Used 2019 GMC Terrain SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,991 - $33,949

Used Terrain for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Downsized from 2017/2019 Denali Acadia to Terrain

LOVEMY2019TERRAINDENALI, 11/10/2018
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
71 of 73 people found this review helpful

I was skeptical at first only have my 2017 GMC Acadia Denali. We were rear-ended in Sept 2018. We were all safe in the Acadia, the insurance company deemed it a total lose. I was just glad that our injuries were not bad. GMC builds solid SUVS and that is why I went back to GMC. I have owed many vehicles in my lifetime, ie; Mercedes, Porsche, Cadillac's but I keep coming back to the GM brand for safety. So, when I went into the Dealership 2 weeks ago, they said, take a look at the Terrain, I was not hesitate because I did like the BOLD look of it from 2018. So, I was hesitate about the 4 speed transmission, but after driving it for 2 weeks I do NOT feel as if I lost anything other than space (sometimes wasted) from the Acadia, when I am driving myself. I am a care giver for my mother and I found the ease of putting her wheel chair in the back of my Terrain to be quite easy. I say to anyone looking to buy/lease a SUV, TAKE A LOOK AT THE 2019 GMC TERRAIN, great value for your hard working monies.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Disappointed

Michelle, 01/17/2019
Denali 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
59 of 64 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 2019 Denali terrain on10/31018 and the entertainment system has not worked right since I got it. Been to the shop one time already, and still isn’t fixed. Also warning signs for “ service transmission “ on it has already started coming on, and it doesn’t even have 2500 miles on it. Breaks are scrubbing also.So disappointed in my terrain. Cost to much for the quality of the vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Former Cadillac owner

Big Harry, 09/15/2018
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
47 of 51 people found this review helpful

it’s been one year since we purchased our 2019 terrain. During the year the car was brought back to the dealer 1 time. That was for a oil change and tire rotation. We are very satisfied with our purchase since the car is very dependable, and it is so easy to get in and out of the car. Being older this could be a problem buying a low car making excess difficult.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

PAINFULLY UNCOMFORTABLE

Gina, 04/28/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
42 of 46 people found this review helpful

My lease on my Acadia SLT2 was coming to a end and since I loved the Acadia and my kids are all driving now I down sized. I leased the terrain "Denali" thought it was top of the line but missing safety features my Acadia had. I was disappointed but could live without them. What I can't live without is comfortable seats!! The most uncomfortable short hard seats, the whole cockpit is of very poor design. Price was high and options and comfort low. I will say if you are not tall it may be ok, and it does drive smooth and quiet. But for the taller driver stay away I think the seat is just to short so no leg support which means you will be seating on you tail bone!! Don't make the PAINFULLY bad decision I did.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Huge Improvement Over 2012 Model Terrain!

Zach, 04/10/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
41 of 45 people found this review helpful

I traded in my 2012 GMC Terrain SLT-2 AWD 2.4L for the 2019 GMC Terrain 1.5 Turbo FWD SLE. The 2019 is worlds ahead of my old 2012 in so many ways. I will list the pro's and con's below, but I have had zero issues and I do not understand the mixed reviews. With rebates I paid $19,900 out the door for a new 2019 that did have 2000 miles on it as a lot loaner vehicle. The radio is so much better than my 2012, the ride is quiet and much more smooth, and I have much more power in this over my old one. Pros: MPG Comfort Headlights are Fantastic Radio and Technology More Rear Storage than Previous Models Interior Design Much Improved with Premium Feel Cost is Amazing if You Get Rebates and Incentives Cons: Cloth Interior on Seats is Mediocre Does Not Include Remote Start, Must purchase a new Key Fob for it. Silly Without Rebates or Incentives Cost is Higher Than Competition.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Very good

D. Brown, 08/06/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

We just bought our 19' Denali.. Love the 2.0 liter engine, plenty of power and it's crisp with minimal turbo lag. Interior is very quiet and the engine makes mostly pleasing noises. Seats and interior are very comfortable for us and everything is well laid out. Push button transmission takes all of a few trips to get used to, then it's ingrained and easy to use. Audio system is outstanding. GPS maps could use a little more color IMO. Love the ventilated front seats. The ride is a little choppy over expansion joints, not sure if it's the crappy Hankook tires, the suspension or both. Wondering if we should have spent more on the 2020 which has revalved suspension but we got a good deal on the 2019 since the 20's are out now. Fit and finish is excellent with body panel seams equal. I can coax over 30mpg out of this engine on flat roads at 50mph. Hoping the off road mode for AWD actually gives me full time four wheel drive but can't find the answer to that. I hope the excessive oil consumption and timing chain issues of the previous generation 4 cyl. engine are gone. Very happy with adaptive cruise control, auto dim headlights and all the other tech in this car which is new to us since we haven't had a new car in over a decade.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Undersized engine and cracked radiator

Stuart, 10/02/2018
SLE 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
39 of 44 people found this review helpful

I leased this vehicle on a Monday and overheated and was non operational by Saturday night. Brought it to the dealership on the 6th day with 340 total miles and was just notified that the radiator was cracked. Not a good start with this vehicle. When accelerating the engine whines like it can't power the vehicle.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rating Are Debatable

Brent, 11/11/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

After having the terrain (SLT, 1.5 Turbo) in the family for 2 months I have found much of these reviews debatable. Yes the 1.5 Turbo Engine is lacking, especially when compared to my 2013 Terrain Denali but with ever raising gas prices the mpg is great. Even I would compromise speed for such great gas mileage and trust me I’m a lead foot. The car is nice to drive in my opinion and the body redesign is nothing short of beautiful. Yes the trunk lacks space, but the reviews forgot to mention another level of storage space under the trunk over the spare tire. It is an incredibly nice feature that hides all the needed nick nacks like jumper cables and snow supply’s leading to a much nicer esthetic. The rear visibility is lack luster, but all terrains have been know for their poor rear vision, but once you drive the car for a while it becomes a fine view for everyday driving Somewhere I totally disagree with the review is the transmission buttons... I love them. They feel upscale and new, the feel solid and are nice to use. Coming over from the normal shifter knob, I found them to be a unique and nice touch to set the terrain apart. As well the headroom and space issues in the review seem exasperated. I’m 6’ 1” and while I don’t have the most room, it has much more head and leg room then most competitors in the market. And while the terrain may be slightly over priced and lack standard safety features it is still a very good competitor in the compact suv market.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Regret buying

Lorrie, 07/19/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought my 2019 terrain SLE in 2018. Less than 2000 miles it was in the shop. Misfired when we left the gas station and my husband accelerated a little fast to get on the highway. It was caused from an issue with the turbo. 2. The screen kept freezing up. They just reset it. 3. Tapping noise under the hood. Cranked up after sitting all night and it had a tapping noise like a lifter sound. Put it in the shop and all we were told is,we can’t find anything wrong with it. No codes were showing. However they did admit hearing the noise even compared sound to another car like it and the other car was quiet running. Still ticking because they said if they went into it and the cause wasn’t covered under warranty we would have to pay out of pocket. Spoken by the mechanic who said, they couldn’t find a problem before.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Defective oil pump

Marie, 01/04/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
21 of 24 people found this review helpful

3000 miles and shaft disconnected from oil pump. Dealership repaired and now leaking oil all over driveway.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Buyers BEWARE

Kyla, 04/26/2019
SLE 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
32 of 39 people found this review helpful

Do NOT waste your time leasing/buying one of these cars. After watching my parents have several GMC's, I decided to get one myself and it is the biggest regret. I had the car for THREE WEEKS when it had to go into the shop for the first time. It spent a month in the shop due to a broken torch tube and driveshaft. A month after that, my car had problems with the engine and it would reduce the engine power while I was driving down the road. It spent over 10 days in the shop for that issue. Since then, it's continued to have problems with the navigation and the heating system. I have been calling GM multiple times trying to get them to get me out of my lease so I can get into something I can actually rely on and they are horrible at calling back. Do not buy this car unless you want it to spend 40 days in the shop before it's 7 months old.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Surprisingly Excellent!

vlent, 04/04/2019
SLE 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

Leased this vehicle after having a VW GLI and needed more space for the family. I got a SLE 1.5L. Coming from the GLI the power is down but it's really not a huge deal. This SUV moves when you need it to, and it has an amazingly soft and smooth ride. The quality of the interior is great! Everything works as it should. I got a great deal on the lease. What more can you ask for. As for the other reviews about the "auto/stop"...its and auto/stop people! It saves you money on gas and they take time to get used to. This particular auto/stop is smoother than my Acura believe it or not, but the only draw back to the terrain is that there is no shut off for the auto/stop like my Acura. Other than that this truck is solid folks!

