Used 2005 Chevrolet SSR Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$12,012 - $22,980

Used SSR for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

SSR Fun

Z6603, 10/12/2004
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

The Interior is a bit stuffy, forget about adjusting the driver seat with the door closed. Cheap center console lid, will redo in walnut. Other than the above this thing is a blast. Normal driving (if you can) gets good results in miles per gallon. Love the exhaust note, I should charge chevrolet for advertising being I have to show people of all ages the vehicle whenever I stop. So for I am pleased with this vehicle. If you buy this vehicle when you are over 40 like me, get ready for the mid life jokes there are coming.

Report Abuse

Silver Streak

SilverStreak, 10/15/2006
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

Biggest complaints: Road noise in the cabin. Also miss the temp/direction mirror like in my TrailBlazer LXT. My first sportcar and it's a head turner. Can be a nice docile little putt putt going to the grocery store, but stand on the pedal and you're rocking at 85 without a thought. Love the top, but I do have a paint wear spot on the passenger side.

Report Abuse

The coolest car ever .

shams, 05/05/2010
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I have driven almost every exotic car being in the car business for many years, there is none as fun and as cool as the six speed SSR i bought from Freehold Pontiac. GM made the mistake of introducing the SSR with a weak engine initially, what a mistake! that is why this magnificent did not do well, they should remake the car with some upgrades and a 600 HP engine. and you will see that it will outsell any convertible sport car out there, this work of art turns more heads than Ferrari and Lambo. It is such fun to drive that when you get home , you feel like going out again for another ride, now that is cool, how many other cars can you say that for? I hope GM is reading our comments.

Report Abuse

SSR'n

wayne, 07/21/2005
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, love the covertible hard top. Mileage has been 15.9 mpg for the 7,000 miles driven. Excellent quality, no problems so far.

Report Abuse

Show Stopper

mtunstl, 04/12/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a well designed and well built muscle car for the new century. A sleeper at the stop light and a lightning bolt on the straightaway. It's not a "cop catcher" but it is an "eye catcher". Men and women of all ages love this car because it is fun and different from what you see all over the roads today. It has a little retro styling with all the best technology of today. Form and function in one cute little pick-up.

Report Abuse

From 2 wheels to 4...

Dr. HG Argon, 01/01/2017
2dr Regular Cab Convertible LS Rwd SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Having motorcycles all my adult life, and was looking for a new direction to go. Spotted a SlingShot Yellow SSR in a local used car lot. A 2005 6 speed with all the options and only 10K miles. Harry, as it's known (Taxi by HArry Chapin was the influence),is all grins and a fun driver. Love the sound of the burbling exhaust and the push in your back acceleration. The quality of the interior components is my only real complaint. Cheesy and plastic. They are certainly not up to the quality of the "look" the SSR presents. Otherwise, Harry is great fun and now I'm one of those guys who parks at the far end of the lot. PS...stay home when it rains or drive something else,,,no traction control and 400 HP & Fat tires make for a Tilt-a-Whirl ride. Harry will never see snow!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Mark's Black Magic

Mark Steed, 04/12/2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I had no intention on buying the SSR but once I test drove it, I was hooked! My former hot rod was a 67 Chevelle SS. It doesn't have the pull of the 396, but it's just as quick in the 1/8th & it's a little more fun actually with its handling. You must pay attention in turns & parking due to the pontoon fenders. It's quite the head turner & have had nothing but bad things said about it cause let's face it...Its phat! Paint & finish could be a lot better quality. It looks good with & w/o the running boards, but for $1600.00 they look good on mine. Extras are outragous, but comes w/the territory. The top's compartment bonnet rattles a little when it's windy & when my speed is up. All in all it's my heartskip in America

Report Abuse

I had an SSR

wayne, 07/03/2008
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

Overheated numerous times, fan quit at 20k miles, transmission leak at 30k miles, electronics when out 3 times, broken inside door handles got stuck in car once when they broke. GM is just selling cheap parts, no electric fan should break down that many times in 25K miles.

Report Abuse

Chargers SSR

Slingshot Yellow, 12/30/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is my second SSR. I love almost everything about the vehicle. Seat controls are tight between door. The retractable top is very convient and fast. I'm a car nut, own six now, by far the SSR gets more attention than any vehicle I've ever owned. It's unreal how many people (all ages)stop to look and ask questions. All comments positive, I've never received a single negative comment. I can't wait to get my hands on the 454/425 Blackbird SSR. Where and how can I acquire one ? The 390 just isn't enough muscle for me. I'm considering one of the new 500 hp ...... Corvette's. Chevy keep up the good work

Report Abuse

From C5 to SSR

H D Lee, 01/23/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Due to a recent stroke, I sold my 04 C5 Corvette convertible and bought a 05 SSR. Still wanted the driving FUN & convertible. The SSR is a little easier to get in & out of. I love the exhaust note of the SSR, one of the best features. The top is a breeze to operate. Has great sound system. The 05 has the LS2 motor with 390 hp. (detuned Vette motor) You have to like answering questions about the SSR everywhere you stop. Points to improve..seat adjustment is impossible with doors shut. Wish the power seats would move back automatically when door is opened. I have the chrome wheels and noticed the center caps tend to move out of position after driving around.

Report Abuse

What a cool roadster

Rusty Fishel, 03/20/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Truly a unique vehicle. It will truly set you apart from the crowd. Although it's usefulness is limited if you are looking for a truck, it really doesn't fall into that category. The lines and the throaty music of it's V8 will surely inspire you. If you are looking for a classic mode of transportation, this car will surely be noted in classic car history.

Report Abuse

First Impressions

RedDawg, 07/06/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I love this truck, car, whatever. Thats the key for me; it's the sports car I always wanted, the truck I seem to need periodically, and a convertable to boot. It probably doesn't do any of these things as well as a respective dedicated vehicle, but, it does all-3, and it does it well! It has class, style, performance and ride, but most of all it's a blast to drive. I will use it daily. Fit and finish are better than most, and the Blue Blur is a beautiful, green under flourescent lights. The chrome wheels look killer with little Chevy emblems.

Report Abuse

The Most Fun on the Road

Jenn , 07/30/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car is by far the fastest ride on the road. With the handling of a sports car, the speed of a Corvette, and style of a classic, you can't go wrong with this car. Minus the few design problems this car is by far the best out there. If you're one for fun, this car is the only choice. Caution: it is a police magnet, especially in black!

Report Abuse

Super Sport Roadster!

Paul Moloney, 10/07/2016
2dr Regular Cab Convertible LS Rwd SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great Beach car. Plenty of storage. Definitely turns heads

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Car is in Citation Yellow, must behave.

Ed, 06/29/2018
2dr Regular Cab Convertible LS Rwd SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Limited storage space in cabin, more than adequate in rear. Would have prefered at least a six speed auto, not four, but it's an older vehicle. Would like some of the recent features such as bluetooth and USB ports. No other vehicle gets as many "thumbs up" or favorable looks and comments. This car is a real character builder, or if male, a real testosterone shot. The sound is absolutely AWESOME.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Rad Retro

HUN, 04/13/2006
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

An attention getter wherever I go. The retro styling with the up to date performance package are a sweet combo. The utility of a pickup bed albiet small and convertible top just add to the sweetness. My teens are always after me for the keys. Chevrolet was on the right track with this idea however it is probably a little too rad for the people who can afford one. End of production in '06 will only serve to vault this vehicle into collector status. Well done Chevrolet.

Report Abuse

Buyer beware

Wendy, 04/10/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have never owned a vehicle that spent as much time in the shop as this vehicle has. Yes, I love the power and the unique sporty look, but its all a facade. This vehicle has spent nearly 60 days in the shop for various problems and it has under 14K miles. GM did not manufacture sufficient replacement parts to fix these vehicles either. So be warned. So far, they had to replace my starter & ignition, both internal door releases, the water pump, and the latest is the headlights and other electircal and something with the center console. And the cupholders everyone seems to mention, mine broke too. This vehicle has been in the shop an average of every 2K miles. A 2 rating was generous!

Report Abuse

LIGHT WEIGHT GREAT FEATURES

Jim Deveney, 06/22/2016
2dr Regular Cab Convertible LS Rwd SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

This little SSR has great features and very enjoyable to drive and gets great gas mileage. Lots of power for its size. The value of this auto is holding up very well. This is a keeper.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Life in the Rod lane

Willy D, 08/27/2005
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

We have had many performance vehicles, and none received the attention like the SSR. I first saw them at the 50th birthday party for Corvette in Nashville. As my high school vehicle was a '51 chev. pickup, I was impressed with the design. Now that we have a SSR we are not disappointed. I describe it as a Corvette that you can use everyday. With the cockpit feel of the Corvette, chopped top and wide body it's got the Look. The LS2 is a sweet engine. The power and handling is amazing for such a heavy vehicle.(it's about 1400lbs more than the C5)Cost seems to be the main concern, but a street rod is not for everyone. No way could you build one with this much content and reliability FOR 45K

Report Abuse

Great Ride

jwxlv, 11/16/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I always wanted a hot rod but I also wanted all the modern automobile technology. This is the first production vehicle that I enjoy driving as much as I do riding my Harley.

Report Abuse

WHAT A GREAT RIDE

Bob, 01/23/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a real looker. It turns heads and you gets all kinds of questions at stoplights. Fun to drive, solid ride but smooth. wish it had a stick shift, sounds great. When the top is down it is the best looking car on the road.

Report Abuse

SSR review

itsbish, 07/17/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had this truck for 6 months and it has continued to be a blast to drive. The 6 speed is a must for the fun factor. People do want to know what it is, so be ready to answer their questions. I waited until the LS2 came out before buying. Now i'm looking at adding a supercharger.

Report Abuse

Great Sportster

Dennis, 02/07/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I got mine in silver with all options. Has been simply great--the towing is great for a tandem waverunner combo. Wish it were quicker off the line. The weight plays a part--more power always a plus. Can't see what else would give me as much fun towing two waverunners down a two-lane road on the way to a lake!

Report Abuse

SSR 6 speed

F Mitchell, 10/04/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Drives and looks great. The six speed is fun to drive and has plenty of power in all six gears. It gets lots of looks everywhere I go.

Report Abuse

Dream car

steve, 01/12/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My wife spotted this at the dealership and told me that was out next car. Of course, I didn't want her to think I really wanted it but too late she was in love. The SSR drives and rides like a dream. The first very cold morning the driver side window was frozen abd I could not open the door. I had to go to passenger side and crawl accoss not to easy for a 6ft 240 lb guy. I have since placed some silicon lubricant in the rubber door seal, keep your fingers crossed. Would not change it for the world right now!!

Report Abuse

SSr first month of ownership

Alyce, 03/11/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Gas is what I figured, not good but not awful considering you have 390 horses moving 4700 pounds of weight. Actual gas mileage is 15 city and 19 highway. There are a lot of vehicles on the road getting worse. The ride, well that's in the rider, for me it is a dream to drive top down or up. There are a few down sides, when the top is up there are more than the usual creaks and noises, top down needless to say, its a cruiser like you have never driven. To stop the wind blowing your hair all over be sure to buy the windbreak option, well worth the price. Yes its a bit pricy, which in this person's opinion was part of the poor sales, the other was, its not really a truck , is it?

Report Abuse

My Dream Truck!

Fred Austin, 02/14/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

I own a '05 Chevy SSR and it's been just perfect. I live in Salt Lake City and some members of my family are English teachers in the Mexican city of Guadalajara and I decided to visit them last September in that city. So me and one of my daughters went down there in the SSR. It behaved just excellent, as I expected, even though gas mileage was the worst part (what can I expect from a sports truck) of the trip, everything else was awesome. The truck handles very well on the Mexican roads and curves, it does everything well and also you can have some heads turning to see the truck passing by. I've had such a beautiful experience. I’m in love with my SSR!

Report Abuse

Very Sweet

Imharley1, 02/16/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is just as cool as my 48 pickup. I'm glad I waited for the bigger motor. It is very comfortable to drive, great gas mileage, fun on short trips, and looks like it would be easy to modify.

Report Abuse

SSR

cali rocket, 04/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Awesome vehicle, great handling, exellent pickup and speed. Awesome braking. A head turner, and a classy looking vehicle. GM to stay into the market needs to modify and swoop up their vehicles.

Report Abuse

Super Truck

bobz2, 04/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Got rid of a new T-Bird and Silverado Lt. This car/truck (A Corvette with a big trunk)is three in one. Sports car,truck, convertible. A real blast to drive, comfortable, fast, safe and useful. I haven't been able to think of ways to personalize or improve other than needing some more interior storage. I love this truck.

Report Abuse

2005 SSR

Dennis, 05/14/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Went looking at the Vette, came home with the SSR. I trailer waverunners, and run back and forth to our boat. Perfect sport (not just cars) enthusiast car.

Report Abuse

Sunday Driver

D. Billingsley, 05/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Slingshot Yellow SSR combines three characteristics that I've always wanted. It is a cross between a hot rod, a sports car and a pickup truck. It is incredibly fun to drive and attracts attention like nothing I have ever driven. I see people taking pictures of it on their cell phone cameras as I'm cruising down the freeway. With more than enough power, it runs out nicely and still has more to give above 60 MPH.

Report Abuse

Chevy SSR

Susie , 05/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We love the car - Fun, sporty, great ride.

Report Abuse

SSR is Awesome

Debbie, 06/10/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The SSR is an awesome car. My daughter and I take off in it on the weekends and we get more people stopping us to see the car. It handles great, you hardly ever see them being driven on the road. We actually bought this car to use only on the weekends I know it sounds weird, but it's a car that you want to keep special.

Report Abuse

Fun, Fun, Fun

L.A., 06/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have always enjoyed convertibles, however, this one tops all of them. It is exciting to drive, draws attention, and performs like a dream. The design is especially one of my favorites things about the SSR, not to mention the engine. And, you have the entire 'trunk' to haul items around in. This one I will keep for more than three years.

Report Abuse

Oowee

The Browns, 02/06/2019
2dr Regular Cab Convertible LS Rwd SB (6.0L 8cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

There is more room in a vette than in cab of this truck. The bed is only good for suitcases and small items. Only the 2005 and 2006 have enough power

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050