Used 2016 Hyundai Equus Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$21,148 - $26,743

Used Equus for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Luxury BMW type car without the price and more

Jeff, 01/18/2016
Ultimate 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
32 of 32 people found this review helpful

Be sure to get all the incentives. The sticker in our car was almost 70 grand but after drilling them for all the incentives we walked out with the top of the line car for under 50 thousand what a steal. The car spoils me every time I drive it!!!! I love it.....Update, just went down and test drive the Audi A8. Sorry brand lovers but the Audi does not have the look or feel of the luxury Equus. I am not a brand guy. I go with the best car all around for the money. When I had my Audi I never once had someone come up and say " wow thet is a beautiful car what is it" i get that at least twice a week. Look inside the A8 then look inside the Equus Ultimate. It clearly screams better quality and more options. The price tag was 35 thousand more for the A8 which isnt half the car. Now I know all the brand loving Audi people are gonna post all kinds of things after reading this. Just know I owned the Audi I wanted another one but thank god I found this Equus first it is truly a highway cruising comfortable car with every bell and whistle. If your not that guy that has to say hey look at my Audi then for sure save the extra 30 grand and buy another car, two for one and you will be an Equus fan and will get over the brand name really fast. I love this car and have so much fun making people try to guess what it is. Thier guesses are usually I dont know a Bently, mercedes, etc. Then watch them call you a liar when you tell them Hyundai makes it...LOL. i still love this car like the day i bought it. .. i took a 1,600.00 mile round trip to scottsdale. No kidding I love the drive hated sitting at my destination. I easily could have gone another 500 that day. I had a lexus blow by me like he was the man. I took it up 154mph no shimmering just sturdy. I got next to this guy waved and took [off. I could see him trying to look at the emblems to see what it is. Its better looking than a BMW or an audi A8. My next car will be a G90 genisis.same car they just broke off thier luxury brand like lexus etc. ILOVE IT

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best luxury car for the money

Eli, 04/21/2016
Ultimate 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
22 of 22 people found this review helpful

As the Hyundai Equus is getting to its end of life (Being replaced in 2017 model year by the new Genesis brand and a new body style and AWD option and will be called G90), the Equus ultimate can be had at a steep discount and excellent financing. We grabbed this opportunity with both hands, and are we glad we did. The comfort, road handling and performance as well as “all gadgets known to man” stand up to the luxury car brands out there. The road handling combined with the amenities are simply exceptional. At the price point of the car, it is unheard of. The engine has all the power one can ask for, the transmission is very smooth shifting, and the air suspension is simply the best. The sitting position in every seat (both front and rear) can be adjusted to the comfort of every person. The driving position and controls are out of this world. I would not even attempt to describe at the electronics and luxury amenities. I will not do them justice. Outside of every possible gadget known to mankind, one can use the remote app on their smartphone to start the car as well as may other functions. I am glad I got the Equus, because I can only imagine the cost of the 2017 Genesis G90 replacement. 2.5 years later I am glad I got the Equus, love the car handling and performance and can only outline the great free service for the first three years and the comments I get from anyone who rides with me in the car for the first time. If you do not care about the emblem, I highly recommend this car. Even if you have already written a check from $85K to $110K and haven’t yet handed it to the dealer of one of those luxury brands, you owe it to yourself to take the Equus for a test drive. My bet is that you will not be sorry you did.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 Equus

Equus, 03/22/2016
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

Whoever is telling others to stay away from this car must be a severe mental services patient. This is the best riding, smoothest vehicle I have ever owned and driven. I have driven all, Mercedes, bmw's range rovers, Bentley's etc, etc and none of them match the handling and sophistication of this car. The car feels as if it were formed using a solid piece of steel and the suspension system is controlled electronically at all times by air. When it rolls across rough bumps, the suspension system literally raises the car to get it prepared for proper damping by the electronically controlled continuous damping function thus eliminating rough roads from the cabin. You can literally feel the car's damping control system softening up all and every rough road surface like magic with no body roll. The suspension system on these cars are extremely sensitive and know exactly how to handle all road surface types. The car never bottoms out and even smooth out speed bumps once detected. Anyone who wants a shockingly comfortable magic type ride should consider the 2016 Equus as lexus, bmw and Mercedes doesn't come anywhere close to the overall sophistication of this car, and it's loaded with tons of gadgets that's too many to list here.. If you don't believe me, go test drive one. I do know i will keep this car for 15 plus years and will enjoy every day of it. Equus is all about reality. Lexus, bmw, mercedes, etc, etc are all about the name and charging people for every high tech feature possible. Equus has so much to offer and should be considered the king of all luxury cars; and it is $100,000 car in Korea so with the base signature class, hyundai is loosing 40k or more for every equus sold in america. The feel of the Equus is priceless. This car is for the smart and detailed oriented individuals.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Out with the 11 and in with the 16

Paul, 09/28/2016
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

With no intention to upgrade my 2011 Equus, I was visiting Pugi Hyundai as my wife was getting service on her Pugi Mazda. I walked over to the Hyundai store and saw a 2016 Equus on the showroom floor. The pricing was awesome with Hyundai rebates and I learned the Equus was going away and was being replaced with the G-90. Without a blick, I drove it home 9-26-2016...on my 29th wedding anniversary. It was my last chance to buy the greatest value luxury car I have ever owned . Note I have had 80 cars since 16 and now 52. BMW, MBZ, Cadillac, Buick, Ford, Pontiac, etc. and I have never purchased the same model twice. The Equus is an amazing vehicle and I was so happy to get the last of the best. Free advice; don't look at the badge or brand. Drive it, look at the beauty, look at the value and put the $50-$70k savings into diamonds for your wife or partner. Last point...don't wait to buy one......period.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ex Mercedes/BMW & Current LS460 Owners

A. Robinson, 01/13/2016
Ultimate 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

Have owned 1995 BMW750il,; 2000 S430 Mercedes; and 2007 Lexus LS460L. I enjoyed those vehicles and at my age, decided to shop for another car of equivalent styles, updated electronics and options. Have followed Equus since its introduction in 2011 and this year I was so impressed with their progress that I purchased one and am very satisfied with it. I am 6'6" tall and and am comfortable in the Equus. It closely resembles the LS460 and differs only slightly as I see it. I love the LS460, hence we still have it. I noticed that it will soon be replaced by the G90 Genesis which in essence is the same car with a different badge to be the flagship vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sold the S500 4matic - bought this

Uncle Fabe, 10/29/2017
Ultimate 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

OK, first there IS a difference in materials between the higher end Mercedes and the Equus, which is to be expected when the car has a sticker price of about 1/2. But for the money, you simply CAN'T MISS! Gas mileage is not great, and if you are buying a big sedan then that likely isn't a concern for you. Power is adequate in comfort mode and very nice in sport mode. The thing about the Ultimate trim is the features are amazing. Raise and lower the whole body (good for parking next to high curbs, or going through deep water). The snow mode is something else! I had an AWD Merc and it slipped and slid in our winter weather. This thing climbs snow covered roads in snow mode with factory all weather tires...it was really bizarre but in a good way. Since the marquis is something most people will turn their nose up at you can basically STEAL these things for several grand under sticker. By several I mean 15-20K under. Mine was bought new from a dealer in the midwest for just under 50K, with a sticker right at 70K. I did have it shipped in so that cost me almost $900. Extended warranty (wrap) was quite cheap. Service is included in the price and the dealer drives out to pick it up and leaves me a loaner. We had a 2011 Genesis 3.8 so I was familiar with the brand. Now I recommend it (Hyundai) to everybody. These Equus' are the poster child for smart buying. Will it depreciate? Sure, but I'm buying transportation not an investment. It's a machine, it will wear out and I will have certainly gotten my money out of it many times over. My S500 fell 90% in value over 9 years, and it was a flagship, I expect similar depreciation of all luxury brands. It's too bad they rebranded as "Genesis" because now people will buy these and pay closer to what they are worth. Which means grab one of these if you can. They are amazing cars for the money!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

excellent!!!!!!!

dave, 07/26/2016
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Upgraded from a sonata turbo I I've never looked back. Handles vey well and the ride is oh so smooth!!! steering can be a bit better, wish gas mileage was better as well, but I guess I should expect that having a v8. I also wish their was an awd option, but that's me just nit-picking. What are you waiting for, go buy one already!!!!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Couldn't believe I bought a NEW car!

Bob E., 08/31/2016
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I'm a long time Lexus used car guy who usually buys from eBay. I've had incredible luck doing that and have kept my 1990 LS-400 for 403,000 miles and my 2002 LS-430 for 215,000 miles. I like to keep up with all maintenance through a good friend who has an auto repair shop so getting lots of miles out of a car is my standard practice. This time around, I just got an itch for a newer car and started looking for a used 2013 LS-460 which was the next one in my Lexus progression. I was really appalled when I drove one though because I realized Lexus had departed from their quiet elegance/nice ride with road feel to a blinged-up stone boat with no road feel at all and way too many needless gadgets/buttons. I then gave up on Lexus and started looking around for a Ford, Infinity, Lincoln or Buick equivalent of my idea of a really nice car. None of those really fit my vision so I thought I'd see what Hyundai had to offer. I used the CarProUSA.com recommended dealer of Weisner Hyundai in Conroe, Texas and took a test drive in a Genesis. It was OK but not really far enough into the "luxury" concept that I was hoping for. Ron Clark, my sales guy, suggested I try the Equus to see if I liked it. I looked at the sticker price and thought there would be no way I would ever pay THAT much for a car, new or used. I really liked driving the Equus and thought I was finished since the price was so high but Ron was able to make me an unbelievable deal on the 2016 Equus and I just couldn't resist. Having the price I was going to pay for a used car and the wonderful, no-pressure honest sales approach by Ron made me happy with my purchase. Since I like to keep a car for hundreds of thousands of miles, I am concerned with the unknown of Hyundai's longevity but their 10 year/100,000 mile drivetrain warranty says they are pretty confident about their car. That helps me feel more confident as well. I also got complete standard maintenance for 3 years and they even come to my house to pick up my car while leaving a loaner during service. That is pretty hard to beat for us mere mortals. I may be singing a different tune in 5 years but this experience was far beyond my expectations and I'm betting the long term story will be as good. From what I understand, Equus, as a model, is being ended this year but essentially the same car will be the 2017 Genesis G90 as Hyundai breaks the upscaled Genesis brand out similar to the way Toyota did with Lexus in 1989. That doesn't bother me at all because I was given such an incredible deal on a really nice car. Heck, I was going to buy a used car with unknown longevity anyway so getting a new one with a long warranty sure works for me.

Performance
Report Abuse

2800 miles and first issue surfaced

Thomas kearns, 03/30/2016
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

All has been good so far. Dealer had to replace back tires due to bubbling. Then this am driving to work on highway window goes down and stays down! Call dealer set up appointment ask for loaner to be ready. Get there no loaner wait for car rental agency ,no show, get driven to the car rental place, put me in an old sonata with no gas? Not the "Luxury" treatment sold to me up front. Valet service is a sham. Update 3/2018 The dealer listed above went out of business ( Bernardi Hyundai) Shortly after this review I took my car to Empire of Fall River and have received top notch treatment from service manager Jeff White. I had a ground stud issue with the car that was difficult to identify and solve , but Jeff and crew finally solved the issue. Always a nice clean loaner ( with Gas ) and smooth in and out service. 40K on the clock now and I love this car. Was having second thoughts at first but once I changed to a good dealer the few issues I had were dealt with promptly. I drive 2 hours a day and need a comfortable car .Would buy this car again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Hyundai EQUUS Signature

Rev Sam, 04/23/2017
Signature 4dr Sedan (5.0L 8cyl 8A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Signature new in 2015, in comparison no other sedan could match the emenities for the cost or ride. In 2015 we drove to San Diego, Ca., the ride was silky smooth and very fuel cost efficiency. Unfortunately I was headed to TN, on April 7, 17 @ 5:45 am and three deers crossed the expressway and I hit the 3rd deer. I got word that the car is totaled and it literally hurt. My family and I were safe, not a scratch. I want all Equus owners or potential buyers too know the car's safety features are awesome. I'm in the market to purchase another vehicle; guess what it will be ...an Equus! This time the Equus Ultimate trim. Rev. Sam

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050