Used 2016 Dodge Challenger SRT 392 Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$37,990 - $41,500

Used Challenger for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2016 SRT 392 is a great car

Nick B., 12/27/2015
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

Recently took delivery of my 2016 SRT 392, six speed manual. This is a very strong engine/gear box combination, much more than anyone will need for daily driving. The monstrous torque gets you addicted really quick because the car just moves so effortlessly in any situation. This engine is just perfect for this car. The exhaust note is loud from factory, at startup you know you're in for a treat. When cruising the car is quiet, there is some road noise but that's normal for cars like this - don't expect Lexus LS quiet. The manual gear box is very good, the ratios are close to each other and soon you'll be in 5th gear cruising around town, and 6th gear at freeway speeds makes it really quiet without any drone. The hydraulic clutch is also pretty good, and after you get used to the car you won't even feel the gear changes. The infotainment system is upgraded for 2016, now you can customize the lower row of icons just by dragging the ones you want down there. I think this uConnect 8.4AN is the best on the market by a long mile. No German or Japanese system comes close in features and ease of use. The climate controls in the SRT Challenger work very well - I can leave it in auto and it will take care of it. This is a car to keep for longer than most others because not only it looks great, but it sounds great as well and the engine noises are pure pleasure. FCA knocked this one out of the park, this is an icon of a car, renewed and modernized and it feels absolutely great. If you get one you won't regret it for a minute. 7/4/2016 - Update after about 6 months: Excellent, no issues whatsoever, great car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Romp'n' Red Torred Ripper SRT 392, 8-sp. Auto

Doug G., 02/17/2016
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

I never thought I would own a Dodge, but the exterior styling of the Challenger sucked me in, the awesome power plant set the hook, and then the interior redesign in 2015 sealed the deal. It is no sports car, but it is true to muscle car heritage being big, smooth, with gobs of power. It makes a great touring car for two. I thought I wanted a Hellcat, but I was not going to pay $25K over MSRP, and after driving the 392, I have no idea what I would do 222 MORE horsepower. The 392 is a brute as it is and will light-up the back end with ease. So much so, it can be tough to not spin the rear in wet conditions. I decided on the 8-speed auto since my wife cannot drive a stick. This would NOT be the car to learn to row through a manual gear box with tons of power and a firm clutch. On top of that, the auto is quicker 0-60, quicker in the quarter mile, gets better mileage, and allows for adaptive cruise control which is great on the freeway. I love the rain sensing wipers since proper wiper speed to rain ratio is part of my OCD and the auto-dimming head lights are sweet. These are the best head lights I have ever had on a car, much better than my previous car which had HID lights (I do miss the cornering lamps on my last car, though). The front seats are very comfortable, but being a 2-door, they do not have power back adjustment. The car and doors themselves are large so getting in/out in tight city sized spaces can be tough and the cup holder can bang your shin. Getting in the back seat is challenging (no pun intended), but most passengers will forget about that when they get seated in the ultra soft leather... and then you slam their heads into the head rests a few times. :) The tranny is terrific over all, but sometimes it can shift a little hard and be a little snatchy on the throttle at lower speeds since it loves to use compression breaking on deceleration and the MDS shifting from 8 to 4 and back to 8 cylinder mode is sometimes noticeable. But it is typically very smooth...get on the gas from a stand still and she shifts quick and smooth launching you to 60 in what seems like a blink of an eye. The thing will throw down from 8th to 4th in a blink and putting car in track mode makes it even more aggressive holding gears longer. The Mercedes lineage shows through with a ride that is comfortable yet solid in standard mode and the dampers firm up nicely when in the performance settings. The exhaust note is just right and makes the coolest burble on down shifts when in track mode. Stand behind the car when the engine is cold, hit the remote start, and it barks to life with a crack that WILL make you grin ear to ear. The exterior styling makes me weak in the knees every time I see it and believe the design will prove to be a timeless (the sheet metal for the most part already has 8 years under its belt). The 2015 interior update makes it a great place to be as you eat up the pavement. I was a little disappointed in the Harmon Kardon stereo. A couple down points are that some of the controls are behind the shifter making it is easy to bump the shifter into manual mode. Some of the plastic exterior trim pieces could fit better and the plastic may not age very gracefully. The side mirrors are small as part of the style and there is a HUGE blind spot looking over your right shoulder to the rear quarter, but the blind spot monitoring/cross traffic alert/back-up camera help that...plus, you can use the accelerator to clear the blind spot, too. I really think the Chally is a car in a class by itself. If you are looking for a completely FUN car, great for long road trips, you can drive daily (except maybe ice), and shred some tires, it would seem pretty dang hard to go wrong with a Challenger SRT 392. Update 11/2016: I have about 6500 miles on the car now (I often commute on a motorcycle) and have not had any issues. Oil changes are spendy with the special Pennzoil it requires and an SRT filter, but I did it myself. I thought there was a full aero package underneath, but it was just a smallish panel under the engine compartment and cam off with I think 5 screws. The filter sits vertically, so there is a gush of oil that flows back over the filter body. Running in 4-cylinder mode makes the motor sound blah compared to the full octet of pumpers. The tranny is a little clunky in stop and go traffic and the rear diff makes some noise in full lock turns. Other than romping on it on ramps, I drive like a grandpa but generally in horrible traffic, so I'm getting about 15 mpg average mileage. I think you could break into the low/mid 20ish mpg range though on a long drive in ecomode with cruise control set @ 60 in the flats of northern Ohio with a tail wind. Every one rags on the Ford Sync system, but I liked the Sync better than the Uconnect that everyone seems to love. Any way you slice it though, this is a bad a$$ car. Oh, and be ready for pukes in Camaros that want to race.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2016 Challenger RT Scat Pack - AMAZING!

