Used 1996 Chevrolet Monte Carlo Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$977 - $2,389

Used Monte Carlo for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Good does not outwiegh bad

acerfan, 07/05/2006
LS 2dr Coupe
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Mechanically has been decent, no major repairs. Trunk is very roomy and with the fold-down back seats you can fit a lot in this car. Clearance is way too low, and long doors make tight parking spaces impossible to fit in (if you actually want to get out of the vehicle). One cup holder is not enough. Battery is impossible to get to, being under a support bar and the washer fluid tank. The turning radius of this car is the worst of anything post-90's I have ever driven.

Report Abuse

My first car!

CAE, 08/18/2010
LS 2dr Coupe
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My mom and dad bought this car hoping it would last me through college. Boy oh boy! We bought this car used for $17,000 (it was one year old). It had 22,000 miles on it as it had been a rental car. My dad was very weary, but I couldn't resist the bright red paint and spoiler. Once the windows were tinted and 17" rims were on it was a hot car! Now, 10 years later my first (and only) car just turned over 200,000 miles. I have really loved driving this car. It handles great, but repairs are never cheap (usually due to labor costs). Proper maintenance is key to this car's longevity. The paint is still shiny and the interior still has plenty of wear left on it.

Report Abuse

My first car, worst car.

erigney, 08/12/2014
LS 2dr Coupe
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car myself with the money I had made from my first job. This wasn't even three years ago and I have probably paid for it twice in repairs. New timing chain. New spark plugs -twice. New spark wires- twice. New Catalytic Converter. Cleaned Muffler. New turn signal switch. Ect. This car has been nothing but heartache. I loved it to death at first, but it's sucking me dry. Still trying to sell it.... Would not recommend.

Report Abuse

Best Car Ever

Genocide, 03/21/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Best Car Ever

Report Abuse

nasty

c mundie, 04/03/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

nothing but problems

Report Abuse

Shoud have been better

galoot, 04/09/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The spark plug wires started going bad at about 20K miles. At about 40K and 5 trips to the shop they were all replaced. After a recall notice i waited for another 1 to go bad. So i had the dealership replace all 6 wires. After going in 6 times chevy has replaced all the wires twice. It didn't cost anything but, after 6 trips i got pissed off. If you have to pay to have the wires replaced on the Z34 it costs a lot because they have to take the intake off to get to the back 3 wires. Another problem is the alterator. It went bad at 51K and agian at 104K. It is under the engine. So it gets hit with dirt and goes bad. Only a shop can replace it. The engine has to be lowed to replace it.

Report Abuse

Ehhhh

20yearoldcollegeboy, 08/08/2008
Z34 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Since owning this car I have had very mixed feelings on it. Bought when I was 16. It gets me around. A great car if you have the money to fix problems which there are a lot! And each problem cost a small fortune to fix. The car handles well, has a nice ride, people always think its newer than it is (body just started showing small rust in two spots),body holds up well (hit three deer at once, insurance fixed, MPG are decent if you baby the throttle (28 hwy)but can dip as low as 14 in city. Engine seems to be stronger at some times than others, can be fast and very stable, quiet at 75-80 hwy. One cupholder for 5 seats? 1-2 downshift is slow! Occassional trouble starting. It's a 12 yr old car

Report Abuse

Not a Bad First Car! 96 Z34

Rick , 12/11/2008
Z34 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is not a bad first car, I enjoy driving it. It has power for a v6. Nice looking vehicle, and the gas mileage could be better. But I get about 19 mpg. Wish the body and underbody was more stable. So far I have replaced, (tps sensor front and rear struts, strut bushings, oil pan). Transmission is only good for about 80,000 miles. I love the vehicle though, it is worth the 6,000 I paid for it. Bought it at mileage 60,000 miles and now has 145,000 and still strong! Keep fluids up to date, and this vehicle is nice! Bought the car from my father back in 2005, am the second owner! I will never get rid of this vehicle!

Report Abuse

DON'T invest your money in these cars

cemjr149, 08/06/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had more trouble with this car than I can describe in this box. 2 alternators, numerous sensors, electric door locks don't work($150 each to fix), electric windows work half of the time, volume for radio turns off whenever I turn the steering wheel, spark plug wires had to be replaced twice. Vacuum pump needs to be replaced now($350.00). Dealer has replaced many other parts to make it idle correctly before determining the vacuum pump was bad and charged me for all of the parts and labor while he was guessing. I wouldn't recommend this car for anyone and my car is not an isolated case. Do your research before buying a Chevrolet Monte Carlo.

Report Abuse

Nothing but bad news

Nannygoat, 08/21/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

It has been nothing but problems: alternator, spark plug wires (twice), spark plugs, power windows (twice), power door locks, driver's reclining mechanism, door padding, center console, power steering, transmission. I have sunk about $5-6K into this car in the 4.5 years of ownership. Only 67K miles. Don't bother seeking a refuge with GM "customer service" either. They just tell you to get lost.

Report Abuse

Loud Z34

montez34, 12/07/2008
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for almost 5 yrs bought with 78,000mi and it has been pretty reliable, it has never left me sitting anywhere. It now has 133,000 mi and a few problems, it doesn't want to shift from 2 to 3 when cold, shifts fine when warm, replaced intake manifold gasket, timing belt, and rotors. I think this car is fun to drive and looks good even with problems. It had Flowmaster mufflers when I bought it and I put a K&N intake on it and Splitfire plugs, mufflers rusted out about a year ago and it's loud as hell now. I think it has held up to my abuse pretty good though and I hope to keep driving it for along time because it's a summer car only now after I bought a truck.

Report Abuse

My Monte carlo

Monte96, 04/02/2009
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from a private seller when it had 100,000 miles on it. That was 8 years ago. I bought this car in November and made a trip to from North Carolina to Wisconsin with it in December. Then we also drove it to Florida twice. I have had intake manifold gaskets replaced twice, but luckily my husband did that himself. I had a problem once with an ignition wire broke and we had to tow it to the dealership to get the "code" to know what was wrong, after trying everything we could think of. Overall, I LOVE my Monte Carlo. It has 213,000 miles on it right now. It is also in the body shop because someone hit me. It is a very sturdy car, withstands damage well.

Report Abuse

Excellent car

bigguy, 05/31/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never had a problem with this car, never been in the shop except for routine maintenance. Better gas mileage than listed, sport suspension lets it handle great.

Report Abuse

monte carlo z34

shelbyvillepd232, 06/14/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

only big problem was the alternator. car handles like a mix between a sports car and a luxury car.

Report Abuse

chock full o' trouble

djlotek, 07/04/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

in less than 15,000 miles we have had to rebuild the engine due to a seal blowing and the oil level warning lights never coming on. The transmission failed and had to be rebuilt. the Theftlock system on the ignition failed and cost us 400 bucks to replace and we jsut got nailed for 500 bucks to replace and ALTERNATOR. this car has been full of problems and very expensive to work on

Report Abuse

Waited too long!

Big Dog, 07/06/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I traded my Z-34 at 98000 miles. The timing belt, water pump, and altenator all lasted to 97000 miles....I was waiting for 0% financing on a new SUV. Other than my poor timing to dump it the Z-34 was a great car.

Report Abuse

My z34

z34monte, 07/12/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love this car

Report Abuse

not bad

Nismo 400R, 08/08/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have a 96 Z34 i bought it about 2 months ago and i have had no problems athough it acts like the alternator or something is about to go out but besides that i love this car. The only thing i ate about this car is that fact that it is a gas guzzler. it has 17 mpg a 350 can get like 14 so go figure. v6 - v8 17 mpg is pathetic when in a v6. i have a cousin who has a mustang that gets better gas mileage than me.

Report Abuse

IF ONLY

Richard in OK, 08/15/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Z34 cheaply,and got a 2yr. warranty with it.Let's face it,it's a sport coupe, not a luxury sedan. The ride is stiff, which you are reminded of at every bump .The seats are uncomfortable and it's hard to get in and out of the back seat.Performance is very good once you get the car moving and it finds the rpm that it likes. I never worry about passing cars as the power is always there. Fuel economy on the highway with air on is about 28 mpg.Little things could have made this car great. One thing,those Z34s that run well,seem to run well. Be thankful,if you have one, but be aware of the problems.Call me crazy, but I still have to like this car.

Report Abuse

Excellent Vehicle...

Chris Barter, 08/26/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Z34 has the larger of the two engines....which has had a number of problems. My Monte LS has the 3.1L and has never been in the shop and should last well beyond 150,000 miles. The 3.4L is another story. If your considering a GM product, word to the wise, make sure it has the 3.1L in it.

Report Abuse

Ok car

Seanrace, 10/31/2002
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have only had a few minor problems until recently. A few months after I bought it, car had 50k on it, the alternator started going, luckily the warranty paid for this repair ($600) and 2 years later the theft deterrent system went bad and would not allow the car to start (another $600), car had 75k on it. Recently the car began running extremely rough and it went to the dealer for repair. The Car had 93k on it and it cost me $1100 to fix. Overall I think it has been an alright car. I have averaged 20-22 mpg since I have owned it with no problems other than what has been stated above.

Report Abuse

nothin but trouble

ashamed, 11/07/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

first set of wires went at about 30k, replaced under warrenty. second set at about 80k. Alternator died at 84,000 miles, water pump and thermostat replaced at 105,000. after tranny went at 110,000 miles I figured I just about rebuild the darn thing and should get a few years of trouble free use, WRONG. I'm on my third thermostat, set of wires, battery, water pump, tires, and the head gasket is shot. I'll never buy another chevy!!

Report Abuse

1996 Monte Carlo

Bamoeller, 12/11/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Its comfort is good and extras are excellent. The adjustable leather seat conforms nice. and i have had no complaints from passengers (front or rear) The radio is fun to play with especially on the steering wheel. It overall has a sporty look and is fun to cruise the streets in.

Report Abuse

Good car.

Chevyguy, 12/19/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used at 115,000 miles and was told that the transmission was replaced at 100,000. Other than that the car has had no major repair work done. Two weeks after I bought it however, the alternator went dead. Luckily, it was the LS 3.1 liter (one of GM's best engines I believe) It took me about 30 minutes to replace it with a new alternator. ($90) No problems since. Runs very well.

Report Abuse

the one they call....Montel Carlos

djkevinc, 12/28/2002
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car...love it. Very reliable and easy to maintain.

Report Abuse

Best car I ever owned

honestabe48, 01/31/2011
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had this car going on 15 years now, bought it when it was brand new in 1996. It has 119,000+ miles on it now and still runs like a champ. I've done minor maintanance on it that I think one should do on every car at 7-10years old. It has a new Alternator, starter, fuel pump, radiator hoses, thermostat and tires (factory tires lasted 10 years). The air conditioner did go out at about the 10 year mark so that is the only real MAJOR repair I have to do. Of course the usual thing with power windows happened and I had to replace the motor in the drivers side TWICE! I think general maintanance is key to survival of every car. I keep the oild changed twice a year.

Report Abuse

Beautiful

Shanta, 02/12/2003
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm very satisfied with my purchase. It rides smooths. I just need to replace it with a cd player. Overall the car looks great.

Report Abuse

Disappointment

benz2btm, 07/20/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Starts rough, engine dies when warm and must be re-started, moonroof stuck open with no manual close and/or listing as to motor location.

Report Abuse

Good Value Car

MonteCarlo31, 10/06/2003
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been a good car, recieved it when I was 16 (sat for a year before anyone drove it) now 22 and 155,000 miles on the clock. Only had one alt go out. This car is NOT babied and still runs well, friends with hondas even say how nice it is for the mileage it has. Wish it had a bigger back seat.

Report Abuse

INTIMIDATOR'S REVIEW

detluv313, 11/11/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Well I bought my car in June of 2000. 1- week later I had to take it back because of the vacuum lines. The fuel system is funny you can only put certain types of gas in it. It took my grandfather and myself 3 days to tune the car up, then to find out a day later the plugs and wires were recalled. other than that and replacing a water pump at 62K the car hasnt been to much of a burden. although I think that if you dont keep up the 3.4 with regular service, it will cost you in the end. also the brakes are weak after i leave out of the car wash.

Report Abuse

Great

ASR, 01/01/2004
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought htis for my first car this is a great car it's reliable and gets great gas milage it's also good for people w/ long legs

Report Abuse

SAD ITS FOR SALE

MONTE , 01/18/2004
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

PURCHASED AT 30K ON THE CLOCK AND NOW TICKING 113K NEVER HAD IT IN THE SHOP FOR ANY REPAIRS ONLY ROUTINE MAINTANANCE DONE BY MYSELF 1 SET OF TIRES, FRONT BREAKS,5000 MILE OIL CHANGES, 87 OCTANE FUEL,& 19 MPG YOU CANT GO WRONG,THIS CAR WAS BRACKET RACING 2002 AT RT 66 JOLIET IT WAS NOT VERY CONSISTANT GOT FASTER WHEN IT WAS HUMID BUT NOW IT MUST BE SOLD TO MAKE ROOM FOR 1937 CHEVY COUPE AND BABY SURE WILL MISS THIS CAR

Report Abuse

Exception to The Rule?

Monte Carlo Z-34, 01/20/2006
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Overall a good purchase but expensive to maintain. Comfortable driver compartment but tight for rear passengers. A joy to drive and, contrary to others experience, I've enjoyed good fuel economy, e.g., 28 mph highway and 21 in city. Black exterior/interior and styling (with rear spoiler)is catching and appealing. Just turned 336,000 miles - yes, that's over a third of a million. Have, other than continuous service, replaced the timing belt at 300,000 miles and transmission at 320,000. Have serviced car at dealership over 50 times in the 8 yrs of ownership. Expect to sell for $3,000 in spring of 2006.

Report Abuse

Questionable at Best

Lars_220, 02/27/2004
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Any consumers that are considering buying a Monte Carlo between 1995 - 1999 should strongly reconsider. I didn't know until after I bought it that they got such poor reviews. Mechanically, the car is horrible. In the almost 4 years that I have had it, I have put in over 5000 dollars into the car. Major engine and transmission problems were a large portion of that money.

Report Abuse

96 Monte Carlo Z34

DBedo, 03/03/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Roomy comfortable ride with good acceleration. The 1996 3.4 liter engine was poorly designed. Alternator on the bottom of engine which is pricey to fix and common to go bad in colder climates, especially hard winters. Tune ups require removing the upper plentum and igntion system (coils and ECM) Not an easy vehicle to troubleshoot vacuum related problems. Good car when it is running well but sluggish with vacuum problems due to it heavy design.

Report Abuse

My new old car

Shay, 04/14/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just purchased my Z34 in Feb and have nothing but problems since then. Oil leaks, window motor, thermostat, vaccum hoses, edmissions problems, timing belt. You name it. Now I've got tranny problems. I'm at my wits ends with this car. It only has 71,000 miles on it. I don't want to see it 100,000.

Report Abuse

Awesome car--looks and performance wise!

blmackin, 04/20/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutly love my car. It's sporty looking and even though it is 8 years old, it still turns heads and people compliment me on it almost weekly. It's comfortable to drive and has all the features you could want. I put alot of miles on this vehicle and have had minimal problems. The only drawback to this vehicle is that if you have a problem with it..it's expensive to fix.

Report Abuse

this car is a piece...

ihatemyZ34, 06/05/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this car is an unbelieveable piece of crap, which is unlikey for GM... i take care of the car as if it were my child and it still betrays me... alternator shot three times, air pump twice, location on both is moronic (under engine and behind front right wheel well)... get about 20 MPG...

Report Abuse

Best used car purchse to date

TEEGEE, 06/09/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Chevy Monte Carlo was by far the most comfortable, quietest and best handling car of the cars I tested. The interior is well equiped, (it could use another cup holder and a place for sun glasses) the leather supple, the instrument cluster easy to see. The steering is tight and has a well defined feeling to it. The ride is quieter than the Toyota. Acceleration is a bit on the slow side from zero to sixty. The transaxle shifts very smoothly; the ride is soft not spongy. Rear headroom is limited to those over six-feet tall. The fold down rear seating is a nice feature. Of the used cars I have owned this is the best.

Report Abuse

Not worth it

Go Navy, 06/26/2004
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I honestly don't know who Chevy was trying to fool. They bring back the Monte Carlo with only a 6 cylinder and FWD. This is not the Carlo of old. The V-6 is lacking in the acceleration department due to the excessive curbweight. For an upgraded performance package the Z34 offers little more than four-wheel disc brakes. The interior falls apart easily, while the engine is a pain to work on. Hiding the battery under the washer fluid makes it a joke. The steering is alright although the turning radius is terrible and handling is typical American making hard cornering a pain.

Report Abuse

Best I've owned

Donna King, 08/04/2005
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We go to the mountains and the winding roads are something else. I have to say my car takes curves awesome. It has to be the best thing I've driven that hugs the curves so well, and the braking system is awesome too

Report Abuse

I Love My Monte!

