Used 1996 Chevrolet Impala Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$7,048 - $16,425

Used Impala for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

GM got it right, then quit!

soccercoach99, 06/06/2010
SS 4dr Sedan
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have seven cars, including a Porsche Boxster, Jaguar XJ8, Honda S2000 and some winter AWD/4WD vehicles. Driving the SS is somehow very very satisfying, it lopes along, big, black, bad, and then, when called on, just puts you into the comfy seats and gets to really outrageous speeds in a blink. I'm sure that more modern vehicles beat the numbers on acceleration, etc, but blasting around a freeway on ramp at 80 to 90 in a couple of heart beats with this beast is extremely fun!

Report Abuse

My Dream Come True...96 SS

96 SS Q-SHIP, 01/26/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I wanted one of these cars from the first time I saw one on the road. After doing some homework, I realized quickly that the 1996 model was the one to own. In 1998, after selling my Camaro, I was surprised to find one in a local trading paper that was about 60 miles away. I was fortunate enough to have a seller that offered to drive to my home and let me see the car. They told me that they were the original owners and had all paperwork...including the original window sticker. Low and behold...right at the scheduled time they said they'd show up...A menacing low, black car crept past my front window.

Report Abuse

Boss ride

Tony, 02/12/2017
SS 4dr Sedan
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

It's just strange how much attention this car gets even after 20 year's.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

oohh what a car!!!

landsshark96, 04/22/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the best cars GM ever built. American Automotive workers should rejoice, this car has performed better than my honda in regards to warranty work. This car does not give you a problem...EVER.

Report Abuse

Still purring

2KPurr, 12/03/2008
SS 4dr Sedan
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Have enjoyed owning & driving it for nearly 13 years, transmission & engine have been flawless, water system/radiator/cooling required replacement, been thru 3 sets of tires, still turns heads. I am very proud to own such fine machinery that gets rarer yearly, get offers to sell all the time, have driven across country north-south & east-west, makes for great made-in-America advertising, insured as 4-door Caprice but is actually a Super Sport (no complaints), passes state emissions/safety tests without fail, plan on keeping all the way

Report Abuse

Superb

Rolling*Thunder, 09/18/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

The finest car I have ever owned... or driven... or ridden in. USA badge, a V-8 (Corvette) Engine, Rear Wheel Drive, .... all the right USA muscle stuff. In a word: Superb.

Report Abuse

The best Chevy ever made!

Montana, 05/03/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The best Chevy ever made.

Report Abuse

Stealth 4-door Vette

Dcarzar, 07/18/2009
SS 4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I am an enthusiast and love to drive. I did not really need to order a new SS, but I wanted a toy that would be a fun investment. My SS delivered, yeah it was politically correct with lighter & ashtrays; room and comfort for both my wife & grandmother in the same trip. My SS has been driven primarily as a highway cruiser, and has driven 300 miles in three hours, on regular gas an gets 25-28 mpg. I only need to pull it out of the garage to turn heads and there is always someone asking me to 1st bidder when I sell.

Report Abuse

the only imaculate car alive!!!!

james dorman, 04/11/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

i absolutly love this car since the first time i seen it. i have never geard any complaints about this car. the interiour is pefect, who could ask for a better look, and the performannce, every family man who once was astreet racers dream.

Report Abuse

Great ride

great ride, 09/24/2008
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I get more pleasure driving this car then my 2008 STS Caddy. Still a head turner. Seats are realy comfortable and everything is heavy duty.

Report Abuse

13 years and going

huntt, 06/08/2008
SS 4dr Sedan
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

A few replacement parts here and there. Usual upkeep as with any car. I get 19-21 mpg (still) highway miles. I love that it still looks good at its age. Alloy wheels could be replaced but that's another story. It has truly been a great car. I have owned this car longer than any other car. I plan to drive it till the wheels fall off.

Report Abuse

My Favorite Car .. So far

Ralph Hess, 04/10/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned/driven many fast cars. This is a cross between my father's 1972 Olds 88 with a 454 engine and my brother's GTO. No matter what speed I am driving, you tap the gas, it goes faster(even with 5 big adults riding). Maintenance has been higher than I expected, replaced water pump, plug wires, AC coil, a few fuses.

Report Abuse

'96 Impala SS, a future collectible

dbuck, 04/11/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is a blast to drive and a real head turner as well. The drive train is extremely dependable if properly maintained. Fuel economy is commendable for a large car with this much performance capability. One draw back with respect to maintenance expense is the repalcement cost of tires and shock absorbers.

Report Abuse

The SS Impala Floats On

BenS0SS, 06/03/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car is by far the best full-sized vehicle you can possibly purchase, with the possible exception of the BMW 7 series. It handles extremely well, accelerates like there's no tomrrow, and seats 5 adults without problems.

Report Abuse

Why did GM stop making the Impala SS?!!

portert0224, 07/09/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love this car and plan on buying another for my wife and one for each of my five kids! If you want a fun, fast, roomy 4-door modern muscle car, this is your car! My 96 SS ran a 14.67 quarter mile when it was stock. I added a cold air intake and K&N filter and it ran a 14.53 quarter mile. This SS will outrun any stock 5.0 or 4.6 Mustang. It is very reliable. It still has the stock battery that came with the car and it has had only two mechanical problems--the driver side window came off track and the wiper switch malfunctioned, all occuring after 80,000 miles! It gets 21-24 mpg depending on my lead foot. Awesome car!

Report Abuse

Diablo

Tom Stewart, 05/19/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

That's the name of my Impala SS, a true American masterpiece. There are minor irritants like the bucket seats could have better support features. But these are buried in the joys of driving this two-ton hot rod! I had 10 guys at the dealership drooling and hoping I wouldn't take the car. It's the most reliable car I've owned. It still looks red hot and attracts comments. Chevrolet made a terrible trade-off in stopping SS production for what...everyday trucks? On the other hand, it gives we SS owners an appreciable investment while we devour the thrills!

Report Abuse

LMAO at the F.O.R.D. Marauder

yes, 06/07/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

The marauder may very well be a good ford product but look forward to spongy brakes and no low end torque. Longevity is a question and well it just doesn't have the looks. I am still laughing all the way to the bank. My SS cost $19.500 the ford will cost about $35.000. My chevy was built by proud American workers who lovingly put this car together. 80.000 miles no problems, 14.00 in the quarter. Cop car suspension means no surprises. A note to FORD this is what happens when John Moss (a brillant automobile designer)really builds a car. Maybe you should hire him. Thank You Mr. Moss!!!

Report Abuse

Impala SS

Tzadok Gable, 01/30/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Best American Four door out there and a great muscle car

Report Abuse

Great investment

Morgan White, 05/07/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

keeps its value and should go up in price over the next few years!

Report Abuse

Supercar

Paul Cooney, 06/27/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Never had a problem with it other than the back window going out of track. (cold weather)

Report Abuse

Truly a Super Sport

larrygre, 07/19/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

If there is such thing as a car that is too much fun, the '90s Impala SS is it. I bought my '96 used four years ago and I just plain never get tired of driving this car. Acceleration is fierce. Braking is excellent, the g=huge 12" discs doing their job admirably. The handling and overall vehicle dynamics are surprisingly good for such a large car. Four doors nonwithstanding, this is truly the heir to the legendary Impala SS cars of the '60s. I'll never part with mine - like I said, it's too much fun!

Report Abuse

Nail on Head

Berky, 07/20/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I'm 25 years old and I have owned my Impala for about 4months. The only problem with it so far is the rear axle bearings are shot and I am about to get them fixed. Other than that it runs like a champ, drives like a champ, and looks like a champ. Lots of add ons are available from car lovers like us. This is one of my dream cars. I wanted one since the day they came into existence and it took me six years, but I got one. I don't think I would ever choose to get rid of this car. I plan to put a supercharger on it from NAISSO superstore in FL and up the horse by about 300hp. That'll snap your head back heheh.

