Skip to main content

Used 2012 GMC Terrain SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$7,999 - $20,590

Used Terrain for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...11

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4.38 out of 5 stars

LOVE IT except for the transmission jerks.

jtapp1, 03/16/2013
2012 GMC Terrain SLE-2 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
40 of 40 people found this review helpful

We've had our Terrain for 6 months. Always have been a loyal GM customer. The Terrain stole our hearts when we decided to purchase a new vehicle. Its sharp. Inside and out. LOVE the interior and all the cool features. There is one problem......transmission slips/jerks. I have 9,000 miles on it. When I took it into the dealership they had a "transmission" specialist come out to talk to me. I explained the jerking/slipping and he urged me to take him for a drive. The entire time instead of observing the ride he explained to me that it was just the "engine recharging" because of the eco motor. I call BS. It seems to be getting worse. Anyone else had this issue??

Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
12 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the GMC TERRAIN
View Offers
GMC.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. See your GMC dealer for details.

1 out of 5 stars

Terrain Problems

shirleyl, 12/28/2013
updated 12/28/2016
2012 GMC Terrain SLE-1 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
73 of 75 people found this review helpful

I bought my new terrain in May 2012 after just having it a short time the navigation screen would go very dim and then bright. I took it to dealership more than once, they did not know why or how to fix it after trying several times. I contacted GMC corporate about the problem. It is still not fixed. I stopped taking it to dealership because if they can't fix it why take it in. Now I have another problem. My ck engine light coming on. Took it to dealership, it is a random misfire, they don't know why or how to fix it. It's in there for 2nd time in one wk I now have the gen mgr involved- I refuse to get stuck with a lemon. I have a loaner vehicle I just trade the terrain in for new chevy. I had nothing but problems with the terrain almost since day one. It would constantly jerk when it shifted gears, was very loud when running- manifold problems and gas fumes were coming into vehicle so bad that windows had to be opened. I do not recommend anyone buy this vehicle. It's looks nice but that's about it.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Transmission Jerks when putting it in reverse

AF, 07/20/2015
2012 GMC Terrain SLT-1 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
33 of 34 people found this review helpful

I have the 2012 GMC Terrain and for the last few years it sporadically jerks/kicks/slips when I first put it in reverse to drive out of the garage. It's not consistent so the dealer can't diagnose it and it never does it when I try to show it to someone. I've been told that this isn't a problem, but it still makes me nervous. Other than that, I love the Terrain!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

7 Years in and Happy

Coldwaterite, 10/07/2018
updated 10/15/2019
2012 GMC Terrain SLT-1 4dr SUV AWD (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

We bought this new in 2012. We now have 102,000 miles on it. Out side of normal servicing the only problem we've had is the Key fob broke and had to be replaced. Love it's comfort, love the adjustable back seat, it's easy to get into and out of. Mileage is "great" if we keep under 65 mph we can get over 32 mpg; once you hit 70 mph it drops to 27 mpg; in town it'll drop to 23 mpg. It has served us well and hope to keep it for another 4 years. Like the looks of the new 2018 but it looks like the mileage has dropped off substantially, so why trade down when she's still purring like a kitten. Wish we had the automatic lift gate, that'd be nice now that were getting older. October, 2019: Due to the generosity of an old friend we traded our beloved 2012 in for a new 2019 Terrain SLT this past April. He left the dealer a check paying for 20% of the 2019. Along with that and other incentives we were able to get the 2019 for less than half price. Surprisingly gas mileage on the 2019 is much better (as long as the A/C is not on). After the first 9000 miles we have saved over $120 in fuel cost. I'll post a review of the 2019 Terrain shortly.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

1 out of 5 stars

BEWARE!!! STAY CLEAR OF THIS VEHICLE!!

Gina Lehigh, 09/21/2015
2012 GMC Terrain SLT-2 4dr SUV (2.4L 4cyl 6A)
72 of 77 people found this review helpful

After reading numerous complaints it is totally insane that GM is not backing THEIR product!! I have a 2012 GMC Terrain, 4 cylinder. I am also experiencing a lot of what others have written on here. I am going through oil like crazy and my favorite part is the "dummy" light is not even coming on to tell me. I am checking my oil weekly and having oil changes every 2,500 miles with Penzoil Full Synthetic. The only code that has ever appeared is the cam shaft sensor, which I replaced, but I still continue to have oil consumption issues. It is ridiculous that GM will not investigate this issue after numerous complaints. I also experience the shifting issues (jerking when taking off from a stop). This car is total garbage and I will continue to just put oil into it and I refuse to replace an engine on a car that is 3 years old that I have documentation that I have properly maintained. COUNTING DOWN THE DAYS UNTIL THIS PIECE OF JUNK IS PAID OFF!!!!

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Technology
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
12345...11
Items per page: