Used 1995 Chevrolet Tahoe SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,040 - $2,206

Used Tahoe for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Bought for a spare, can't stop driving and love fixing it up

davolas46, 01/17/2013
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I bought my 95 Chevy Tahoe being the umpteenth owner of it, I had been dumped at our shop's lot sitting for a few years with over 350000 miles on it. The Tahoe had seen alot of battle, rot spots places, front end worn out, rear end hummed. I bought it off my shop for $1500 to replace my Chevy S-10, the first few weeks of having it I fell in love with it even with 350000 on the odometer on it. I learned it was a throttle body injection system and being an auto technician for 7 years I knew it was a very easy model to service. I have put 20000 miles on it, I still own it and love taking care of it.

Report Abuse

I dread the day it dies

Steve G, 03/12/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Bought new in 1995, this vehicle has displayed unbelievable reliability. At 220,000 miles, it has seen many of my friends' cars, foreign and domestic, sputter to an early expensive grave. Running costs are astoundingly cheap, even considering the unimpressive gas mileage. I had the transmission rebuilt at about 150,000, but that's the only major repair. I drive it cross-country with complete confidence. It's easy to speed on the highway as the ride is so comfortable and the power readily available. While the dash is made of hard, cheap plastic, the gray cloth seats are indestructible, with no stains or rips. I hope it lasts many more years, as I don't see any affordable reliable replacement.

Report Abuse

Bulletproof

Peter, 08/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just bought mine with 150K, amazing truck, great ride quality, even great seats. Tough as nails, inexpensive to repair, this might be the last of the great American SUVs. I've owned European luxury cars and have driven pretty much everything out there and this truck impresses me more than the Range Rover!

Report Abuse

Excellent SUV

Joey Dorsey, 09/21/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my Tahoe from a friend who had it since new, after numerous offers, he finally agreed to sell it to me. Probably the best $3000 I ever spent. The truck has 205,000 miles and still drives like a dream, and to call the 4 wheel drive powerful is an understatement. All and all this is my favorite of all the vehicles I've owned.

Report Abuse

Great Truck......but

Buckodog, 11/14/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We bought this truck initially for the towing capacity. It runs great and tows our, 24 foot, 5500 lb., trailer like a dream. Only complaint on towing is the gas mileage(6-8 mpg). Comfortable to drive. Handles well. Much more like a car than a truck. Controls on drivers door could be positioned better. They are hard to find while driving. They also are easy to break(plastic).

Report Abuse

Only Car I could honestly stand by

tgvas, 08/05/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this from my dad in 98. Had 45,000 on it, was mint, he changed the oil every 5,000. I've owned every car & truck I can imagine, none, absolutely no other vehicle has been comparable in any way. Usual service, battery, Alt, Starter once, now I need crank bearings, slight oil usage and some smoke, my mechanic says it should be fine after the installation. I have 165,000 on it now, and will never let this car go. It sits alongside my Audi allroad proudly, this is when GM really built them to last forever, give a great ride, comfort, saftey and a great look, it still shines in every way. Problems I have had.. Driver side window stops when hot Ah, that's it!

Report Abuse

A very decent used 4x4

eric james, 09/19/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've only owned my 95 tahoe a few months. I wanted to upgrade from my old rusty 91 GMC Jimmy with 240,000 miles. I got it way less than what the dealer wanted. $2,800. I had cash and he was ready to take it. Only 138,000 miles and it runs perfect. I did have to replace all 4 tires and the front shocks but I expected that from test driving it. Never drove it in snow yet but in mud from hard rain it went right through it, plenty of interior room and comfortable. I did replace the original 245/75-16 tires with 265/75-16 tires. A little wider and about 1 1/4 inch taller. I gained a mile a gallon from that. It's really a great vehicle for its age. Plenty of room inside and to work under the hood if repairs were needed. I love the standard 350 engine. Plenty of power and it's the most common engine ever to replace or buy parts for.

Report Abuse

95 Tahoe Fun and Reliable

95 Tahoe , 11/09/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We bought a leased 96 Tahoe in Jul of 98. It is tan, 4wd with leather interior. We have 212K miles on it and it is still going strong. We have only replaced an alternator and the intermittent wiper motor (this one was a factory recall item). We have two small children ages 3 and 6 and we go everywhere in it. Living in Colorado we saw our share of ice and snow and we moved through the deep and not so deep snow in 4WD with no problems. If you are looking for a fun and good looking SUV the Tahoe is one you should look for.

Report Abuse

One Great SUV Chevy Tahoe

Love My Tahoe, 06/30/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 1995 Chevrolet Tahoe from Tom Jumper Chevrolet in Sandy Springs Georgia,January 2000. I have had no major problems with this truck at all until the past 2 weeks. My A/C has been out , but other that that jus minor maintainace stuff.I bought my Tahoe used with 43k miles and now I am at 200954k. She is still running excellent. I would have driven it to Orlando Florida last week but my a/c is on the blink.

Report Abuse

Absolute BEST vehicle I've ever owned!!!

tahoedream1, 05/03/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The title says it all! I haven't had my Tahoe very long but it's by far my favorite vehicle I've ever owned, and I've had well over 50 cars in my lifetime!! The quality is so good, you'd never guess it was 17 years old! I've always sworn by Jap/German made cars, but this Chevy has changed my mind! Excellent build quality, perfect height for my 6'2 frame. Runs/drives & looks like its brand new! Literally my only complaint is the plastic door handles, they seem too fragile for such a tough, durable truck. I'm a Chevy truck owner for life now! Lets hope Detroit remembers how to build them like they did in 95 when I go to buy a newer Tahoe in 10 years or so!

Report Abuse

1995 Sport Tahoe

sporttahoe, 05/02/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is by far the best and most fun vehicle I have ever owned. I ordered the vehicle and have enjoyed it from the very first day. Great looking vehicle, easy to drive, looks great at age 15. In fact it feels like part of the family.

Report Abuse

its a chevy

Michael , 08/12/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

What can I say, its a chevy, my tahoe has served its purpose in a variety of places, its great in the snow, in rain, dry, and stormy conditions, even mud...:) only everyonce and a while, but the only thing gm should have put the engineers to work on were the weak brakes that are meant for a civic or a small piece of crap, but tahoes are very versatile, and capable of whatever you chsoe to throw at it, it can easily conquer them, reliable and good looks.

Report Abuse

Built to Last

Zener123, 10/28/2005
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought my Tahoe with 174,000 miles, 3 years later and 254,000 miles on the odometer, this SUV is mechanically sound. Repairs have been needed. I've replaced the radiator, muffler, and the intake manifold gasket (antifreeze leak on the front block - total parts cost $600). I change the oil every 3,000 miles. With a little luck I might get another 80,000 miles out of this engine (or another 3 years - holding my breath). If you want an old reliable SUV and don't mind using Chilton's manual to do the work yourself, this may be the SUV for you.

Report Abuse

Tow and Go

doctorjim, 08/02/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased used with 16k mi, now 162k. A great vehicle for me, as I have driven it to work every day since. I've been deer hunting in Alabama and duck hunting in Arkansas, driving to areas that my friends were pulling ATVs to access. Tows my boat (3300 lbs) without a whimper. I was recently asked to pull out my friend's boat on a dirt private ramp when his full size pickup failed. There is no substitute for horsepower and 4WD! Had to replace water pump at 120k and master brake cylinder at 150k. Back seat is a hastle for car seats, but if your kids are booster-sized or older then you're home free. Not really accessible for elderly parents, though. Gas mileage: 11-13 tow/city, maybe 15 hwy.

Report Abuse

Glad to own this truck

Michael Harris, 07/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought one of these back in the summer of '95. It's held up great ever since then, even though I had it serviced somewhat sporadically while I was in college. 4x4 works well, and the Tahoe can tow anything too. I hope this thing lasts forever. My wife doesn't like it because she says it's hard to get into and hard to get the baby into the back seat. Well, that's why she has her own car!

Report Abuse

Buy 1

LB625, 08/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Except for a poor design overdrive transmission the Tahoe is excellent. Owned it for 7 months and the sun gear broke and for $1400 we were back on the road. Throttle body gasket leaked but the felpro replacement gasket which is at least twice the size goes in easily. This is the unit to buy!! Comfort, power, ride are all the best I have owned, so far.

Report Abuse

Tahoe-JGM

Joe Morra, 10/18/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Only problems have be the master cylinder and the battery cables. Otherwise reliable and safe. About 18 mpg on the road.

Report Abuse

not a bad truck

Russ U, 12/16/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

No major problems with this truck at all. 86k miles and it burns a little oil but runs like crazy. The air conditioning could be beefed up as it takes a while to cool the large interior on really hot days. Runs well in the snow in 2WD and great in 4WD. Road noise not any more than what you'd expect from a truck.

Report Abuse

Well made in the USA

In2RnB, 08/28/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased our Tahoe new in February of '95. It has been an absolute pleasure to own. I plan to keep it until it cracks down the middle and falls apart into 2 halves. I now have over 155K on the vehicle and it still runs like a dream. I'm a stickler on maintenance and have exceeded factory recommendations changing the oil every 2K for example. However, I have had no other major repairs whatsoever. Tires, battery, burned out light bulbs - that's about it. I love it

Report Abuse

Charlie's Tahoe

chabea, 01/03/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased this SUV new and it has never let me down. It is great in snow. I got through 20 inch snow fall in 1996 when nothing else in my neighborhood could. I've had oil changed every 3.000 miles and basic dealer maintenance - the truck still drives like new!

Report Abuse

1995 Tahoe

Let's fish, 06/19/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We used the Tahoe for both city driving and for long distance travels (Florida to Virginia). We have the towing package and have towed a large 18' boat to the Florida Keys and to Virginia with no issues. Very reliable and dependable. Even after 11 years we have had minimal component replacement. 1 A/C, 1 radiator, 1 water pump.

Report Abuse

Good Stuff!

NewCoach, 03/17/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle had about 35k when I bought it. I have never had a single bit of trouble with it. I did replace the carrier bearings at about 80k, and a few other normal items. The gas mileage is not that great (avg of 13), but this is a totally solid vehicle. It rides high and drives great. It still get's as good of gas mileage as the day I bought it. I use a Carquest sport filter and synthetic Mobil oil every 5k. In general, I love this vehicle. I plan on keeping it until my 2 year old gets old enough to drive it.

Report Abuse

95 Tahoe best deal around

95TahoeBoston, 03/18/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 95 Tahoe new. It's been a great truck! Looking to upgrade to a 2007 version. I will be very very very very very sorry to let go of this gem of a vehicle. It's been reliable... "like a rock" as they say. I have the "Sport" version with the big fender flares and everything.

Report Abuse

Love my Chevy

bagged2dr, 07/14/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the truck that I’ve always wanted. It has the comfort of an SUV but the styling and drive of a car. It's a sports truck and was beyond its time. Add big wheels and the experience is mind boggling.

Report Abuse

Beast of a truck/suv

95's the way to go..., 10/14/2019
LT 2dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The first time I saw this suv in 96 (I was 19 years old), I fell in love with it! Finally got my hands on one for a steal ($1100... The guy who had it thought the motor was shot, but only needed major tune-up). It had 240k+ on it, so I was a bit hesitant at first, but sooo glad I bought it. I've had it for 4 years now & haven't had any major concerns or issues outside of normal maintenance. If you've ever considered buying one, jump on it ASAP. They're getting harder & harder to find.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Run Away!

McKeever, 08/28/2003
0 of 12 people found this review helpful

I owned my Tahoe for 4 years and can write a book on the problems I had with it. So, I'm afraid that I cannot write a decent review in 700 characters or less. So here's a condensed review of my 1995 Chevy Tahoe: Stay away from this "SUV"!!! I have owned 20-25 vehicles over the years. My Tahoe was the absolute worst! How was that?

Report Abuse

Good Sport Ute

RobMan1974, 02/26/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle used at 5 years old and only 30,000 miles on it. In the past three years I had put about 70,000 miles on it. I have driven to NYC and Washington D.C. from Milwaukee, WI. I have had no problems with it. It is the most reliable vehicle I have ever had. I have not pulled anything with it but I have used it to move several of my friends to new apartments. It has a great amount of space in back and can fit five people comfortably. And if you like to speed its a decent ride at 95 mph, but I don't recommend driving over the speed limit as it can be dangerous and its illegal ;).

Report Abuse

Good Stuff!

NewCoach, 03/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle had about 35k when I bought it. I have never had a single bit of trouble with it. I did replace the carrier bearings at about 80k, and a few other normal items. The gas mileage is not that great (avg of 13), but this is a totally solid vehicle. It rides high and drives great. It still get's as good of gas mileage as the day I bought it. I use a Carquest sport filter and synthetic Mobil oil every 5k. In general, I love this vehicle. I plan on keeping it until my 2 year old gets old enough to drive it.

Report Abuse

cheverolet

susan bartholomaus, 06/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is very dependable. Gets around extrememly well in adverse weather. Comfortable to ride in.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050