Used 2004 Chevrolet Avalanche Consumer Reviews

List Price
$4,850

Used Avalanche for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...27

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2004 Chevy Avalanche 4x4

Gus, 08/07/2010
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

My first impression was how dumb it was to merge an suv and truck. I test drove it and I fell in love. Like me, I don't work construction or in a farm and I don't tow heavy but have a good size family. This vehicle is intended for those city dwellers that like to camp, drive on vacation or have to take a trip to the dump. It has been so wonderful to be able to provide such a diversity when needed and GM had given me the tool. I replaced items that I feel I wanted to change to have peace of mind and not because the manual says so. It has not leaked, stopped cause any issues let alone a check engine light.

Report Abuse

Very Happy

SA, 07/08/2009
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I purchased this as a pre-owned vehicle to supplement my prior truck on account of a growing family. It has been excellent! I am pleased that its value still exceeds what I paid for it. We recently purchased a travel trailer, and it tows with an ease that makes one feel a trailer is not present. The only repair I have had is the power window motor on the passenger door - a common problem with GM trucks.

Report Abuse

Love my Avalanche

Jim Lane, 09/10/2016
1500 4dr Crew Cab Rwd (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this truck used about 6 years ago. I've had just a few minor problems. The tensioner for the AC belt broke. (Repaired myself for about $75). The 6 disc cd changer quit, but it was 10 years old, and well used. Overall, this truck is still very mechically sound. Very comfortable ride quality. Still runs like new. What else can I say.....I love my Avalanche.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I would buy another one

Joe V, 01/26/2008
12 of 12 people found this review helpful

I purchased new almost 4 years ago. After 58,000 miles, I have not had one major repair. Changed oil and it goes. In nearly perfect condition, with original tires and brakes. Never a problem. The black plastic began to fade and the dealer refurbished it, under warranty without charge with an improved treatment. Every year me and 3 friends take it on our golf trip- 4 men, 4 sets of clubs and our luggage- and we usually take the clubs of the rest that fly down. Have hauled 10 foot sheets of drywall, skids of pavers and also trailered a huge camper approx 10,000 pounds. Reliable!

Report Abuse

Multi-purpose Monster

Marty, 03/18/2005
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I love my new avalanche. I upgraded from a 2WD Sierra w/bare essentials to the Z-71 with every option except the DVD player($1200 not worth it). What a difference. This truck is suprisingly nimble, and the turning radius is less than that of extended cab trucks(ie-easier for my wife to park). Towing capacity is solid. We towed our Grand Prix on a car trailer(total lbs= 6900) from FLA to WA state, only stopping for 9 hours and driving for 66. There were times I forgot I was even towing. What a beast! The midgate is awesome. I've halled everything from drywall(full sheets) with the tailgate closed to 3 backhoe scoops of bark.

Report Abuse

Fun, Solid, and reliable at high milage

mwedding, 11/16/2010
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I love my truck. I have owned 29 vehicles in my life, and this is clearly my favorite. I bought it with about 115K miles on it, and I will turn over 140K this week. The truck rides like an SUV, and I have hauled 1500 lbs of rocks and mulch. Take the back window out, open the sunroof and windows, and it is like driving around in an open air Jeep, but it is SO USEFUL. I take my family on vacation, pull trailers, and cruise drive the back roads. I think I will keep this truck longer than any vehicle I have ever owned... Maybe take it over 200K, I bought it expecting that I will put a transmission in it before 180K, we will see.

Report Abuse

Chevy girl

Pam, 02/17/2017
1500 4dr Crew Cab 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I have been the sole owner of my Avalanche. Purchased it new. Has been very reliable functional comfortable and fun. There's a problem with the heating and air conditioning periodically malfunctioning and the leather on seats, poor quality

Safety
Technology
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best I've Owned

Sherry, 06/08/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Leased this truck for work - I wasn't sure if I'd want to keep it long term. I drove it and bought it! I've stayed on the road during horrendous winter weather using only the stock tires. Hauled drywall, flooring, sod, dirt, rock, garbage - you name it - and it comes clean and looks great for the daily commute. With gas prices rising I've been thinking I should look at something cheaper to run but I don't want to - this is the best vehicle I've owned/driven in 30 years.

Report Abuse

after a bump in the road when i firsst bought it

jay, 12/02/2016
1500 4dr Crew Cab 4WD (5.3L 8cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

i love my truck i love the mid gate feature i love the "saddlebags" i use one to keep tools in straps, hitch, rope , emergency supplies, and the other i use as a cooler . when i first bought it took the wife and daughter to dinner went out to go home ...... battery good wouldn't start had it towed home spent 2 days trying to figure it out tried everything checked all the fuses (that i could pull out easily ) finally checked all the fuses again and the one that i couldn't easily pull was the culprit . replaced the fuse and have not had a problem since. i bought it used and it has a southern comfort mod with a great paint job . i have hauled dirt gravel rocks bricks tree branches trips to the dump and even more dirt handles it like a champ . some features i love the most are the heated seats on cold winter mornings and the ability to haul wood camping supplies drywall all in a dry secure bed that is 8 ft long when needed and the ride an comfort is unmatched. the only issue is my wife had a bit of trouble climbing in but the running boards help. i added a backup camera that helps with backing and hooking up a trailer .

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

2004 Z71

John Hopper, 12/29/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've owned this vehicle for just over three years. Had to replace front shocks, fuel pumps, brakes all around. Have the "clunking" from the steering shafts, trouble with rear tailgate latches, poor fuel economy. But I love this truck, might not buy another one, but I still really like it.

Report Abuse
12345...27
Items per page:
51050