Used 2018 Chevrolet Malibu Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$12,577 - $23,640

Used Malibu for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Short & to the point

Vinnie, 08/22/2017
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
69 of 70 people found this review helpful

I traded my '14 for an '18, total redesign, much more roomier... especially in the back seat. Here's the rundown: Pros: It's roomy and comfortable, gives a smooth, quiet ride, has plenty of room in the back seat and trunk, has the features you need on the LS model...without the stuff you don't need ( example:. It has tilt and telescoping wheel, back up camera, OnStar, Bluetooth, internet access, USB ports), Android Auto, auto stop feature, push button start, 6-way adjustable seats, great mileage....so far, averaging 45 MPG. Yes. 45. Cons:. Base engine built for economy, not speed---you won't be winning any red light races, no glove box light, cubbies are weirdly shaped, telescoping wheel does not come out far enough, cup holders small and not adjustable, no vanity mirror lights, no rub strip trim along the doors--- car will get dings easily. Minor stuff, but overall, I highly recommend this car, especially for what you get for the price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just NO!

Leah, 07/29/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
31 of 31 people found this review helpful

This will be my third Malibu. I had an 08, 15 now an 18. I bought the 08 used. Had it about 8 years drove it into the ground but never had one problem with that car till the end. The 15 was by far my favorite. Bought it new. no issues 80k miles when I had to give it back (lease). NO ISSUES!!! 18' worst decision I've ever made. The technology on this car is a FAR step back from the 15. Have had it just under 5 months and it's at the dealer for mechanical issues. Apparently we are not the only ones having the acceleration issue on this vehicle. No warning lights to indicate a problem so all we get is we can't duplicate your concern and there's no lights to tell us something is wrong. When you can't accelerate your vehicle on a merge Lane into a highway which I have to do to get to work daily...that's a major hazard. It's not lawn mower engine as one would think, it literally drops out as no gas is being sent to the engine. Would love to know what's actually wrong with all these cars that is having this same problem and would love GM to acknowledge our issues

Report Abuse

Traction Control and Check engine light

BKG Kirkwood, 01/29/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
37 of 41 people found this review helpful

Caution with this car -- When the Traction Control is activated , the screen shows a notice of " ENGINE POWER IS REDUCED". When it states REDUCED it means that you are in a lower than Low Gear and cannot accelerate above 10-15 miles per hour. You have to pull over, turn off motor for 15 to 30 seconds to get out of this driving mode. Then the check engine symbol comes on for 24 hours and will reset and disappear if nothing is wrong. True experience -- I turned right onto a fwy ramp and the Traction Control kicked in ( for no reason). I am in low-low gear on the ramp, cars behind me and cannot go faster then 15 mph. Entered fwy slow and almost had an encounter with an 18 wheeler before I could pull onto the fwy shoulder , turn off motor so the system could reset. Also, major issue with the rear braking mechanisms . Noisy and there is a lag time after I remove my foot from the brake pedal. This is such an attractive car , inside and out, but cannot be in my barn.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Car is a Lemon!!!

Antoine King, 08/19/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Car is going to get someone killed. Car just stalls out whenever it wants. No warning lights no nothing. You go to step on the gas and nothing happens. Happened a few times I was like maybe it’s just breaking in. The more I drive it the worse the problem gets. Then the car loses power all over sometimes when you stop the air goes down really low. Or if I’m on the phone the air goes down I have to manually turn the air back up after I have started sweating from realizing what happened to the air. Car is embarrassing and needs to be recalled. Car is very dangerous. Taking it to the dealer until they can duplicate the problem because I have had plenty of cars and never no car as bad as this one and I brought it brand new it has 22k on it now. Drives like it has 200k like it’s going to die any minute. Something has to be done about this car!!!!!!! What to put 0 stars but it won’t allow me to so I’ll just pick the 1!!!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Dangerous in traffic!

Steve, 03/27/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
16 of 18 people found this review helpful

Nice looking, comfortable, roomy, well laid out, handles nicely but ..... dangerous in traffic. Throttle response is inconsistent - more lag than turbo. Flat acceleration until well over 2k rpms. When trying to make a quick lane change in Chicago rush hour traffic I mashed the accelerator and .... nothing! The squirrels forgot to get up on the treadmill for a good 2-3 seconds, which is a lot when you're trying to jump into the off ramp lane I. Chicago rush hour. Haven't seen worse throttle response since I drove a 69 VW Bus 40 years ago. Fine on the interstate but even then huff's and puffs to maintain 75 on even the mild slopes. Superior to similar imports in every way but power and mileage - that sucks as well. 25 mpg from an underpowered sedan is underwhelming.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Beyond Happy

Lisa, 08/29/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 13 people found this review helpful

I never thought I would enjoy a sedan. But I am loving my new 2018 Malibu. Very roomy and stylish. My 6’4 son sits very comfortable in both front and back seat. Entertainment system ROCKS!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Malibu!

Patricia Karan, 10/26/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

Its like hittin the EASY button! Everything where I need it to be, works as advertised, sporty, great gas mileage, love the stereo & I'm a hard rock junky. The car is better than my Benz without the $$$ and maintenance nightmares! LOVE it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

POS!!! DON'T BUY IT!!

S. Anderson, 03/10/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
12 of 15 people found this review helpful

The car looks awesome! Has some great features that helps a single mom. The price was very affordable. Brought with 33,000 miles. I have only had it for 2 months now it's going into limp mode! The message says Reducing power to engine! I joined the fb Malibu group just to see what others have to say. Basically problems start around 35,000 miles if you lucky to get past 15,000!! Also the value has dropped tremendously!! Pos!!

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

DANGEROUS CAR!

Jean Gutierrez, 09/12/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Do not risk your life or your passengers' buying a 2018 Malibu, or any Chevy. With no warning at all my check engine light and traction lights came on and I could not go more than 20 miles an hour! I could have been killed or caused a vehicle pile up. Unknown to me, this is a widespread Chevy defect. I dread driving this car.

Report Abuse

Giving Chevy a try again !!!

TJ, 04/26/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
11 of 15 people found this review helpful

No snow so have not tested , transmission jerky at times when slowing , start/stop takes getting use to (not sure it can be turned off ... comfort / ride & room awesome ... blue-tooth connects quickly , radio has good sound , ... AC works great but vents could be better placed. Loving it so far but too early to see if it holds up the way a Chevy used to (I hope so) Grew up a Chevy guy so excited to give therm a try again ... Overall Happy with my purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

My 2018 Chevy Malibu what a joke.

Ty Seabrooks , 07/31/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Is there anyone having issues with their 2018 Chevy Malibu? Mine is hesitating to start. I purchased one in January of this year brand new with 9 miles it has 6500 miles on it now and I've had nothing but problems with alerts from OnStar that there is a transmission issues I have been stalled for 45 minutes to an hour trying to start my car at times I've lost count my car now is back in the shop for the second time and I feel like I'm being given the runaround.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Fun

L.E., 03/29/2018
Premier 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
13 of 19 people found this review helpful

Really puts the fun back in driving. Chevrolet has come a long way.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Unreliable and a danger to drive

Carscared, 12/27/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
17 of 27 people found this review helpful

The car started acting up not recognizing it's in park and would not shut off at all. You would have to shift in and out of park to get the car to shut off. It shut off in the street while I was in center lane and had no way of exiting vehicle or putting on the hazards because the locks are all electric I couldn't even get out of the car. Three lights later the car just turns back on. I really could have died.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rent before you buy!

Myk, 05/03/2019
LS Fleet 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

The problem with the Malibu is I see the initial short comings turning into some really annoying quirks down the road. If you’re considering buying one I suggest you rent one and use it in a variety of driving applications. The last thing you want to do is purchase a car that will haunt you over issues you didn’t take the time to notice before buying. The single biggest issue is the drive train as the 1.5L turbo charged engine is in my opinion even worse in this model than it was in my wife’s old Cruze. The transmission and engine are almost incapable of working together unless you’re already at a cruising speed. The only exciting aspect of the driving experience is trying not to cause a pile-up while merging into traffic, the acceleration is seriously that bad. Engine and transmission aside, everything else is just average at best. I feel the build quality has suffered because I believe GM is planing on discontinuing this model. It is a really nice looking sedan and it does get pretty good mpg’s 28 average(another reason to rent prior to buying) despite being very roomy inside. I would recommend a new Camry or Accord maybe even a Civic over the Malibu.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Rather Disappointed

John Pickett, 04/30/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Let me first say I had a 2013 Malibu and it was great,great looking ,great performance, it developed a condition that "drank" oil,no leaks but the oil would just vanish. So I bought a new one,based on 2 rentals I used on vacations in Arizona. They performed so good I decided to purchase a new one,2018 Redline Edition. The car was fine until about a month ago,I have decreased in gas mileage, in fact it is drinking gas just to go a few miles. It will for no reason rev up to 5000 rpms for no reason and " stick " there, when you try to speed up ,nothing happens ,you press the excelarator and you move no faster. My dealership made no effort today to help me so I drove 40 miles out of my way to another dealership and they changed to oil and I made an appointment for next week. I don't understand why they did not give me a loaner and examine my vehicle.Update,this vehicle has a recall for the very issues I have in this car. I will be taking it in soon so the dealership can rest the computer. Hopefully they actually help me this time.UPDATE..So it turns out that this particular model has a recall, which was causing my excellartion issues. When you pressed the gas there was no response, esp turning in intersections. So the dealership fixed it because it was under the recall. They pretty much told me I was crazy when several times over the months I went to them about the acceleration issues. Now that recall is fixed ,the transmission is a bit smoother. I'm going to take it to my mechanic and have them change the tranny fluid. It's ran so rough for so long. I'm still not particularly impressed with the interior design or overall performance. When this vehicle is paid off I will be looking at other companies vehicles. It's very disappointing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Power is not that bad.

John, 07/21/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I don’t understand all the harsh reviews and opinions on the small 4 banger. What do you expect from a 1.5? The gas mileage is great and the power seems to do just fine. No problems merging or making a quick pass. For the weight of the car and the engine size it moves pretty well. Lots of leg room in the back seat and the trunk is roomy. Seems to be a pretty good value.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Definitely rent this car before you buy one!

Car Enthusiast, 09/13/2019
L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

If you are considering purchasing the base model of this vehicle, do yourself a favor by renting this car before you buy one! We aren't in the market to buy a car but just needed a rental. I felt there is one thing about it that deserves a review. I will start with the good points, this vehicle was very comfortable on a 10 hour road trip, and all the features offered on this rental worked nicely and the vehicle handles and brakes very well. Now for what I came here for. I hope nobody got paid anything to decide what motor and trans option this vehicle would get. If they did, they should go flip burgers somewhere! This vehicle is a prime example of the reason we cannot compete with the imports. The engine is so weak that you have to have your foot on the floor just to get on the freeway. Its was a little scary a few times and made us drive the shoulder once until we could get up to speed. There are a few sections of freeway we had to be on that has a 70mph speed limit. Trying to maintain 70-75mph when even the slightest incline required mashing the gas pedal to the floor and caused the transmission to perform a series of abrupt and disturbing downshifts and sent the RPM's singing to 6,000 RPMs. Just to maintain 70mph! The fuel mileage readout mostly stayed below 19mpg throughout the 10 hour trip. Even after a mpg counter reset and driving at about 45 on winding slightly hilly country roads to take the car back, it was almost impossible to achieve anything above 23mpg. I even tried manually shifting, which helped smooth the trans out, but did nothing for the fuel mileage. I will not rent one of these ever again unless they put a real engine and transmission in it. Give me a Toyota, Mazda or Nissan any day.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2,000 miles in.

Rodsta1990, 12/12/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

The dealer fix the shifting issues awhile back. And now it’s doing it again.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GM has hit the stupid button yet again.

Eric McCullough, 03/26/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

What can I say I've been driving GM products my whole life, with Pontiac Grand Prix GTP being my love to this day. Bought the car a year ago and every month so far it has been to the shop for one thing or another. Hesitation is shifting, lugging going up hills, check engine lights in the snow due to a poorly built air system with a sponge on the filter in which would suck up water and cause the car to have a bad lifter sound. I have been to the dealer and have told them the issue, they love to say we couldn't replicate it which was a lie. It still has yet to repaired. GM how about killing the line of Malibus. This is not the road warrior you said it was. It is a horribly built 4 cylinder like no other. You had something with Cobalts. You had something with Pontiac. You have lost me as a future consumer because you have flat out proven you love to lie and make weak products. I'm a GMC certified mechanic and professional of over 15 years. You have killed it big time.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Stop/Start Feature Sucks

KJK, 02/25/2019
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
8 of 14 people found this review helpful

The car is mostly OK. The feature that gets my blood boiling is the stop/start technology. Chevy did not provide a disable switch! I was a life long Chevy owner, but no longer, and that is strictly based on that stop/start feature. I was dumber then hell in not knowing about it, when purchasing the car new. The dealer did not point out the technology, and I did not discover it on the test drive. When I found out about it later, through driving, I was livid. I will never buy another car with this feature, and in fact I'm selling the damn car ASAP, taking the loss, and buying another model from another car company. After driving the car for about a year, my impressions above noted continue. Nice enough car, but the damn stop/start technology continues to suck. Even the devices to disable the feature are not being invented for this car, over the internet. Never again will I buy a new or used car with this unsafe feature. Yes it is unsafe, during left hand turns at intersections in traffic, during stops when parallel parking, at stop signs going uphill, etc. I've written the NHTSA about the safety aspects, but I guess that agency is in the back pocket of GM. I'm paying the price of not knowing about stop/start when I bought the damn car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Rented this horrible car and am let down

Madi, 03/15/2019
L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
5 of 10 people found this review helpful

You'd think by now car manufacturers would have the kinks worked out but I guess not. This vehicle, while saying it would get 27mpg city and 36mpg highway only got about 22mpg city on average. The acceleration is so poor it's like driving a broken go cart. I will never buy a Chevy. EVER. So glad I dont own this car.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Slowest car ever

Rod McLane, 04/08/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
7 of 15 people found this review helpful

Had a 2018 Malibu LT as a rental and I have to say it was probably the worst rental I’ve had. The 1.5l motor is poor match for this car. Absolutely no power( could not accelerate above 70 going up a grade) and returns very poor mileage ( averaged 20.5 mpg on a 450 mile highway trip. Poor job Chevrolet.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Car won’t start

LeeAnna Warren, 11/26/2018
L 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
3 of 6 people found this review helpful

The sensors will not work properly. It does not recognize that the key is in the car and won’t start. The tire sensor warning comes on stating it is not working. I hope we make it home.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Love my Malibu!

Patricia Karan, 10/26/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Its like hittin the EASY button! Everything where I need it to be, works as advertised, sporty, great gas mileage, love the stereo & I'm a hard rock junky. The car is better than my Benz without the $$$ and maintenance nightmares! LOVE it!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this vehicle

MalibuOwner, 06/06/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Spacious interior, plenty of acceleration, very good gas mileage for a vehicle this roomy, cavernous trunk and nice looks. Apple car play is very helpful as well. Very satisfied with my purchase

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Do not purchase-in shop more than on the road

Unhappy Customer, 12/19/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2018 Malibu new in September of 2018. I have had nothing but issues with this car. Rattles underneath, fixed. Battery dead, replaced. It has been in the shop so many times for the acceleration issues with many of the times being told nothing they could do since it was not doing it for them. Finally the engine light came on and it showed to replace the exhaust camshaft actuator solenoid, done, problem not fixed but again no engine light, 2 weeks later engine light again, and I told the service department this car is going to kill me. Code showed to replace the intake actuator, done and did not fix anything engine again came on(a few more tries for the fix that did nothing), GM finally gave permission for the repair the tech had been telling them. Replaced my cylinder head complete with cams. This was done 9.5.19 and now 12.19.19 another engine light with reader error P0303, cylinder 3 misfire. Why does Chevy keep making this car with the same issues year after year? I can understand why there has been so many class action lawsuits with this car. I called Chevy customer service and basically got well take it to the dealership and see what they say. I guess this is what I get for continuing to purchase American Cars!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Zero stars

Aj123, 02/17/2020
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Worst car ever! Would not buy this car agin since everything is low rent and breaks constantly in this car. Little over a year old with numerous things replaced under warranty. Absolute piece of garbage to drive. Avoid this car at all cost!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

FUN

Patricia, 08/07/2018
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

Great MIDSIZE CAR. SPACIOUS AND TURBOCHARGED FOR ACCELERATION

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rocks!

Hellcat Greg, 07/07/2018
Premier 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 14 people found this review helpful

This car Rocks!

Performance
Report Abuse

i absolutely love my new car

Heidi, 08/23/2018
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

it is the perfect size for our family. I love all of the features too. Just a perfect midsize car for the price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Died on me next morning

Stephen Lai, 07/17/2019
LT 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
1 of 4 people found this review helpful

I rented this car for a week when in San Francisco for a vacation. I parked the car before my next day going for a long trip to Yosemite. I accidentally bumped my elbow to the shift lever to the D low gear position without realizing it before I parked and left it near my house. The morning came I used the key fab trying to unlock the door but it did not open the door. Long story short I called the rental company for a tow truck to jump start it. The battery died because I left the shift lever at D instead of P. What a stupid design.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2018 Chevy Malibu For Sale

Mandar, 05/05/2020
LS 4dr Sedan (1.5L 4cyl Turbo 6A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If you have a lead foot, buy a different vehicle. If you are the type of driver who wants the security of knowing that your vehicle will respond without delay when you push that accelerator pedal, buy a different vehicle. If you would like to own a vehicle that hesitates when you have to quickly accelerate through an intersection with cross traffic traveling at highway speeds, then I have the perfect car for you. If you like playing Russian Roulette then the 2018 Malibu is a great choice for you. If you like the bucking, jumpy, feeling from the first time you drove a manual transmission, then the 2018 Malibu is the car for you. Newer models have options to disable some of the technology that makes the 2018 undesirable. I like the vehicle in general but it will not last long as I am an aggressive driver and I seem to overwhelm the data processing on most newer vehicles.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050