Used 2006 Acura TL Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$6,000 - $9,900

Used TL for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...6

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Love at first sight but faded after the honeymoon.

Joe, 09/09/2016
4dr Sedan w/Performance Tires, Nav System (3.2L 6cyl 6M)
26 of 27 people found this review helpful

This car had everything I wanted but came at a price. Performance, technology, and looked amazing. There are many known problems with this particular generation of the TL. Bluetooth stopped working and the replacement was pretty costly. Cassette adapter for ipod/iphone music got stuck in tape deck. Went through 2 batteries within 3 weeks and Dealership couldn't figure out the problem. Once I was able to pry the cassette adapter out the problem went away. Another known problem is the nav system. The unit in the trunk doesn't last and the replacement is about $300 now from Alpine. Once the trunk unit stops working you lose all the touchscreen capabilities on the display (ie AC control, radio control, settings, etc). You also lose the voice control for the radio unit. Voice control for making phone calls still functions as it is not tied to the trunk unit. Lastly, the dashboard problem. AcuraZine's website lists many people that have reported a cracked dashboard. Mine 1st cracked around the airbag border on the passenger side. At first I thought it was an airbag failure mode but upon research discovered I was seeing what many people were reporting. Shortly after this initial crack I started getting multiple cracks across my whole dashboard. Looks horrible. Exterior paint is still holding up but some of the plastic coating around the window edge is peeling. With all that being said I still enjoy the car but haven't got to utilize a lot of the technology for about 5 years now. I'm looking to get rid of it soon and most likely will not buy another Acura.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A very nice car

AN, 12/19/2006
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I bought the car for the sole reason I wanted a car that was reliable & would last me a long time since I'm the type to buy a car and drive it into the ground rather than lease it. I wanted something low maintenace and affordable. I did a lot of reseach into comparable makes such as the Infiniti G35, Volvo S60 and Lexus ES, and none could match the price for what you get with the TL. I didn't have to deal with option packages, everything I wanted was included standard for one low-price and it was under a brand that was known for reliability. It's both sporty enough where you can go cruising on a weekend yet, practical enough where you can run your daily errands, albeit in a bit more style.

Report Abuse

BMW-Honda-BMW-Honda-BMW-Acura

dem3nted, 03/12/2011
30 of 33 people found this review helpful

I've almost always have had a BMW or Honda product in my automotive stable. Most recently, I had a 1995 BMW M3. Loved the power and handling but hated the maintenance. I also leased a 2006 Honda Accord SE-V6 and owned a 2003 Accord EX-V6 with navigation. Both were very reliable and quick but handling was crappy and interior was blase'. Sheet metal seemed like aluminum foil. BMW's always seemed more solid. Recently, I purchased a 2006 Acura TL with navigation with high mileage for a paltry sum of money. I must say that it is in an entirely different league than the Honda. Quieter and better built than Honda. Really gives the BMW a great run for the money.

Report Abuse

Great Choice!!

drfidler, 03/07/2006
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I did a ton of research and test drove several cars before purchasing my TL. I drove a BMW 325i, VW Passat, Saab 9- 3, and Lexus IS 250. I've always driven a Honda, and traded my Accord for my TL. This car is absolutely fun to drive, and has excellent power. It's hard to keep under the speed limit, and it is super smooth. My final decision came between the IS and the TL, and I chose the TL hands down. I'm 6'4", so comfort and room was important. I find the instruments to be easily accesible, and nicely trimmed. The seats are roomy and comfortable. There are hardly any blindspots, which is a plus for me! The IS, BMW lacked horsepower, plus much more $$$. The TL has everything!

Report Abuse

TL is a MUST consider if looking for new car

Trevor, 03/04/2017
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

I have been an Acura fan for a long time now. That is because my first car was an Acura Integra. No matter what I did with that car it always ran and all repairs were reasonable. Just recently have come back to Acura from the Audi, BMW Mercedes and Lexus I owned over last 10 years. Not only is Acura less expensive with upfront cost but it is also less expensive when repairs, or maintenance is required. Plus insurance costs are much less the all German or luxery cars in same category as well. Besides being less expensive then any other luxury sedan in all areas. It's still provides you with a luxery sports sedan feel and look, with adequate power, style, handling and performance. If the logo was removed it would be very hard for anyone driving or looking at the TL and tell you it was not a German built vehicle. Every car ever made has its downsides, no matter what you look at. Most German cars repairs, parts & insurance cost is outrages plus BMW, Mercedes, Audi all I have a notorious issues with electronic problems. Which in itself is expensive and almost impossible to do yourself due to tools required and warranty restrictions on who must make repairs. Now wiTh ACURA it's like buying a luxury car with Honda or Toyota repair costs. If you have a little bit of know how you can repair majority of minor repairs and services for maintenance, saving you a ton of money overall. The gas mileage it's great for the size of the motor. If you drive it normally not take of like in race every light, you will not burn unnecessary gas and will get the gas mileage that Acura indicates the TL has 28City 32 HWY. If you repair the timing belt and water pump at 100,000 miles and keep up on the normal maintenance and service aka oil fluids, breaks, air filter, and milestone services. The TL has the motor with a proven potential last until 400,000 miles with very minimal expensive maintenance needs, outside of what I listed above. As performance goes you can make a few small upgrades to your air intake, headers, upgraded fuel pump and even the chip upgrade that is only 325.00 replacements/ upgrades for less the $1000.00. This will illuminate all performance lacking when comparing performance with BMW Audi Mercedes in the same class that are all at least 8k+ MSRP. All the upgrades I listed from audio to performance upgraded can be done very easily and inexpensively without voiding your manufacturer warranty, and will not cause any long-term mechanical issues. This motor has been built to last and will last forever if the proper maintenance is given. All vehicles need to be maintained but can still be problematic after 150k NOT the ACURA motors. They are built to last, very straightforward with minimal repair required if serviced. you can buy a Acura TL with over 100,000 miles if the timing belt and water pump has been changed and regular maintenance performed and not worry at all about any major mechanical problems. I agree that there are some features lacking and need attention. These are the Bluetooth/handsfree system is horrible. Only pairs with a small amount of devices, iPhone not being one?? There is also no AUX port, built in USB charger and auto on-off mode for head lights. Everything I just listed is all not a deal breaker for all those issues except auto headlight feature, can be fixed with manufacturer and OEM add ons. Remove indash audio controls/cd/cassette system & replace with an Acura or Aftermarket Touchscreen - voice activated audio system with NAV/DVD/CD/MP3/Aux Port,etc for $300.00-500.00. That eliminates all those issues and gives you everything you would get in a more expensive luxury car both performance and technology add ons. Take the money u save from BMW,Lexus,Mercedes,etc on insurance and cost you pay to buy, take a little of that saved money and make the Acura taylored to your exact needs and I promise you there will never be an disapotment. You will be even happier when u go to sell or trade in later on for the Acura TL keeps is value, because they do run forever with minimal matinace required!! Just do yourself a favor and at least testdrive one before buying any other luxury sedan, and consider that a small amount of money put into the vehicle will allow you to surpass any features or performance lacking from BMW or any other luxury sedan. Having that one Acura owner that is not like their car or regret their purchase.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great looking car, but pricey & poor fuel economy

Keith Eliot, 11/27/2015
4dr Sedan w/Performance Tires, Nav System (3.2L 6cyl 6M)
18 of 20 people found this review helpful

This is a great looking car with Acura reliability. I have a '97 Acura CL with 223,000 miles and the thing just keeps going. I have owned the 2006 TL for over a year and have enjoyed driving it, but the biggest downer is it comes nowhere near the advertised fuel economy. Check the forums online and you'll see other owners saying the same thing. This is the main reason I'm rating this car 3.5 stars and not 4.5 stars. Its way over 250 hp and with that power and weight you aren't going to get great gas mileage. The quandary here is that similar Accords do get very good mileage, and my TL isn't getting close to what is advertised. I'm getting 16-17 in the city and only 19 combined. If I do take a rare highway trip its around 25mpg, but the downer is the city driving, I feel like it should be at least 20 mpg. Take this into consideration when buying. Acura is one of the only car manufacturers that had a Sirius XM receiver as stock in 2006, this is a huge plus! The stereo is also pretty awesome for stock radio, even includes a subwoofer. If you like keeping your paint perfect, the touch-up paint for the White Pearl model straight from Acura is a complete joke & will drive you nuts fixing little marks & dings. Its not even close to a match due to the two-tone nature of the treatment. You'll be spending hours to get one nick the right color from one or two base coats of white and then a dozen or so of the stupid pearl top coats to get the darkness to match because the base coat is way way too light. What every happened to the simple days or just one coat of paint in a touch-up tube that matched pretty well? The dual climate control works but doesn't work well if the passenger wants it warm and the driver wants it cold, the workaround is you have to turn the temp up really high on the passengers side to get warmer air to come out that side if the driver is pumping the AC. This is true in my car even though both sides have their own digital temperature control. Weird. A final complaint is you can lightly hear the interior creaks and noises when going over speed-bumps doesn't seem quite as solid as you would think from an Acura. You only notice this when driving along in a quiet car with the radio off. Nothing serious, but my 97 CL doesn't have this problem. The real selling point of this car is looks and reliability, if you can do with the weak MPG this might be the car for you. Its fun to drive, will impress the neighbors and is a real rocketship. If you can find a black interior, do it - stays much nicer looking if you have kids.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great TL but has some flaws

CPT Keanu, 09/16/2006
26 of 31 people found this review helpful

Bought in July performs flawlessly on freeway. Quiet & very comfortable love the XM on desolate roads. Awesome highway mileage @ 31mpg going 75+mph! Great exterior & bi-xenons are invaluable. Love the interior blue hue color. To contrast its great features, in city its different. Must drive very very conservative to get decent mpg. Suspension rough over hard surfaces. Steering not responsive like TSX. Been to dealer 6 times; driver window rattling, trunk latch inop, headliner sagging took 3 attempts to fix! Now rough idle @ startup & weird idle fluxuations! Our many loaner TSXs are tempting us. Our 99 TL was made better. Never had rattling noises or tranny issues even at 160k what a car.

Report Abuse

costs money to play

Jay Waseem, 10/04/2016
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
9 of 10 people found this review helpful

I purchased this 2006 base model TL after I sold my 04' 545i. I wanted something reliable, yet sporty so I purchased this TL. I bought it with 97k miles. It had an extensive service record, 50+ times serviced at a local acura dealer. One day check engine light popped up, and maybe 3 miles after that, my transmission was GONEE. Rebuild cost 4800 at a local mechanic shop. IT ALSO EATS THROUGH TIRES AND BRAKES. I put Michelin Primacy MXM4, and after just 15k miles, my tires are halfway gone. ( Alignment is within specs, as well as other suspension components). It's definitely the best bang for your buck, but I certainly don't see the infamous Acura reliability anywhere close to this model. Rattles and squeaks only when going over speed bumps, weird!! A lot of road noise as well. Accelerates & corners well, but torque steer is there. Make sure to use leather wipes on your seats, or they'll crack up in no time. No height adjustment for the passenger seat either. No aux, but who needs that when you have a cassette player (sarcasm). Don't spend anymore than 5k for this car & don't buy it from a dealer.

Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Other reviewers are too picky.

Jennie, 04/07/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I owned the 2003 TL before updating to the 2006. I also worked in Service at an Acura dealership. The most common complaint is the rattling, but a conscientious technician can fix that. (My car doesn't rattle and it doesn't happen in all of them.) Depending upon your personal driving habits, you *may* go through brakes and tires. If you want a good quality, reliable vehicle, get a TL. My two 80-pound dogs don't damage the interior and neither will your kids. The TL is also mechanically sound. I've worked in Service for other brands so believe me, I'm loyal to Acura for a reason. Compare cost, features, and reliability and it's no wonder that Acura has the highest resale value.

Report Abuse

Love My TL

Steve P, 11/10/2006
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my 3rd Acura. Had an 03 TL, and 04 TSX. For overall performance including power as a big factor for me, the new TL gets my nod. I'm a sucker for horsepower though. Love the fit and finish, smooth delivery of power, and well-engineered handling. A quiet cabin allows for a high-end listening experience with well-mixed DTS type DVDAs . Be careful what you buy, some of these high end discs sound no better than your average CD in the TL. Some reviewers have complained about a lack of bass. It is available, you just need to give the TL the proper source material. The TL is money well spent.

Report Abuse

Love my TL!

gtj1715, 04/07/2013
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

For years, my kids heard me say "see that TL over there - THAT's the one I want". Now it's more like an unspoken "I love my car" (I bought it last summer). I love the 2004-08 body style - those before and since just don't have that same sleek, wedge look (the groove was so iconic that recent Accords copied it). All my research pointed to the 2006 being the most reliable of the bunch too. You ever get *exactly* the car you want and never, ever look back? Yeah, it's like that.

Report Abuse

An overall winner

LisaB315, 03/10/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I can truly attest to this car's performance, having driven it for 80,000 miles and 3 solid years. It is a fun car to drive, be it in the city or on a country road. Everything you can think of with a few exceptions (I'll get to those next) is included (not an option) like Bluetooth, steering wheel controls, driver & passenger memory seats, awesome navigation with touch screen and there's even a light in the glovebox. The downsides:no MP3 connection,no need for cassette player,rear seats don't fold, moon roof controls should be mounted on dashbord.I recommend Michelin tires for a quiet ride.The TL is extremely affordable to maintain- I still have my original brakes with 5k+ miles remaining.

Report Abuse

Used 2006 TL

Scott , 01/12/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought used with 69000 miles. I was pretty happy with the price at $15,700 (Acura Lease car). This is my 3rd TL and each one I've put over a 100k on. Very good reliable cars that perform very well. I would highly recommend this car to anyone looking for a performance geared sedan.

Report Abuse

Dependable and fun to Drive

macura, 03/11/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was originally looking for a second automobile with good fuel economy. I bought this car when it was 3 years old with 25,000 miles on it. This car has exceeded all my expectations. It's agile, and, while others complain of the "heavy" steering and road noise, I love the way this car feels. It is as planted at 60mph as it is switching lanes at 80mph. I can "feel" the road surface through the steering wheel not an objectionable feeling imho and the steering response is quick and precise. All this and I regularly get 30 mpg in a well appointed, sneaky fast and RELIABLE Honda product. I made the right decision!

Report Abuse

Safe bet

sasha, 09/13/2010
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car has many plus features, very few negatives. However after going from a sport car to a sedan the handling leaves something to be desired. Plenty of power but could use more torque. A little noisy for a high end car. Nav system talks too much and looks very outdated(like something off an old Atari system). Sound system OK. Very spacious and comfortable inside. For the price of the car you certainly get a lot of great features, bluetooth, homelink etc..Have had absolutely no mechanical problems. Would def recommend this car.

Report Abuse

Acuras are timeless

Denzel Seals, 07/16/2016
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Just know that you are getting a car that depreciates slower than most, it's style and reliability is the reason why.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love my Acura!

Shirley stokes, 03/11/2017
4dr Sedan w/Performance Tires (3.2L 6cyl 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Very "sportscar" like handling! Hugs curves wonderfully. Very fun to drive! Have owned this car 11 years ND still love it.

Performance
Interior
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Better than a benz

killajettah, 06/11/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I owned a 2006 Mercedes benz c230 and had one prob after the next, engine was very noisy check engine light came on, had bad fuel press reg, and injectors, the abs stopped working, and the trans always got stuck in gear, and this car only had 40000 miles, I traded in on a 2006 acura tl, and this car tops it, it may be kinda noisy but it noo big deal, this is a great car, not as smooth as a benz, but a lower price tag, and easy to get parts on work on, get this car!!!

Report Abuse

One year and still giddy!

Scott, 10/06/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have now had this car for exactly one year and can honestly say I am as excited to drive this car today as I was a year ago. Be advised that I am a very picky person but cannot think of any complaints about this car. It is a comfortable ride, very quiet. It is also very quick and loves to corner fast (as do I). Last, it has a very organized interior layout that is intuitive and exceeds my needs. I just went with my girlfriend as she test drove an '02 BMW 3330xi ($30K). I realize it's a beemer, but truthfully, my TL is just as nice, just as sporty and cheaper. She even is wondering why she doesn't get a TL instead and save some $. Great car, no regrets.

Report Abuse

Great Car...but not "perfect"

Melissa, 10/22/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Acura TL for 1 1/2 yrs. It has everything you can imagine as far as options, but it doesn't have auto lights or an aux jack. Another very annoying thing is that the car is very LOUD on the road- makes you feel like you're NOT in a luxury car. Other: leather is cheap. My center console has gotten so thin that it looks pushed down all the time. Just not what you'd expect from a car that costs around $40k brand new. In some light, the instrument gauges have such a bad glare that I can't see them. The navigation is great, the build quality is decent, and the car gets a lot of looks on the road. Definitely looks great when cleaned up.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

SpeedRacerGabe, 12/15/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned my TL for about 3.5 yrs now and I still love it as much as I did when new. The most reliable car I have ever owned, great performance and with the 6-speed I just love driving through the mountain roads and winding up the engine. Fuel mileage better than I expected and have seen 38 on the hwy thanks to a couple of performance upgrades.

Report Abuse

Love This Car!!!

sara, 09/23/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

After much test driving of many cars we were sold on the new TL. It took us several months of looking at several different cars, but we always came back to and compared them all to the TL. This car is so much fun to drive, I find reasons to run to the store to pick up groceries! The gas mileage has been terrific, averaging about 27 miles to the gallon. We have taken trips to Indianapolis several times, and it has been a pleasure to drive. The interior space is comfortable, quiet, and spacious. Our 6'7" son rides very comfortably in the front seat, as well as the back seat. We love our new TL.

Report Abuse

The car you never look back from, it works in all

Nate, 08/29/2018
4dr Sedan w/Nav System (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My 06 TL is ridiculously reliable and fast. My maintenance costs are next to nothing. I've had it for 10 years it just needs routine maintenance. (Oil changes, etc.) I'm at 212,000 miles and the car still throws me back against the seat. Everything still works too! With minimal upgrades (intake, racing oil, and some seafoam) the car is insanely fast and reliable!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Best car I have ever owned!

Michael Kempkes, 12/10/2018
4dr Sedan w/Nav System (3.2L 6cyl 6M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

After nearly 13 years and 155,000 miles, my 2006 Acura TL still runs like it was new. Nothing but scheduled maintenance over this time, and still a blast to drive. Have been looking around recently, but finding any decent, reliable car with a 6 cylinder and 6-speed manual transmission makes me think I got the end of the line. The bluetooth and GPS were ahead of their time, and only now seem to have been surpassed in newer cars. The only thing it lacks is 4WD, but that has only been an issue once since I bought it - and changing to better all-season tires fixed that.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The rattles and the jerking finally won.

samsam, 03/09/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I was so excited when I bought my 2006 TL. It was and still is one of the best looking cars on the road. However, after just one week the rattles began. I should have listened to other reviews. I tried for 2 years to pretend they didn't bother me because the car is beautiful and reliable. The real problem is the ride to the TL's prior to 2007 suspension upgrade was just too rough and it shakes everything loose. You can't even enjoy the DVD audio because ALL the speakers rattle and no one at my Acura dealership could fix them. I had a 2007 loaner once and noticed they finally fixed the suspension-that car was quiet. I finally gave up and traded it in this month (not for another Acura).

Report Abuse

Transmission went out at about 150,000

Kris, 03/09/2018
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
3 of 7 people found this review helpful

Update: Transmission went out going over the Grapevine pass in L.A. Had to junk the car. Very disappointed in Acura's "reliability." Will never go near another Acura. For the price, this may be the best used car available. This is like getting a steak at a hamburger price. First of all, the drive is outstanding. I usually crank the stereo when driving, but with my TL, I prefer to listen to the loud purr/soft growl of the TL engine at work. I've driven many a car in my day, but never one that hugs the road quite like this Acura. And the gas mileage is incredible for a car this fast. When parked, I listen to the stereo and the surround sound is mind-blowing. The seats aren't quite up to par with Volvo's, but they are business-class comfy. The moon/sunroof brings natural light into the experience. One of the few downers is the lack of an AUX input (but they put in a cassette tape player?!?!). It would also be nice to have daylight running headlights (why do only Canadian models get this important feature?).

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

these cars are junk

pissed owner, 08/24/2015
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
4 of 10 people found this review helpful

Blue tooth stopped working. Water would leak by drivers feet. Transmission failed at only 75,000 miles with a cost of repair of $6,000. Acura would not pay anything for repair.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Have Fun, be Responsible!

PT, 10/12/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Interior: superb electronics and AC (a must in AZ), very stylish; seats are short, lack thigh support. Exterior: good curb appeal. Large turning radius; front bumper scrapes every driveway. Visibility is more sporty than sedan like. 0-25 is good, 25-80 is smooth and superb. Handles brilliantly, feels safe. Feel the road - rides best with (costly) Michelins - everything else detracts from sporty feel. This is a firm, not cushy ride. Quieter than an Accord, but more road noise than a Mercedes or Camry. Everyone likes driving this car. Smallish trunk, rear seats do not fold down, so, not good for moving stuff. If you can afford it, I doubt you can find a better car.

Report Abuse

Did I jump the gun?

John, 07/10/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

My car usage is about 75% city, 25% highway, so I was being realistic when I predicted my MPG. The Acura TL is projected to get 21/29, but so far I've been getting a ridiculous 15.5 MPG, and needless to say, I am thoroughly disappointed. I was highly anticipating the relief in MPG, which was one of the deciding factors during my car-buying process, but 15.5 MPG is SUV territory. I feed my car the suggested 91 octane, I drive with a soft foot, and the A/C gets next to no use.

Report Abuse

Great used car purchase

AMDE, 03/01/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The TL is a great car for its price. This car made the transition from driving a sports car to a sport sedan easy. And the excellent crash test ratings make it even better.

Report Abuse

Rampant Electrical Problems

KC, 07/05/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my second Acura after an exceptional 1998 Integra. Sadly, the TL has not met expectations. The cruise control broke in 2009; the battery has died twice for no apparent reason (remote entry doesn't work w/o battery); and the hands free link broke. Of course, these issues all occurred after the warranty expired. The turning radius is atrocious. After waiting three years, we finally purchased an "update" to the Nav system for $150 only to have Acura come out with a new version 3 months later. (A little notice would have been nice.)

Report Abuse

Luxury and quality at a great vaule

stor_nut, 01/02/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After comparing the Infinity G35 and the Acura TL, I had to purchase the 2006 TL. While the G35 is a blast to drive, the TL offers too many features and is too good a value to pass-up. The styling is eye-catching, the performance is good, and the quality/reliability is legendary. The TL has high-end features previously found in cars that cost $40-$50K (navigation, dual-climate control, heated seats, XM radio, Bluetooth phone, tire pressure monitor, etc...). After negotiating, I got the car for exactly the price I wanted and it was one of the best car buying experiences I've had. I'm looking forward to driving this car all year!!

Report Abuse

TOTALLY EXCELLENT

Baldi62, 02/25/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Style (Jet Fighter looks ... Black Exterior with Parchment Interior ... None of the other color options can compare with this Luxo selection) Performance (Gotta love the passing power) Navigation Unit (Finds most addresses,restaurants,hotels and other locations with ease) Voice activated controls (For when you are bored with your long commute in traffic...and she doesn't mind it !!!) Price (FAGETABOUTIT!!! None of the other manufacturers can compare - feature for feature - they were all many thousands more!!!) With all the features this car has to offer I am just hoping that not too many others buy it because I like seeing only one or two on the road during my commute each day

Report Abuse

great car

bob, 03/27/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this car is fun to drive. good power and got 25mpg in city and hiway. hiway driving at 69mph got 32 mpg.

Report Abuse

Technology that Really Works!!!

Michael S. McDonald, 04/11/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Awesome car, all the bells and whistles. I you live for gadgets this is your car! If you like style and chrisma-the A-Spec package is the way to go. The dealer is a little vague on "What the A-Spec" package consist of and it is a ala carte package. You build at dealership level to your unique driving pleasure. I went all out from sway bars, strut tower braces, dampening springs, performance shocks, to full dress ground effects to the wing on the trunk. This car feels and out handles my 2002 Trans Am show car. It feels like you are part of the road and when you come into that turn it feels like you are on rails-tight, secure and sure footed. I really recommend this car! Enjoy-one I am!

Report Abuse

AWESOME

Ali, 05/09/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car ever.... never seen car like this before in my life and its not realy expensive tooo...

Report Abuse

TL what a car

Randy, 06/04/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just came off a lease of a 2004 Maxima. TL is better all around car for the same montly payment. Average 24-25mpg mostly city driving. Very comfortable and quiet ride. Radio is great. Looks great. What else can I say.

Report Abuse

Enjoying My Purchase

Jason Murray, 08/23/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Three things seem to stick out from others' reviews at least the poor ones: interior rattling, poor fuel economy and torque steer. I live in El Paso with some rough roads and have no interior rattling at all. As far as the torque steer it is very evident with this vehicle and Acura should look towards a rear wheel drive (standard) and an optional AWD version in the coming years. Fuel economy is more of the driver as the model I have meets and exceeds the posted mileage. Something I have found is the ride height could be shortened a bit (possibly an inch) to improve performance (handling). I enjoy this vehicle very much and it is my daily driver now.

Report Abuse

Great Total Package

Dan, 05/11/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have owned Saabs and Volvo's for many years and decided to look for an all around performer for road trips, city driving, snow, ice and hot weather driving. I looked at all the competitors to the TL and found the TL to be tops in the "total package"; the well integrated controls of the excellent sound system, navigation system, the blue tooth cell phone technology, the power and handling. There are definitely improvements that can be made but no other car puts it all together like Acura did with the TL at under $35K. A bit surprised about the poor milage the TL has shown me in the one year I've had it - only averaging 17MPG mixed. Nice job Acura and its also built and designed in the US.

Report Abuse

Fun Fun Fun

JAXFLUSA, 05/28/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love it all. The best value for your money. The interior surpasses all others in its class and the drive is just plain fun. The Navi and handfree are easy to use and the XM is just icing on the cake. The Acura TL is in a class all its own.

Report Abuse

Fun, Performance, Great Looking

Mark, 04/25/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased the 2006 Acura TL and it is an amazing car! I did quite a bit of research and bang for the buck, this car has it. I just came back from a few long trips and I can't wait to go out again. I actually got 34 MPG on the highway and I avg about 26 MPG around town. The hands free bluetooth works great! The acceleration, the comfort, the stereo/CD/XM radio are all fantastic. If you are thinking about a Lexus, or a BMW I urge you to drive a TL or an RL. These cars are great and the prices are reasonable for all of the options you get. Normally my wife gets to drive the new car and I take the older of the two we have. She's not getting this one! It's all mine!!

Report Abuse

2 year and still happy

TL Fan, 03/07/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

All things considered, the car is a joy to drive. Powerful engine can cause the front end to pull to the left when you floor it. I tend to drive with fuel consumption in mind and this car consistantly gives me around 25 mpg in mixed city/hwy and 30mpg hwy. A friend who has one drives aggressively and gets much lower results. Overall the car is a great combination of a sport/luxury car. Only disappointment is the nav system. Info was somewhat out of date when delivered and it is very annoying that you must hit a button on the screen to activate it everytime you start the car to acknowledge that you will use it with common sense

Report Abuse

A for Acura

Bri Bri, 04/23/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned Volvo, Mercedes-Benz, Saab, Infiniti, and Audi and this in the best total package I've ever owned. I've now had my TL for two years and have yet to take the car in for anything else other than schedule service. Acura has created the best blend of performance, luxury, and reliability. By the way, the standard bluetooth technology is great.

Report Abuse

service

lgs, 03/14/2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

A good car. but don't get it serviced by the dealer, Acura will call you over and over to question you about the service, I called the local dealer and they could not get me off the call list. Well, if you go local don't give your phone number. Otherwise a great car, but the trunk could have better lighting, awesome sound system though.

Report Abuse

great car

johnny, 11/30/2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have not been let down with this car fun to drive good on gass, looks great would by another one.

Report Abuse

Excellent Value Near Luxury/Sport Sedan

Allen D., 10/17/2006
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I shopped several cars within the luxury and near luxury class. I can break the survey down four ways: Price Dependent, Price Independent, Performance Real World and Performance All Out: Price Dependent: Excellent Price Independent: Very Good Performance Real World: Excellent Performance All Out: Very Good Roll in resale value and maintenence, and the TL should be a "must drive" for anyone shopping in this class.

Report Abuse

myride

gerry, 04/01/2017
4dr Sedan (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

hands free module is a problem

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not Too Shabby

bgk99, 10/30/2006
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Have owned for two months. I'm used to sports cars (MBZ, Porsche 911, Infiniti G-35) but having a baby so needed something more "family" like. It's a bit underpowered but has decent pickup - mileage is lacking - handling is pretty smooth but not excellent. So far, so good.

Report Abuse

Excellent Idea Horrible Execution

Ed, 01/24/2006
2 of 9 people found this review helpful

Review: Fell in love with this car when I bought it now I CANNOT STAND IT, all within less than 6 months! Why? Rattles, Rattles, and more Rattles Misaligned body parts, especially trunk that rubs and has paint chipped off and rust on it! Very poor water based paint used. Chips started on drive home from dealer and haven't stopped. Paint mottling (swirling on doors) uneven paint application at factory! Looks like an army camouflage vehicle under certain lights! Cheap leather on seats that has more wrinkles than a 120 year old lady's face. Wrinkle in seat within first 500 miles and it only gets worse. If you get black its gets even better! DASHBOARD FADES TO A MILKY WHITE COLOR! ALL TLs DO IT

Report Abuse

Missed the mark

David Jenks, 05/07/2006
1 of 5 people found this review helpful

AS an owner of a 2002 TL I can't begin to tell you how disapointed I am in the 2006 model. If your a big fan of chep leather, plastic and tin you will love the interior. The ride is poor the performance disapointing. When compared to the 2002.

Report Abuse
12345...6
Items per page:
51050