Used 1999 Chevrolet Prizm Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$836 - $1,954

Used Prizm for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great Gas Mileage/Reliable Car

Mike Steidemann, 09/27/2004
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have owned two Chevy Prizms. One was a 1998 automatic and the one I own now is the 1999 5 speed LSI. I liked both cars, but I found that the automatic only averaged about 30 MPG while the stickshift averaged about 32.5 miles per gallon. Both cars were very reliable for me. I would suggest either version for a budget tight driver. The Prizm was also built on the same line as the Toyota Corolla and they are basically the same car.

Report Abuse

1999 Chevy Prizm - 4 Dr Base Model

Ess Bee, 05/20/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from a family member, with 14,000 mi. on it. I've followed the maintenance manual and have had NO problems! I've had to replace the tires, oil, spark plugs, serpentine belt and battery; the normal maintenance stuff. I had to have the A/C charged a few times - but that only $20. It now has 115,000 miles and has NEVER broken down. It's been a fabulous car! I was informed that it is really a TOYOTA COROLLA with a Chevy name plate on it. Chevrolet and Toyota entered into a Joint Venture and produced this wonderful, dependable car - I wouldn't have purchased it otherwise. And it's great on gas.

Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned

pteixeira, 09/29/2011
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new, ordered it in fact, down to every feature. It was my very first new car. Fast forward 12 years and my baby has 120,000 miles on her and has never let me down. Ever. I replaced the tires a few times, the compressor on the air conditioner and a few minor things, but this car has never left me stranded at the roadside. I still get 35-40mpg. I will drive this car till the wheels fall off. I expect to put on another 100,000 easily.

Report Abuse

mine seems to be a piece of junk

stacyinjax, 03/21/2010
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car for easy commuting for good fuel economy. It was essentially a Corolla. This means I thought I wouldn't have to put a bunch of cash into it for repairs. WRONG! I have only put 38,000 miles on it and have had to put brakes, a starter, new strut on it. Now the power steering is leaking and transmission are gone. And when I had it at the mechanic the door handle went. I'm so disappointed because I've maintained it. Not to mention that every time I put the air or heat on the noise from the blower is an annoying high pitched whistle! Get blown all over the highway,I'm an old lady and old lady blow by me. Just a hazard. I should have bought the Corolla.

Report Abuse

I love this car!

Mnshine77, 11/01/2008
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for almost 8 years and have never had a more reliable car. I wish I could buy another one and keep it in storage for when this one goes! Seats can get somewhat uncomfortable on long rides and without any cruise control, but this car was built for reliability, not comfort. And my checkbook appreciates that! Words simply can't express how great this car has been for me.

Report Abuse

Just bought this as an extra car.

dmd747, 02/27/2014
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

So I just purchased this car used with just a little over 96,000 miles. Gotta say great choice. We've been having a hellish winter here -20's not uncommon followed by 6-12 inches of snow when it warms up. This car has never even hesitated. Mine is the 5 speed and I love the gas mileage. Awesome heat!!! A/C works too. Mine had the usual door handle break off, but the previous owner fixed it. I can't believe I actually enjoy driving this car. I wish the new Corolla wasn't cvt then I'd buy one next year.

Report Abuse

This car will never die

Chevy, 08/29/2016
LSi 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car 1 yr ago with 185000 miles on it,Today it has 205000 and still runs like a top. The transmission shifts very smooth and engine is very strong. I get great gas mileage about 32-35 mpg. I am very happy with this car and would buy another one in the future if i could. The only issue these prism/corollas are known for at high miles is they burn oil. i have to add a quart like every 400 miles, but thats ok because the car is very very reliable and cheap to own otherwise.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

1999 Prizm Lsi

snoopsha1, 10/31/2009
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought this car at 150,000 miles in fall of 2008. The ONLY reason I don't have it now is cause a freakin' unoccupied moving truck backed into my poor baby while it was parked. I had to replace the motor mount and compressor. A few months later replaced the front brakes. The engine light stayed on, but I never had any serious issues (gas cap). When I got it scanned the first time it also said the 02 sensor needed replacing, but when I got it scanned again, it said nothing about the 02 sensor, so who knows? put about 14,000 miles on this car. The speakers up front blew, but everything mentioned is nothing too serious My only complaint would be space.

Report Abuse

Great Reliable Car

CharlieM, 04/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new in 99. Mine has a 5 speed manual and I have had no maintenance problems. All I do is change the oil every 3K miles and put in gas. The milage is so good I hardly use much gas. It easily gets over 30 miles to the gallon. On a long highway trip, I get close to 40 mpg.

Report Abuse

My Prizm rides well!

vtowns, 05/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in March of 2000, and love the style, the way it handles, and the gas mileage is great! However, it could be more comfortable, the seats are not at all comfortable, and there could be more leg room in the back seat, and it could take dings a little better too. Overall, it's a great car!

Report Abuse

Prism can't beat it

tdhicks, 01/16/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in 2000, and was using it to deliver papers about 400 of them daily. On Sunday this car would carry 2000 plus pounds of paper up and down hills, through snow, rain etc. All I did was change the oil, breaks and tires. After completley beating this car up, a paper route will tell you if your car is worth anything. I tell you this has too be the best car ever. The door handle inside finally brooke off, but that's opening and closing it 200 times a day. The transmision and engine are still in great shape. After 7 years of using it on paper routes I just spent 600 dollars to completely redo the suspension and bearings. The car is like brand new. Chevy needs to make this car

Report Abuse

Amazing Car

Jusamazed, 02/03/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it because it's actually a Toyota Corolla, minimally re-skinned, but all Toyota mechanicals. I drove it until 2005, then gave it to my son, who still has it. Fluid changes, tires, one battery, one fairly recent set of rear brake pads, that's it, and it's 10 year old this month, and still running like a top. It's still on it's first muffler, for goodness sakes.

Report Abuse

Great little car

miles, 06/16/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just stepped up into my '99 prizm from a '97 ranger. The name Prizm doesnt inspire anything good, but this car far surpasses my expectations. It is a 5 speed stick and insanely fast for a 1.8 4 cyl, it is fun to drive and gets excellent gas mileage. I am a mechanic and I know a good car when I see one, this is by far the best car for the money, being a corolla, with unbeatable reliability. A great car.

Report Abuse

Still runs great

cjsacto, 08/04/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for eight years, and it is now ten years old. Mechanically, it has been completely reliable. Aside from a new battery four years ago, it has never hesitated to start. Good gas mileage, good acceleration. I've had some issues with alignment and uneven tire wear. However, there are some other problems. The inside door latch on the driver's side broke off, and I spoke to another owner of the same make who said theirs was broken, too AND they knew several other people with the problem. Mine has some sort of electrical problem; the electric windows don't roll back up right away, and the dummy lights and dome light burn out all the time.

Report Abuse

cheap to own problem free!

Al, 08/30/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This sister to the corrola is a friend that never left me on the side of the road!Toyota at heart! I don't know how they do it! Yet I can't say how good it still runs at 85,000 miles! It still feels like i just broke it in- Unbelievable car!I bet I could get another 100,000 miles out of this rig!

Report Abuse

Greatest car ever built by Chevy

Lovin It, 10/07/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for ten years with no problems. It now has 160,000 miles and still runs great. I have only had regular maintenance like oil changes, tires, brakes, etc. Drives great in the snow and rain- easy to handle. I absolutely love this car and really believe it will get another 100,000 at least. Wish they were still rolling off the assembly line.

Report Abuse

Good/reliable car for the money

Steve D, 02/14/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I leased this car in 1999 and now wished I had bought it. Pros... great mileage and reliability. I have had zero problems with this car. Cons...not all that comfortable but roomy enough for an averaged size male. I chose the manual transmission because it had a little more zip. Shifting is smooth and forgiving even for beginners. If you're looking for an economical, reliable small car...don't look any further.

Report Abuse

Boring and Dependable

rozellium, 09/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We needed a cheap car with low monthly payments that we could count on. The Prizm hasn't let us down a bit. With almost 60, 000 miles, we've had absolutely no problems other than routine maintenance like brakes. However, this no luxury vehicle. It pretty cramped, makes lots of noise especially on the highway, and doesn't have the most comfortable ride. Nothing to get excited about, but then again if your looking at a Corolla/Prizm you probably not the exciting type.

Report Abuse

My car

Florence, 01/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Went through a small flood Starts no matter how cold

Report Abuse

Update from previous Revie

whitespirit, 02/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I put 80,000 miles on my car in 3 years. I bought new for $15,000 and traded it in for $ 3,500. The master cylinder was just starting to go when I traded it. I was also on my 3RD set of 60,000 TIRES !!!! This care ate tires, they would only wear in one spot and the rest looked new. But the car kept going no matter what. It would not die under 700 mile trips, excessive 100+ mile per hour trips, and constant abuse. Had this been a cheap car I would have demolished it along time ago.

Report Abuse

'99 Prizm review

Jim9999, 02/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This vehicle is a great selection for someone looking for inexpensive, good- quality transportation. Fuel economy is good, and maintenance is few and far between.

Report Abuse

Reliable

NJ Driver 1999, 02/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought new and after 70000 miles still love it. No breakdowns or problems, just regular maintenance.

Report Abuse

Prizm is a GREAT car!

TheHeat, 03/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really can't say enough about this car. I've owned Hondas, Nissans, a Mazda, and many other foreign and domestic autos and this is absolutely in the top three, heck it may be number 1 overall! Just an awesome, reliable and economical Corolla clone. Think I'll keep it for a LONG time!

Report Abuse

2nd Prism

roedl161, 07/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd Prism. My first lasted 10 years with no major problems. This Prism is now 4 years old and makes noises the last one didn't. I have also had it into my mechanic oftener for wobbles at higher speeds, a problem which has never been completely solved. Car just dosen't seem as well made as my first one. Thanks for this site to air opinions.

Report Abuse

Crash Survivor

zmjh, 03/10/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was recently the victim of a hit and run accident in my 1999 Prizm - hit broadside on the drivers side near the front wheel. I haven't seen the police report yet, but the impact was severe. The car is a total loss, but I think it saved my life. The car contracted like an accordion - absorbing the shock. The shoulder harness locked, preventing me from flying into the windshield, and the airbags deployed, giving my head a soft landing from the unavoidable forward movement. In short, I got out of the car without a scratch. If crash safety is your concern, I can certainly testify to my favorable experience.

Report Abuse

Gives me what I have expected and more

Burak, 07/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is absolutely the best. Reliable, with enough quickness and a nice design (better than his sister Corolla). For a mid-size sedan, it gives what you expect. There are some small design details, but they don't matter. I think Corolla saw that market is going to Prizm, than decided not to give the engine and drivetrain to Chevy. And they stopped the line after '02. How sad.

Report Abuse

Reliable Cutie

Bahadir, 07/20/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I needed a car to get me from point A to point B. My Prizm has a nice design, and is pretty quick with a Japanese engine and drivetrain. I thank Chevy for the decision. Best idea ever--no problems. Only changing oil was enough.

Report Abuse

One of the best small cars

Josh, 08/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was surprised when I first drove this car. For a 1.8L 120hp this thing sure has some pep to it. It is fun to drive, economical and super reliable! The dealership said they repaired the driver's side door handle once and it just broke again, so the door handles are super cheap. The A/C is cold and cools the car fast. It handles well, and is highly recommeded to all! Too bad they stopped making it!

Report Abuse

1999 Chevrolet Prizm

klemmens, 03/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Prizm handles very easily. It is a lot of fun to drive, has the get up and go for interstate driving,is comfortable, very reliable, and very affordable.

Report Abuse

Car is awesome

lovemyprizm, 08/12/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Prizm because of the fuel economy, and figured it would at least get me back and forth throuh 4 years of commuting to college. It's now at 124,000 miles and still runs like it's new! There are little things that are starting to wear out now, like my heater/air conditioner blower only works on high, but thats just age and can be delt with. This is a totally reliable car and gets great gas mileage. I average anwhere between 35 and 40 mpg depending on the type of driving I'm doing. I would reccomend this car to anyone thinking of buying one. It's a practical car, so if your looking for sporty it's not the car for you.

Report Abuse

Most Reliable Car Ever Owned

RPriest, 09/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used 7 years ago. Days in shop for repairs since then? Zero. It performs exactly like the first day I bought it, and still gets the same outstanding city mileage (31 mpg). This is a car with no hassles. I can't say enough postive about it.

