Used 2002 Chevrolet S-10 Regular Cab Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,067 - $4,126

Used S-10 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great truck great price

Dougdu, 11/14/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new and have 150,000 on it. I have not put anything into it except the ABS brakes had a problem and I put new rotors and sensors on. That is it besides tires and oil changes and I did change the serpentine belt because it was nine years old not because it was shot. For the average Joe to haul things around and get from point a to b this truck is great. I get 27 MPG with gasoline and 21 with E 85. I will sell this truck but I will be sad to see it go.

Report Abuse

The Little Truck Keeps Working!

ZooGuy, 02/05/2018
2dr Regular Cab 2WD SB (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Chevy S10 is an amazing truck! I can always count on it to do its job every day with no complaints! Here in Miami the city is tough on vehicles and I use my Chevy S10 to make it through the city. It handles potholes and bumps very well. No matter what task I throw at it, it seems to handle it well! This is a very durable truck! Maintenance is low cost repairs are easy parts are readily available and there are many customization options including stereos, push bars, campers you name it it's available! Gas mileage is very nice with the 4 cylinder stick. As a 6 foot tall guy I find it comfortable even after 500 miles of driving. I expect my 2002 to last many more years with basic maintenance.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Chevy S-10 2.2 liter

gjc866, 03/25/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Truck still running great - Getting better fuel economy and more power as the truck gets more miles on it. Still, an increase in HP would be nice but if you're not planning to race anyone or abuse the vehicle, it's great for light duty and gets good gas mileage.

Report Abuse

okay car

americanrevolution, 07/10/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The build quality isn't something stellar. The interior plastic is like the type used for trashcans, and there's gaps between the seems, and does not line up. If you bend down and look under where the pedals are, the wires are all sticking out and such. Not having the recirculation option is truly a smack in the buyer's face. Don't get me started how awful it was driving in traffic during our fire season at California. The parking brake is also shoddy, doesn't work unless you forcefully push it all the way down. Heavy doors with weak door springs, not nice, almost had my hand cut off once b/c of it. Fuel pump went out at 36k, leaky suspension, what happened Chevy? You have lost me as a buyer

Report Abuse

Typical GM

tahenline, 02/04/2004
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

Gutless no-tech motor. 17mpg @ 70mph. Overly restrictive air intake. PLASTIC intake manifold. PLASTIC clutch master-cylinder. PLASTIC power-steering fluid reservoir. PLASTIC radiator end-tanks. PLASTIC headlight covers. PLASTIC front grill with water soluble coloring. PLASTIC EVERYTHING in passenger compartment. Windows that refuse to seat properly in the fully-raised position. One broken window regulator (so far). All 4 shocks leaking. Torn rubber exhaust system hangers. Throttle jams in wide-open position. Corrosive DEXKOOL "coolant". ABS system must be disabled to get any kind of reliable braking. Hyper-sensitive seatbelt retractors.

Report Abuse

Nice Truck

Eg, 04/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my S-10 in 2000 and have had no problems to date with it. Regular oil and maintence changes are all that has been required. Fuel economy is excellent. The interior could use some upgrading, but if you use your truck alot in dirty conditions its easy to clean.

Report Abuse

Happy with Truck

RFBookman, 08/27/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought mine used in 2004. It has been fairly problem free. I did recently have to have the air conditioner fixed (the compressor went out, cost me $900). Other than that mostly just regular maintenance costs. It is fun to drive but does not have a lot of power with just the 2.2L 4 cylinder engine. I checked my gas mileage just last week and it was 27 MPG. I travel about 25 miles one way to work with most of that being on the interstate. Overall, pleased with lack of mechanical problems, good gas mileage, and fun to drive. However, I will probably opt for something with a little more power for my next pickup.

Report Abuse

My S-10

Rangerdog1, 04/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Picked this little truck at a huge Auto Sale the local dealers in our area do every year. The put all of their vehicles, new and used, up for discounted sales. I've done this twice and have very good luck with the auto's I've purchased. This truck was one of three that caught my eye. It's a very durable truck and it's been my go to work every day vehicle. I've averaged about 21 mpg with every fill up some times more sometimes less, depending on what I'm doing with it. I also had a spray on bedliner done right after I bought. I've hauled dirt, wood, trash, recycle stuff, and furniture. I keep up the maintenance on it and it still looks like show room quality.

Report Abuse

Sor Far SO GOOD!!

gr8wit, 07/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've only had this truck for a month but so far I am very happy, Build quality is very good and it rides better than the Ranger I had. Also the interior is roomy for a regular cab and I get some lookers. It is a black stepside. Nice to have full gauges, leather steering wheel, alloy wheels, AC, a CD and more goodies for a GREAT PRICE! I really bought this cause I wanted it, not needed it and even wife wife likes it.(and she drives a BMW). It does have it's short commings. Next time I will get the 6, the 4 just doesn't cut it, and the darn arm rest/storage box doesn't lock. When you put it up all the stuff falls out! But not bad for the price.

Report Abuse

im surprised

elijah, 12/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

currently have 16000 miles and am still happy

Report Abuse

Dam nChevy POS

memyselfandI, 01/06/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a rude awakening. I have been driving Chevy's all my life and I will never buy another. The paint job sucks. I tried to haul a carpet (yes a Carpet), and it really scratched up my paint job. I returned to my dealer to complain and was told that it was not warranted and that Chevy would call it excessive wear. Hauling a carpet is excessive? it is a pickup right. Anyway, after 4 phone calls and numerous threats to sue GM they finally agreed to fix it. All they did was spray some touch up paint on it and then wouldn't even give me the damn warranty receipt. The Morale of the story is to NEVER, EVER, Buy a Chevy.

Report Abuse

Another Good GM

wrrmar, 06/29/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd S-series truck from GM. I owned an 87 S-10 and 89 S-15. Both were excellent vehicles. This one continues the trend towards quality that I have always had with GM. My current truck has only been back to the shop 2 times (once for an oil change and once for body work after it was rearended)

Report Abuse

Xtreme-ly good, so far!

raceannouncer, 03/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck has the Xtreme package along with the 4.3 V-6 and 5spd. tranny. Truck has all the goodies too: A/C, tilt/cruise, PW/PL AM-FM/CD player. Standard cab doesn't have much room for anything other than the two passengers. Handles extremely well due to factory installed lowered suspension. Engine is better than average but not a speed demon. Shifts smooth, brakes well, ride is good despite the sport suspension. Fit/finish is very good and cab exhibits no rattles at just 12000 miles (bought used as a repo!) If you want to carry stuff inside, you'll need the extended cab version.

Report Abuse

2002 Chevy S-10

Jacquelyn, 06/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my truck. This is the 2nd S-10 I have owned and I have always regretted trading the first one. I don't drive much, as I am disabled and also use a disabled bus for long distances. I use it for errands close by, etc. After almost 2 1/2 years, it is still in immaculate, brand new condition with a whopping 1250 miles on it. I still change the oil, even though the mechanics tell me that my oil is cleaner than what they put in cars. It's a shame that Chevy stopped making this modeal. They only make the extended cab versions of the S-10, which is a very popular 4 cyclinder pick up. Love it!

Report Abuse

2002 S10

Heaston, 03/15/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Exceptional Vehicle! Not one problem. One of the nicest vehicles I've owned.

Report Abuse

Just what I expected

tator, 10/16/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I haven't had the problems other S-10 owners claim to have had. Other than a leaky valve cover gasket and a warped brake rotor ( both repaired under warranty, even though my warranty was expired when I had the leaking gasket) I've had no problems. I like the trucks gas mileage, as I average about 26 MPG. Overall I'm happy with my truck. It is exactly what I expected.

Report Abuse

My Truck

GLENN, 12/19/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

ZQ8 is like having a sports car that you canalso pick up lumber at Home Depot with.

Report Abuse

Excellent simple truck

sean258, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my S-10 since June. It is a long bed with the 4.3 V6. The engine was the only option that I had in the truck.It runs excellent and has been an excellent work horse. I had a minor problem with the driver side window,but the dealer fixed it asap. I get a lot of compliements on the appearence. It is excellent for hauling

Report Abuse

Excellent simple truck

Sean258, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my S-10 since June. It is a long bed with the 4.3 V6. The engine was the only option that I had in the truck.It runs excellent and has been an excellent work horse. I had a minor problem with the driver side window,but the dealer fixed it asap. I get a lot of compliements on the appearence. It is excellent for hauling

Report Abuse

The Green Machine never quits!

Danny in Miami, 09/12/2019
2dr Regular Cab 2WD SB (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this little truck a couple years ago and it had almost 100,000 miles on it. It was a one owner truck and you could tell that the first owner took really good care of it. This is the four-cylinder model with the five speed stick shift. I have driven over 50,000 trouble free miles in this vehicle so far. I use it daily in Miami as a work truck doing airbag recalls for the big auto makers. Sometimes the truck runs nine hours a day most of which is time spent idling in one hundred degree weather. Aside from basic maintenance like working on the air-conditioner and replacing the brakes and tires there is not too much work to do on this truck. I have driven across multiple states through horrific winter storms and in the hottest of weather and it never lets me down. These little Chevy trucks are basically indestructible if you do simple maintenance to them. I keep my oil fresh and I check all my fluids regularly but aside from that all I really do is drive the truck. It is a real moneymaker and it has paid for itself multiple times over. I would highly recommend one of these amazing little Chevy S10s!!! It’s such a great little truck that my 10-year-old daughter asked me to give it to her when she is ready to drive and I actually had to sign a promisary note to her because she knows a good vehicle when she sees one!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Piece of crap

GL1200Phil , 02/14/2020
2dr Regular Cab 2WD LB (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought new, one half mile on odo. I do NOT thrash it. Brake pads out at 26 k. 2nd time ~100,000. Clutch, wheel bearings, rotors, pads ~100,000. Spent most of day changing spark plugs. Its too tight to get at them. Even loaded with painting equipment worst vehicle I've ever driven in snow. 4 cylinder engine has less hp than my M/ Cs, old Goldwing and 1150 BMW. So gutless I have to down shift into 4th gear going up slight incline on freeway with AC on. Bad oil leak since ~ 30,000. Rear seal?? Parked it 1.5 years ago cuz tank pressure sensor went out. Need to lift bed to get to it, never got around to it. Now trying to unload it. Ball joints wore out ~80,000? Driver door hinge pins wore out ~120,000. Total piece of cheaply made junk. No more GMs for me. Going to go Japanese. Did buy 97 Ranger that I love.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050