Used 1997 Chevrolet S-10 Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,226 - $2,601

Used S-10 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Pretty Satisfied

Central VA, 05/19/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my S10 used 6 years ago, have driven it about 50K miles. Had to replace an alternator, battery and mirror, but otherwise nothing but tires and routine maintenance. Gas mileage isn't very good, but truck is good looking, fun to drive and comfortable. 5 speed and V6 are a good combination. Paid $9000 for it used, according to Edmunds, it's still worth over $4300. Pretty darn good buy as far as I can tell.

Report Abuse

Piece of Junk

Jhow0672, 04/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Only 66,000 miles but already had driveshaft fall off, computer died, radiator leak, water pump died, intake manifold leaked, air-conditioning died, windshield wipers had a manufacturing defect that I fixed myself.. generally unreliable truck.

Report Abuse

My S-10

papaptl, 04/12/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

No mechanical trouble in 14 mos. ownership, even though I just turned 151k mi. I just do regular maintenance and put a set of tires on her.

Report Abuse

1997 S10 Etx Cab

Deerehere, 04/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck new 7 years ago. I has been a great running and reliable truck.

Report Abuse

Most Reliable Vehicle I Ever Owned

OregonDan, 08/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just read through a few of the S-10 reviews and thought I should add my 2 cents. Purchased the truck for $10K drove it over 100,000 miles and never had any problems except for a burned out fuse ($5) and I replaced myself... and I'm NOT mechanically inclined. I sold the truck in 2001 for $5100 with 110K miles and regret not keeping it longer. Used it for commuting to college and hauling firewood. Great little truck. I may have gotten the 1 out of 1000... but sold the truck to a manager at Pepsi for his daughter and he informed me that Pepsi runs a fleet of lil S-10 trucks and all of them have passed 100K miles+ with little to none problems.

Report Abuse

Good so far

jpearce, 09/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just bought the pickup in sept 2005. It is a black reg cab SB LS/ZR2 model.An excellent, sharp looking truck! I picked it up with only 20,000 miles, being a 1997!! and have put around 600 0n it. So far it is great but the rear wheels' ABS sensor failed and is being replaced on warranty.

Report Abuse

Pretty Good Little Truck

Crash, 03/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

LS trim package Ext. Cab. Purchased in March 1997. Vortec V6 w/4-speed automatic tranmission. Current milage - 75k. Not a bad little pickup. The performance is nice, although I think the transmission could be a little more refined. It's had about $600 worth of repair work over the past 5 years, which isn't bad. Despite the problems, the return on my purchase has far outweighed the problems. I am a satisfied customer.

Report Abuse

Reliability and Miles

James B, 08/03/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have not had one single major problem with this truck. I absolutly love this truck. When I first bought the truck my freinds said, "The transmission is gonna break down first. 225,000 miles later and still no problem. This is a very well built truck. Truly the heartbeat of my needs and Chevy is truly The Heartbeat of America.

Report Abuse

Why Chevy lost me as a customer

Pete792, 06/21/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a '97 S-10 brand new, at the end of '96. It was a great looking truck, and appeared to be a decent vehicle when I test drove it. Little did I know what a lemon this piece of junk would turn out to be! Until I bought this truck I was a Chevy fan. But it didn't take long before I felt like they had taken advantage of me. I read many of the reviews, and was amazed I had identical problems with my S-10. Like the rear view mirror falling off, and the gas gauge breaking after about 3 years, and the A/C problems. Not to mention the engine repeatedly over heating and eventually burning up and had to be replaced. Pieces continue to fall off and things break regularly. Avoid this lemon!

Report Abuse

Sweet Trucks

Gomer Pile, 01/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

S-10s are awesome little trucks, especially the 4.3 with a five speed. These things are verry quick for compact trucks. Quick, nimble, good gas mileage, looks good doing it. This particular truck has the ZQ8 suspension package and an SS motor. Also it has been lowered and has performance shocks and tires to enhance it's qualitys.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050