List Price Estimate
$6,338 - $13,969

Used Mustang SVT Cobra for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

1999 Cobra # 60 of 4040

jmcrawford, 06/07/2010
2dr Coupe
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Bought this car as a College graduation gift for myself. It is my baby never seen rain / or snow in the time that I have owned it. Bought the car with 28K on it and now has 47. I only drive this car when I want, fun to drive and still get complements wherever I go. Gas mileage is great for what the car is. Paint is good for a Ford product. Awesome brakes and predictable road manners. No major issues with the car other than an A/C pressure switch. I lowered mine and changed the exhaust from heads to the tail pipes. Stock shifter was awful felt like I was rowing a boat. Cannot beat the sound of a American V8, tons of power above 3000 rpm.

Report Abuse

Careful this snake might bite

Jake R, 09/20/2015
2dr Coupe
7 of 9 people found this review helpful

Do your research. I've been a fan of mustangs ever since I was little. It's always been a car that's caught my eye. I bought a 2005 v6 mustang before this. Now I have a 1999 Ford Mustang SVT Cobra. This car is not just a car. This vehicle has a soul and she wants to show you get soul every time you push the clutch in. With every rev from that American v8 you hear her ancestors speaking in such harmony you just want to keep driving. There are no cons to be had here. Don't hesitate buy a piece of American history today!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Still Looks Good

JMCRAWFORD, 06/04/2010
2dr Coupe
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

Great car bought it with 28000 miles in 05. Have only had a single problem. Insurance is cheep. With the recall and short production run. Haggerty considers it an exotic. (99 cobra only $500 year full coverage) Now has 47,000 only issue that I have had is AC pressure switch. Fixed it my self for $50. Stock shifter was junk and replaced that. Stops on a dime great brakes. Good gas mileage for what it is (If you want good gas mileage get a Honda)

Report Abuse

1999 SVT

Michael Margareci, 06/03/2006
2dr Coupe
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I can not believe that this car is 7 years old and yet I still enjoy driving it every summer. Honestly it is by far the most trouble free sports car I have ever owned. I would highly recommend Ford’s SVT’s products to anyone considering purchasing a high horsepower fun car. Make no mistake this car is scary fast in stock form and like any vehicle that makes over 300 hp it must be treated with respect. Ford’s hand built 32 valve motor is a joy to wring out and let stretch it legs. Mustang SVT’s are a blank canvas that every owner can and should modify to their own unique taste. Just drive one and you will not be disappointed.

Report Abuse

No regrets!

Burney, 11/17/2008
2dr Convertible
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I recently purchased this Cobra after 5 months of researching for the combination I wanted. (Low mileage, minimal owners, flawless service history, all stock, convertible) I found this car with 13,500 all original miles on it. It was garaged for the majority of its life, driven only occasionally, left completely stock, used with only full synthetic fluids, and well taken care of. When I first test drove the car I was floored by it's power and had to reteach myself to drive the manual transmission to be able to handle it all! I bought this car and modified it for better performance (not that it needed it) Very dependable, lots of power, great handling

Report Abuse

Awesome Muscle Car

Big D, 04/12/2009
2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am the original owner of this car, and can tell you after 10 years, its still an awesome car. The balance/handling is superb with the IRS. We take it to the SVT on-track events every chance we get, and its always a blast to drive. My kids can't wait for me to pass it on to them, but that's not going to happen any time soon.

Report Abuse

Fantastico.

Eddie Rodriguez, 08/17/2009
2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love the way the svt handles & performs. Would love to drive it @ autobhone. Above 4000 rpm is a different animal. With only an intake & exaust was dynoed by uti/Orlando @ 298.75 hp & 298.32tq @ whl. With a set of pulstar plugs & synthetic fluids it is putting out 315 to 320whl. Getting 20 to 21 mpg in town & 25 to 27 mpg/hwy. But have to admit that is keeping rpm Bellow 3000 & using octane boost. Went to 18'mags from Ford gt.

Report Abuse

Very obvious Ford Doesn't care....

emtboy, 07/17/2002
2dr Convertible
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 1999 Cobra and I have had nothing but problems with it. Now cars can have problems, but neither the Dealer nor the manufacturer are willing to deal with the car. It's headed for arbitration with a total of 12 problems including: powerstearing failure (while driving) Brake failure (while driving) mulitple interior things breaking A/C fails the first time it is used Recalled 3 times. And that is just the beginning....

Report Abuse

Kelly Green

shurur, 06/02/2009
2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Kelly is quick, reliable and gets looks everywhere she goes. I am so happy she lets me be with her. OK I bought the car used (48K) and drove her up from AL to NH. Throwout bearing was bad; so she was broken in a beautiful way. I had an AL flywheel, clutch and pro5.0 shifter installed, and have never looked back since. Never any buyers remorse. Performance is 8 only because she is not a "supercar" and "only a pony car," but proper aftermarket mods can change that in a hurry.

Report Abuse

Cobra Review

Cobra@UMD, 10/18/2002
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got my cobra in July of 99 and haven't ever looked back. It handles great, has the perfect sound, and more then enough power to put those "other muscle" cars in their place. I've put 42000 miles on it and havent had a single problem from it.

Report Abuse

Cobra is for real

Doug Brogdon, 01/02/2003
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is an awesome ride. Bought a GT last year (my first Ford)and liked it. This Cobra is a whole new ballgame.

Report Abuse

Mustang Kills the Camaro again.

James A Smith, 08/14/2003
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have a 99 Mustang Cobra. It is awsome. I get so many heads turned towards me. Well actually the car. I love it. Ive never had so much attention from strangers in my life. It is very powerful and fast. On top of the already fast stock engine, there are so many thinks you can do to the engine to make it even faster, with the aftermarket parts. You ask people if they like the Firebird, Camaro or the Mustang better, 8 out of 10 will say they prefer the Mustang. Mustang, the great American Muscle/Sports car.

Report Abuse

Black Beauty

markalaw, 03/03/2004
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great car. Fun to drive. Completely original except for tires which have been replaced 3 times. I had a 86 GT and the clutch went in 20k miles, I replaced with an after market and the car ran for another 100k without a problem. Had the same thing happen with this car and am still riding nicely with the replacement. Ford needs to work on that.

Report Abuse

Easy to own muscle car

GreyTabby, 01/01/2005
2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My Cobra has been basically trouble-free. The only problems I had were covered under warranty. I am the original owner of my car, and have put 60,000 trouble free miles on it. This is my first stick shift. The car is very easy to drive. This is a great car for learning stick shift on. My original clutch is still going strong. It handles pretty well in slippery conditions. I really like the traction control. If you are a timid driver like me, this car is a god send. It totally takes care of you.

Report Abuse

Car goes fast...to the repair shop

Boomer775, 01/16/2003
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for roughly 2 years now, and I have to admit that is is the biggest POS I have ever owned. Let's list the problems that I have had in 2 years of ownership: Broken piston in conv top, leaking top, engine had to be replaced at 22,000 miles, car spits coolant like it's Old Faithful, fog lights shorted out, piston rings went on new engine after 12k miles, rear knuckle had to be replaced, CD player does not work... The list goes on. Don't get me wrong, the car is a blast to drive, but I think the service manager at the dealer drove the car more than I did.

Report Abuse

DabbinGoon Twitch/Youtube MyFirstCar SNAKE

Michael Hardin, 08/16/2018
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car to this day is now 19 years old.... 130,000 miles... BBK cold air intake , welded x pipe , steeda underdrive pulley , subframe connectors , magnaflow mufflers , new cats.... terminator seats and wheels . This car is amazing... my first car and its a powerful DOHC 32 valve v8 that roars and crackles... 19 years old and this thing is still a beast... handles great. pulls great. COBRAS ARE ONE OF THE BEST AMERICAN DRIFT CARS I SWEARRRRRR. this car will show you how special it was back in the day.. its such a great experience owning this piece of history.. only 4000 made convertible this year... it makes me so happy whenever i see my car.. please get one and it will change your perspective on mustangs. visit my twitch or youtube for a great review of this car. ALSO IF YOU LOOK UNDER THIS HOOD IT IS ASKING TO GET BOOSTED. Procharger or Nocharger Picked her up for $5k also it looks sexy with the top down must 4 seaters dont in my opinion

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fast, real head Turner! I Really love this car!

Roy, 04/03/2019
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

it uses premium fuel, great mileage though! Handles great on curvey mountain roads, Surprisingly fast. People are always given me the thumbs up! With the top down and the top cover on that also covers the rear seat, it looks like a two seater sports car. I have had it up to 103 mph in 3rd gear and it was still pulling! I am too Chicken s--- to shift it into 4th and wind it up, (papers that came with the car says it will do 150 mph in 4 th. gear) much less shifting into 5th and winding up to top speed, just don't know what the top speed would be. I really love this car. It is red with black leather interior. the only problems I have had with it I had to have a power steering hose replaced. 99000 miles on it now, no leaks no oil consumption, no liquid leaks, heating and air is excellent. just recently had to have the anti-lock brake and traction control module replaced, I have to have traction control working, but anti-lock brakes I could do without! Exceptional good looks for a 21 year old car It has 4 wheel disc brakes and independent rear axles.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mine orginal since new off the showroom floor.

GTARP, 06/22/2019
2dr Convertible
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In 1999 ford sent us a new chip,intake manifold,and exhaust. This made it a lot faster. Plus a free leather jacket with the vin inside. Some Cd's and a holder that fits in the center console. So ask for those if you can luck out and get them. I get 20mpg day in and out for the last 20yrs. Just bought an exhaust to put on. I also put a small tuner on mine I.g. for the exhaust change. Runs like a scalded dog.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Fast, but not fun.

punkndisorderly, 06/02/2007
2dr Coupe
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased mine used with about 4,800 miles on the odometer. It's at about 48,000 now. It's a blast to drive on the interstate or if you're smoking the tires at a light. Otherwise it rides like a log truck. It handles like a Grand Marquis around town. The build quality stinks. Lots of cheap plastic bits that creak and groan. So far I've had driver and passenger side windows and actuators and motors replaced, idler arm, a/c lines, headlights (became so hazy they turned white), rubber trim around front and back windsheild (peeled back) replaced. Suspension creaks and groans. It's great for what it is: an $18,000 car with $12,000 in engine, suspension, and brakes put on.

Report Abuse

Pure protected fun

HunterMiles, 01/17/2010
2dr Coupe
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

crashed into multiple trees going +80mph when i lost control of car, didnt have a scratch on me, car was totaled tho :(

Report Abuse

Good Stang

Razorback, 02/28/2005
2dr Coupe
0 of 3 people found this review helpful

Peppy V6 , Handles well, 69,000 miles and so far very reliable. Only regular maintenance items replaced. Gets around 25 mpg. I gave it to my son @ 40000 miles and I'm sure he has driven it harder than I ever did and it's still holding up OK. I have been pleased!

Report Abuse

Fun Car!

John P, 04/09/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is a blast to own. Gets lots of looks, and always wins at Mustang shows. Easy to modify and very reliable!

Report Abuse

Great car

Dr.Z, 04/11/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No problems great car very fun to drive.Very fast and reliable.

Report Abuse

Awesome Cobra...

Big D, 04/13/2002
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car new and have loved every minute of ownership. Superb quality vehicle with plenty of power. Everybody wants to know where they can get one. Will probably keep it forever.

Report Abuse

Fun Summer Car

Rancid, 04/24/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love the car. Fast and easy to modify. Blower on the way. Car really gets the looks. Put a Saleen Light Bar and scoops on mine along with 18' wheels.

Report Abuse

great car

kenyk2, 08/13/2002
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The performance and handling really improved when I replaced the tires at 12000 miles.I bought kumo's and they have been great. Other than a Few recalls it has not been in the shop.

Report Abuse

SuperCar

shaggaroo76, 11/12/2003
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car about 6 months ago. Love the vehicle. Had the emblems stolen within the first month of ownship so that was a new one for me. The 99 Cobra's weren't putting out the horsepower that was anticipated so not to disapoint the cobra owners were given the option to bring their vehicles back to the dealer and let the SVT Team upgrade the exhaust and intake manifold so the 320 expected horsepower would be achieved. Only problems I have had was a bad starter that cost 500 dollars to fix. If your looking for reliability I would stay away from Mustangs but if you want to own a piece of American Muscle, go for it. Cars are a love hate relationship.

Report Abuse

1999 Cobra Convertible

John Slate, 12/17/2003
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought car used with 24K miles, now has 36K; not sure how hard previous owner was on car but clutch needed replacement at 36K. Otherwise no problems. As usual with Ford, I think the interior plastic could use some improvement. But no rattles and a tight body so far. Engine has plenty of power and car is fun to drive. Driver's seat could use more adjustments for a more comfortable ride, but at 6'2", it's not bad. Little hard on the gas.

Report Abuse

Cobra

John Iskat, 12/30/2005
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been the most fun car I've ever owned. Despite being 6 years old, I've not had any problems with it, and am impressed with the quality. Fuel economy is good for a 'muscle' car/sports car. It hits 60 in 5.4 sec. and has a top speed of 150. It is at the top of the heap of upscale sports cars, outperforming the BMW Z4, Honda S2000, Nissan 350Z and Porsche Boxster to name a few. As a somewhat rare model, it is very underrated.

Report Abuse

mean green machine

Darkmatt, 05/15/2004
2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the Car in February and drove it home with the summer tires on it very scary. put it in the garage and couldn't wait till summer. love everything about the car even the wierd green color.

Report Abuse

Procharged Intercooled methanol injected SVT COBRA

Gary Johnson, 04/20/2019
2dr Convertible
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a blast to drive. So much of a sports car its ridiculous.. Cornering is awsome and 0-100 in seconds. Its a tripple black car black paont black interior black convertible top. Still has factory paint, looks sharp..

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050