Skip to main content
MSRP Starting at
$43,340

Save as much as $3,741
Select your trim:
12345...8

We have a limited number of reviews for the 2023 ES 300h, so we've included reviews for other years of the ES 300h since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Lexus ES Hybrid - Generally a great car

Anthony1977, 03/22/2022
updated 09/22/2023
2022 Lexus ES 300h 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
35 of 35 people found this review helpful

Have had my ES Hybrid for about 4 months and 6000 miles now, including a 2500 mile round trip from Pennsylvania to Florida. My average mpg over those 6k miles is sitting right at 39. A bit disappointing given the EPA ratings, but still pretty good given the size of the car. My best tank was 43 while doing local driving on flat roads in Florida - my worst tank was 36 on the trip home from Florida moving fairly "briskly." Hopefully my average improves as we move out of winter - gas mix will change and the gas engine definitely runs more often with the HVAC system engaged as one would expect. This review may seem mpg focused, but I imagine that's why most folks would be interested in the hybrid version vs. the standard gas engine version, as you do give up some "performance" for the better mileage. Otherwise there is not much to complain about - I personally love the looks of the very mildly updated 2022 model with the new 10 spoke wheel design in Cloudburst Gray. I had been shopping between this and an Avalon Hybrid, but in my opinion the Lexus is better looking, had much better selection (at least in November '21,) and the pricing was very similar - Toyota was marking up their limited stock while I got $1k off my Lexus that was a perfect match to the limited options I was looking for. The dealership experience was about as pleasant and low-pressure as one could ask for, and I have not had any problems with the car to date. I did look at a leftover '21 model as well in November, but that touchpad-only display interface was not very good. The '22 models still have the touchpad, but the screen is now a touchscreen as well and I use that - for me it's fairly straightforward and easy to use. Car is great for highway cruising - you do get noise from that 4cylinder engine when it's accelerating, but that's one of the hybrid tradeoffs. The rear seat doesn't fold down (there is a small pass-through) which bugged me at first, but in 6000 miles it hasn't come up once. All in all, if you're looking for a large/luxury sedan that gets great mileage and you're not ready for the jump to a full-electric vehicle you really can't go wrong with the ES hybrid - and you don't really have many other options on the market. No regrets from this buyer - I'd update from 4 star to 5 star if I could consistently hit the EPA figures like others have. UPDATE1: Now has been about 10 months since I took delivery and I have 13.5k miles on the car, with another round trip from PA to FL. The lifetime average is sitting right around 41mpg. Still a very happy customer - not a single issue over that time. I have the "Rich Creme" interior color which looks sharp, but every few month I do use a leather cleaner in the high-traffic areas to keep it looking good. And now that my wife has given in and started to drive it she likes it too - she's looking at a NX Hybrid for her next vehicle refresh... UPDATE2: Now has been about 22 months since I took delivery in Nov 2021 and just under 30k miles on the car. Lifetime average improved to 42mpg and seems to have leveled off. Still very happy with the purchase - great for my PA to FL runs and not a single reliability issue. Only complaint about the first 30k miles is the stock Bridgestone Turanza EL440 that the car came with. These were worn out at about 28k miles, even with highway driving and regular rotations so that was strike one against them. Wasn't until I replaced with a set of Michelin CrossClimate2 that I realized how much louder the stock tires were - new tires are much quieter, and perform much better in wet conditions. Time will tell how much MPG I've sacrificed for less road noise and better performance but if it's a small delta it will be worth it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

A great place to be on long drive or daily commute

Mr. H, 01/24/2022
2022 Lexus ES 300h 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

This car is not a highly engaging sports sedan meant for canyon carving. However, this car is ABSOLUTELY AMAZING at being what it is built for; a luxurious, comfortable, smooth driving, great mpg, well put together, lovely place to be. The driving dynamics are a nice improvement over prior model years, (we owned a 2018 ES 350 previously). The interior is super spacious, quiet, and feels very upscale. Lexus NuLuxe material is a good leather alternative that softens with age and wears really well. Our 4+ year old ES 350 still looked new inside. Apple car play is not wireless, but plug it in and it works seamlessly. The new touch screen is the vast improvement we needed the most over the prior generation infotainment. Physical knobs and buttons for the A/C and Audio are convenient rather than sorting through screens. At the end of the day, Toyota knows how to build hybrids. This car is a wonderful vehicle, solid value, which I expect will have have insane durability and great long term reliability that we have all come to recognize as a core of Lexus vehicles. Fill up the tank and your next stop could be 600+ miles down the road.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful car! Better ride!

Pat Kunnecke, 01/16/2021
2021 Lexus ES 300h Luxury 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

My wife and I love to travel and have gone through three ES models before this purchase. Just love the ride and luxury interior. Decided on the 300h this time and are very pleased. Still a smooth ride with plenty of pickup for the interstate on ramps. But now we add the 40+ mpg for both in town and long trips. It’s a beautiful ride.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

2022 Lexus ESh

G Sledge, 02/01/2022
2022 Lexus ES 300h Luxury 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I’ve only owned it for a couple of days so far but I am pleasantly pleased with the car and technology. I’m learning new things every time I drive it. The LTA in cruise control is cool. But I guess the most impressive thing for me is the mileage. I’ve gone 170 miles in only a quarter of a tank!!! 2/23/22: Recent purchase of the Lexus ES 300H. One of the main reasons for the purchase was the hybrid gas mileage and range. I am very pleased that I have driven over 1100 miles so far and the 43 mpg is as advertised. I also love all of the techie stuff.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Bold & Beautiful

Patrick NC, 12/08/2021
2022 Lexus ES 300h F SPORT 4dr Sedan (2.5L 4cyl gas/electric hybrid CVT)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have been watching this car for a while from afar. The style of Lexus is evident throughout. It performs quite well on the highway and around town. The only negative aspects for me is the lack of Android Auto and there not being a delay in power off after killing the engine. Sometimes you want to listen to the radio after arriving at the destination without having to enter Aux mode. Love the car! Great on gas as expected and a very smooth, quiet ride.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: