Skip to main content

Used 2004 BMW 3 Series Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$5,583 - $8,891

Used 3 Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12345...45

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Still going strong with 250K miles

C B, 04/10/2016
updated 04/11/2017
2004 BMW 3 Series 325i Rwd 4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 5M)
76 of 78 people found this review helpful

Great car to own and drive. Yes, there will be repairs after 100k miles, but I got past 200K before having to replace the clutch. Most other repairs have been to structural parts - engine is just unbelievably superb. I drive in snow and mud, with pets, groceries, gear, etc. Gas mileage has been a solid combined 25 mpg for the life of the car. If you can find a used one, you could probably get a decade out of it and love every minute of driving it.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Bmw e46 325i sedan auto

e46e90, 06/16/2015
2004 BMW 3 Series 325i Rwd 4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 5M)
16 of 16 people found this review helpful

Even though this car was automatic I have never driven a car like this one! When I abused it, it was so predictable, when I drive casually, no car was as fun and connected as thus car. I have never felt so happy and safe in a car as I did in this one. I was the second owner at 165000 miles, I changed the oil twice, changed the transmission fluid, and gave it gas once in a while. This car never gave me any problems, issues or annoyances. I was comfortable driving this car, and never in my mind did I ever fell that it would let me down when I drove it. I had it for 2 years and I will never own a car other than a bmw. I sold it for a manual car, I wanted an e46 again but I found a 2006 e90 325i

Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

So far !!! Love the 325xi!!

soxxxxx, 06/03/2014
updated 09/19/2022
2004 BMW 3 Series 325xi AWD 4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 5M)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

I bought my 2004 325xi 3 months ago. I bought it from a 85 year old lady who bought it new and serviced at BMW. Garage kept and all receipts. the best part.......only 24,000 miles . I could not pass up this car...I only hoped that I would be happy.... I AM!!! To me, the car is like new. One ding on the door and only one small chip. The car is very peppy and fun to drive. I seem to make an excuse to always want to drive it. The car is very solid and tight. I am not sure about needing AWD here in NC but, when the snow ,rain and ice fall...I will be sure to see how it all works out. I am very happy with this car!! New cost was $38,000...I paid 12,900. I am happy! OK..here I am again on 10-27-19. I still own the car and it now has 116,000 miles. I take very good care of it . No major repairs other than wear and tear stuff. I still enjoy driving this car and it still puts a smile on my face. I think about selling it from time to time but.....why??? This car still runs great! I so want to get a Porsche macan S but....even used I will pay 45,000. for a 3 year old 20,000 mile vehicle. Is it that much better than my baby? Nahhhh, not yet ..maybe in 2 years..As for now... I will keep and love my 2004 325xi.. 4-28-20: still have my bmw and love it. Such a good car,classic design , plenty of pep and fun to drive...I still take exceptional care of it...always get compliments...its a classic car now..wow! It now has 120,000 mile....still runs great!! By the way, I added a Dynavin stereo system that was made specifically for my BMW ( original look)...it has a back up camera, phone through the stereo and navigation and it looks like it came with the car..perfect fit. I think about getting a porsche Macan S but....not yet..someday... OK...here I am again..9-16-21. I still have the car. Now has 131,000 miles on it. I have to say, I still love this car. It is almost a classic now . People always tell me how nice this car is. I do take care of it. So, let me tell you....I do have to do maintenance or preventative work on it. I recently did all the cooling system parts except for radiator. I am currently in the process of replace the PVC system and vacuum lines . I should be done with age and heat issues so, I will do it. I still change the oil every 5000 miles or so. The car runs like a dream. Its smooth, has good power and it is a classy car. The only thing that bothers me is if I ever get into an accident, I might get $4,500 for it. That would be a shame because I have a lot of money into it. i do nogt mind that part of it because when you have an old car, its good to keep it maintained and running great. When I think about selling it, I always say no. I want a porsche Macan S that cost 55,000 used ( the one I want) and I just can not see paying that much at this time. I love my little bimmer way too much. I will spend my money more wisely elsewhere and keep this baby going a few more years anyway. The thing with these cars or any car for that matter is " do not beat the car" You treat it well...it will generally treat you well. Do the maintenance stuff and preventative stuff and you will be very happy in the long run with this car. maybe I will have up date again in a couple years. 9-17-22 update: Well, unfortunately, I have to now do much more maintenence on the car. It now has 146,000 miles and I recently did the entire front end, shocks, struts and all the vacuum lines as well as disa valve, motor mounts and tranny mounts, plugs, all fluid changes, .6k!! Ouch...the car is becoming g a little less reliable even after all this.still better than buying a new car. I have an annoying shake when stopped at a light, goes away when in neutral and/or when I start driving. No one can tell me what it is. Annoying but not a major issue I think. I am hoping to get to 200k with no more money in it and then sell.. Over, I still love it but not happy with 6k put into it...I'll deal with it for now..Interior still great, ac not a strong as I like but I have never service it. Everything else great. I have new Michelin too...should take me to the 200k mile mark... No rust , a few scratches, minor dings but with cleaned up, looks like new car....REALLY!

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
3 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Second best car I have ever owned.

Mitch Young, 09/23/2015
2004 BMW 3 Series 330xi AWD 4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 6M)
32 of 34 people found this review helpful

This is simply an amazing car. I don't really have a complaint about the car. For starters, the 330xi is a great car for road trips, it is extremely comfortable. I put a lot of miles on the road due to the nature of my work. The Harmon Kardon stereo system delivers a tremendously crisp sound , far better than the Bose systems that were offered in the Audi's of the same year. The All-Wheel drive proves excellent traction in the winter. I have plowed through 8 inches of un-plowed snow, no problem. The BMW 330xi matched with the right tires makes for a remarkably quiet ride. On a less important note in regards to sound, the exhaust sound is quite entertaining to listen to. The transmission shifts effortlessly and for the sport enthusiasts you can get the AWD car sideways on an on ramp if you would like to. The engine sounds like it has more to give than it actually does, in turn if i had a complaint it would be the acceleration, although it isn't bad, you would expect a little more out of the top-of-the-line 3 series. What I love most about the car isn't the specifications or even the unsurpassed build quality, but the way it makes you feel. It makes you drive with a smile, not many cars have the ability to do that. The question yet to be answered is personal reliability, I hesitate to answer this because it varies from car to car and how you take care of the car, doing proper on time maintenance and so on. With that in mind, I take exceptional care of my cars, and I have only put $900 into the car so far, it was the power steering rack, which through research has been found to be a relatively common fix on these machines. In comparison to other cars I have owned this proves to be far superior, other than an Audi S4 of the same year. However, it is a different caliber of car, so it does not really count in the realm of the 330xi. To finish my review, I do in fact highly recommend this car. If you ever have the opportunity to own one, do so. Your increase in daily happiness surpasses the worry of paying for premium fuel.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.5 out of 5 stars

Most Reliable BMW, 2004, 325i

mikeygg69, 07/02/2011
2004 BMW 3 Series 325i Rwd 4dr Sedan (2.5L 6cyl 5M)
34 of 37 people found this review helpful

The 2004, BMW 325i is the most reliable and aggressive engine of the 3 series BMW line. I purchased the BMW in Heidelberg, Germany brand new in 2003 October. Since then, I have not really spent any money replacing or changing mechanical parts, except for the rotor, shocks, struts, and of course the occasional oil change. Driving this vehicle is a dream. At 100,000 miles, I just got the transmission and differential oil change. For $36K, it has been the best purchase of this magnitude, ever. The only bad thing about the 2004, BMW 325i is the interior is made very cheap. Stuff start to fall apart after a few years.

Report Abuse
12345...45
Items per page: