Used 1999 INFINITI G20 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$864 - $2,082

Used G20 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Infiniti

FantasiePhoebus, 05/05/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This was my first car and I am so glad I got it even though it has had so many problems. Still a fantastic car! Just take care of it so these problems don't happen!

Report Abuse

What An Underdog

Deon, 09/27/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car has been everything I could have possibly asked for. I used Edmunds for the reviews, and they have been dead on. This car is built for longevity, agility and very good fuel economy for todays times. It's not a car you see very often, so it's almost like having a limited edition Infiniti. I bought this car with 142k on it, within almost one year, I have now reached 171k... not a single problem. Regular maintenance... I use full synthetic oil, amazing the difference it makes on performance. Great car, great value, classic Infiniti style.

Report Abuse

Awesome

charles stuart, 11/01/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased as a car to drive until i found what i wanted. well-this turned out to be what i wanted. plan to keep as long as it keeps giving me quality ownership

Report Abuse

I love this car!

Dr. Skillz, 06/29/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The G20 (Nissan Primera) is a wonderful, bulletproof (do your research on the SR20DE) vehicle to own! The handling is superb (check out its racing heritage in the BTCC). I have the Autumn Bronze color, which receives compliments all the time. Other than routine oil changes, I have only spent money on brakes, rotors, pads, and upgrading the exhaust manifold to headers. This car will not disappoint you in terms of reliability. I love driving my G20. The sound system is great. Its road manners are excellent. The community at G20.net is wonderful for learning more about this beautiful car. The car advert says it best: "Born in Japan. Educated in Europe. Now Available in America."

Report Abuse

Good Car

JK, 12/23/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 99 G20 in Nov 2002, and have put 78k miles up to now. This car has been driven across the country twice, and never broke down, and is a very comfortable ride.

Report Abuse

Eleven Years and Going Strong w/ 167,000

imbestone, 08/24/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Best car I ever owned. 11 years old and I am still driving it. Had my first issue with car at 130,000. Had to replace clutch on 5-speed. I most be the lucky one, because we are still putting 100 plus miles a day on this car. Can't beat the reliability!

Report Abuse

Great Car - Replaced a 1991 G20

dbleze, 04/20/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Wonderful car, compact luxury car. All the special features I was looking for in a car that was not bigger than I need.

Report Abuse

So In Love

In LOVE!!!, 12/26/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from the girlfriend of the original owner's son. They didn't take very good care of her. As a result I have replace the brakes, rotors, pads the whole deal and the passenger calipers. Other than that this girl has been through a lot with me - cross country, in and out of Canada and she never gives up!! Now at 205000 miles she is starting to make some noises I am concerned with but no one can figure out what it is. My best guess would be the timing chain but at any rate, I am replacing her this month with a 2002 g20 with 75000 miles. I know i will be just as happy for years to come!

Report Abuse

Stylish, Yet Reliable

BCorzine, 05/18/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car has the best of both worlds. On one hand, people see it and notice that it is an Infiniti. On the other had, it is more reliable than a 4 cyl. Honda Accord! Consumer Reports rated it as the most reliable "family car" (although I prefer not to label it as one), and I have not had a single problem yet. If you are looking for a luxury car, but you have been hesitant to buy one because you didn't want to pay to maintain it or if you keep cars for the long haul, buy this car. If you can get over the sluggishness (I have), it only gets better!

Report Abuse

I love it!

Jenn, 06/10/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I just purchased a used G20 from an Infinite dealer. It was a great buy! I love the look of the car and I feel safe in it. It handles well and drives like it is floating. I highly recommend the G20!

Report Abuse

Best bang for your buck

roadrunner, 07/05/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I drove several models including Mercedes, Volvo, Lexus, Accura, Maxima and Infiniti. I chose the Infiniti for it's value, performance and insurance rates. This little 4 cyl is very peppy. It doesn't shine off the line, but it will walk any 302 Mustang on the road. It corners better than any of the cars I drove including the Mercedes. It's leather, power everything, Bose stereo, 60/70 warrenty and free loaner car, make it a pleasure to own. It's by no means the perfect car but I think it's by far the best value for your money. It you're looking at vehicles in the $17k-35k range, consider the G20. Do your homework and see for yourself.

Report Abuse

Great car very dependable

JASON CONTE, 04/14/2016
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Infiniti G20 - Good economical sedan

Lisa Inghram, 04/10/2002
1 of 6 people found this review helpful

My experience with my Infiniti G20 has been great! The car is a small compact sedan with all the features possible from heated seats to a digital Bose stereo system. I haven't had any mechanical problems with my car and have been pleased with the fuel economy. The overall integrity of the car is a 10.

Report Abuse

wouldn't get this car again

mad, 02/25/2010
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

ok when i first got this car it had 50K miles on it and as soon as i hit 89K everything started to go bad. first my fuses blew then at 100K i needed a new timing belt 110K my alternator needed to be replaced 120K i needed a new starter, distributor cap and spark plugs when i get it back from the mechanic the radiator went bad and almost blew me engine. i couldn't even pull into a driveway that sits a little up with out it messing up me bumper.

Report Abuse

One of the Worst Cars I Ever Owned

diggergirl1996, 02/04/2013
1 of 19 people found this review helpful

I find it surprising that the last reviewer decided to keep their 99 instead of trade it for something better. I on the other hand would have driven this heap of garbage into the junkyard had I known what a terrible car it was. I even read reviews on here for months before I decided to buy one from a neighbor, who obviously heard about my disappointments. From the moment I started driving it, lights starting come on. First it was the speed sensor, then the ABS, then the car started shaking at 45 miles an hour, the ball joints were complete crap and the entire alignment went off within a month.

Report Abuse

Still the best car on the road

Vanessa W, 01/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was the first almost new car I bought in the luxury range. I was happy with the leather and Bose speakers. It still looks good after all this time and I wouldn't trade it in for the world. No major problems

Report Abuse

Very nice for the price

That Guy, 09/27/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought the G20 3 weeks ago with 121k. I am using the car as a commuter to drive almost 100 miles/day and am thrilled by the comfort and reliability of this Infiniti. It doesn't dazzle with power or handling, but for a smaller car, it is a very comfortable ride that is perfect for a commute. Due to the timing chain, extensive records from the previous owner and general reputation of Nissan products I am looking forward to many maintenance free years. Only thing I have had to do is replace the upper control arm bushings and the inner tie rod (suspension is evidently the Achilles heel of these particular cars). If that is all I have to do, this is a great car for under 5k!

Report Abuse

Is good car

pizza delivery dude, 03/25/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like the car. It has 180,000 so far. Nice outside and inside. About the reliability, well I have changed almost everything you can think of except the engine. Maybe it's just the way I drive but my old '95 Ford escort was more reliable then the g20. However I don't regret buying it because it's somehow special. It's not like just another regular car. My favorite part is the easy tuning. Faster than bmw3, Subaru 2.5, Saab 9-3, Toyota Camry - tundra v8, scion xb-tc, Honda Accord - Civic 4 cyl, Audi a4 1.8t, Kia soul, SUV state police Chevy Tahoe and more tested

Report Abuse

infinti

chris , 07/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

fun to drive and great to pick up the ladies. The infiniti g20 is luxurious and reliable car. I recommend this car to anyone who is looking for all of the qualities I mentioned above.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

G20T Rocks, 02/19/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought new in 1999. No problems other than routine. Car has held up exceptionally well for 9 years. If I ever had to design a car, it would turn out exactly like this. It's too bad they stopped making it - I'd buy it again if I could. Got over 150K miles on it and everything has held up well.

Report Abuse

I'm ruined for all other cars!!!

Horizon13, 08/22/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The G20 is an amazing car. It is well- built, handles beautifully, and looks great on the road. I've taken her on many long road trips and she always handles herself gracefully in any driving conditions. I've never had to have her taken in for maintenance problems. I would recommend this car for anyone.

Report Abuse

Best Value for Money/ Great Resale

hmcconsulting, 08/31/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car as my first new car and I have been extremely impressed. The power, luxury and value for the money have remained the best points about the car. Service has also been wonderful. I first leased then purchased the car and also received very good deals through the dealership. I plan to purcahse the G35 coupe next and don't plan to buy anything but infiniti for the next 5- 10 years. In addition, I have encouraged my parents and friends to buy infiniti.

Report Abuse

Great Fun!

nexus4567, 09/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Infiniti G20 is one of the best cars that I have ever driven. (How many other cars can take sharp corners at 90+ mph without you feeling a thing?) Staying within the posted speed limit is a plus, but with the G20 its hard to, the ride is so smooth and jolt-free its hard to tell how fast you're going!

Report Abuse

Great car, great value

sfmatt, 02/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Handles superb, looks sharp, and very comfortable. It's a perfect city car, yet is also comfortable on long trips. Hums along at 80 like you're doing 40 (always within posted speed limits, of course!). The driver and passenger seats are really comfortable, and the back seats are among the most roomy in its class. There was no messing around at the dealership with endless additional options--give me leather and touring--and the customer service is great. I love this car!

Report Abuse

Best Car

J.J., 02/13/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned the car for six years now, and can say it is the best car I have ever driven. Other than life limited items like tires and the battery, the car has been entirely trouble-free. The stickshift makes the most of the small engine, gets great mileage, and is fun to drive.

Report Abuse

Review for 1999 Infinity G20

Yuri Anisimov, 10/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great car overall. Maybe a little slow, but very comfortable and cozy. I love the body style and all the neat little features. Cup holders could probably be positioned in a better place. I guess if this car had as much power as the style, it would've been simply perfect.

Report Abuse

Excellent Car

MJ, 04/08/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Easily the car car I've ever owned, probably the best there is for the price. A sporty, fun-driving car cleverly disguised as a sedan. Some lament a lack of power, but with the manual transmission, I don't notice it until I get to the gas pump (I get 28-31 mpg). It doesn't have a useful cupholder. But who cares? I've had the car 6 years and 90,000 miles, and have only had scheduled maintenance and tire and battery replacement.

Report Abuse

GREAT CAR

JK, 05/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my g20 for 2 1/2 years with no problems. It is very comfortable and has a great soundsystem to boot. The car handles like a luxury car should, and this car is bulit to last. I totally agree with basically all of the reviews, yes please a little more power!! My 89 celica had much more jump for a 4 banger. Yes, the cup holder is a joke, as I have cleaned a few messes from spilage! Overfall, this car rocks!!!

Report Abuse

G20

g20 fan, 12/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a very reliable and dependable car. In addition, it came with lots of nice features that I've enjoyed.

Report Abuse

Love It

jr, 12/27/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We have a 1999 G20T with 130,000+ miles. We love it and have had ZERO problems. Thanks to this car we now only buy Nissan products. This car has become a commuter car, but we will keep it until it's dead. We have since purchased a 05 I35 and like it just as much.

Report Abuse

Great car..... Where's the rust from

Borya, 01/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased the car 2 years ago, gas mileage is at a poor 20 - 25(very low for a four banger), the car handles great, and has decent pickup(5spd). This year noticed that my roof is boiling, all of the paint is lifting off due to rust. along all the window lines and dead center. Infiniti approved that it was a defect, but refused to fix under warranty

Report Abuse

Reliable G-20!

acase, 02/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car brand new, and still have it 5.5 years later with 93,000 miles. Car has been extremely reliable (and it is driven for a sales position that requires lots of weekly miles), just kept up with regular maintenance. Only thing that bothered me consistently was the poor placement of cup holdeers.

Report Abuse

6'4'' Doesn't fit

Need a bigger car, 03/09/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The most reliable car out there. I had it for 5 years 67,000 miles and did not have any service done besides front brakes and new tires! Unfortunately, I am tall and did not fit well in the car, and I am moving on. The two things this car needed were more power, and useful cup holders. Otherwise, it was the perfect car. Looks, feel, reliability...I will miss her!

Report Abuse

It's gotten even better with time

DuffyNC, 04/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1999 G20 new in November of 1998. I got a very good deal, helped by the fact that I was trading in a G20 I had bought used at the same dealership. It's been a great car. I have had all the service done at the dealership and have never had a major problem. I see lots of pretty models on the road but can't imagine why i would trade this car in. It's as solid and fun a ride as ever. More pep would be nice but I know that would have come at some higher level of cost.

Report Abuse

Great Car!!!

NismoLover, 04/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

bought my G20 with 80K, sure it's got quite some mileage on it, but the car drives and handles GREAT! and most important of all, it's the most reliable car i've ever owned. i drove a Audi before and to be honest, the A4 is one of the best car i've ever driven, but the maintainance and parts cost A TON!! which is why i sold it and bought my G20 now. Sure it's a bit slow off the line, but once you get past 40+ mph, it's a presure to drive. I even did 125 mph once, with 3 passengers on board!!

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

Liz :), 06/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car! It's the best car I ever drove. It drives very smoothly and is really quiet. The BOSE system is awesome. The leather interior is great. I was in love with this car until it got totaled when someone hit my mom head on. This is an extremely safe car because even though the outside was beyond repair, the inside was completely fine and didn't cave in at all. The only downfall to the car is that the maintainance costs a ton and the cup holder sucks because you can't fit anything bigger than a small drink in it.

Report Abuse

1999 Infiniti G20 review

FreddieB, 08/23/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This the best car for the $$$$$.

Report Abuse

One of the best 10 cars in the world

Skyline, 08/27/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've own it for more than 5 yrs now. Not a single problem. Excellent design and quality through out. 20 years down the road this car is a sure classic.

Report Abuse

Great Car

jwill2, 10/29/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Its really a great car not a lot of power under the hood but it gets the job done. Handles extremely well and is very reliable. I have put 10,000 miles on it with problems.

Report Abuse

Infiniti G20

Mike, 10/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been very reliable up until this year when I have had to fix the moon roof $1000, the starter $400, and a battery $100. But they are the only repairs (other than routine matinence) that have been done in 120,000 miles.

Report Abuse

Great Value compact car

cruza30, 11/13/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for almost a year and purchased it because of the Edmund's review. For the price you'll pay for this used vehicle, you'll find reliability, comfort and decent styling for an older car. My only regret is not buying the touring model.

Report Abuse

Fun car to drive

ebok, 12/10/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Have put 70K miles on this car;now with 107K miles. No mechanical problems, enjoy the drive. Gets 27 mpg.Roomy interior, decent leg room. Great sound system. Trunk space good.Power is good, only problem is occasional hesitation when stomp on the gas.Would definitely get another Infiniti.

Report Abuse

Everything but the speed

MikeZ, 03/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been the most reliable car i have ever owned. The handling has gotten me outta many different close calls. This car has great features for the interior as well as the exterior. Im sure the new G35 is what I have been waiting for though.

Report Abuse

Great Little Car

drhine2478, 03/06/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased used with 38,005 miles in December 02. Now has over 215,000 miles and is still going strong. It is a manual 5 speed and gets 30 mpg on open roads (typically cruise 80mph interstates). At 97,000 had a clutch plate issue - have replaced all brake rotors once - replace muffler at 210,000. Other than that it has oil changes every 5000 miles, along with normal maintenance. At 62 years old this will probably be the last manual transmission I will own but it has been fun to throw around the highways and byways. Note: wife had a 1999 QX4 Infiniti with over 200,000 miles also purchased in 2002 - hers had 67,000 when purchased. The G20t has been well worth the $13,000 I paid for it.

Report Abuse

Where did the horses go

ucgsb, 05/01/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car off of the lot with 1.1 miles on it. I drive like an old lady. Extremely reliable. Well built, except for the fan motor that murmurs. It's automatic. I average 23.5 in the city and 34 hwy (I never go past 3k rpm). 140 hp would be enough if they improved the low end torque. The engine is easily modified to 205 hp with $$$, but this is what it should have been off of the lot, like the skyline, 200se, etc that use this engine.

Report Abuse

Awesome little car

Fran, 08/19/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car! With it's euro styling, comfortable interior and great cornering, it is a jewel. I researched many used cars before I found this one and I don't want to part with it. I've had this car for 5 years, it has 81,000 and it is still going strong with all power option still working, no rattles. Sound little car!!

Report Abuse

99 Infiniti G20

Christopher Butler, 04/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car rocks. I have never had as nice a vehicle as this one, and I've had a few cars in my day. The performance was wonderful and the gas mileage was a welcome suprise.

Report Abuse

Best Used Car I've Ever Owned

Cruz, 11/12/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I used edmunds.com to view the G20 rating before purchasing a black/tan used G20 from a small dealership. The rating couldn't have been more true. I've owned the car over a year and a half with ZERO problems, even with a 130k miles on it. They told me it had a chain timing belt which is good for 250k mi. Great car, cabin noise is lower than my 25k '04 honda accord.

Report Abuse

Tried and True

Liam Bird, 08/05/2018
Touring 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Voted best handling sport sedan in 99’. Not that great on the low end but comes into its own above 3500 rpm for a great driving experience, bullet proof drive train, and absolutely exceptional handling. This car is a beast in the snow, and has gotten me through countless blizzards of a foot of snow or more with all season tires and proper throttle modulation. Couldn’t be happier with the way this car has survived the New Hampshire elements over the past 20 years, going to be a sad day when I have to let her go.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050