Used 2001 Acura CL Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,076 - $4,984

Used CL for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

For My Money-Unbeatable

Paul, 09/02/2008
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Acura may not have won over the hardcore luxury sports car owners, but this car is amazing for the price. You're given a standard 3.2 liter with 225 horsepower and I get about 24 mpg average. On the highway it can reach 30 mpg. The car is already loaded (no options): 6 disc CD changer, heated seats, dual power seats, TCS, 4 wheel ABS disc brakes, auto-manual 5 speed trans., auto climate control, power sunroof. All this for under $33k. The 225 horsepower engine delivers a brilliant tone and is pretty quick. The styling is a large improvement from the older model as well. The interior is so easy to navigate too. The seats are comfortable and leather clad.

Report Abuse

Until Now

ladyveee, 12/20/2012
3.2 2dr Coupe w/Navigation (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

I have had my 2001 3.2 CL since 2004. That's right she's 11 years old and has been so good to me as I have been to her. Last week I had an interesting experience that I've never had before. She putted 3 times while in traffic and just died. It wasn't the battery and 30 minutes later she started up and the problem has not reocurred. She has been with mechanic for approximately a week and they can't find anything wrong. Mechanic has been driving her to and from work to see what happens. If mechanic can not find the issue, I may have to consider replacing her, I drive too often and late at night and am afraid of getting stranded or worse. Up to this point she has been reliable. I love her but

Report Abuse

Great Car!

T, 09/11/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Man I love this car. I've had it going on 5 yrs, and currently have 218+k miles. This car just keeps going, I've only had to do some reg. maintenance and 2 sets of tires, of course from the mileage ware. I have to say the comfort in the room and seats are great If I rent, or borrow another car, I cant wait to get back in mine. My only cons would be the exterior road noise, and the trans. is a bit sensitive and needs freq. monitoring, but thats any Honda.

Report Abuse

Like a old pair of worn out boots

B.C, 11/16/2015
3.2 Type-S 2dr Coupe w/Navigation (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

2001 CL type-S Aesthetically it is terrible. The clear coat is really thin so the paints fades in spots and on the edges. The fake "wood" trim peels off everywhere in the interior. The interior hardware is really sturdy other than the trim and the cover for the front cup holders. The tranny had issues with the torque converter which was a recall but Honda took care of that. The trainsmission slipped rarely for a few years after that but works ok 7 years later. The Engine is a diamond. It won't die on me even though I wanted it too so the wife would let me get a new car. I really don't treat the engine the respect it deserves. The O2 sensors quit on me 8 years ago and I use nothing but regular gas. Oil change 3 to 4 times a year with regular oil. The car runs rich due to my negligence but passes emissions every time. I get between 16.8 and 17.2 mpg city driving. My assessment...the car is like a pair of old work boots that gets uglier in time but won't wear out. It's dependable

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Acura 3.2Cl

kgain2, 07/16/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

For this price... it doesn't get any better than this!

Report Abuse

Great Midlife Crisis Car

bpats, 05/09/2002
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I put lots of miles on my car every year. I have taken the 3.2 over all the major and most minor roads in CA. The 3.2 is a blast to drive. It is quick, fast, and handles well. For fun try Hwy 36 from Scotia to Redding and you will see for yourself.

Report Abuse

After 397000 miles this car accelerates like new

Ewa Papiez, 12/20/2016
3.2 2dr Coupe (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

It is not available anymore

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Works for me!

uhh, 03/04/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This was my first "real" car, so perhaps I'm biased, but I am still in love with my 2001 CL 19 months later. It handles wonderfully, the amenities are very nice, and the power blows away everything in it's price range. (except the Maxima, which can't touch the amentities/value) Personally, I can forgive Acura for the cheesy fake-wood; it's not a big deal to me. But I am a little disappointed with the steering wheel controls for the radio, and the fact that my brakes and tires are already shot.

Report Abuse

Failed Transmission at 138,000 Miles

adamsbauer, 06/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car looks great and I really like the way it runs but I expect more than 138,000 miles from an Acura transmission. I wish Acura would have done more to help me but I am stuck with a car that has a lot of miles and will have a new transmission soon and I am out several thousand dollars. If I buy from the same company I will buy an Accord. No need to pay extra if they don't take care of you and their cars don't last.

Report Abuse

I like it but...

acura lover, 07/29/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I finally bought an adult car having always owned hatchbacks. I compared the CL to Audi,BMW,Lexus,Infiniti and Volvo and found the CL to be the best value for the money. The CL has the biggest engine, horsepower and amenities. However, I do have a several complaints. I wish the doors would lock when I start the engine and unlock when I stop the engine like in the Integra. Also, could they put back the side moulding. The most annoying part is the door ledge. There is a little ledge that always gets dirty when it rains and my pant leg hits it getting out of the car.

Report Abuse

Pretty good car

dfettner@sbcglobal.n, 12/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's a very good car. Fuel economy is not great. But the quality is very good. The engine is smooth and powerful. The ride is very smooth. The features are great.

Report Abuse

In Love

suslea, 12/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the best car I've ever owned-- elegant, comfortable, AND reliable. I cried when some woman smashed me in the rear, and I'm too spoiled to be happy in the rental car. Can't wait til my car is returned and I can drive in comfort and style again. Gets 26 to the gallon -- the dealer is super -- the ride is smooth as can be, and the handling is dreamlike.

Report Abuse

Acura CL Premium 2001 - Fun Car

Firsttimeacuraowner, 12/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Got my 01 CL Premium with 14K in 12/2000. As of 12/2002, I have 40K. Only problem I've had is that the rotors had to be replaced. Steering, acceleration are fine, tranny shifts smoothly. I get 20/31 mpg. Seats are supportive. Visibility is good when checking over shoulder to change lanes. Main gripe: side-view mirrors are placed such that they obstruct your forward, side view when turning. Minor gripe: cup holders are poor - a medium iced- tea from the fast food shop can tip over if you have to make a mildly abrupt stop. Great car for the $ if you want something decent.

Report Abuse

Acura CL Type S

rcmarsh, 02/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great ride, plenty of punch.

Report Abuse

Best car in its class

JLW1212, 09/28/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This was my second car, I went from an Acura Integra and although I paid twice as much, its 10 times the Integra will ever be. I was in my market for a BMW 330Ci and to me the 3.2CL beat it out in every catergory. This is a fantastic buy and the 225 HP is a big improvement from 140 HP.

Report Abuse

Quality at a reasonable price

v maggio, 01/06/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fun and comfortable to drive. Gets over 30 mpg on long trips. While the rear seat is comfortable it is not easy to get in and out.

Report Abuse

Very Happy

greg, 01/07/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first Acura and I'm loving it. I bought it certified and the dealership has been great.

Report Abuse

Great Car!

Ange, 10/30/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car is fun to drive, very comfortable and sharp! I couldn't have asked for a better more reliable car. It's the smoothest ride ever.

Report Abuse

I love my CL

CLgal, 01/07/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've been driving my black on black CL for six months and am a true believer. It is an all-around solid car with so many great features. The creature comforts, postitioning of instruments, and overall look and feel are second to none. I highly recommend this car to anyone who wants a combination of luxury, style, and reliability.

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect

Jake, 08/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my 3.2 CL. I would have liked the power of the type-S but prefer the understated base model. Small things have been irritating like no switch for the foglamps which look like 40 watt lightbulbs next to the awesome HID headlamps. The door mounted arm rests have started to separate slowly. The transmission was replaced because I mentioned it wasn't shifting as smoothly as it used to. As a precaution and probably to drum up some business, the service department went ahead and replaced it.

Report Abuse

better than Honda Accord v-6 same price!

aveerothai, 11/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used 2 years ago. No problem, fun to drive, Bose system, heated seat and memory seat and this car is going for same price as Honda Accord v6. What a deal!

Report Abuse

Smooth Ride

Drew, 03/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Acura has me sold. My silver on black CL has been everything I expected. And expectations can be a dangerous thing…I purchased it used with 43K miles on it. Got a great deal too. One word: Smooth. I love the sound of the engine when you punch it. I drove the type S as well, but didn't like the harshness of the ride. I much preferred the stock 3.2 CL's ride and if you're stress'en over the power drop of from the S, don't, the car scoots. 0-60 in 7.0 seconds is quick to most normal human beings. And once you sit in the seats, your body just melts into the leather and you're lulled to sleep by how smooth and quite the car is. My commute home will never be the same.

Report Abuse

Mild mannered, got it where it counts

Meike, 06/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been great. It always does what it should, and when I need it. Fun to drive, comfortable for long weekend driving. Style is clean and impressive, whenever someone gets in it they ask what is it?

Report Abuse

3 years and still in love...

lil_dreamer13, 09/15/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 01' CL Certified in September 2002. I fell in love with it then and am still in love with it now. At the time, I was also looking at the Lexus IS, but it felt like I was cramped up in an upgraded version of my Civic SI. The CL has all the luxurious interior features, a powerful engine so it is at a great value. The transmission was recalled, but Acura replaced it at their cost. I've been a CL owner for 3 years now and don't even have an itch to look at other cars because I'm very happily satisfied. When I'm in the market to purchase a new car, it would definitely be another Acura hands down... Perhaps the TL. ;)

Report Abuse

Acura actually mfr'd a lemon!

jenr8er, 03/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I took my 1st CL (97)to 110k w/o ever using the warranty. Completely different story this time around. Nearly every recall and service bulletin my car has been in for-from rattles to a blown transmission. What's worse is that while service did everything they could on my repeated SRS/engine light issues, we had exhausted all resources (6 visits) and were praying to the car gods to please let it be fixed. Read the recalls/TSB for 02 & 03 models-they are nearly identical. Feeling a little sketched out by it all and thinking maybe I should find something else to drive til they get it together in a year or two!!!!!

Report Abuse

Excellent Car!

Cash, 06/30/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Got this car with 58K on it and now has less than 65K. Absolutely love this car, no probs so far. ABS and side airbag turned on and dealership took care of it. Wish I had bought a type S. When I got it, I tinted my windows black, recently put some black rims on it and smoked out the front and rear tail lights. Next project to put some lambo doors and pop up navi and dvd player. This is my 3rd Honda/Acura and will absolutely stick with them! Next car is the TL.

Report Abuse

Satisfied

Goody, 03/08/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My CL rides great and so far has been very reliable, unlike my Ford TBird which cost me $2600.00 in repairs in just one year! I'm very happy with the design and I have confidence this car will last a long time.

Report Abuse

Would Keep It Forever

gf, 05/13/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I keep hoping Acura will make another coupe like this. It still looks great and handles well at 91,000 miles. I'm hoping it lasts 91,000 more. Its second transmission slips just a little on a quick shift, and there's rust on the bottom of the passenger- side door. The brakes have had a major overhaul. Our other car is a 2003 CTS, which I like just as well although the features differ.

Report Abuse

great ride

rolph, 04/05/2019
3.2 2dr Coupe (3.2L 6cyl 5A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

dependable reliable great ride

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050