Used 2015 BMW 2 Series Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$19,299 - $27,500

Used 2 Series for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2015 228i (6-speed Manual)

autocplane, 12/12/2015
228i SULEV 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

12/23/17 Update: No issues and still enjoying the car. I will still say if I could change one thing about this car it would be the steering feel...I hope someday there will be a tune option for that. 6/19/16 Update: I just brought the vehicle in for its first oil change and had no issues in the first 6 months. My lifetime fuel economy has improved to over 32 mpg. The car does very well on the highway, but I've noticed in the little city driving I do, it will be down in the 20s due to idling. When I dropped my car off for an oil change I got a 2016 M235i convertible as a loaner and really enjoyed it. While the 6-cylinder engine is certainly fun and impressive, I am still happy with the torque and performance of the 228i's 2.0L. If I were to take one thing from the M235i to my car though, it would be the sport steering. There is more resistance and I liked the steering feel much better. If you are looking into this car to enjoy the driving experience, I highly recommend you go for the variable sport steering (not just the M-sport steering wheel). I believe this comes with the track handling package, which also means you'll get upgraded brakes. So far, this is the only thing I wish I did differently when choosing options, but am still very happy with the car. Original Review: I bought this car after seriously considering a VW GTI, which you can buy at a lower price point. (Note I would have also considered the Audi A3, but no manual transmission was a deal breaker, and the GTI really is the same car with a different appearance.) However this was a 2015 and I was able to get a strong deal (about $6000 below MSRP, otherwise I probably wouldn't have been willing to go for it). After considering the performance benefits, maintenance included, nicer styling, and learning that I would actually pay more for insurance on the VW, I chose the 228i. Compared to the VW, you get a nicer engine with much less/no turbo lag and better handling from 50/50 weight distribution and RWD. Also, in my opinion, this car looks much better than the VW. This is actually my first RWD car, having previously owned a Mazda. In comparison, I enjoy the more upscale interior and quieter cabin. I have the Harmon Kardon audio system and enjoy it very much. I've even had two adults in the back seat and consider the space reasonable for this size coupe, but it is certainly easier to get in and out of the back seat of a sedan. The front seats are sufficiently roomy and comfortable, and I have been impressed by the visibility as I have less of a blind spot than I did in my Mazda. Regarding driving feel, I will say in my first few weeks, I missed my Mazda's tight steering feedback and the BMW gearbox took a little adjusting for me. In contrast, in a test drive, I felt the VW gearbox was quite smooth and easy to get used to. Now that I have had some time in the car, I feel accustomed to the gearbox. The BMW ride is quieter and comfortable, but with 18" wheels, some of the larger expansion joints can become more noticeable. I've been impressed by the mileage that I've been getting so far. I have been averaging 31 mpg driving gently and using the ECO PRO mode often. Acceleration is sluggish in ECO PRO, but there is certainly no reason not to use it when cruising on the highway. Switching between the modes is very easy beside the shifter. Sport mode makes awakens a totally different personality of more torque and faster throttle response. I opted for the M-Sport suspension, so that gets activated in sport mode as well - truly fun to drive. My driving is mostly highway with about 20% side roads/city. The auto shut-off feature, which is an annoyance to some, is something I appreciate when stopped for a while. The engine starts right up as soon as I depress the clutch and if I don't want the engine to shut off, it is easy to disable or hold off for a moment by keeping the clutch depressed. Last, BMW comes with regenerative breaking, which also contributes to fuel savings. These features and some other subtleties in the BMW come standard, but are not available in many other cars. In the end, I have a feeling I am getting better fuel economy than I would be able to in the VW. Overall, I am very happy with my purchase (despite some hiccups with the dealer experience, but that has never been smooth for me). I'll note that BMW's options and packages can make things confusing for the buyer as there are so many configurations, and some things that should come standard on an upscale vehicle don't. For me, the overall rating is between 4 and 5 stars due to the things that BMW nickel and dimes you for (such as key-less entry and Bluetooth on the 2015) and an infotainment system that could be a little more streamlined, although I have gotten used to it and do like it. If you do your research, you can spec out a great car. I plan on enjoying mine for years to come, and am looking forward to completing the break-in period.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A really fun driving experience

David, 08/02/2017
228i xDrive 2dr Coupe AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Got this as my first car after college graduation, which probably wasn't the most sound financial decision, but its worth every dollar. The point is the car is small, which results in better overall handling. You can throw it into sport mode, toss this car around and it will hold. With the M sport package you get a tightened up suspension which makes it that much more fun. In terms of technology, the infotainment system / navigation is on point. Quite possibly the best navigation system out of all the german brands, which speaks to BMW's design model. The one con is the tires. I don't know who approved run flats as standard on the East Coast, but it was a poor decision, as I've gone through countless tires because of rough roads and potholes. Not sure what tires are standard for the MY17 cars. Otherwise one of the most fun rides I will ever own.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Just bought a 2015 BMW 228i coupe

Earthwateruser, 05/06/2019
228i 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Update May 2021 - Still loving the 228i! It has a great powertrain that makes it a pleasure to drive. The handling is great and the ride is excellent w/ the base suspension package. The interior is very comfortable and quiet and the iDrive system is easy to learn and not too distracting to use while driving. MPG is excellent and I've never measured lower than 27 mpg on a tank (with a heavy right foot) and easily get considerably more than 30 mpg on highway drives. A fantastic car that can be bought lightly used for less than a new, mid-range VW GTI. The GTI is a fine car, but I prefer the longitudinal engine (tight turning radius), rear wheel drive layout, perfect 50-50 weight balance, and coupe styling. The 8 speed automatic is VERY good and the engine is more powerful than the specs suggest.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Drivers Car

Larry Robertson, 06/09/2018
228i 2dr Coupe (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My 228i is a six-speed manual transmission. Great for getting that sporty-car feeling. Plus, the shifting is easy and the gas mileage is great (26 city; 35 highway). The ride, on COMFORT is very smooth. Select SPORT and it firms-up a little. The seats are VERY comfortable. It is a little clumsy to get out of the car. You sort of have to climb up and out. Definitely a younger persons car ( I was 73 when I bought the car). BMW service has been good. I have had ZERO problems in the 1 1/2 years I have owned the car. Mine is an M-Sport model. A little sportier than the standard 228i. It has the Track Handling Package. Brake dust is significant and requires weekly cleaning of the wheels. But, this is a really fun, comfortable car to drive. Driving it is always fun, especially with the manual transmission.

Performance
Report Abuse

Fun and thrifty to own

Rhody Roads, 09/01/2018
228i xDrive 2dr Coupe AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 8A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

This has been a fun car to drive. Very quick. Handles like it is on rails. Great on gas in eco mode and in a standard mode of driving. When you put your foot down both turbos quickly come on board and your pushed to the back of the seat without any torque steer and only a slight raise of the front end. This car has been a pleasure to own.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse
12
Items per page: