Used 1994 Toyota Corolla Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,162 - $2,746

Used Corolla for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

uhmazing

reese, 07/27/2010
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I love this car. It has loads of power for a 1.8 liter 4 cyl engine. Nice size. Can park anywhere easily. All my components work, ac heater Windows everything. Little rust at bottom my car has 701,456 miles. I also bought it new and I bought same size 14 inch rims for more winter traction. Overall it amazing uhhhh mazing. I hate my Camry

Report Abuse

94 corolla

ryito11223344, 01/12/2011
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

thank you 1994 toyota corolla for saving my life! i bought in 2009 with 165.000 on her. had untill today 1-11-11 and those were some of the best moments of my life! fun to drive, great maneuvering, awsome on gas $20 lasted 2weeks easy with the 10 gallon tank. very reliable, would of drove her cross country if i could. but today is the end of it all when somone didnt yeild at the end of the offramp, and cutting off a four lane st rt, which basicly means i t boned her in the side. i seen her coming and hit the brakes (with this ohio snow you dont stop so good) and its over. but after 17 yrs, the factory airbags did thier trick and saved our lives. thank you toyota for all the great times

Report Abuse

The best of the best!!

Thairin, 01/22/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

My corolla I love it so much! He has been so faithful to me.. I bought it in January 2008, it had 180.000 miles.. Now it has 230.000 and still runs great. The air conditioning! oh my god it is the best.. can't discuss.. My husband has a 2004 Mitsubishi Lancer, and the car has already been broke 2 times.. and guess who has been there to take us everywhere?? My corolla!! The best car ever built! Thanks toyota..!!

Report Abuse

Corolla - A winner!

Cluesdad, 07/20/2002
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

94 LE Wintergreen color..Silver Anniv Edition..Bought new..now with 170K mi..still runs like new..regularly maintenanced..minimal repair..smooth quiet ride..smooth shifting transmission..cold air..haven't thought about what I'll replace it with..I may not need to replace it..ha..Toyota did it right with this car..

Report Abuse

a true keeper

praiznhym4ever, 12/10/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my 94 corolla DX back in 07, my aunt was going to buy a brand new camery and the dealership was only going to give her $1,400 on trade for her corolla. me at the time was driving a 99 kia sportage wich when i bought it i really thought it was a very nice looking suv. but thats all that was good about my sportage. it was a money pit! so I bought this corroalla from my aunt wich she had bought this car brand new. it only had like 104,000 miles on it and like 14 yrs old at the time. and @187,000 and no plans of trade in no leaks uses no oil how ever i did change the oil from reg. 10-30 to 10-30 synthetic blend. great car not afraid to take it anywhere.

Report Abuse

Nice ride

NICE RIDE , 08/18/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've owned this car for 2 years now bought it with 120,000 miles, now has 150,000 and still running great routine tune-ups and the car just keeps going better than non imported brands

Report Abuse

excellent car

joe397, 07/16/2012
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

very reliable. has 63000 miles on it and i have driven almost all of it. done long drives of 250 miles a day on it and never given any problems.

Report Abuse

Great 1st Car

Mel, 02/08/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car was pretty much my present for my 18th birthday. I browsed around for a car and found this at a dealer. I drove it and was instantly attached to it. Yeah, it's not the fastest car on the road, but what I was looking for was there. Reliability. I live in the northeast, so there are things that are going to need changing (brake lines, exhaust system, stuff that rusts over time). Other than that, no mechanical problems to this very day. Very good car for a high school/college kid.

Report Abuse

This car is STILL an asset

upoys, 05/29/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Back in March '02 I wrote a review for my car, stating how it was an asset. Well, over 7 years later, and @ 203k mi, this car is STILL an asset. My last car payment was 1998. This has been the BEST car I've ever owned! I still get approx. 33 mpg (mostly highway). Rust is starting to form on the bottom of the doors and hood. A/C no longer works. Small inconveniences given that I haven't made a car payment in over 11 years! Thanks Toyota for making the most reliable vehicle ever!

Report Abuse

251,000 Miles and still going!

Bowdoctor, 01/03/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 4th Toyota in 1996 and still have it today! It has 251,000 miles and still looks good! Burns some oil about 1 quart per 700 miles. You can check the body out too, no rust! I live in Michigan and you know the winters here!

Report Abuse

Living up to the Toyota name

cpm199, 08/27/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

With just regular maintenance this car has been rock solid. It's certainly not a hot rod, but to it's credit with the 5 speed manual transmission it is quite peppy. My wife and I are looking at starting our family soon and when we do we will say goodbye to our trusty Corolla in lieu of a, yet to be determined, SUV.

Report Abuse

Good, Reliabile Car

Mike Callaghan, 03/18/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car from my parents in May of 2002. They offered it to me for a price i could not refuse. The car had 48,000 miles on it and it was a 5 speed. As long as i have owned it I have had to replace absolutly nothing. I realize the car has barely any features. It is also very slow. But it works and I get about 32 miles to the gallon. For a 16 year old it was a great car. It is kind of hard to get in trouble with it. Before the car was given to me my parents replaced the alternator and starter.

Report Abuse

Safe car

jess, 07/17/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car new and drove it for the past 13 years without any major problems. I replaced the tires and breaks but nothing else. Was planning to drive this car until it wouldn't run anymore but it was totalled in an accident. Luckily I wasn't seriously hurt because of the way the Toyotas are built. I was on the highway when the accident happened so it could have been much worse than it was. The body of the vehicle took a beating in the accident but nothing came through to the inside of the car. Very safe car!

Report Abuse

Very reliable car, I love it!!

pwijegun, 02/09/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought this car with 158000+ miles back in 2004. I have put on another 30,000 miles since. I drive a lot and this car has not let me down ever. I even went on a 50 hour (round trip) road trip in it last year. If my car drives this good when it has 188000 miles, I can only imagine how good it was brand new. I would always buy Toyotas with no fear (new or used). Great car!!

Report Abuse

If I had a time machine..

Brittney Sabo, 03/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If I had a time machine, I would have gone back to 1993 and bought another 94 Corolla! Up until a few weeks ago I had this car for several years, and traded it in to buy a new Matrix. I was so sad to part with it, because it has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. This thing made it to 210,000 miles with little more than me replacing the shocks and a few other minor things. Solid construction all around, and took a beating traveling across the country over and over again, even through the mountains, without failing once. Toyota really hit the mark on this one, and the reliability of the Corolla is what made me decide to buy another Toyota vehicle. Can you say low-maintenance?!

Report Abuse

Toyota have one

Jeff Seeley, 05/16/2017
DX 4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great get around town car and long hauls too. Comfortable ride, great on gas.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Loved my Toyolla

s, 09/08/2010
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought it with 40k, now at 160k with only standard repairs needed- alternator, radiator. Alternator kept needed to be replaced after the first one, but that is apparently not that unusual for rebuilt ones. One of the rear door handles didn't work from the outside, had it fixed once but happened again. Overall: super reliable, not super fast but still fun to drive (5 speed manual), great mileage.

Report Abuse

Slow acceleration

Rick, 07/20/2010
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

My 1994 Corolla is really a '94 Geo Prizm (same as). I have over 220,000 terrific miles. Currently, however, I have experienced slow acceleration under 50 MPH and it hates air conditioning at those speeds. Twice the car has stalled after sitting out over night in heavy rain. A whiff of carb. spray does the trick. I have a very highly skilled Toyota mechanic and he has looked at everything and cannot find anything wrong. The car runs like a demon on the Interstate at 70 MPH and does not use a drop of oil. After sixteen years it still starts without touching the gas pedal. Still a great car but this issue is a major annoyance.

Report Abuse

The mighty Corolla

evrynite, 12/15/2014
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Best car that I have ever owned.

Report Abuse

Most Reliable Car Ever Made

seandicks, 08/27/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Corolla BOCH in May 2008 because my Escort died on me. As far as I can see the Corolla was the best all around car ever made. I've put about 4000 miles on it and all I've had to do was put an O2 sensor on. I painted the drums and calipers, put a cold air intake on it, tinted the windows, nice system and alloy wheels. I've only owned 2 cars but this one blows the escort out of the water. It looks really modern for its time and has not failed me yet. There is 144000 miles on it now and I'm hoping to get upwards of 200,000. I know that it will surpass my expectations for it is known for its reliability. I'm getting a (1995) Maxima soon so we'll see how it compares.

Report Abuse

I'm loving my rolla

Todd, 12/02/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used with 139,000 miles on it. About 4 months later, I'm up to 145,000. This was just going to be a "drive to work" car to save gas. Now, it's a drive all the time car. It's so easy to maneuver around town, I can't stand to drive my Taurus anymore. Gas mileage is generally around 32/33 mixed use. Have not had any mechanical issues AT ALL. Standard low beam lights were a little too low for me but the bright lights were the brightest I'd seen on a car. Rear defrost is nice and this car heats up very quickly. Even with the fan off, it will roast you at full temperature. Car has plenty of power at full speed but pick-up leaves something to be desired.

Report Abuse

Wonderful dependable little car

churro28, 05/19/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Our Toyota Corolla has been the most reliable car we have ever owned. It has survived 2 accidents and still has always cost us very little in upkeep. It has reached 200,000 miles and is still going strong.

Report Abuse

Love this car more the older it gets!

Sully862, 07/21/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Toyota Corolla DX brand new and have loved it since 1994. It keeps getting older, gets more miles on it, and just keeps humming along. It rides smoother than new Camrys, is peppy in the first and second gears and needs nothing but scheduled maintenance. Over the years the car has come to fit me like a glove and I don't want to replace it. I have 175,000 on this one and expect to take it well over 200,000. Like another reviewer I haven't had a car payment in ten years. I love what Toyota does for me!

Report Abuse

Corolla is a gem

bernadette63, 11/12/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car as local commute vehicle in 1994. It has been an excellent vehicle. Never needed anything other than regular maintenance. Hope Toyota continues to maintain high standards for their vehicles.

Report Abuse

I'll Miss This Car...

Dave, 12/14/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this amazing car 15 yrs ago new in 1994. In 37 yrs of driving, it's been my best and favorite. MPG still 24-32 - used to get 25/35. Car was hit while parked & ins. co. totaled it. Was drivable, & I wanted to keep it, but repair was cost prohibitive. Now I'll donate it and looking at a used '06 Corolla CE - If I buy it & get the same great run out of it, WOW that would be great.

Report Abuse

best investment ever

Ryan Carroll, 02/09/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased my '94 corolla when my last car was totaled by a drunk driver. I purchased w/about 150k miles, and now have 190k, still running strong. I used Penzoil High Mileage up until 3 months ago, switched to valvoline Synthetic Blend...still awesome car. I still average 33-35 mpg, and thats better than my wife's '06 cobalt. Low maintenance, high reliability.

Report Abuse

Best car

cari, 03/27/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought the Toyota Corolla in Vancouver 1994 and when I moved to Ontario, it was transported across. It has been the best car ever with no problems. Serviced once a year and running like a new car. Highly recommendable.

Report Abuse

I love my 1994 Toyota - 270,000 and going

cathy, 08/04/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my 1994 Toyota used in 2004. It had been in an accident and was fixed by someone who buys junk cars at auctions. It had over 12,000 miles at the time, since then I have changed the oil every 3 to 4 thousand miles, had to replace tires and breaks. I had a deer hit it and did some damage, my insurance said they wanted to total the car and give me $900.00. I said 'no way' I dropped the insurance and had the car fixed, even though it was hit by a deer again 2 weeks later, the hood bent a bit, I am now going on 270,000 miles and still running strong. My Toyota, even though it is wounded is worth much more than $900.00 to me - it will run forever! I know it! I love it.

Report Abuse

Best car I've ever owned

Drew, 08/25/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought our '94 Corolla back in '95 from a Toyota dealership which used it as a rental-loan car. It only had 10,000 miles on it, now it's clocking nearly 200,000. At the time, half of the Corollas were built in Japan, half in California. Ours is a Japanese built example. The fit and finish of this car surpasses many more expensive models. It still looks great, runs perfect and gets great mileage. It still has the original engine and transmission. I change the oil every 3,000 to 6,000 miles. I also have the transmission serviced regularly. This little gem doesn't use a drop of oil either. One day we're going to have to get rid of it but the way this thing runs it might be another 100,000 miles!

Report Abuse

Toyota Transmission?

trump, 07/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle used with just under 100,000km on it. I must say that it has performed well for most of the last four and half years with only standard maintenance and new tires. It has been dependable until this spring when transmission problems at about 225,000km necessitated its replacement by "my" mechanic with the concurrence of the local Toyota dealer. This seems to be an anomoly for Toyota drivetrains but it does happen.

Report Abuse

Very satisfied customer

Andre Viner, 07/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am very satisfied with my Corolla, practically no reapairs in 8 years I will buy another one or a Camary, I will stay with Toyota

Report Abuse

own it forever

blairinmaine, 08/22/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great little car good handling (dx) great on gas no major problems yadda yadda yadda

Report Abuse

Security

DELPINE, 08/20/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WHEN i GET IN MY CAR, i FEEL CONFIDENT THAT IT WILL TAKE ME WHERE i WANT WITH LITTLE MAINTENANCE.

Report Abuse

corolla dx-1994

weis, 10/27/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The car has been a trooper. Not in the least bit luxurious or fun to drive, but it gets you there.

Report Abuse

Sara's Ride

pissenberg, 11/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mechanically, 0 problems , excellent gas mileage, definitely reliable. Maintenance inexpensive to repair. Multiple parts available.. A great kids first car.

Report Abuse

This car is an asset

upoys, 03/01/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Buying a brand new car is a liability. But when the car runs as well as the day you bought it years after the last car payment, and has many strong miles ahead, that car is now an asset. The gas mileage is decent, although not as good as I think this car should get. It is not the smoothest ride either. But to prove the quality of build and reliablity of this vehicle, the original tires were not replaced until they had a little over 80k mi. Plus, only standard maintainence has been done to it.

Report Abuse

this one is almost dead but my bad

jste, 02/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i sold this car to my mom in 95 and bought it from her after it was run over by a truck and rebuilt in 98 it only had 120000 miles on it when i traded it in for a 2000 camry le v6 i got 2000 trade, i am sure who ever gets it next will fix it and get another 120000 miles it run rough but i never took care just time belt and oil.

Report Abuse

hand me down

cjsimm, 11/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this car off my brother who was the 1st owner of this car it had 180000 miles when i bought it have put 8000 more on it have only had to have brakes done and new battery cause the last one died.

Report Abuse

Original Owner for 10 years

HyPERDRiVE, 12/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has only seen one major problem and that was the alternator, besides that just regular oil change and tune ups. Well, you cannot really compare it's performance to todays cars because it's a whole new ballgame. The car also feels so nimble and easy to handle. If you are getting your first car and you are skeptical about reliability issues, go for this car because only rarely you will see any. They don't built cars like they used to. Our 2002 Maxima has had more problems over 15k miles than the Corolla has had in 10 years. I am going to try to make the Corolla last 500k+ miles...wish me luck :)

Report Abuse

The Little Car That Won't Die

Allan, 07/23/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one RELIABLE vehicle! I use it to drive long distances over a three state area. It was purchased by my wife nine years ago and I took over driving it with 86000 miles on it when we bought a Camry that she wanted to drive. I now have 208000 miles on it and it shows no sign of letting up. I perform regular maintenance on it. Only problem we had with it was the alternator and one of front CV joints. (both were replaced) This little baby has great pickup from a stop and plenty of power at higher speeds. (ever drive I95 north of Richmond, you know what I mean) I understand that this particular car was built in Japan - those guys sure knew what they are doing didn't they?

Report Abuse

Great Economy Car

Mercara, 02/05/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a used car with 60K miles and used it for about 75K miles before giving it to my nephew. This is a great starter car or college student car. Extremely reliable and great gas milage. The car is quite peppy for a 1.8 Liter engine. I would totally recommend it for anyone looking for an economy car.

Report Abuse

Corolla rocks

MyCorolla, 02/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

National car dealers hate Corolla and consumers like it. Corolla can easily last more than 15 years. So far we have only fixed Alternator and front brake rotors. Everything else still running. In fact, my corolla still very quite. I do oil change (syntetic) and clean fuel system on schedule. I am confident this car will last 200K.

Report Abuse

Basic info

Ryan, 03/14/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is an efficient and reliable car. My model is a manual and gets about 30mpg. I have never had any maintenance issues. I am not a conservative driver and it easily takes all of the abuse I give it. This is a car that is built to last, it's been 130,000 miles so far and hasnt needed much more than tires and an oil change every 5000 miles or so. It starts fine even in cold weather and is just an overall smooth running vehicle.

Report Abuse

Good Small Car

Michael21, 04/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned my Corolla for about two years now. It has over 186,000 miles on it and it has been reliable. Saved me tons of money on gas because with about 10 dollars could put me on about 3/4 a tank. Overall a good reliable car but there are a few problems I have. First I am 6'3" and it is extremely difficult to get behind the wheel. Second the car can be a little sluggish when getting on the highway. Other than that the car has been great. I just hope my next one is as reliable as this one.

Report Abuse

my go-kart:

PsychUOut13, 05/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love my car. i got it junior year of high school. it's been great to me. i always did all the oil changes and tire rotations, i never had a problem. the alternator and start went around 160K, but that's to be expected. i traded up for an audi and i'm already worried that i shouldn't have. rolla's are great for younger people and those looking for great mileage in the city.

Report Abuse

Dependable Vehicle

mooneyt, 05/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car may not be sexy, but it is very dependable. I have never regretted this purchase. I have to do normal service on it and have parts replaced, but this is a great car. My mechanic has told me so even. People have told me that it will last forever. 125,000 miles and still going strong!

Report Abuse

Great Value

benbo, 05/17/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Outstanding car make and model year. Never had a problem, possibly over maintained it, but nothing ever broke in the 9 years we owned it!

Report Abuse

Hate it!!!

rrrr, 08/31/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Because it doesn't die after 10 years and almost 160k miles. Still drives like new and I like to buy another car! Bought many '2nd' cars for my wife so I could drive those. I am the only driver for this Corolla and it drives great - unfortunately! I keep looking at other cars that I want to buy but won't until this one dies. Never a problem - 1.8l, 5spd can race from a stop light with best of cars!

Report Abuse

187,000 miles and still going...

tiff, 09/06/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my toyota corolla, it is the most reliable car we have ever owned. The maintenance is almost non existant. I would highly recommend this car to any one.

Report Abuse

My Corolla

skhalsa, 10/26/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

One word describing it would be 'Loyal' It's pick up is great, turns are awesome, mileage is wonderful.

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050