Used 2004 Chevrolet S-10 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$4,117 - $8,080

Used S-10 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

love turned to dislike

dakitn, 05/07/2013
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I agree with the other posting, love the truck, but it is a money pit. Had to put in another rear end at 70,000 miles, and know another guy also did. the road noise is terrible, wheel bearing bad, new radiator, gas tank broke between the nozzle and tank, fuel pump gone, just to name a few. I have had the truck from 13,000 miles. have had other s10's in past and no problems at the rate of this one.

Report Abuse

I love this truck

Cougar69, 06/07/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my first truck and I am just delighted with it. I love its 4 wheel drive capability yet it is still a sweet looking truck. I love my truck, I think chevy may have gotten a lifetime customer out of me

Report Abuse

2004 s10

Jimbo C., 03/30/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

I just bought this 2004 s10 Crew Cab and i love it i test drove the new Colorado and they are nice but i don't think they compare to the s10. The s10 is much more comfortable and has a lot more torque. I don't know why Chevy is getting rid of it. All i buy is Chevy vehicles i think they are the best and nothing else even can come close.

Report Abuse

Nice ZR5

Empty, 09/11/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great Truck that rides like a car. I don't like the seat material, hard to keep clean and hard to vacuum. Excellent on gas, true to ratings. Crew cab is excellent in 4X4, no extra weight needed.

Report Abuse

Nice little truck

rustynobles, 12/09/2008
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive, not too big. Slight driving noise, sounds like the window is slightly open. Descent factory stereo. Comfortable interior, and handy bed for carrying deer and accessories.

Report Abuse

Good value

E-Man, 09/08/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have two young daughters, 5 and 2, yet wanted a pickup. Bought the S-10 after a lot of research and shopping, comparing it favorably to the Tacoma (pricey) and F-150 (couldn't afford 4 doors plus 4WD). So far, so very good. It's a lot of fun to drive, handles exceptionally and was a tremendous value after the $4,000 rebate and other discounts. One suggestion: Buy a light color. I bought the dark, Indigo blue and, while I like it, it seems to scratch easily to a white undercoat. Otherwise, I bought a loaded pickup (all power, 4WD, cruise, CD, etc.) for less than $18,000, NOT including my trade. Until Ford makes a Ranger four door, I think it's hard to beat.

Report Abuse

Glad I bort it

simo28, 01/16/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned my S-10 Crew cab for 3 month now, and have taken it from the outer beaches of Long Island up to Plattsburgh where I now live. It is a happy median between a fast car and an off road vehicle. Meaning while the suspesion is great, it lacks ground clearance. But being lower to the ground makes it hand real well when cruising at 80-90mph on the highway. Chevy is coming out with the Colorado next year which seems to be a nice truck, look at the specs. S-10 has more torque has the proven 4.3 v6 which was used in Syclone in the early 90s. Where is the improvement? .

Report Abuse

Z R5

jlmonte97, 01/24/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The ZR5 is a fun and sporty truck. This truck is not to bulky to handle. It looks great, but is also very practical!

Report Abuse

Fun and Cheap

Kaxe, 04/04/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

First Crew Cab for me but 4th S-10. I really like the ride and drive of this truck. I am sorry to see it go away.

Report Abuse

S-10 Crew Cab Great

Rock34, 09/30/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent vehicle for the price. It is sporty and comfortable. It handles well with great options.

Report Abuse

2004 S10 Crewcab

oldpawdad, 02/22/2006
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have a hard cover on the bed, so I call it my 4WD car with a large trunk. My wife and I have been to Florida and also to WV and we like the truck. Only 19 mpg on the road with the 3:73 axle, but good acceleration.

Report Abuse

Sweet little truck

bulldurham48, 12/12/2013
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Have had my ZR-5 for about 6 years now and can really find no faults with it. I use it mostly for hunting and pulling a large trailer with a BadBoy Buggy in it and have never had a problem with it. Uses a little more gas than I expected when pulling a big loaded trailer, but not bad really. Has preformed really well in the red clay and mud found here in central Virginia, and has never been stuck even though I have taken it places I should not have. As long as its well maintained, oil changes, lubed, anti-freeze changed, things like that it does great. Really happy with my little sweet heart.

Report Abuse

Excellent!

Bustinyourchops, 11/15/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

The only thing that I wish I would've looked into more on this truck was the gas mileage. I get 15 city 19 highway. When I had my Cavilier, I was filling the tank up maybe 1 a week, and I noticed that I fill this one up maybe twice a week. A bit disappointing, but a great truck.

Report Abuse

read the specs

daniel.j.simon, 11/21/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I owned a Dodge Dakota for 9 yrs and put over 140,000mile on it. I recently bort a chevy s-10 crew cab, and now wonder what I did with out 4doors. It has plenty of horse power. I take it on the outer beach about once a week, and it just goes. This 4.3 has been around a while and proved its self as a good engine. I looked at the Colorado before purchasing my s10. Infact I was even waiting for it to come out. But when I went home and did my homework. I hurried and ordered an s10. Some of the feature that the Colorado will not be getting, 4 wheel disc brakes, 250lbs of torq.

Report Abuse

Great so far

Pockets, 12/09/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Only had it for about 1 month so far but really enjoy it so far. I bought a black one. Looks really sharp, I thought. Rides real nice and very comfortable. Got a good price too with the $3500 rebate. Of course the gas mileage is not the best but already knew that going in. I sold my 98 Grand Am to get this one. I already had a 98 4cyl. ex-cab s10 that I really liked and seemed solid with no troubles for the last 2 years since buying it used. It helped me in my decision to buy the 04. I still use the 98 to run around town and work truck. Will use the 04 to pull the popup camper on long trips and in the snow.

Report Abuse

Nice truck

JFrankV, 12/22/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My satisfaction with my '97 S-10 inspired me to get the 2004. I put 114,000 basically trouble-free miles on it. I haven't had the opportunity to seriously use the 4-wheel drive yet. The interior and exterior styling are great. The ride and handling are superior. Haven't found any faults yet. I will review again next year.

Report Abuse

2004 Chevy S-10Crew

jiminpa2k4@yahoo.com, 04/04/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The price was the determiming factor. The new Colorados are too expensive. I'll buy a Ford F-150 Crew cab before I pay that much for a Colorado/Canyon.

Report Abuse

2004 S-10 4x4 CrewCab

damon96782, 04/30/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This mini is an absolute joy to drive! It's excellent for the Islands and the beach.

Report Abuse

Chevy S10

Michael Nardelli, 05/21/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The S10 is an affordable crew cab 4x4. It has all the features found on larger, more expensive trucks to keep it competitieve. I enjoy driving it daily.

Report Abuse

REVOLUTION!!

Terrance McCarthy, 07/12/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Surprisingly comfortable. Seats are more comfortable than the SUV I traded. Excellent towing capability for my camping trailer. Sharp exterior lines and the radio has features I never before had. Love the truck!

Report Abuse

S-10 ZR5

Chevy Queen, 12/31/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Although the seat material is real bad its a nice riding truck and the ZR5 comes with a very nice design. The Colorado , to me, has absolutely no storage. You can at least put things behind the seat of the S-10, where the Colorado hasn't even got run for a long ice scraper

Report Abuse

s-10 review

s-10, 09/05/2003
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Its sweet dude. The handling is outstanding and its really smooth. I got the leather interior and it is so comfortable. I give it 5-*****.

Report Abuse

Truck/Car

the wolf, 01/01/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am very happy with my truck, it is a fine looking vehicle, truck/car. I can haul the items that I could'nt in my other car. I have plenty of room to take up to 4-large people with me.It has plenty of power, with 4-wd. Check it out at your local Chevy dealer.

Report Abuse

OK ,but please do better.

RayJ., 01/24/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

ABS in this truck is a NIGHTMARE. Had to goto the shop 5 times. I cross my fingers it wont happen again, but I said that at 4 times in.It's a good truck for light work.

Report Abuse

2004 S-10 ZR5

Vulcan#1, 01/24/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Had the truck for only a month (It's my third S-10)Very comfortable and roomy for a small pickup. Don't really care for the no-choice black-only interior. Still is an eye-catching design outward. I prefer the looks over the Colorado, mainly because of the odd wheel-well shape on the Colorado.

Report Abuse

It's O.K.

mitchellaubrey, 05/09/2004
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Has a small engine noise(sounds like lifters on brand new truck). Going down the road it sounds like the window is open (they tell me it's the roof rack.) $400 for an upgrade to 5 cd is a bit much. Not happy with sound and features of stereo for the cost of upgrade. bed of truck to shallow. would never get cloth again, like a magnet to dirt. not much room in back seat. two small children 4 and 6 and feet very close to driver seat. gas milage for small truck 15 to 18 mpg. small gas tank. re-fill about 200 miles.

Report Abuse

2002 S-10 Crew 4x4

jdkan1, 04/09/2007
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Problems with the front end (4x4) front suspension. At 60,000 miles it had to be re-built. Problems with vacuum system and actuators, had to be re- built at 55,000. Nice truck, too many problems.

Report Abuse

2004 ZR5

chevy1984, 10/19/2011
4dr Crew Cab LS 4WD SB (4.3L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have had 2 S-10's loved both of them they always did what i ask of it including things that were really rated for this truck. my 2000 extended cab which i never really understood the one fold up seat in the back i drove to 120000 miles with no problem. then i bought a 2004 zr5 it was a great truck. the only thing i would have changed about this truck is the box needs to be bigger but i got by with it. it hauled my wood and a load of rock that i needed with no problem. i would have kept the truck but i had to replace the rear end twice i have researched this and cant find anything where its a popular problem so maybe it just a freak thing with mine. was with out a car 1 week both times

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050