Report Abuse

Not happy!

T.Miller, 01/05/2019
SL 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
23 of 30 people found this review helpful

Transmission went out in a few weeks! Backup camera only works half of the time! I paid way too much to have these problems. Very poor quality on these vehicles. Dealership said I was $14500 upside down! They said that they sold me a bad car! WTH I got screwed!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Awesome Ride

Terrain , 04/04/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Love the ride. Very comfortable interior. Even with the base engine it has plenty of power. Mine is a 2019 slt and it has all the room needed. It is a smaller suv so less cargo space is expected. Handles the road extremely well.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Opinion after 12650

GMC Owner, 07/30/2019
Denali 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

My 2019 Terrain, 2.0L, FWD, SLT continues to perform well. No repairs needed so far. Good MPG, comfortable, great acceleration, and quiet, Has all the necessary electronics which are easy to use. Stereo (Bose) sounds great! Front passenger seat folds down flat for longer items that need to be transported.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Surprisingly Satisfied

Coldwaterite, 10/15/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Never thought I'd trade in my 2012 SLT Terrain, however thanks to a dear friend that was insistent on us getting a new vehicle (and the fact that he left a check at the dealership to pay for 20% of the vehicle) with his help and other incentives being offered back in April, we were able to purchase this new 2019 SLT for less than half price. It is a bit smaller than our 2012 but we have driven it over 9000 miles in the last 6 months and have to say it is just as comfortable as the 2012 was. Gas mileage is definitely better (as long as the A/C is not on). We will consistently get over 31 mpg driving around town. Our trip to Florida in June, driving at 70 mph, with the A/C on, got a consistent 36 mpg. An earlier trip into Michigan driving over 100 miles at 68 mph, without the A/C on, achieved a whopping 40 mpg. There is a small trunk space in the 2019 that is great for storing our shopping bags so they are no longer a mess floating around the back. The "start/stop" technology definitely takes some getting used to, but I'm sure that is what boosts up the mpg around town. I can't understand why the car magazines rip on the button transmission. I don't see it as a problem, just another feature to get used to and it took all of one use to get used to it. Hopefully the start/stop technology and electronic transmission will not prove to be a future problem. Time will tell. We bought this one because it had the automatic lift gate and power passenger seat (our 2012 had neither) and absolutely love these features; especially now that we are getting older. Not sure what more to say. We loved our 2012 and hated to part with it; but this 2019 is a very nice vehicle and 6 months + 9000 miles into it we can't complain a bit and are very happy with it so far. We insisted on getting the Blue Emerald Metallic color and when the dealer asked us for a second color choice because he couldn't get any other dealer to let go of their Blue one, I told him to give our friend his check back because we wouldn't give up our 2012 unless we could get just what we'd ask for. Surprisingly a couple days later he got just the car we wanted, color, equipment, and all!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great SUV - SLT AWD 2.0L Turbo

Jseels, 03/19/2020
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

We love our Terrain! It drives so smooth, and packs a punch! The AWD 1.5L turbo engine is both effective and efficient. No problem accelerating to pass trucks on the highways or freeways at high speeds. And we always average about 27-28mpg on long roadtrips so that's a plus! It fits our family of 4 (4 year old and 9 month old) just right for a week long trip. One complaint I do have is that there is no way to my knowledge to turn off the "Auto Stop" feature when you stop... GMC seems to have locked this into the engine. While I agree it could save a little money and going green is cool and all, I'd LOVE to be able to make that decision for myself! During the summer it's not an issue because it doesn't engage if the AC is on 60%+... but I'd still like the control. We love this SUV, it was our first SUV purchase and we are glad we went with it. I know it's not the most "popular" choice but it's fun to not see a BILLION of the same suvs on the road like the CRVs and RAV4s. Our SLT model stands out and performs well to boot. Might be slightly on the pricey side by I think it has everything we'd want. FYI - Edmunds has the engine size wrong to the Trim levels... ours is indeed a SLT 2.0L AWD engine... and it has no options for it. Probably the best all around combination of performance, appeal, and features.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

surprised by backward tech

Barry Wright, 12/31/2018
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
15 of 21 people found this review helpful

The 2 liter engine is the way to go. Our iPhone 6plus won't connect, the entertainment system is programmed to not read the Windows default file format for music files. The auto stop feature absurdly restarts the engine when it is put into Park. So, when you reach your destination and put the transmission into park the engine starts again. Ridiculous! We have since learned that pressing the stop button when we reach our destination puts the transmission into park and then the engine shuts down. We eventually got the iPhone to connect after an ios update.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Don't get this car.

gregsmith, 02/12/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
38 of 57 people found this review helpful

I'm posting this mess because I want everyone to know what a POS this vehicle is. Most of this has been sent to GM corporate with no effort by them to help with the issues. Taking it in to the dealer is fruitless due to the intermittent nature of the problems - the A/C stink is reproducible so I will be taking it in for that one. This is for a 2019 Terrain SLE with the 1.5L turbo. 1. The overall ride is excessively bouncy in the 30-45 mph range. 2. The seats are horribly uncomfortable. 3. The sitting position is all wrong mostly due to the foot rest being too high. It's impossible to sit correctly because of this. 4. Sometimes the vehicle jerks at low speed(around 25mph) when trying to accelerate. 5. The Auto Stop has a few issues. a. Stopping at a stop sign or for a turn on red encourages one to make a rolling stop instead of a full stop to keep the engine running. Can you say ticket? b. While pulling into a garage, the engine shuts off while waiting a few seconds for the garage door to open fully. Then you pull in and stop. The engine shuts off again only to be restarted again when pressing Park. c. Auto stop engages excessively during stop and go traffic. BTW, I know I can put it into L to disable it but this is an Automatic Transmission, no? ============================ New issue #6: 12/30/2018 First long trip. No problems driving from Boca to Orlando in good weather - about a 3 hour drive. Drive back from Orlando to Boca. No problems for the first two hours. I stopped at a turnpike exit to start the next leg on I-95. Auto Stop at traffic light for ~2 min. While trying to accelerate up the bridge the engine revs to 3000 rpm and the vehicle decides it's not going to go any faster - roughly 35mph. I press accelerator further, no change. Put pedal to floor, rpm goes to 5000 but no real increase in speed and feels like its misfiring. Let off the accelerator. RPM stays up around 3000 for about 10 seconds. Feels like it's not in a gear at all. After that rpm drops to around 2500. I try to accelerate again because I'm losing speed. At this point I'm going down hill to get on the expressway. Engine rpm bounces starts bouncing between 2300-2800 rpm. Feels like it is switching between multiple gears - even though it's getting constant throttle. Still losing speed. I let off the accelerator again and felt it go thru multiple gears and then rpm dropped. At this point I was able to slowly achieve highway speed. I decided to see if it would accelerate normally on the highway. Much less power than normal - RPM maxes at 5000 and feels like misfiring. Seemed fine as long as it was just cruising. Tried again later on and same issue. Next day it seems normal again. =========================== BTW, Issue #6 (sudden loss of power) occurred again - ~1900 miles now. 01/16/2019 Stopped at traffic light. Auto stop shutdown engine as usual. Traffic light changes about 1 minute later. Trying to accelerate car has severely reduced power with higher than normal RPMs. Instead of trying to accelerate I just let off the gas completely. RPM stays up like before for about 5 seconds. I waited until the RPMs dropped and felt the gears changed. After that it was back to normal. 01/17/2019 - Mentioned this to dealer. They said they checked for codes and there were none. Told to bring it back if it happens again. =========================== Issue #7: The A/C intermittently has a chemical like odor. Seems to occur when compressor cycles on with recirc on then goes away after a minute or two. Sometimes it also smells like smoke (I do not smoke nor has anyone who does been in the vehicle). It will intermittently come back during the drive. Issue #8: 01/29/2019 Went to fill up with gas. Once the tank was full instead of triggering the pump shut off, fuel spewed out all over the place. I have driven cars for over 30 years and have NEVER had a problem like this until now. Issue #5 Continued: The Auto Stop feature is pathetic. It was 68 degrees outside. I start the vehicle that has been off for 9 hours so the engine is completely cooled down. I backup out of a parking space, go forward about 40 feet and stop for traffic (about 15 seconds). The Auto Stop shuts the engine down. This brainless system thinks the engine warmed up enough in 15 seconds? ============================ Vehicle now has ~2650 miles. Issue #9: 02/11/2019 Driving along as usual then suddenly the infotainment screen went black. Pressing buttons did nothing. After 30 seconds it came back on as if it rebooted but the GMC logo did not appear as it normally does when the car is started. Issue #10: 02/12/2019 After about 30 seconds of driving. Accelerate normally from traffic light. Transmission should have shifted to next gear but instead went out of gear for about 10 seconds (sudden abnormal increase of RPMs - about 2000 increase). After that it went into the correct gear and back to working normal.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Not Happy

J.M., 01/19/2019
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
24 of 36 people found this review helpful

I used to own 2014 GMC Terrain. The 2019 model is much smaller than the previous design and too expensive for a smaller SUV. Uncomfortable driver seat settings. Phone doesn’t stay connected. Remote start fails 50%. Overall driving experience is not good.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2019 Terrain Denali vs my 2017 Terrain SLE

RossP, 03/16/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I am blown away by the improvements between my 2019 Terrain Denali AWD and my 2017 Terrain SLE. I am leasing for not a whole lot more than my prior version but have stepped up in a big way. I LOVE it and think the airplay w my iphone is my favorite new tech feature beyond the other natural upgrades you get w the engine and interior w the Denali. I think edmunds reviewers I’ve seen w low star reviews must be based on the absolute base model and those folks are being too harsh bc 2019 anything is quite solid out there...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I hate this car!

NevergonnabuyanotherGMC!, 01/31/2020
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I bought it in February 2019. With less than 5000 miles transmission needed reprogrammed. Then a check engine light show to misfire that I had to replace a spark plug. Shortly after it started running funny but no lights came on. Took it back again and they reprogrammed an engine control module. The very next day it was running and shaking still and it went back into the shop for the same thing. 7 days later I got a call from the dealership they can't get it to shake and asked me if I would come show the technician what it was doing. After driving with the technician for an hour and a half it started shaking. That was when the second spark plug got replaced. It shifts really hard. It's the worst car I've ever owned and the only new car I've ever bought!!!

Report Abuse

Rattle

Michele, 07/09/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 11 people found this review helpful

Brand new terrain has a rattle towards Back of car it's a horrible sound service cant seem to fix it. I'm embarrassed by this noise

Report Abuse

Get the Denali

Eric K., 12/21/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

2019 Terrain Denali. I didn't want the Denali but it's the only model that had the 2.0Turbo engine...and it's worth it. And, it's got every upgrade and tech feature - AWD, lane keeping, adaptive cruise, etc. My wife loves the visibility in a smaller vehicle - compared with her 2018 Acadia Denali. I can honestly say that I find nothing - nothing - not to like about this vehicle. Not a single issue of any kind after 12,000 miles. Yes, maybe it's more expensive than other similar vehicles. But we like the dealer, was able to lease at the target price we wanted, and find that GMC seems to be 'better' than other GM vehicles. If you're looking for a smaller, aggressive, good handling, versatile SUV, check out the Terrain Denali The performance and total package are better than the 'ratings'.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

e-shift and auto stop/start DUMB

craig, 05/09/2019
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
15 of 27 people found this review helpful

I really wanted to swap out my 2017 Terrain SLT for a 2019 Terrain SLT black edition.... until I learned about the e-shift ( no console shifter anymore!). On top of that, the salesman reluctantly explained the auto stop/start “feature”. What a nightmare. The engine completely shuts off when you stop at a red light, in stop & go traffic - even when I stopped before pulling into my garage. The engine restarts when the driver removes his foot from the brake pedal. WTF???? I think that GM is going to get a LOT of negative feedback. And rightfully so!

