Used 2001 Chrysler Sebring Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,700 - $4,032

Used Sebring for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Used car should have kept

doxen, 09/15/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought this for our son in the military. We liked the looks and it was reasonable had 95k miles. We took it in to AAA garage and they only put in a new timing belt and changed the radiator fluid for a cold climate. I drove it from Phoenix to east coast and ran great. It was also more comfortable than making the same drive in a town car or suburban. The mechanics said should be good for another 1999999 miles, We liked looks so much we are now looking at other sebrings for us. Have owned chrysler lebaron Triumph (biggest disaster) chevy hondas. This ranks in the best.

Report Abuse

Wow, What A Surpise

MissShona, 05/25/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

A couple of weeks ago I brought a '01 Sebring LX. I was on a tight budget but I still wanted a "cool" car. I never knew a Chrysler would fit the bill! Although I have an LX, it has the V-6 engine. This is my first automatic car but it's so peppy I almost don't miss shifting. Passing and acceleration are no problem. It's comfortable on long road trips. It looks amazing for a 7 year old car. I was considering the Mitsubishi Eclipse from around the same years and this car was thousands cheaper than the Mitsubishi Eclipse GT (but with the same engine). The exterior looks very classy too.

Report Abuse

Surprise Surprise

michael c, 06/28/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The circumstances I got my Sebring in is another story, but it wasn't my initial choice. I was skeptical of Chryslers having owned a Neon that was a turd. But it turns out it's just a Mitsubishi Eclipse in a Sebring body! It has been a great car. I do regular maintenance myself, and have used premium fuel and synthetic oil since the first change. It runs as strong with 7 yrs and 83,000 miles as it did with 10 days and 100.

Report Abuse

Very fine, smooth, eye-catcher

Ken T, 07/08/2010
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

One of the finest, most subtle, smooth, solid, quality rides I've ever had the pleasure of owning & driving (& I've had alot!). Excellent power (3.0 L, 24v, Mitsu engine with 5-spd), handling, & stopping ability. All without alot of hot rod/dog noise & flash; just a fine tune from the (unfortunately single) exhaust & from the engine. Yet due to power2weight, I get 23-27 mpg driving in the fast lane. (K&N filter, Z-Max, airflow director, Vavoline Durablend, & +1 Toyo Z-rated's help) Have run it at both Laguna Sega & Infinion raceways with grand style, good times much fun! Then for the evenings; the babes luv the leather, truly distinctive sytle, & Indigo color!

Report Abuse

Outstanding luxury sleeper!

Ken Thurman, 11/18/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

One of the finest cars I've owned. A real head-turner & BMW- surpriser! I got the loaded performance 5-speed with 24-value Mitsu V6. Gorgeous indigo exterior with gray leather, "wood" trimmed, 4-CD blowout sounds interior. At first changes added; K&N filter, Z- Max & 245x45 Toyo's. Been absolutely rock-solid reliable & that's even after hot laps around Sears Point & Laguna Seca! What a rush. Only complaints are a bit too much wind noise, limited rear quarter vision, & power mirrors lost power. Oil, belts, brakes, & tires are only money I've had to put in. At 75,000 miles. No major maintenance until I reach 90,000 miles + 100,000 warranty to boot! Great!

Report Abuse

1 Owner 2001 Chrysler Sebring Review

Victor Kaminski, 10/21/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

At around 85,000 miles I am generally happy with the car, the performance is good, no strange noises or anything like that in the 7 years I've owned it. I purchased the car as a left over in January 2002. My Gripe: I was misled about signing a disclosure that he was explained that the paint was not covered by warranty against chips & scratches. Duh... he replied that people sue over anything. Little did I know they used an experimental "environmentally friendly" paint,if I knew I wouldn't have signed. After about 3 years the clear coat started pulling up from the paint which made my black car have white blotches all over, the clear coat began falling off and I have no recourse. Deception

