); console opens only upward and thus awkward vs. sliding backward and opening upward; moonroof operation was much better in '06 IS 350 Update Dec-18: now driving since purchase in 2016 - love the acceleration, torque and 8 speed transmission - much more fun that the 2006 I owned previously; love the F-Sport breaks but replacement was $3,000 at just under 30k miles (may be less without rotor replacements); remaining criticisms after 33k miles are as mentioned initially, the lack of ventilated seats (here in California, would use much more than heated seats that it has); and it really needs at least one memory setting for the driver seat; also neglected to mention the seats are very comfortable and a definite upgrade vs. the '06

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

2014 Lexus IS350 F-Sport

Joel Corprew , 02/05/2018
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Owned this car for about 5 months now for my wife and we love it I occasionally drive it now and then. Coming from a 2012 MB C250 it’s definitely an upgrade. With 306hp you don’t really feel it since the car is somewhat heavy but you do feel the torque of 277 at a dead stop and you floor it. But once it’s up there it speed it tends to fell sluggish compared to other cars. The ride is smooth and quiet. Too quiet for me to be honest but hey your buying a Japanese luxury car. My only complaint is the voice command is extremely trash. It either won’t understand what your saying or do something completely opposite. Entering an address is a pain because 7 out of 10 times it’ll be wrong so I just use my phone. Haven’t had any major issues on this car since it is a daily driver miles will go up fast

Report Abuse

Great Exterior, Not so well designed Interior

kikileon, 11/10/2014
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
12 of 20 people found this review helpful

Great looking outside, definitely! Lots of power. Sadly the interior kills this car: Being a 2014, Lexus really missed the mark, specially for today's modern electronics. Poorly designed are: compass pointer appears to point in the opposite direction. Default on the main screen is not Home; poor map utility; no change holder for coins; cup holder is too narrow for anything other than a small cup; no place to put your phone; radio missing many featured buttons such as Scan button; no memory setting for seats/mirrors; poor turn signal design; poor dash display; radio highs are muffled; mouse does not click so you have to fiddle a lot to get it where you want.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lexus Lover that just upgraded...

amschel, 06/07/2019
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my first Lexus, aka as my Silver Bullet, in early 2014. I loved my car from the get go. It will still probably be my favorite car I have ever owned. I recently upgraded to a 2014. What the 2014 lacks from my 2006 makes up for what my 2006 lacked. I love the blind spot monitors but they only really work properly when the car is RIGHT next to you. My 06 did not have these so I do like them, but the sensoring could be better. Can we talk about how annoying the park assist is in a drive-through!!!... It beeps constantly and I feel like I have to be a foot or more from the window for it to stop constantly beeping, but again my 06 had none of these features so this are just minor annoyances. I got the AWD and the suspension feel to me is still an adjustment. My 06 was standard RWD before, so I feel like I feel bumps more easily now in the 14. I do love the feel of the new seats, and the back seat seems to be much roomier than the 06 - 12 model line was before. so very much a plus, but think the biggest issue I have is why did Lexus take away the touch screen ability!! I get it to an extend because the new model the screen sits further down into the dash that I couldn't really reach the new screen while driving, but the mouse is weird to me. I have heard and seen a lot of people complain about these so hopefully Lexus will listen for the new model line and bring back the touch screen. So much easier to navigate and use! All and all I love both cars and will probably buy a third IS down the line as I have overall been extremely happy with the reliability of this brand.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

F-Sport package is worth the upgrade!

bluesteelm3, 04/01/2014
4dr Sedan (3.5L 6cyl 8A)
19 of 37 people found this review helpful

I just recently traded my 2011 Lexus IS350 F-Sport for the 2014. I planned on ordering a 2014 IS F, but after test driving the IS350, was pretty much sold. I considered waiting for the RS F, but decided I did not want a coupe. The handling of this car is very similar to my 2006 M3...this car handles turns and seems to ‘grip’ the road much better than my 2011 IS – it drives more like a BMW. The engine sounds incredible – and truly proves that despite the luxury, this is a sports car. I ordered the red leather interior (which comes with carbon fiber trim and black accents), and it is absolutely gorgeous. The technology is significantly improved and the interior is much more sleek and refined.

Report Abuse

This is one of the best cars I have ever driven.

jmarte, 03/08/2014
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
18 of 44 people found this review helpful

The performance is impressive coming from a V6 and it is so comfortable for a small sports car. The interior isn't bad at all it is like being in a modern art museum! The mouse on the dashboard is extremely helpful. I could look up traffic alerts and it automatically changes my route so I don't have to go into heavy traffic. I would prefer this to any Audi.

Report Abuse

Great car

Scott Bishop, 10/05/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Awesome car that is well balanced all around.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great car

Voytek Rzankowski, 12/28/2017
4dr Sedan AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lexus support and service not so good anymore.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050