Report Abuse

1996 ImpalaSS

James Beck, 09/16/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A great car with intiminating looks and surprising jump off the line. Lt1 350 underhood 260hp from the factory with much room to grow with simple preformance upgrades. A head turner at ever light. I'm in love with my SS and you will be too.

Report Abuse

highway cruiser

smith, 06/02/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is our vacationing, interstate cruising, mountain climbing muscle car. When you push on the accelerator, it goes. Reliable super performing vehicle. Funny to watch people in front of you slow down, move out of the way thinking you are a police cruiser. My son has spoken for my car.

Report Abuse

Impala 1996

greenboy, 10/13/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a car! I own two 1996s, one black and one black cherry!

Report Abuse

¿ Best Car Ever ?

"mikey", 11/14/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ohhh man!! This car is the best in the world. There has never ben any problems with it. I got it from my cousin as a birthday gift. The car is fast, it is nice and roomy, it turns heads, and best of all we took it down to a drag strip and our 4 door family sedan beat a 5.0. This was the best feeling.

Report Abuse

MY first cr

Scarface Junior, 11/17/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i got the car fo $17,000 cash. Now i have added about $13,000 on my wheels, system ad power to the engine. i could not ask for a better car thanthe impala ss

Report Abuse

a classic in the making

chal, 11/27/2002
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the last of the american rear wheel, full sized cars with performance. i have kept the car dealer maintained and only have 47,000 miles on the car. the only problems with the car were manufacturing glitches which the dealer fixed under warranty. typical chevrolet quality. driven daily with no problems and a pleasure to drive with interior room to spare.

Report Abuse

Giddy Up!!

DanSSman, 01/27/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Back in the day when I was down and out I bought the SS to cheer me up and I haven't stopped smiling since. With the performance, comfort and overall ride of this vehicle who wouldn't feel like the king of road. I wish I had enough money at the time to buy a 2nd one and keep it in storage. For now driving the car year-round is not a bad alternative

Report Abuse

'96 SS with a ProCharger Supercharger

Jim Hellmuth, 01/30/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

An Art Carr trans, Hotchkis Sway bars, gas shocks, Police Spring Set and a Supercharger with a new MSD spark System and all the necessities such as a Hypertech chip systems and an additional gas pump did it for me. Tuned down to 5 lbs of boost and i am still making 350hp at the tires. It is spooky fast and fun to drive now. Cool thing is that it can handle the power. Incredibly fun car.

Report Abuse

Nice car

Anthony E, 07/30/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a nice car runs fast smooth and rides soft

Report Abuse

All American

mjm55, 08/16/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

PERFECT 10!!! Finest car I've ever owned. The new "impala", an insult to this car's fine name!!!

Report Abuse

best big sport sedan

skialot, 09/01/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

best big sport sedan ever made. power borrowed from corvette (Stock LT1 350)police suspension.Heavy car, but you still can throw it into turns. fast 14.85 1/4 mile(stock except exhaust)smooth as silk ride. excellent gas mileage(17 city-33hwy- epa estimate on window sticker)I average 24.

Report Abuse

Bad to the Bone

fisclf, 09/11/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Impala SS new and it has been my daily driver. Now has 83K miles and I have never had any significant problem with it. The 5.7 liter engine makes lots of torque. It has huge 255/50R17 tires, but you can gently goose it and shred those 200 dollar g-force tires anytime you are in the mood. Or, touch the accelerator gently and let the low rumble from your exhaust shake up the Toyota in the next lane. Handles and stops well for a 4200 pound car. An excellent highway cruiser, stable yet responsive. Very practical, with lots of interior room, a large trunk and normal insurance rates. I consistently get 20 MPG with regular gas.

Report Abuse

The Last of RWD Big Cars

BigDogg Dad, 09/23/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I was lucky to find this car. Low miles 75,000. No rust, all orginal. There is no other ride like a big solid RWD car. I know my wife and kid are safe. Better gas mileage that her minivan on the road. More comfort, hauls our boat like a dream.

Report Abuse

Where do you get your retail prices?

Sal Federico, 11/04/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The 94-96 Impala SS is the last of the rear wheel drive supercar sedans. The current retail value posted is not realistic, the average retail value on one of these cars is several thousand higher in the case of an average condition '94 and as much as double for a pristine '96 with low miles. How did you arrive at such a low retail value?

Report Abuse

Not the everyday muscle

LSU Thor, 12/09/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Being 24 years old, buying this car was the best purchase decision of my life. It was the one car that had everything I was looking for. It had a torque- monster V8, rwd and it wasn't a truck or a Camaro/Mustang that you see everyone driving nowadays. It's distinctive and will always turn heads and receive thumbs up on the road or at the track.

Report Abuse

96 Impala SS

SEW, 12/29/2003
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The only problem is road noise. Great car!

Report Abuse

Impala SS

rcap, 02/20/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The seats are uncomfortable and lack support. If you can find Bonneville leather seats buy them and replace. Other than that it is quite a car. Not as quick as my Corvette Z06 -- BUT turns alot more heads and gets more notice!

Report Abuse

The REAL Impalla SS

george bowles, 02/29/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an excellent automobile. I will be glad when GM brings back more rear wheel drive cars. The SS provides sports car performance and handling with 4 door sedan room and comfort.

Report Abuse

my best car

dean, 03/19/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is the best car i have owned it's fun to drive and still turn's head's,and always git complement's it's great

Report Abuse

Pleasure to drive

Harlie, 06/21/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car glides over the highway and the pick up on it is quick from a stand still, you can really feel the power under the hood. The design is sleek with out over doing it, you will get many compliments on it every where you go.

Report Abuse

impala ss

CAMERON, 08/07/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

it is one of the best cars ever made i'm looking to buy more to love it

Report Abuse

BEST CAR EVER MADE

GETLOW, 10/12/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

THE IMPALA SHOULD BE A ROLE MODEL TO ALL OTHER VEHICLES THAT CLAIM TO BE "MUSCLE" YET A FAMILY SEDAN.

Report Abuse

96 Impala SS

billpilot, 11/23/2004
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Still, to this day in 11/04, I have not found a 4 door sports car for 3-4 times the money that can out-perform my SS. A few minor glitches were fixed under warranty: Odometer,head gaskets & exhaust manifolds, a couple of times. The factory cooling fan settings do not "kick on" until temperature reaches about 220; so a hypertech programmer will turn on fan's sooner. I have got 26 MPG on highway with a/c. Usually it's about half that yet worth it!

Report Abuse

250k and still going!

Ed, 04/26/2006
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've had 2 '96 Impala SS' over the years. Both were adult driven and routinely maintained. The first one had 122,000 on it by the end of the 1999. At that point it was retired from duty, and we picked up another from a collector with a mere 1700 miles on it. The second now has over 250,000 miles on the original LT1 motor, 4L60E transmission and 8.5 10 bolt posi rear end. Burns no oil, and starts up every time. Only fixes have been a starter, an A/C compresser and a harmonic balancer. These are just great cars that hold thier value.

Report Abuse

Excellent

terry, 09/15/2006
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It does very well on the highway. I drive it on the weekends going on long term drives. The seats are very comfortable for those long rides. To me this is the best car in the world.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Mako, 01/08/2007
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This has been a good auto for over 11 years. Very few problems.

Report Abuse

My '96 SS

Bill L., 02/08/2007
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for almost eight years, and will continue to drive it until GM comes up with a sucessor. It is amazing for anything this big and heavy to be either as nimble or quick, yet comfortable as an old shoe. It is unfortunate that we are both getting older.

Report Abuse

A fun car

ss355, 03/06/2007
SS 4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought mine with 8 miles on the clock. Now has over 165K. It's been a fun car to drive. A few quirks, certainly, but overall I've really enjoyed the car. Not '96 Supra Turbo fast, but certainly enough ummph to get on the highway with no trouble and impress a few teenagers. Fantastic car for the highway. Plenty of room for the whole family. Large trunk. Reasonable back road performance, given the 4000+ lb. curb weight. The air pump (emissions control) and water pump have been headaches, but otherwise a fairly reliable car. Plan to drive this one till it drops.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050