Anra, 01/12/2007
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Monte 2.5 years ago with 70,000miles. It now has 102k and other than regular maintenance and 1 battery my Monte has been wonderful to me. Best luck I have had buying a used car. It has run solid and still does. I am getting ready to sell it and I will miss it terrible. Only reason I'm selling is I now have a company car and don't need to pay to kep it on road. I am surprised to hear all the bad. This car has been reliable, and fun to drive. I would definitely buy one again. Also I must have been lucky, mine has 2 cup holders. One folds out of armrest other pulls out under radio console. '96 Monte is a good solid car!

Report Abuse

Little Red Z34

Chad, 02/15/2007
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the car 2 years ago and really have no complaints. I find the performance of the 3.4L Engine very nice for a 11 year old car. Mileage is about 27 HWY and 19-21 city. The keyless entry is such a nice thing to have (again on a 10 year old car). Power windows and locks, good stereo system. I find the front seats very comfortable with the power seats. I've only sat in the back once and found it to be acceptably comfortable (I'm 6'2 225 LBS). Leather seats are showing no signs of wear. Exterior is amazing. When purchased with 85,000 MI there were no rust spots or chips. People always think the car is newer than what it is. I have an aftermarket spoiler with LED tailamp (not boyracer showy)

Report Abuse

Lots of problems

Love it and hate it, 04/25/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Recall on the spark plugs. Just recently a recall on the emissions. You can get these fixed at any Cheverolet dealership. I have had four altenator's. Not cheap to fix but husband is a mechanic and saved me $400 in labor charges. I love the car but it has really been a headache. Also replaced the air conditioner and the fuel pump.

Report Abuse

Nice Car

Jack, 07/14/2007
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was and still is my first car. It is extremely reliable and gets great gas mileage, especially for its age. The interior has a great feel to it and is very comfortable. It is a good looking car especially with added touches. Handles nicely but is nothing close to s ports car. Great first car as it was meant to keep me and my lead foot out of trouble. Steering wheel radio controls nice although it needs a CD player. Only problem is the car seems sluggish of the line and especially up hills, however compared to all the good that is no major problem.

Report Abuse

Love Hate Relationship

JoeG610, 05/17/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fell in love with this car the day we test drove it. The style, and the power were what we were looking for, but, unfortunately we outgrew it quick, having to put 2 children in the back. Bought the car with 60,000 miles on it. Needed a tune-up at about 100,000 miles and it WAS NOT CHEAP! Alternator went shortly after... but guess where it is located... on the bottom of the engine behind all of the steering components! We are looking into getting a more practical car for the family, but, we are having a hard time parting with this car. Very fun to drive. All of the other reviews hit the nail on the head.

Report Abuse

Nightmare on wheels

burkholz71, 04/03/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my vehicle out of need in 2000. Great deal for a car with 52000 miles, since then 3 alternators (600$) at dealership. oxygen senceors (650$), anti-lock brake light comes on when its wet outside giving false reading to alternator, dealership cant seem to locate problem? Paint is Dk green flaking around doors. Also experiencing problems with windows not wanting to roll up all the way. It always seems to amaze me that even the trained monkeys at the dealerships cant seem to find out what the problem is, but are sure they fixed it ......

Report Abuse

POS

hi there, 01/08/2003
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Nothing but problems...spark plug wires, vaccuum hose, alternator...the list goes on. DO NOT BUY ONE OF THESE!

Report Abuse

Awesome Car

Amazing Car, 03/14/2008
Z34 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an amazing car if you don't beat on it, and constantly floor it all the time. Awesome suspension, tune up's every so often, keep the oil changed every 3,000 miles or 3 months, comfort in this car is awesome, interior design is my favorite

Report Abuse

Well worth the cost of maintenance

thegeneral2, 04/05/2008
LS 2dr Coupe
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is fun to drive, handles well in all kinds of weather, with the right tires you can drive to hell and back. Rock solid car. I bought the car with 16,800 miles on it. It had sat for 10 months, first thing hap was the antifreeze line broke, had that fixed by dealer, than drove on a broken spring I didnt know about for 1 month then had it fixed no problem, then tranny was shot 1200. After that no other problems the tranyy whent at 19,800 miles the engine runs like the day it was born. Can't kill it. Now have 24,800 miles on the car. Looks new small scratch on left door my fault had Chevys before mc in 85 always the small things with these cars. Like window switch fuses. Doors creaking

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050