Hal Elks, 05/23/2016
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car accellerates like a scalded cat! There is a direct relationship between the accellerater pedal ...and the smile on the driver's face! The car has a very solid feel whether transversing freeways or curvy back country roads...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The last of the muscle cars

Kenneth, 04/29/2016
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

The challenger scat pack shaker is just a muscle car. It's not the fastest but it's fast at 485 hp. It will definitely turn heads and its the most nostalgic vehicle out there. It puts a smile on my face everytime I drive it. Mopar or no car

Performance
Report Abuse

The SRT 392 is a pig, but a lively pig

P., 06/17/2016
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a BIG car, but my 392 has more than enough power to get moving. It's been a while since I drove the R/T, but I recall it's no slouch either. The interior is of a clean design, spacious and comfortable. Plenty of technology, without it being a distraction from the fact that this is a muscle car. Maybe the two biggest "problems" are: (1) visibility, which is mitigated by the backup camera and blind spot warning system; and (2) road noise (I just got out of an Infiniti G35), but you don't buy a Challenger looking to minimize road noise. Overall, I love the car. It's a modern car that hasn't forgotten its also a muscle car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my SRT more every day!!

SRT Happy Boy, 04/05/2017
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love driving my SRT more each day. You need to drive it differently than driving a normal car due to the outstanding acceleration. It takes some getting used to. If you select the Jazz Blue color as I did, you will get more compliments on the color than the car. If you choose to purchase this car, I hope you have as much fun as I have had so far! It always puts a smile on my face.

Safety
Technology
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Impractically fast car packed w/ practical featur

CG392, 08/25/2017
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I surprised myself by recently purchasing a 2016 SRT 392. I actually needed a 4x4 to have access to some of the far-off points on the local beaches for surf-fishing but nothing really did it for me... The only thing "Cherokee" in Jeep's resurrected Cherokees would be the gas mileage; they are a disgrace to the model's heritage, particularly with the complete loss of the "boxy" design. I miss my old ones... The only SUVs I actually considered were Porsche, but nearly every piece of equipment was an a la carte option, including the ones that are standard included options on most other vehicles. Plus the maintenance costs... I've been rather impressed by the Chargers that have become my go-to rental vehicles. The Challenger SE was fine but nothing overly special; then on one trip, National gave me a Challenger R/T Plus for a week. Jesus that was fun, obscenely loud and I fell in love with the engine notes. I was amazed to discover that the SRT and Hellcat were only $200 more per year to insure than my 12 year old Lexus. Between the minimal insurance cost increase, the engine notes, and plenty of moments thinking to myself "5-10 years ago, I would have whipped a 180 there/peeled out here/some other stupid action", I decided to take the leap. The Challenger SRT 392 is a ton of fun and a pleasure to drive. If driven sanely most of the time, it actually delivered better gas mileage than my Lexus. I've actually found myself driving this beast at lower speeds than usual; partly for mileage, partly not to "be that guy", and/or to draw more attention than it receives simply being on the road. But, it's hard not to give it at least one hard acceleration per trip to stretch it's legs. If there's a fault to be found with the vehicle, it's that it's TOO FAST. One can't really hit and sustain the primal engine notes because in just two gear changes, you're already traveling in the triple digits. Call me crazy, but I think the 5.7L models are louder... My hypothesis is that less power lets one draw out the acceleration longer. Maybe the exhaust is different; I haven't researched that aspect but I doubt it. OK, maybe two faults...the 2nd being the massive hood that obscures visibility while parking. It is impossible to see exactly where the curb or concrete curb blocks/bumpers. Even though I have every available option, there is no front end parking sensor to help judge the distance of the wall/vehicle parked in front of you. Visibility out the rear is a problem with the huge C-pillars...back-up cameras need to be standard. And I wish there was a way to hack the system to turn on the camera upon hitting the turn signal to assist further with lane changes (over and above the Blind Spot Detection). I also wish the dash under the windshield was a different or slightly smoother material. The last "down side" is trivial..."Challenger" is an extremely appropriate name for this model. No matter how it's driven, it's like a magnet to a lot of other drivers to want to race it... While I don't particularly engage in such activities, it is endlessly amusing; 9 out of 10 of these bozos would be specks in the rear-view in short order. I don't know if it's overconfidence or ignorance but they are always good for a smile. Anyway, I'd call this an impractically quick car jam packed with completely practical qualities, like the cabin room, large trunk, usable rear seats, and plenty of amenities. Valet mode helps to limit one's worry just to the potential for dents and scratches while in another driver's hands. I will probably be cutting a pass-through hole and "door" in the rear center armrest for fishing rods, skis, and whatnot.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

392 srt is the car for me!

Tiger B., 05/30/2018
SRT 392 2dr Coupe (6.4L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is fast and comfortable it is decent on gas mileage. It is everything that you want and a sports car. Even the handling is better than what most people say In my opinion. The negatives are The Harman kardon sound system is ridiculous it has so much bass back you cannot properly calibrate the sound you like. Also because the base is so strong the speakers rattle and I can't stand it. Next the head rest is useless it is too far back to be used. Finally I get a rubbing noise in the rear in when I turn hard white or left I have yet to get the dealer to figure out what the Noise Is. Other than that the car is great aim I recommend the SRT model for total fun and excitement.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050