Used 2018 Honda Pilot Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$24,798 - $39,245

Used Pilot for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...7

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

No frills, quiet ride, power window issue<350mi

DANNE Baker, 07/16/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
27 of 27 people found this review helpful

I purchased the Pilot Ex-L new. Less than thrilled for the price paid. Day 1, I Noticed the windows rolled down and up more slowly than my previously driven 10 yr old Camry. Also, the windows make a hideous, squalling noise on rolling up. I have Less than 300 miles and already requires a service visit to lubricate window motor and bearings of some type. When researchibg online I found this is an ongoing problem on older Honda vehicles, also. One would expect quality control to have corrected this issue in a $40k plus vehicle. The Dealer seemed Irritated to have to schedule service when realizing vehicle was not purchased from their location. I do love the amount of space, cubbies, cup holders, etc the vehicle offers. However, fit and finish is lacking. I detest the infotainment ctr...not user friendly, nor does it link well with Android phone systems. Very likely, I Will trade this one sooner than later for a different SUV....a Highlander, Lexus, Acura, Infinity, GMC, Chevy, etc.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Going into "park"

Richard Baker, 06/25/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
74 of 77 people found this review helpful

Bought this Honda Pilot Touring in May of 2017 and this morning when my wife left the garage, she told me she couldn't get it to come out of "Park!" I tried it and had the same problem. After starting, and with foot on the brake, I put the transmission in "drive" and when I let up on the brake the transmission immediately went to ""Park.' I tried "reverse" with the same results. After shutting down the engine and starting again the transmission continued to revert to "Park" every time it was put in either "drive' or "reverse." This went on for several cycles and we were ready to call a tow truck, since the car had been backed into the street. Finally, after shutting down the engine for about the fourth time, the transmission went into "drive' and "reverse" normally. Now I am worried that this might happen again under dire circumstances such as trying to move the car in an emergency. I will be taking it to the dealer to see what can be done but I don't want my wife or I driving a car that we can't trust. We've had several Hondas over the years and have found them very reliable but this is not what I would call reliable and needs to to be corrected.

Report Abuse

The thumper

Thomas Blatt, 04/29/2018
EX-L 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
44 of 47 people found this review helpful

There’s a very noticeable “thump” in the right rear every time I hit the slightest bump in the road. I can not imagine Honda putting a nice vehicle out with this annoying thump, thump, thump. And even worse, the service department will not even drive it to check it out. This my last Honda!!! I traded this piece of junk on Sept 8th 2018.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Honda #5

mcmillonbe, 02/23/2018
EX-L w/Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
42 of 45 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 17 Mazda 3 GT hatchback manual a few days ago for an 18 Honda Pilot EX-L with RES. This is our 5th Honda(03 Pilot EX, 13 Honda Fit Sport, 13 Honda CRV EX-L, 17 CRV Touring). I chose the EX-L trim because it was the closest match to my daily needs. I felt the ZF 9speed would drive me crazy with the auto shut off and all the nannies trying to assist me. The 6 speed shifts smoothly and always is ready to drop a gear. Acceleration is plentiful, especially when merging onto the freeway. The visibility is superb with low window sight lines and lots of glass. The seating is awesome with plenty of room in the 3rd row. The RES will get it use by my son and his friends on road trips. The driving dynamics are pretty good but the steering is vague and the brakes don't give much feedback, but again this is a passenger hauler not a sports car. I have had good experiences in the past with Honda's and this one should be the same. I perform all the maintenance on my vehicles and have never had any issues in the past 30 years. Oil changes, filter changes, and tire rotations are about all I need to do with Honda vehicles. The maintenance packages offered by our local Honda dealer are very expensive($3000+) and are essentially glorified oil changes. If we decide to keep this more than 3 years, then I may buy a Honda Car extended warranty. Great job Honda! 2 year/17k mile update I recently traded in my Pilot for a 2020 Toyota Tundra Platinum. The Pilot was an excellent mid size suv, it proved to be a great highway cruiser. Gas mileage was excellent considering AWD, and 4000lbs+. I had no maintenance issues, just oil and filters. A few negatives came up over the last two years. The drivers seat bottom cushion is too short for tall drivers, and the center armrest is too small. Also the steering feel is non existent but that is the norm these days with most cars using electric power steering. The brakes while working just fine always felt mushy, changing out brake pads and fluid helped a little but still never felt firm. Overall, I was very pleased with my two years with the Honda. I would recommend this vehicle for its overall flexibility with passengers and utility.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The best family chariot (for cold climates)

BGL, 03/17/2018
EX 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
23 of 25 people found this review helpful

We considered the cheaper and more tricked out Kia Sedona, but AWD and a more solid build won us over. This is a car worth holding for a long time (which helps with depreciation costs). Also considered the VW Atlas, but we just didn’t have confidence that it would last as long as the Honda. It’s also bigger than a Ford Explorer or a Toyota Highlander, but still feels very maneuverable. We love that it’s really not a fancy car, it’s solid and reliable and safe.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Think twice before purchasing this new model Pilot

Helen, 11/19/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
24 of 27 people found this review helpful

I had my previous Honda Pilot for 7 years and absolutely loved it! So didn't think twice about buying another pilot. Big mistake! I got it memorial weekend and within a month it was back at the dealership as the air conditioning was blowing hot air and the car's fan wouldn't turn off for sometimes 30 mins after I turned the car off! After the car going back to the dealership 3 times and having it for a total of 23 days they finally realized the fan was assembled incorrectly and taking in air from the engine! When the car would start blowing hot air "Collision Mitigation System Problem" warning would come up. The dealership was working with Honda Corporate and they could never explain why that happened, why is was connected to the air or why it stopped once they repaired the fan!! Not very acceptable when I'm not sure if I'm driving a safe car!! The safety features are way too sensitive and the brake sign is always coming on when it shouldn't. Recently while driving in the first snow storm of the season, the "Warning Approaching Object" sensor constantly came on with an ear piercing sound the majority of my hour long journey home, I'm presuming the snow was covering the sensor, way too sensitive! The moveable arm rests become irritating. I find the heat/air controls are not very user friendly and when touching the screen at first I kept hitting the hazard light button. My husband recently purchased a Hyundai Tucson Sport and although smaller, I much prefer driving the Tucson over the Pilot any day. I purchased the Touring model because I wanted the navigation system. Didn't need the tv in it and thought it would have come with blind spot monitoring, but that's only on the Elite. All in all very disappointed with this car and will not be keeping it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Honda Pilot Tech lackluster

Sulu7, 11/13/2018
Elite w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV AWD (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

the 2018 Honda Pilot is very difficult to connect via USB to important devices. You are forced to use bluetooth which Is easier but means you will lack connectivity. Using the USB, I have to restart the car 2 or 3 times before it senses it. There is no connect, drive, go. The dealership doesn’t care. Honda itself wants the dealer to fix it but the dealer does not know how and they don't cae. They wont say it does not work right until you that til you already own it. It also ramdomly decides it is no longer connected. The continental tires are garbage, lose air and do not last (see other complaints). Make sure to rotate them per recommendation or you will void the tire warranty. The "safety" systems are scary esp the lane keeping which jiggles the steering wheel on you. On a two lane road it will think you are about to crash head on and displays BRAKE!!. The captains seats have spaghetti sized arm rests which are too high up for a petite person ie unusable and therefore the driver right arm gets tired since it cannot rest. They are also uncomfortable. (middle console is low and not an armrest option. After all these years Honda still puts center console cup holders on top of each other instead of side by side across. Driver and front passenger hands collide when reaching for drinks. The econo system cycles to electronic to save gas but has an uncomfortable, jumpy and loud restart. If going from complete stop and need to go fast it cant do it. Lastly, the hatch has no auto stop if it encounters resistance like a roof or overhead beam. Integrated satellite antenna means it often drops signal from satellite radio. The engine chirps. The battery died at 21000 miles withusing only one charging port. Regularly while driving. Now at 23000 the brakes squeal. The GPS does not seem to understand that a passenger can operate it and locks until the vehicle is stopped. Volume has no knob just touch. Very distracting. Sound system is so so. My old 2010 was much better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Pilot is a pickup with a full cabine

RandyR, 03/12/2018
EX w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

Great drivers aids except blind spot monitoring should be on all models, not just the Elite. Apple CarPlay is great, no costly upgrades for onboard GPS. Also captains chairs should be an option for all models, not just elite. I didn’t want to pay $8000 more for most items I don’t want or need like 2nd row entertainment, on board GPS etc. It has the space of an Odessey, but not the soccer mom look.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Last Pilot I will own - looking at other vehicles

Amy A, 03/23/2019
EX-L w/Honda Sensing 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

For background, this is my 3rd pilot since 2006. I'm not an expert on engines or mechanically inclined, but do know what I like. I leased one Pilot ('06), then purchased one in '09. That was my favorite one - based on it's styling, handle, and size. I wasn't going to get another, as my 2009 transmission was going out after 118K miles. However, after searching various makes and models, I came back to the Pilot because of its reviews and ability to fit the needs of my family. MISTAKE! I even paid the additional $1000 for the Honda Sensing, as knew it helped on safety and insurance. That is my biggest regret! It goes off all the time for no reason, telling me to brake when no one is even in front of me. (I'm told guard rails, light poles, and other various things can cause it to go off.) It braked for me for lane keep assist, when I went onto exit ramp, as the lane went that way (believe if I had my signal on, it wouldn't have, however, I wasn't switching lanes, so didn't see the need), almost causing a fender bender from car behind me. I've reported to dealership and even taken there. But, because they can't get it to replicate, as it is only periodically, no solution in sight. Even the Honda Tech who took it out with me, reported issues with other Pilots (scaring me with stories into never using the adaptive cruise control). In addition, this feels like a mini van or station wagon, neither of which I enjoy driving. I miss the truck feel and higher, sportier look of the older model. Even the center console and front seat armrests resemble a mini van style. Along with my issues with the Sensing, I don't like how it shifts. As I live off a hill, my car either feels like it is screaming trying to climb it or jolts when it does finally switch gears. Apple CarPlay was a selling point for me. However, not surprisingly, it doesn't consistently work properly in my car. I even purchased a new cord and had daughter try with her phone, to ensure it wasn't our equipment versus the car. It works probably about 75-80% of the time, but then, has its days and times when just won't connect or even begins to and freezes (as evidenced on my home screen in vehicle). Annoyance when want for convenience, but truly a pain when need for navigation apps. And, whoever “forgot” to put USB ports in the middle row should be fired. Why have an 8 person vehicle and only have ports in the front row?!? Stupid! Should have trusted my initial instincts and looked elsewhere. Buyer be warned! I'm glad Honda's tend to hold their value as I do not foresee keeping this one for long. Only good features, in my opinion, size - which fits our families needs right now I have two teens and legroom is a must (as one over 6 feet tall). We often haul other kids too, especially when we travel and need the extra seating and space. Gas mileage is decent. I typically get right around 20 mpg with driving both city and highway. Overall though, not worth it. I was pressed to make a decision in a short amount of time and honestly regret this purchase. It is the only car I've ever owned and not liked driving. UPDATE (6/20/19) - "Christine" (as she was nicknamed) is gone! No more possessed vehicle for me! Traded her in (not upside down and even re couped some of my last trade in, but so worth it for my sanity and peace of mind). BUYER BEWARE!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

poor decision

John, 12/15/2018
Touring w/Navigation and Rear Entertainment System 4dr SUV (3.5L 6cyl 9A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Traded in a Infiniti QX60 was a bad decision. The Pilot looks great in blue but you can only get it with the lighter seats which blue jeans will dye the light seats. The leather seats feel cheap but the leather is nice but the narrow right arm rest will put your arm to sleep. The Pilot rides really smooth on the interstate but on hills loses power and downshifts to hard while in cruise control to maintain speed is aggravating. Sometimes mine won't start cannot find out why and it even happened at the dealership? Twice while running it didn't go into gear once while in a car wash once in a parking lot, there is a procedure for car washes. The engine turns off when stopped at a light does not bother me but drives my wife nuts, there is a button to push to turn it off but you have to do it EVERYTIME you start the Pilot. If you like go through a yield sign where you have to slow down but not stop when you give it gas it hesitates, real bad, I sometimes have the peddle floored then it jumps into action really aggravating. We were warned about the transmission during the sale now I understand. This would be a great SUV with a CVT transmission. ## Update, on long trips very comfortable but with the cruise on it takes to long for the transmission to catch up when it catches the car in front of you when it slows to match that cars speed when you pull out to pass that car it just sits there, aggravating and dangerous. Drivers right arm rest not big enough, my arm falls asleep after awhile on trips. You have to read the book before going to a car wash can't remember what you have to do and that's the problem. Back hatch not adjustable that is a problem for me, hits the garage door have to back in the garage to prevent this. It does get good gas milage on the highway, I drive as fast as the road allows around 78-80 when possible it gets an east 24-25 mpg. I will pay this down and trade it as quick as I can.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12345...7
Items per page:
51050