Skip to main content

Used 2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Double Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$24,663 - $37,990

Used Silverado 1500 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
1 out of 5 stars

2017 LT Allstar Edition/5.3/6speed/6.5" Bed/4x4

ropiekunfd, 11/24/2017
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ 4dr Double Cab SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
48 of 56 people found this review helpful

Worst truck I have ever owned. Leased it brand new in June of 2017, have put 16k miles on the clock since then ( writing this review Nov 2017) and have had it in the shop 3 times since purchase. Issues include: 1. Transmission slam shifting on the downshift: New solenoids/control module housing replaced at 7k miles and told problem was resolved. 2. Transmission slam shifting on the downshift: Threw codes for Barometric Pressure Sensor, mass air flow sensor and air intake temperature sensor at 9k miles; all sensors replaced and told that problem was resolved. 3. Transmission slam shifting on the downshift: Front and rear universal joints fractured and throwing grease; universal joints replaced, new transmission map uploaded by dealership and told that the problem was resolved. The vehicle still slams shifts on the downshift (usually 2nd and 1st gears) in city driving/any stop and go traffic conditions. The more research that I have done has brought to light the fact that this is in no way an isolated issue with the transmission (6L80E), yet somehow GM cannot figure out to properly fix it. To put the icing on the cake, the frame is not painted but just sprayed with a tacky coat of remediation spray that can be wiped off with no effort, revealing bare steel (this was done accidentally when I wiped oil off one of the frame crossmembers while changing it). The suspension is so soft the truck will literally hop down the road when encountering any tips, or look like a low-rider hopping with air bags God forbid you are off-road. On the same note, the stock Dunlop tires cannot hold the road in wet conditions and offer very little handling performance. The cab vibrates on long hauls at highway speeds to the point where the center seat console literally shakes. The seats are beyond uncomfortable, for long periods of time, and this is speaking from trips to Texas, Wisconsin and Tennessee within 4 months time from South-Eastern PA. The only real positives of the truck include the gas mileage and the 4x4 system which honestly are the only two things that have really impressed me. Clearly I would not recommend anyone buying a Chevy as the overall quality is far less than what it seems every other manufacturer is offering in a half-ton pickup.

Safety
1 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Advertisement
Also Consider
5 Offers Near Ashburn, VA
Check out current offers on the Chevy Silverado 1500
View Offers
Chevrolet.com
*The Manufacturer's Suggested Retail Price excludes destination freight charge, tax, title, license, dealer fees and optional equipment. Click here to see all Chevrolet vehicles' destination freight charges.

3 out of 5 stars

Hesitation on acceleration and hard shifting

Churchman, 07/16/2018
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ 4dr Double Cab SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

This truck hesitates when accelerating and it shifts hard in both upshifts and downshifts. I read a bunch of online reviews on various websites and found out this is a common problem. I took it back to the dealer, they looked it over, and told me the same thing--it's a common problem. They said it would work itself out, but it might take up to 12 or 14,000 miles! I've now had it for 9 months and driven it for 13,600 miles. No change. It still hesitates when cold and even lukewarm. Once it gets hot, it doesn't have this problem unless I really punch it to try to pass some slow poke. If it downshifts to make the pass, it shifts hard and hesitates. This is all very frustrating and really disappoints me. I had a Colorado for 13 years that had no problems of this kind. (It had other problems, but not this one.) This problem makes me want to sell this truck and go with a Ram instead. *This is a Custom double cab with a 5.3, but this website didn't give that as a trim choice.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
1 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
3 out of 5 stars

No More Bowties For Me

Ed, 12/15/2017
updated 10/01/2021
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 Z71 LTZ 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 8A)
20 of 23 people found this review helpful

2017 Midnight Z71. Like the truck, hate the Chevy Dealer who sold it. Brand new, trans surges & downshifts too hard. Dealer lied & said Chevy didn't know anything about it. Nothing they could do. Different Chevy dealer knew all about it, had a TSB on it already. 6 speed trans problems. Tried to tow my Vette & felt like the trans was coming thru the floor. Beware. Lifetime bowtie guy, next truck will be an F-150. Update, 9000 miles. Trans banging on downshift. Dealer still lying. Update, 2019, still shifting rough, dealer Jerry's Chevrolet Balto. Md told me I had air in trans. Lol.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Headliner peeling off

Stephen Mullett, 10/26/2017
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LS 4dr Double Cab SB (4.3L 6cyl 6A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

I purchased 2017 Silverado and the headliner is coming off at the rear of the cab and there is a Constant rattle in the cab . Poor quality for a 2 month old vehicle.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
1 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

2 out of 5 stars

Buy something else!!!!!

Tony, 12/08/2018
updated 03/25/2019
2017 Chevrolet Silverado 1500 LTZ 4dr Double Cab 4WD SB (5.3L 8cyl 6A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

This 2017 red line addition silverado is pretty but....... I have owned this truck for 1 year. It is my fourth one. My past trucks have been LT with the 4.3 V6. In my world the 4.3 is 100% better than the 5.3 V8. This truck once I exceeded 5500 miles turned into a LEMON. It has been back to 2 different dealers many times and all they do is print bullitens from GM saying my complaints are normal so they can't fix anything except a faulty muffler and my CD player broke. My MPG is horrible on average 15 I know atleast 10 others with the same exact truck and get 18 to 24 all day long. My truck is not a LTZ as listed there wasn't a title for my exact model on this review. Okay back to the bad......shifting is horrible the truck down shifts hard throwing you into the dash. It will leave from a dead stop with hesitation and jolt you into whiplash . The transmission knocks when going into reverse and coming out of 4wd. I have a case open with GM and they tell me they are sorry and because my truck is not throwing a code they can't fix it??So I'm stuck with this car for atleast another year and hopefully can get out of this lease without getting hurt badly? I would advise anyone looking at GM trucks to look at how many unhappy owners there are between model year 2016 - 2019 even the 2019 trucks are have problems. Did I mention my engine will just shake at idle from time to time. That's normal too! For me No more GM trucks I recently drove a 2017 F-150 and thought it was nicer across the board especially the ride. Another thing don't buy any truck with 20 inch wheels you will be sorry! Ride is terrible!! The good year tires that most come with are absolute garbage especially in snow and that has to do with the 20 inch size so I just changed them and went with coppers. At this time I can say the handling of this truck is 100 % better in snow and rain so hey 1 thumbs up! If I was looking for a new truck at this time it would be Ford or Dodge. All the ratings and reviews put them above chevy and I do know a few people who had owned chevy before and now drive both Ford and Dodge and they tell me life is much happier than before driving a GM truck.As things continue now the truck sometimes will not go into drive. I have to rock it into reverse and back to drive. Are you sure you want to buy a GM truck??? More negative on here than positive. The dealer will not do anything about it because the truck is not throwing a code. Wish you all the best with your new Ford!

Performance
2 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
3 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
Items per page: