Used 1998 Chevrolet Suburban Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,580 - $5,470

Used Suburban for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

BIG disappointment

theboys'mom, 07/01/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I've been a fan of CHEVY since my first car (68 Chevelle). But this Suburban has shaken my faith in the most reliable engine, the 350, ever built. First problem with the transmission at 10k miles, gear replacement. Then 4-wheel drive issues, when in 4-wheel HIGH or LOW the car feels like it is braking when turning the steering wheel; the dealership can't find the problem & said do not use the 4-wheel drive feature (makes sense?). More problems w/ trans. @ 45k miles - lost REVERSE. Since then - an exhaust manifold leak & a head gasket replaced (this SUV only has 53k miles on it). Now A/C problems. AGAIN I say - BIG disappointment!

Report Abuse

Best SUV Ever Owned

Best Ever Owned, 10/03/2010
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Purchased with 42k miles and now at 178k miles and still going. I perform maintenance at local mechanic when needed and never replaced the transmission in 178k miles. Brakes should be larger as others have suggested. Great SUV for families and very safe for highway and local traveling. Awesome camping vehicle for tent camping and now towing large Pop up camper. Recommend to anyone looking for late model large SUV.

Report Abuse

1998 DIESEL Suburban

CSpectre, 06/05/2004
C2500 4dr SUV
9 of 13 people found this review helpful

Say what you want about SUV's.. Bought this 1998 Suburban Diesel.. love it.. 20mpg city 24 mpg hwy.. 6.5 turbo diesel is the way to go.. will buy another paid 1.58 for fuel 6/04

Report Abuse

Nice Hauler, but troublesome.

Pats Truck, 05/20/2004
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Purchased used with 53000 miles. My neighbor is a GM mechanic and told me I'd be putting a water pump on it soon. At 63,000 sure enough, it needed a water pump. Within months started seeing coolant leak again. This time intake manifold gaskets. Researched the internet, seems this is a problem with 5.7 engines. GM's solution...redesign the motor. No service bulletin, no corporate support, fix it yourself. It's unfortunate GM refuses to be honorable and stand behind what is obviously a defect, not normal wear and tear. It ran better after new gaskets but wallet $600 lighter. All in all my family loves it but my instincts tell me to get rid of it soon.

Report Abuse

Chevy Quality

carconjam, 06/20/2004
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Bought at 20K miles. Exhaust donoughts had to replaced every 35K miles. Electrical problems. Fun rig, but not reliable.

Report Abuse

Great truck-built with low quality components

jbaggins, 07/22/2012
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Granted I did buy this in 2010 with 200,000 miles on it. Interior door handles broke inside. cheap plastic parts throughout break way too easily. Great interior space. Have 4 kids so we all fit comfortably. Rear heat works great, tinted windows and lots of power. It was starting to nickel and dime. Rear end differential parts broke, transmission wouldn't stay in overdrive, lots of electric gremlins left interior lights on randomly due to shorts behind dash. Intake manifold gasket went ($600 repair). Horrible gas mileage. Rusting in bad spots due to poor rust proofing. Water leaks into blower, rusting it out insid. I liked driving it but it was going to bankrupt me keeping it up.

Report Abuse

Wow

Ford guy, 08/12/2009
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had two suburbans now. I normally drive fords but the suburban is just a better rig than the expedition and the excursions is just too damn big. Anyway, it is true that these vehicles have a few weak spots. I have done the intake gasket, the radiator, power steering pump but that is about it. Both my suburbans required the above repairs at the same mileage. They are very predictable and considering how heavy duty these rigs are, not too bad in terms of maintenance. There simply isn't anything out there that can touch the suburban for its combination of utility, comfort, towing capacity, and yes fuel economy. Pound for pound this thing is as efficient as a honda civic.

Report Abuse

Perfect for a family of 7

Robert Millsop, 10/20/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you need a large SUV, this is the one to get. Plain and simple yet with everything you need. It can carry 7 people comftorably. The gas mileage and fun to drive factors are horrible though.

Report Abuse

Great Vehicle, if you can afford the gas

skiingskiman, 11/14/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Bought it new in '98. Great comfortable ride.We have a 107,000 miles on it and 1 new set of brakes so I'm not sure what all this brake hype is about. We have replaced the alternator, one U joint and the rear a/c pipe and the wiper motor. Other than that its been a great, reliable and comfortable vehicle. We are keeping it for the long haul.... unless gas goes up. Average about 16 MPG and with a 44 gal tank it doesn't get filled up very often

Report Abuse

Good so far.

sellinghomes4u, 12/09/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best overall large SUV I've looked at. Checked out Explorers and Jeep Grand Cherokee and Durango. All WAY too small for a family. Overall it seems to be a well thought out vehicle. I wonder if some of the people who've rated it so badly perhaps hadn't gotten ones that had been abused wrecked or poorly modified. I also rated it highly on gas mileage. Mine has been averaging 15mpg in mixed driving, it's overall fuel economy isn't much different than my mini-van. I haven't owned it long enough to comment on reliabilty. It's comfortable, quiet, smooth and handles quite well (within the confines of what it is). Overall I'm quite pleased with it.

Report Abuse

My 1998 Suburban

Chevy11111, 03/07/2004
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Good solid vehicle, lots of room. No real issues. Fuel economy is not as bad as people think. I get 16 to 17 mpg. Nice ride. Coul come with larger diameter wheels.

Report Abuse

Solid, safe and large SUV

kv, 04/30/2009
C1500 4dr SUV
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been a solid vehicle. We've pulled a 28 foot RV, which does pull pretty tough up some modest hills. Gas mileage pulling the RV is about 7 MPG. Without the RV, it seems to range from 12 to 16 MPG depending on temp and driving habits. Lots of interior room and we love the storage in the back behind the 3rd seat. The dash lights for the hot/cold have been out since we got it. The fan speed no longer works - its always on full blast. The engine has been solid and we have had good luck with it. There are still a lot of these on the road, a true testament to their durability.

Report Abuse

Over 200K and still going strong

Mark, 05/21/2010
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I sold my previous Suburban (1994 and 300K miles) to purchase this one. It came with about 100K on it and was lacking in the routine maintenance department, after fixing and servicing the vehicle it has served us very well. Always starts even at -40 F, its easy to get in and out of (a must for my line of work). Pulls/hauls my 31' camper, the boat, or the car trailer with ease. I now have a little over 215K and still use it regularly with minimal maintenance issues. I would highly recommend this to others. As with any vehicle preventative maintenance and a competent mechanic can make all the difference. In my five years of ownership I have replaced 1 radiator, 2 door handles, and 1 brake line

Report Abuse

Our baby saved our lives!

Mary Walker, 12/23/2015
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is comfortable to drive and ride in. Location of accessories and controls makes sense and are easily accessible. We were in a nasty collision in a freak ice storm a few days ago. This vehicle cushioned all of us and kept us safe. I am currently looking for another Suburban as I have owned many cars and trucks over the years and am extremely impressed with this vehicle. Kudos to the designers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

what a piece of junk

gimmeatoyota, 04/18/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

total mistake. dealer un helpful as well as general motors. currently on the 5th set (you heard me) of brake rotors. brake booster failed conviently out of warranty. water pump failed also just out of warranty. 3 shock absorbers literally fell off on the way home from the dealer. replaced alternator at 40k. fuel milage is horrific and it even failed emmissions!! the ride is ok but it rattles going over rough roads so much that you think the doors are falling off. cheap plastic trim and dash too

Report Abuse

nice

j.c., 05/02/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the only thing i would suggest would be better brakes

Report Abuse

Most reliable vehicle on the planet.

Impressed, 12/18/2008
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle currently has 274,000 miles on it and has been the best vehicle I have ever driven. I have taken it all over the US and parts of Canada. I tow over 5000lbs on a weekly basis. The only things I have had to replace more often than would be common is the brakes. The brakes on this vehicle should have been upsized considerably. The front pads last about 10,000 miles if you are gentle. The water pump was replaced at 120k and again at 240k. No biggie. My Honda has to have it replaced every 60k.

Report Abuse

Urban Tank

OffRoading, 06/28/2009
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've loved this truck since I bought it. I've been hit 4 times in it, only one required major work and it still runs great and no one was injured. I still get 18 mpg in the city. The transmission tends to go out at 110,000 miles, I know of 4 people that it happened to. Water pump and heater control valve both started to leak around 140,000 miles. Currently have 150,000. The brakes I put on last about 20,000 miles, but the rotor only lasts about 2 or 3 break changes.

Report Abuse

The Best SUV EVER!!!!

The Guy, 08/26/2009
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ever since I can remember my family has bought nothing but fords until me! I bought this Sub when I turned 16 and have never had a problem. My wife now owns a 2004 Sub my brother and my mom both have 1994 subs and my father has a 2002 Tahoe (but wants more room). These truly are the best SUV's ever!

Report Abuse

solid vehicle

m sudduth, 07/09/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

good solid ride for a high milage mix of off road and freeway driving, brakes have been soft since new,but it stops. excellent long ranger on trips for six adults and all luggage.

Report Abuse

sturdy car & reliable

surburban lover, 08/09/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Not much better mpg than a semi-why? because it is a big car. It is very safe and you feel safe in it. Very comfortable, great for growing families. Mechanicaly it is good. Yes, it goes through brakes but it is a big car and heavy. They last for a long time and for many miles.

Report Abuse

1998 K1500 suburbaN

gbreedlove, 08/26/2002
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GREAT VEHICLE...JUST PURCHASED. HAD A FEW MINOR PROBLEMS (IE REPLACED SHOCKS,TIRES) REAR DOOR WAS LEAKING WATER WHEN IT RAINS, BUT OVERALL DRIVES GREAT AND PLENTY OF ROOM! ONLY DOWNFALL IS REALLY REALLY REALLY BAD GAS MILEAGE. EXPECT 15 MILES TO THE GALLON AT BEST FROM A 4X4

Report Abuse

'98 Chevy Suburban

panative, 08/27/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Plenty of room, great hauling room for passengers and cargo. Low gas mileage only neagative.

Report Abuse

Big Bucks for a Lemon

Somewhat, 10/10/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Chevrolet Suburban has been a money loser since day one. The brakes are a constant drain on the budget. The windows stopped operating, gas fuel did not work and therefore it ran out of gas with the gauge on full, the cables kept coming loose, new radiator (twice) water pumps endlessly replaced. This is to name a few malfunctions.

Report Abuse

Owner

zyk, 12/06/2002
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent for outdoor/traveling use. Ample room for packing and moving items between home locations.

Report Abuse

Review

Roger Nutter, 07/30/2003
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car...our second SUBURBAN...this is a diesel and is too loud for me though the ride is good.

Report Abuse

Favorite Vehicle in 30 years

PEDE, 08/08/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased in order to carry 1 child, 3 Grandchildren and my faithful Dog. I couldn't be happier with any other vehicle. I'v been buying & driving for 30 years and have had some pretty raw deals. This one has been AWSOME. I would HIGHLY recommend a Suburban for a family or a person needing hauling/towing capacity.

Report Abuse

Broken

bdew, 11/11/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our suburban is on it's 4th alternator and it's 4th fuel pump which is a 400.00 part that is inside the fuel tank. The water pump and intake manifold gasket have both had to be replaced with countles other problems like brakes and electrical failures. The motor pings badly when under no load but going up a slight incline and has 60% of it's original power.

Report Abuse

Love-Hate Relationship

Dennis Richardt, 12/02/2003
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it used. Thank my lucky stars I purchased a warranty. 6 months Trani. 16 months rear end. 23 months signal switch, $400.00. Above average break wear. And it pulls the boat very well. It loves the Colorado 4x4 mountain trails. Never a lack of power. I love it & and sometimes hate it. But I would never be without it.

Report Abuse

Suburban

123456789123456789, 01/02/2004
C1500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Suburban of our family is the one we rely on and hauls the family and groceries. The mother of the home drives it and she thinks it is the best car out their.

Report Abuse

1998 C2500 w/7.4

fellows, 01/19/2004
C2500 4dr SUV
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this used and have been happy with the vehicle for 8 months. I got new pads for the brakes and installed a K&N Filter Kit. On a trip to Idaho/Montana I got 14mpg/65mph, 13mpg/70mph, and 11.9/78mph. Three kids, dog, trailer.. no problems. This vehicle is great around town, it has a very sharp turning radius and can get with it when necessary. With gasoline nearing $1.75, it costs ~ $65 or so to fill. I feel very safe within in the vehicle.

Report Abuse

Chevy Suburban

bwilch, 02/05/2004
K1500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the ultimate family transport vehicle that is not shy about pulling a boat, trailer or even stumps! The highway ride is terrific and with the 4-wheel drive, it's virtually unstoppable in the snow! We've got 4 kids and they appreciate having their own space--let alone the golden retriever who has the back all to herself. Plenty of power, comfort, and heft helps maintain the heritage of the suburban!

Report Abuse

3/4 ton HD SUV

j leishman, 04/08/2004
K2500 4dr SUV 4WD
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Pulls a 7000 pound trailer great, very versatile as it carries 4X8 sheets of material. Burns not a drop of oil at 107000 miles. Every feature still works good.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050