Report Abuse

Wonderful little car

Jackpinejack, 03/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is, after all, a Toyota Corolla with a Chevy badge, and I'm a Corolla nut. I just want a car that doesn't ever want or need to be fixed, and this Prizm/Corolla fits the bill. Too bad Chevy has dropped the line -- I guess they were embarassed that they junk-pile small models they make (I once owned a ghastly Vega) can't compare. Reliable Reliable Reliable.

Report Abuse

No regrets

Starving student, 07/21/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really can't say enough about this car. It is the first car that I have owned and I'm afraid it may have set the bar too high for my future vehicles. I try to keep up on the routine maintenance, but even when I don't, the car is extremely forgiving. It has given me 50000 miles of trouble free driving and all I have given back is oil, tires, brakes and a battery. This amazes me because my wife learned how to drive a 5-speed on this car, it is not garaged (it gets buried in snow every winter and withstands sub zero temperatures) and we drive it all over the western US during the summers. On a recent trip, I calculated that we averaged 44 mpg! Bottom line: this is an all around great car.

Report Abuse

A Very Nice Little Car

Syracusan17, 05/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a base model with a 5 speed manual, air conditioning, cassette, tilt wheel, side airbags, ABS, and alloy wheels. I have had ZERO problems in a year of ownership. I STOLE this car- a comparable Toyota Corolla (the same car) with more miles and less options was selling for $3000 more! Looks good, and feels solid. Tires are the weak point- the stock Goodyears were terrible. I upgraded to 185/60-14 Yokohama Avid T4's and the car is far more stable. The cost cutting is apparent in the sheet metal, though: it dents and dings extremely easily. Overall a trouble free, enjoyable piece of point-to-point transportation.

Report Abuse

Reliable Car

Sankrit, 05/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car new in January 1999. It was custom built to my specifications. Except for regular oil change I had absolutely no problem with this car. It has been extremelt reliable.

Report Abuse

review of 1999 Prizm

MAUREEN, 05/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall, this is a very good car for general transportation and for individuals and small families. My model is pretty basic, but has enough frills to get by (radio, AC, power brakes/steering, automatic trans). The gas mileage is a plus. This car makes for good, reliable, affordable, fuel- efficient transportation.

Report Abuse

Frequent repairs

Tampa Tom, 08/31/2016
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Basically being a Corolla, I would have expected more reliability. Bought it for my daughter's first car. Put nearly as much oil in it as gas and the brake switch needs replaced monthly as it locks the gear into park. Love getting those calls from her to come rescue her from the roadside. Cigarette lighter pops the stereo fuse. Need a crane to get out of the car as it comes as a low rider straight from the factory. Okay, enough whining already.... Oh, and don't take a drink along with you if you plan on using the stereo as it will block the controls. Okay, now I'm done whining. LOL

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My First and Best Car

John, 02/26/2017
LSi 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a dependable and reliable car if you get one that is in healthy condition. All that is required is regular maintenance. Just remember to change the oil and basically that's all you have to do. This car is extremely low maintenance. Gas mileage is good and there is nothing that went wrong with the engine yet and it has 123,000 miles on it. Just routine stuff is required; I had to change the sensor twice. I had to change the serpentine belt. Just recently the brake hose had a leak and had to be replaced. Changing the sensor was the most expensive thing I had to do for this car. It is very low maintenance and it get's good MPG. It drives like it was purchased from the dealership just last week!! The only real downside I can say is that the interior controls are cheap and the door handles break a lot. The inside door handles are terrible. You have to be careful when opening the doors from the inside. One other downside is the cars pickup speed. It is very slow to gain speed, but after the car picks up the desired speed that you want it cruises right along.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Bad Piston Design, Burns Oil

P. Dwyer, 07/15/2019
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

80K Burns 1 qt of Oil per tank of gas. Check the internet, Bad Piston design with too few oil passage holes. Junk half breed

Report Abuse

Burns oil and dead at 80,000

Paul Jacoubs, 07/15/2019
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Don't Do It !!! Google -"99 Prizm Burning Oil"

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050