Used 1997 GMC Suburban Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,753 - $3,717

Used Suburban for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Dependable Family Vehicle

FLEX, 03/25/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This vehicle has proven itself; especially if you have a large size family. Whether in hot/cold climate, the surbuban always started and performed above standards. Very roomy, dependable, and stylish.

Report Abuse

Knock on wood

Dennis, 11/08/2010
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have done nothing except for regular maintenance on this vehicle. 1 fuel pump. Two sets of front brakes. 1 water pump. The interstate ride is phenomenal if you can afford the gas. 11 miles to a gallon. 1 tune-up in 10 years. We are overdue. We load it up and go. No thoughts of breakdowns so far. Please Lord, don't let this little bit of bragging jinx me

Report Abuse

Doesn't quit

Curt, 12/31/2009
C1500 4dr SUV
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My 97 Burb was without a doubt, the most reliable vehicle that I have ever owend. It is currently at 391,500 kms (Yes you read it correctly) and going strong.I live in Canada and use it for hunting, fishing, and in -35 degree celcius weather. I have no worries about turning the key and making another 1500 km trip without notice or time to prep. Aside from changing the Fuel Pump once (common problem), I have not had any major issues with her. There is no rust on it and the interior is still in great shape without cracks in the dash or holes in the seats. Aside from regular maintenace and fluid changes, the only thing that I had to change was the air freshener. It never quits!

Report Abuse

Car Eating Me Out of House and Home

fifthavenuegirl, 12/01/2006
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car looks really cool but I have only had it a year and it has already cost me $3000 in repair bills. It has been a nightmare and waste of my time waiting in the waiting rooms while it gets fixed. And that doesnt include the $900 for the tires I will have to replace if I keep it. I've only had it a year and bought it with under 100k miles.

Report Abuse

Tough & Reliable

JWG, 08/12/2008
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our '97 Suburban new and will probably have it for 3-5 more years. It's been a great vehicle! I'm big on maintenance. Treat the car right and the car will treat you right. Consequently, we've never had a break down or surprise issue.

Report Abuse

1997 K1500 Suburban

RTS, 10/02/2008
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Good solid truck for the most part. Two issues in the last 57,000 miles, first it lost the 2-3 clutch pack in the transmission at 121,000 but the previous owner had done a lot of towing. Second I lost a fuel pump at 154,000 miles but that was my own fault for not changing the fuel filter as often as required (filter was pluged). It took me longer to drain the tank than it did to replace the pump, which cost $110. I have a 32' travel trailer and 4 kids and overall this has been a good vehicle. Mileage is poor, but there is a limit to what you can expect from a 5300 pound box.

Report Abuse

Unreliable

sandyle03, 06/20/2009
C2500 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my truck for 5 years. Although I haven't had to replace the fuel pump, I am having some electrical issues. The starter is not bad, but sometimes I will drive some place, get out, and get back in the truck...it won't say a sound, no turn over or nothing but everything in the truck still works. I took it to GMC and they refused to dig into the problem because it would not stall there (no wonder they are in bankrupt). They put a $356 wire on it, and it did it again as soon as I stopped to the store leaving. No one would come up the road to help me.(maybe 5 blocks) Great vehicle but the gas cost is killing me! If I can get it to stop stalling, it would be even better!

Report Abuse

One of GM's Best

Mike H, 06/24/2009
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This truck's been in my family for 10 years now, and I just received it from my dad last year around this time. And, at 210,000 miles, it still runs like a dream. This truck's been through hell and back. My older sister destroyed two cars with it, every winter in Michigan, this truck's a toughie. Repairs have been minimal: replaced alternator at 125,000, replaced rear-end at 160,000, one battery, 3 sets of front brakes, distributor cap. The back brakes are the originals that came on the truck 12 years ago, and they still aren't worn through. Essentially, from my experience, it doesn't wanna give up. And, atop all that, I'm still beating the mileage ratings. That old 5.7 is a strong one.

Report Abuse

Great Car, Great Value

bw626, 05/07/2010
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased the SLT 4X4 2500 Suburban new. Had all the options. I put 230,000 miles on it, wrecked it, fixed it, and put another 50,000 on it. Never did anything other than routine maintenace and brakes. I sold my Suburban after buying a new truck in 2007 for $3500-with a repaired title and 280,000 miles on it. These cars are reliable, comfortable, have incredible towing capacity, and have great resale value. Had plenty of room for passengers and cargo space. If you can find one of these used, buy it. They are wonderful cars.

Report Abuse

gmc suburban

Kirt, 03/15/2004
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Minimul problems. Starter went out at 75K miles due to engine heat.

Report Abuse

4 months and lovin' it

Mike, 12/29/2004
C2500 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I really like this Suburban. This is the first full size SUV I have owned and I love it. I have had minor problems such as the wipers getting stuck, but move after I "help" them. There is also a gremlin in the wiring for the interior lights. They stay on all the time unless I use the override switch. I find these to be minor problems I can live with. I have the 7.4 2wd. Loads of power! Gas mileage the same as my old Grand Cherokee 12mpg. Nine-passenger seating has plenty enough room for three kids and camping gear. Handles great on the open highway, a little tougher to handle in the city traffic. Also, it's a big truck that needs lots of room to stop. Brakes could be better. Great truck.

Report Abuse

High Cost of Ownership

dls, 06/04/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

By far the most costly vehicle I have ever owned (and I consider myself a GM guy). Although I love this vehicle for trips and towing my boat and motocross trailer it has cost me dearly over the past 12 months. Repairs to the transfer case, power steering pump, rear universals, sway bar connecting rods and upper and lower coolant intakes have cost me just under $2500 this year. With only 70K miles on the vehicle I had hoped to own it for another 70K-80K miles. I expect the poor gas mileage, wear and tear and brake pads and a new battery every three years, it's a big vehicle and I bought it with my eyes open.

Report Abuse

Middle of the road

texan, 06/13/2006
C1500 4dr SUV
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This SUV is OK. Not bad but not real great. The fuel pump has gone out 4 times and the AC broke. Not bad for 147,000 miles. Handles nicely but hard to park

Report Abuse

WHAT A TRUCK

skriser, 06/10/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

There are a few things to look for when buying. 1. Make sure it has LT tires and not P, the passenger radial tends to pull even though the alignment is good. We just spent over $500 putting 4 LT tires on and it rides a heck of a lot better. 2. Make sure there are good shocks.The dealer claimed to put on new shocks, they spent $11 a piece. They are wrong for that class of truck.3. Check for maintenace history. 4.Have FUN. We did the 100k tune up,and it runs like a champ. The gas mileage is about 15 mpg, but the tank holds 40 gallons and we can go a long long way on a tank.

Report Abuse

Dependable

joevalis, 09/30/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

One of the best vechicles I ever owned. Rides great and is very dependable. Had no problems with it except normal wear and tear. Has 120000 miles bught it new and I'am going to sell it to my daughter.

Report Abuse

I love it

sunflower252003, 11/06/2003
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV and I love it.I have 5 kids and we can all fit comfy.I love chevy

Report Abuse

Great older ride

Grady, 05/29/2005
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Had to replace the fuel pump and water pump at 70K miles. Otherwise, a splendid vehicle.

Report Abuse

my favorite vehicle

waderboddle, 03/05/2006
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is over nine years old but is still solid, quiet and dependable. I have owned it for five years. It handles well for it's size, tracks well and is a pleasure to drive. Current odometer is 170k. Motor is still quiet and peppy. I use synthetic oil. The downside of this truck is the fuel pump. If you plan to buy one and can hear a buzzing sound, with the engine running, coming from the rear license plate, replace the fuel pump. Also check the gas tank for rust. I've replaced the pump twice myself. I was blessed, both times when it died it was parked.

Report Abuse

Old and still running well.

R W, 07/09/2007
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

125,000 miles and still running like a champ. Hauls our 3000 lb travel trailer well, but uses a lot of gas when towing (9 mpg). When not towing I get 18 mpg on the highway. Replaced fuel pump two times in two month (also replaced steering gearbox and alternator, but after 113,000 miles, I suppose that's OK). The engine itself is solid as a rock. 125,000 miles and no leaks. It runs very smooth even on heavy acceleration. I've heard from a lot of people, including mechanics, to watch the tranny. Had a spring break in the tranny, but was inexpensive to repair.

Report Abuse

5 for 5

bww, 05/21/2003
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm on my 5th Suburban. I love them and I feel my family is safe in one. Safety is more important to me than a few miles per gallon. By the way all 5 of my Suburbans have averaged 18-20 mgp on the road. Not bad considering that I usually I'm loaded up with gear.

Report Abuse

Great sooo Far!

larry brixey, 06/28/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WE just purchased this SUV and soo far soo good! It runs great and has plenty of room for 8! My wife and daughter love the size and the reliability. WE plan on lifting it 3" and upsizing the tires to probably 36" Inches. It is a stylish, comfortable and affordable!

Report Abuse

I love my sub

Dena Shatzer, 04/19/2008
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this SUV. Best I've ever owned. I have a 6 inch lift and 35's. It' reliable and comfortable. The only problem is I go through 2 sets of brakes a year, thank goodness for lifetime warranty pads. Plenty of room for camping and ballgames. Pulls 5 quads easily. Rear air is great.

Report Abuse

Keeps on Going

Gene, 03/04/2021
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great family vehicle. Has definitely been the most dependable vehicle I have ever owned. Keeping any vehicle long term will involve some repairs and I had to replace the transmission after pulling around a 30 foot trailer for a while. Wear and tear means occasional repairs but she keeps on a going...currently 787,000 miles (so far)

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050