Technology
Interior
Report Abuse

Haven't Driven It in 3 Months

Senga, 08/17/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased the Terrain after my 2015 Chevrolet Trax started having major mechanical problems. Bought an extended warranty and everything. Purchased in Jan. 2019 and by May the Check engine light came on. IT HASN'T TURNED OFF SINCE and it's currently August. We're at the point (for a 2nd time) where the dealership is looking to buy back the car. The interior is pretty nice and spacious, although I wish the seats were a little wider.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Terrible car bought from a terrible dealership.

CJ29, 01/07/2020
SLE 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have a 2019 GMC terrain sle. Ever since the day I bought it it has been terrible. I noticed a terrible rattling noise when the vehicle would go over any bumps or small inclines. Took it to the dealership that I leased it from. For them to have it for a month to tell me it's a manufacturing defect and my vehicle is one of three with this known issue with the frame and they will not be able to fix it and can't tell me when or if it will ever be fixed. The dealer attempted to fix it anyways and completely trashed the interior, causing damage to trim peices,dents and scratches. I am still dealing with that issue along with transmission issues now mostly the car going out of second gear rpms jump and it slams very rough into the next gear. The dealership doesn't want anything to do with it anymore and GM wouldn't replace or trade in the car. So I am unfortunately stuck with this peice of junk for 2 more years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Is this car killing you?

Dan, 04/10/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
12 of 23 people found this review helpful

I received a 2019 GMC Terrain as a loner vehicle from a local dealership. My initial feelings about the car was that it was well designed, suitable performance, and good gas mileage (averaged around 24 mpg). However, and this is a grand caveat, the smell of the glues, adhesives, and "new car" smells are unbearable in this car. In my first short 130 mile trip, I had to pull over several times, just to get out of the vehicle and catch my breath. Keep in mind, I had the windows down, during most of the trip. Yet, by the conclusion, I felt a huge headache, light headed, and dizzy from the smells. I am in my early 40's with no health or breathing issues. In total I've put over 500 miles on the car, and the ONLY way I can drive it to and from work is to lower all of the windows for at least 20 minutes before I even enter the car. Some people love the smell of a "new car." However, in the case of this vehicle, I would suggest test driving it for an extended distance (even 30 minutes) and you'll see what I mean. For $30k, I would search elsewhere for a daily driver, especially if you have children.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GM beat japs at own game.

Dewey, 07/19/2019
Denali 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

I you are looking for a 4cyl to have the pick up as a Toyota with great gas mileage 2LT is the one to get. My Terrain rides better than Toyota 4 runner, and Mazda cx7. The leather seats are better than the leather I had in my Buick.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Worst vehicle I ever owned in my 30yrs

A, 11/01/2019
Denali 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

I just leased a brand new 2019 AWD Terrain Denali Fully loaded with all packages. The MSRP was over $45k. I have less than 900 miles on it and have had the vehicle for about 33 days. The quality of the vehicle and drivetrain is horrible. SD Card Reader and the Backup Camera System failed by the time I drove 14 miles from the dealer lot to my home! When I contacted the dealer to fix the issue they kept my vehicle for 3 days only to tell me that the SD Card Reader was replaced but the Backup Camera is on back-order with no estimate for availability. It's been weeks and the camera is still not in for replacement! On top of it, even in All Wheel Drive mode, the vehicle slips and skips on wet pavement. What would happen in heavy rain or in snow storms (which are common here in Michigan)? As if all this wasn't enough, GM has reduced the size of this vehicle quite a bit to a bird-cage, made the seats extremely uncomfortable, no way to seat 5 people comfortably or really carry a shopping cart worth of groceries from Costco in the trunk. I was hoping that I would get used to the interior, but coming from 2015 AWD Terrain Denali fully loaded, even after a month I still can't get used to this small size. And to make matters worse, GM went with a push/pull button shifter. You won't know how bad it is until you have driven in rush-hour traffic for 1-2 hrs. With a manual shifter I could easily push the shifter into 'N', take my foot off the break and give my foot a rest until the car ahead moved and quickly shift bach to 'D' and inch forward and repeat. Not so much with this terrain. More than the design though, due to such horrible quality I will never buy GMC again and suggest others not to buy either.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Haven't Driven It in 3 Months

Senga, 08/17/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Purchased the Terrain after my 2015 Chevrolet Trax started having major mechanical problems. Bought an extended warranty and everything. Purchased in Jan. 2019 and by May the Check engine light came on. IT HASN'T TURNED OFF SINCE and it's currently August. We're at the point (for a 2nd time) where the dealership is looking to buy back the car. The interior is pretty nice and spacious, although I wish the seats were a little wider.

Report Abuse

2019 terrain my view

LARRY, 06/28/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 16 people found this review helpful

first is design looks like a hearse( mini) the 2.4 has no power, and push button trans not for me ,the suspension is ruff riding and this was an SLE ………………..JUNK

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GMC Terrain 2019

LENMO, 11/27/2019
SL 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Had the car since June, it's now Nov. 5k miles. Been serviced twice, a defective battery and a the other was a defective sparkplug. Wonder what else is defective?!?!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

What a disappointment

Michelle Hobbs, 08/22/2019
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 11 people found this review helpful

I am renting this car on a trip. This vehicle is missing basic features: No “ Blind Spot” warning on side mirrors; Lift back cannot be opened from inside the vehicle; Front passenger seat does not recline; “Add a phone” takes forever, very frustrating trying to get my iPhone 8Us to sync; LOUSY stereo sound system. I would NEVER purchase this vehicle! Maybe I’m spoiled, I recently rented a Nissan Altima and it was FABULOUS!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Nice look, horrible ride

Sharon, 10/25/2019
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 2019 Terrain has had acceleration issues off/on since I leased it in Dec 2018. I took it in and had the torque converter replaced, thought it was ok. But 2 days later it happened again. When accelerating, usually from around 20 to 50-it hesitates and then kicks in hard jerking whoever is in the car. So disgusted with this vehicle. I was going to get the Chevy Equinox but decided to treat myself to the ‘nicer’ GMC model. Wish I had gotten the equinox. The people I know that have the equinox are not having these issues. How did Chevy get it right and GMC didn’t? I’m considering my options with the Lemon Law because I’m that angry about this. It’s a huge safety concern especially with highway driving

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Forget 9th gear at highway speeds

Bob tarrain, 03/28/2020
SLT 4dr SUV AWD (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you manage to get trans to 9th gear at less then highway speeds it drops down to 80 when gaining speed and will not go back to 9th no matter what

Report Abuse

Love the diesel

Grady, 11/13/2020
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had GMC SUVs & trucks all of my life. This is my second Terrain but my first diesel. I love the mileage 45 plus on the highway & 32 plus around town. I have the SLE with the driver alert & the sun and sound package. It is very easy to see out of & drive. I have 2 other GMC my 19 Acadia SLT & a 4x4 17 Sierra Denali Crew cab standard bed. My wife & I enjoy driving all of these. They each have strong points. The Terrain is very wonderful highway cruiser. Do not buy a diesel if you are driving around town all of the time. I love everything about this SUV and like it so much better than my 13 Terrain. I like the fact that all of the controls are the Same as in my other GMC vehicles. The only problem I had was with the sunroof they fixed it with a new motor & a new track. It works great now. It handles and dives great on all types of roads. I am so glad I got the diesel because they made me an offer I couldn’t refuse $14,000. off of MSRP. The push button gears are easy to use. The auto start stop can be overridden by selecting the highest gear. In this case it is 6th or install a powered subwoofer under the back seat and that pulls enough power that the auto start stop will not engage .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Terrain is trash

Vince, 07/07/2021
SLE 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our 2019 GMC Terrain has been in the shop 7 times in two years for transmission, radio problems and a recall. The dealer rebuilt the transmission at 22,000 miles and 4,000 miles later it’s going back for transmission again. The seats are equal to sitting on a church pew and the interior is difficult to clean. The engineer team that out this car together should be fired. In my opinion the Terrain is a terrible vehicle.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Terrain

Elizabeth , 07/30/2021
SLT 4dr SUV (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has all the bells n whistles! Love that I can see better than in my previous Acadia.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050