Report Abuse

2001 LXI COUPE

MARC LOSITO, 11/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I HAVE A 2DR LXI COUPE, V6, 5 SPD. IT HAS ENOUGH GET UP AND GO FOR THE FAMILY MAN BUT ENOUGH ROOM FOR THE FAMILY. AND ON THE OPEN ROAD IT HAS EXCELLENT ACCELERATION AND POWER. INTERIOR FEATURES AND ERGONOMICS ARE EXCELLENT. COMFORT IS A MUST AND WITH THE 2001 CHRYSLER SEBRING YOU'LL GET IT

Report Abuse

Don't count on it . . . or Chrysler

Hoovey, 10/10/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my first Chrysler, and it will certainly be my last. Don't get me wrong - I love the looks of the car, but looks sure aren't everything. I have had problems with my Sebring since I purchased it. First it was the engine. No one ever seemed to be able to find the problem when the engine light came on every 4-6 months. Now it's the paint job, which is fading fast on the top and trunk. Don't expect any help from Chrysler either. Under warranty or not, the problems are yours to fix and worry about. For a company that relies on customers, their customer service is anything but. Take my advice (as I wish I had taken from others before I bought this car) - don't buy a Chrysler!

Report Abuse

Wish they still made this one...

Lisa, 03/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought new. At 60k I wrecked the front end; needed radiator; heating/cooling replaced and body work. I kept driving and now have 170,000 miles on my car. The only reason I'm trading in is all the replacement parts are starting to go bad and I can't live without air conditioning in the summer. I wish they still made this car because I'd buy another in a heart beat. There is nothing like slouching down in the seat and punching the gas. Lots of fun.

Report Abuse

Never Another Chrysler

MadinDetroit, 03/13/2008
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Before I bought this car I was warned that Chrysler's have a hard time in cold weather. Now at 100,000 I can attest to the fact that those cold morning startups are getting progressively worse by the season. I believe the blower motor is also dying, it squeals very loudly on the first startup of the day. Sounds like the belts are going bad, and the brakes and struts have failed on all 4 corners. The seats are very uncomfortable. The design is also a bit awkward as it is very difficult to see traffic lights from the front seats when at rest. Fuel mileage should be better for it to be such a "regular" car. And the trans failed at 99,000 miles.

Report Abuse

so far so good

chek, 08/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The lxi coupe comes equipped with a v6 200 hp engine. It is legite. It handles the road and is so quiet that you can hardly hear it.

Report Abuse

So far Sooo Good!

Sunkissed!, 05/30/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car last July and I'm lovin it! It's quick, nimble and has power to spare... It's really a head turner... Hope i feel the same when the warranty expires!

Report Abuse

Super Sleek Sleeper!

KenThur, 01/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Folks, as a "car guy", former sports racer & auto shop owner... this automobile is one of the finest, fun- est cars on the road. ESPECIALLY considering it's amazingly low price & the amazingly high quality & performance! With a little larger tires (& smaller gas MPG), this silky smooth, super light, & powerful Mitsu V6 motivated coupe is a surprise rocket! Bimmers beware... the ONLY thing U got on a Sebring LXi is a higher price. AND it comes with a 7 year / 100k warrenty & all the nice free services like the time i locked myself out(dah). Buy American... U will be glad U did if it's one of these fine machines.

Report Abuse

My first Car

alex1_v, 06/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Been driving this car since Sep. of 2000. Great 200HP engine that gives enough power for normal day to day driving. If put little over 47,000 mles on the car and only major mechanical problem was that I had to replace the brakes. Good sporty look and great handling. To add a little more Horse Power would recommend getting a Cold intake system for the engine.

Report Abuse

i'm gonna miss this car...

jeffry, 08/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

picked this up as a lease in february of 2001. hasn't given me one ounce of trouble and has been very fun to drive. i think it's a great combo of sporty, style, and practicality (exactly the reason i picked it up in the first place!)

Report Abuse

Chrysler Sebring LXI DISSATISFACTON

Lisa Shipley, 10/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had a very bad experience with my brand new 2001 Sebring LXI. Following issues-faulty brakes, broken sunroof, malfunctioning alarm, broken glove compartment, car shaking and stalling upon start, defective wheel laquer causing flat tires, torn leather, and some minor issues. Not only were several days off from work needed, but Chrysler does not provide loaner cars to customers. I contacted a Lemon law attorney because I still have a broken sunroof that has still not been repaired after three attempts. Also, I repeatedly am getting flat tires due to the defective wheel laquer on my vehicle. I would not recommend this vehicle.

Report Abuse

Don't Count On It

AlanFraser, 07/14/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been a maintenance nightmare. Every four to six months, there is an ignition problem in which the car has power but the engine will not turn over. The dealer has tried at least four times to correct the problem but it returns. Clutch switch has been replaced twice, starter, solenoid, etc. No joy. I most emphatically do not beat this car. It is a total lemon. Do not buy this car and expect reliability. There car has an even bigger problem in that the weight balance is horrendous. It is so front-heavy due to the six-cylinder engine that it is dangerous in virtually any corner. You won't pick this up in a drive test.

Report Abuse

Been great so far

Adam, 07/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Only changed tires, battery and oil...starts every time and runs great....now aat 91K miles

Report Abuse

My frost white Sebring

Heartsease, 12/02/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased "Brina" (Sabrina Sebring) in 2000 when she had just hit the lot. She was and is beautiful. Five years later I still get compliments about her sleek look. Her sound system is without equal. Most important, she drives like a dream. She is not my first Chrysler-I thought the LeBaron I had was great. This is better. And she has required nothing but periodic maintenance. A great choice!

Report Abuse

Had for 4.5 years and still going strong

MarkM, 10/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car since spring of 2002 and I still love driving it. I changed the brake pads and fluids at 50,000 and have changed the tires twice in 60,000 miles, and that's been the only maintenance necessary (other than oil changes). It still runs smoothly, and still has plenty of power. This car is the perfect balance between performance and practicality. I have moved apartments twice, transporting my stuff in this car. The back seat is spacious, and the sound system is GREAT. I didn't expect to still love the car this much after 4 and a half years, and I still get compliments on it.

Report Abuse

Has been good car to me - minor problems

slatsyrc, 02/04/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car since 2000 when I bought it brand new. I had some problems with the dealer not putting the oil plug on right and it burned the engine and I had to replace the engine. The other problem is the front bumper is not designed well for going up steep driveways or parking over cement blocks and in result it is now torn and hangs down and scrapes a lot. Other than that, everything has seemed to go well. Something did explode in my rear view mirror perhaps related to the heat in Houston and the rear view dimmer feature. I have had it 6 yrs now and has been very good to me so far. Spark plugs are a pain to get replaced though due to the plenum.

Report Abuse

Not the best sporty car I've owned

lcarrollccc, 04/09/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I loved the look of this car with the low profile and smaller windows, but the smaller windows caused too many blind spots which caused many close calls. It also sputters when starting to drive it after it's been driven and has a hot motor (you can hear the gas in the lines). Last, it needed several things replaced that should not have needed replacing, such as a wheel bearing, sway bars, ignition cables, and upper and lower hoses at 30,155 miles.

Report Abuse

Very good drive

markdm1, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been driving this car a lot since I got it last May. I put about 9,000 miles on it from June through August, and then I've put another 7,500 on it in the last 4 months or so (about 16,500 total in the last 8 months) and it's still running perfectly. It is comfortable, and you can feel a lot of power underneath you.

Report Abuse

First american car

x-saab, 01/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Does not provide tight turn handlling

Report Abuse

outstanding value

bill acampora, 01/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

for a price of $21,000 this is an outstanding and very underrated vehicle. The v6 engine is very strong and very responsive around town and on the inter- states. The ride is smooth and quiet and handling is first-rate. Not crazy about the interior layout but the exterior is raw and sexy. First class vehicle for the money and chrysler build quality is very noticably improved.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050