Used 2016 Chevrolet Traverse SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$13,500 - $30,998

Used Traverse for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...8

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

First 10K across the USA

Brad, 01/21/2017
LT w/2LT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
40 of 41 people found this review helpful

I feel like I can write a solid review since we have driven this vehicle in every climate and weather extreme. We were in the market for a new family car and made our purchase in July 2016. We tested everything in class to include Honda Pilot, Volvo XC70, Subaru Outback, and the Toyota 4runner. At the end of the day the Traverse made the cut due to its interior, cargo capacity (over 100 cubic feet!), and entertainment features. We were able to get into the 2LT trim line that has four captain's chairs and a third row all clad in soft leather. We bought ours during the 20% off sale, all said and done we walked out the door at $28K for a 42K vehicle. For active duty military you cannot beat Chevy's incentives. Watch for reduced prices on the 2017s as the new 2018s are getting a new body design. We drove the vehicle from PA to our new home in AR without any issues. A week later my wife drove the Traverse from AR to FL with heat indexes over 110 degrees. The vehicle pacified a our 4 year old granddaughter, our 15 year old and our 25 year old. All three seating areas have vents and there is second row and third row climate control which is a big plus during the summer months. This past December our family took a vacation from AR to MT during the big winter storm that came through before Christmas. The distance was over 2,000 miles and we encountered white out conditions, 50 mph crosswinds in WY, and general winter conditions. Comfort wise the Traverse allowed me to put over 1,000 miles of driving on our first day without any lower back pain or leg pain. The vehicle is very solid and didn't budge during the high crosswinds which had blown tractor trailers off the road. The AWD is amazing at keeping traction where it is needed. The road noise is almost nonexistent and there are no little creaks or rattles what so ever. Temperatures on that trip ranged from 40 degrees to minus 15. In WY on our return trip I was able to cruise at 85mph and the Traverse held at about 2k rpms. It had no problem staying in gear even at high speeds. Combined fuel economy after 10k is 20.2 MPGs. I purposely did not reset the "gallons of fuel used" in the driver information center so I could get an accurate number later on. There is plenty of power at highway speeds for passing. The side blind spot sensor is a big help as the vehicle layout does present a significant blind spot and is tricky when passing. This is hands down the best family vehicle that we have owned. I really cannot find a negative thing to say about it.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Positives outweigh negatives

Richinbk, 02/19/2016
LS 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

I got a very basic model so theres nothing too impressive to mention except that the truck is roomy in all directions, rides very well and looks good. My only major complaint would be poor fuel mileage. Sticker claims i should be getting 19 city and 24 highway. I'm actually getting about 12 or 13 mpg city and jury is out on highway mileage since I do mostly city driving. I have AWD so maybe thats the culprit. Otherwise, so far so good. Can't wait to take it on a nice road trip.*"*** Updated***highway mileage is no better than city..stuck at the 12 to 13 mpg range

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not buying a chevy again.

Quinn, 04/12/2018
LT w/1LT 4dr SUV AWD (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
25 of 27 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for less then 3 years. I am very good about making sure I do all the regular maintenance at a chevy service dept. In the first year Chevy had to offer all owners compensation due to inflating the actual fuel economy on the vehicle sticker. My traverse does 15 miles per gallon at best. I have had repeated issues with the stabiltrack traction control misfiring and causing my car to decelerate on its own to below 30 miles / hour. This has happened while going over 55 on the highway several times. Upon searching this issue, many people have reported a similar experience. The dealer was unable to find or fix the issue. With my latest issue, a part within the transmission broke, causing me to break down and require a tow (on a road with no shoulder with all 3 kids in the car). This car is less then 3 years old!!!! While fixing the transmission I was also informed I had a leak in my power steering hose. I have been put in several very unsafe situations because of this car. I would NOT buy another chevy. At this point , I am not even confident I can keep this one for fear of breaking down again or having ongoing issues. I did contact Chevy Customer Service with my concerns, they informed me "They were sorry".

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love the upgrade from a minivan!

Michelle aka Happy Traverse Owner, 03/03/2017
LS Base 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

Update 5/18/21. Still not complaints. Everything working as it should. Now have 136,000 mike's on it. Update 9/18/20. Still no complaints. Over 120,000 miles on it. Runs great! When my daughter turns 16 she says she wants my car. I will be buying another Traverse!! Update 3/14/2020. Still no complaints. Over 100,000 miles now!! Knock on wood-still not a single problem!!! Update 3/6/19. Still no complaints. Over 80,000 miles now on it and not a single problem!!! Update 9/6/18. Still no complaints. Have 67,000 miles on it and not one problem. That's a lot of miles given the standard is 15,000 per year but I didn't buy it to just sit in the driveway. I plan on keeping it for a long time and will probably buy another one when it's time. Great vehicle. Oh and just to know how much our family likes this car , my 13 year old wants it when she turns 16. I bet we'll still have it! Update:. As of 3/5/18. I still love my Traverse. I have put about 25,000 miles on it in the first year!. Great driver on trips. Love the heated seats. Everything is still great with the exception of what I said earlier about trim on interior around seat controls and seats not reclining enough. My kids are comfortable when traveling. They live that they can plug in their headphones and listen to something different than I am. Sound system is great. Will most likely buy another one when I have wore this one out!! Update : as of 9/2/17 i still love my traverse. I would say the only flaw in the design is the middle seats dont recline very far. Not comfortable for long trips, the head rests on the front seats slide forward to easily, and the trim work on the drivers seat that goes around the seat controls breaks too easily. My extended warranty i purchased does not cover the trim work.. Overall, still love it. Love my 2016 Chevy Traverse. My kids love the middle seats and being able to control their music and ac or heat. I love that I can listen to what I want and they can use their headphones and listen to something different. Plenty of legroom in middle and third row seats. Comfortable ride. Great adjustable lumbar support for driver. Love how the seats fold down. Probably more sqare footage in a minivan with all the seats down or removed, but no complaints here. There is really nothing negative I can say about this car. Bought it with only 24,000 miles so it is basically a brand new car for me. Glad to be out of the minivan without giving up my cargo space. Given the safety ratings on the Dodge Caravan has been rated poor while the safety ratings for the traverse are rated good, I will probably never go back to a minivan. I am hoping that once I reach 100,000 miles, I'll still feel the same!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Road Trip Vehicle

John Myers, 03/20/2016
LT w/2LT 4dr SUV (3.6L 6cyl 6A)
17 of 19 people found this review helpful

I rented a 2016 LT2 for a trip from the SF Bay Area to Arizona with 4 adults including baggage. (Grand canyon, Flagstaff and Sedona by way of Las Vegas) and was quite impressed with the acceleration performance, cargo capacity and overall gas mileage. It averaged 22 mpg for the trip but was the front wheel drive model. Hard for me to believe the poor mpg rating others have given the Traverse but maybe the AWD really does impact the efficiency.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
12345...8
Items per page: