Used 2007 Subaru Impreza Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price
$4,350

Used Impreza for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

90,000 mile update - Tranny Problem

Fandango, 04/10/2010
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

At about 75,000 miles, I began to notice a whine/rattle in the manual transmission and, when it kept getting louder, took it in to the dealer a few thousand miles later. It turned out to be a pitted output shaft bearing. The repair cost about $1200 but was fortunately covered by the extended warranty, which, with a road hazard tire replacement earlier, has now paid off about what I paid for it. So far, the transmission bearing has been the only mechanical problem. After 90,000 miles, I still love to drive this car. It's just fun. It still reminds me of a British sports car in its simplicity. Now consistently getting 28-30 mpg highway mileage.

Report Abuse

Great car for the money!

Martin, 09/20/2006
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I bought a TR in June and have 4000 miles so far. This car is great! I installed STP cat back, K&N Intake, HKS up pipe and intercooler. I purchased this car for $21,700 with rear spoiler and there was nothing even comparable to WRX on the market for this kind a money with this kind a performance. I love it, I really do. Handling is amazing. Best choice in its class.

Report Abuse

190,000 Mile Update

fandango, 10/04/2013
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

I've had this car since new -- almost 7 years now. Repairs included replacement of a bad transmission bearing (covered by extended warranty) and a leaking head gasket. Otherwise it has needed only routine things like a battery, brake pads and struts (at 150,000 miles). It burns some oil. For quite some time, I have had to add a quart between oil changes. Otherwise it still handles very well and looks good, inside and out, despite frequent trips on dirt roads, including some pretty rough and steep 4WD roads. I still really enjoy driving this car, especially when the roads are twisty, and am glad I bought it.

Report Abuse

Sturdy Build and a Fun to drive

Scubado, 02/01/2010
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

No issues whatsoever since purchase. Ride or Slide this car and it is always ready for more.The AWD does it job and it is especially evident after driving other FWD cars in its class. The real kick comes beyond 3500 rpm when the boxer starts to scream. The mechanical build more than makes up for the bare minimum interior. Getting an avg 22-24mpg 50%city 50% hwy.

Report Abuse

A great little car!

hepsuba, 05/01/2013
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is my 7th Subaru. My oldest was a 1978 and my newest was a 2009, from little 4WD wagons to Outbacks. This is my second Impreza (previous one was a '98). I have to say, of all the Subarus I've owned, this one may be my favorite. I love it's simplicity and its great handling, power, and design. It's what I call very "point and shoot" -the car goes where you want it to when you want it to. Visibility and responsiveness are wonderful. The cabin is simple yet has everything you need. And as others have commented, it's the last of the truly good looking Impreza's. The small size is great - park it wherever you want, squeeze into traffic, no problem. A great little car.

Report Abuse

Most Fun for the Money

Fandango, 01/27/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This car reminds me of an English sports car in the sense that it's a driver's car first. Performance and handling are near perfect, while creature comforts and amenities are less so. But that's OK. I'll trade overhead caddies, fancy cupholders, extra auxiliary power outlets, MP3 hookups, a premium sound system and even a little seat comfort for a thrill ride through canyon twisties any day, and that's what this little car delivers in spades, holding the road like a cat. It's about the most fun you can get in a new sport sedan for about $18,000. And yes, the 2.5 liter non-turbo engine produces plenty of smooth power and great torque for spirited driving in the old sports car tradition.

Report Abuse

Still Fun, After All These Miles

Fandango, 10/28/2007
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is a 20,000-mile update after driving the car daily for nine months. No mechanical problems to report. It's still the most fun for the money. I like the simple, traditional interior design and layout. A word to those on a budget. This car comes with highly rated, very expensive tires, and if you damage one, you may have to replace the whole set to avoid damaging the AWD.

Report Abuse

The car I always wanted!

Guario, 01/03/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have been saving for this same model for quite a while and finally got it. I got the TR with the Urban Gray color. It is a blast to drive, all the power I need. The interior is very well designed and works well. The only minor quibble is that the stock speakers are rather weak. I replaced the factory stereo and they sound better but if you like music you should definitely replace the factory speakers with better quality ones and perhaps add a sub for the lows. Overall this car has been everything I'd hoped it would be and more. The best purchase I have ever made and I only paid $22,300 with just 81 miles on it.

Report Abuse

THE GREATEST CAR EVAR!

djxphact0r, 01/02/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

In my honest opinion I think this car tops all cars right now on the market, it's sleek, it's fast, it's great looking too. Doesn't make you feel like an old fogey driving a family car. This car can be either one to race, or one for a family, I use mine for family, and my family loves it!

Report Abuse

165,000 mile update

fandango, 12/01/2012
7 of 10 people found this review helpful

At 150,000 a head gasket was leaking. This repair cost about $2,500, which included grinding the valves while the heads were off and replacing the water pump and timing belt. Unfortunately, this is a fairly common repair for Subarus. The car is still fun to drive. It has a great power/weight ratio. I still think of this as my "new car," and it looks and feels new despite some hard use. The car is rugged built to last.

Report Abuse

A Good Car

Frank, 01/02/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned the WRX for over six months now and I enjoy driving it but off the show room floor it does not perform as well as I had hoped. Fortunately there are solutions to some of the performance problems. Better tires made a big difference in handling and ride quality. 22 mpg is okay but 28 or better would help the wallet a bit. The quality of the interior materials is sufficent. I have not had any problems there.

Report Abuse

Great Performance, Not a Commuter Car

Amanda, 02/21/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Has a comfortable ride, with great power in acceleration (highway especially). It's got guts to it, made for speed, so lead foots beware. Braking takes getting used to, because of AWD. As noted by many magazines, gas mileage is poor (my average is 23 MPG). Interior is simplified nothing fancy. Of all the cars I test drove in this class, for me these race inspired seats are the most comfortable (I'm 5'9). The stock CD/sound system is good and easy to use, also arrangement of speakers are well done. Can't forget handling, the car turns corners amazingly. Steering is nimble.

Report Abuse

Awsome car

jdvozz72, 02/02/2012
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love the car!

Report Abuse

A better SAAB...?

Doug, 10/04/2009
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

3rd Impreza, 5th Subaru. A sports sedan with SUBSTANCE. Subaru AWD has pulled us through winter whiteouts (even with the performance Bridgestone RE-92 tires) when 4wd pickups and SUVs were all over the place. Solid construction--some of that vault-like feel of the Europeans, without the disappointments. Love the Alfa-esque styling; my "hog-nose" the last of the good-looking Imprezas before Subaru began taking their styling cues from the Koreans. More than adequate power & handling for my needs from base 2.5i. Instrument layout, gauge lighting superb. Quirky enough to start a cult-following, yet reliable to keep those of us on a budget coming back for more. A better SAAB? Just MAYBE...

Report Abuse

I love my Subie

Andy, 12/13/2006
6 of 10 people found this review helpful

I just sold my 99 Mustang GT and got an 07 Impreza. Great car. Plenty of pep considering it uses the same engine as the Impreza RS's used from 1999-2005 and it has pretty much the same 0-60 time as the Civic SI for less. The AWD is a blessing in adverse weather. This is my second Subaru and definitely won't be my last. I'll have to step up to a WRX next time though. I highly suggest adding the foglights and spoiler to the vehicle. They really complete the rally like look these cars are bred for.

Report Abuse

Hate my Impreza!!

Mehmet, 01/24/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this 2007 Subaru Impreza in summer. I did not have any problems back then. However, as the winter came, I started to have problems with my car. It was getting more difficult to get the engine started. The Subaru service is very kind in Turkey. They even traveled many miles to get my home and tried to fix my car two times in front of my home. (They also tried two times at their service department with the same result.) But the car is the same if it is not getting worse. This is my second winter with this car and the words are not enough to describe my experiences. I have to get up at 12:30 am and drive this car about 15 minutes so that it works in the winter mornings easier.

Report Abuse

70,000 mile update

Fandango, 08/28/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've put more than 70,000 miles on this car, and I still love getting into it and snicking through the gears, zipping through the twisties and feeling the power as I explore the upper range of the RPMs. I've had no mechanical problems whatsoever, and, believe it or not, I'm only now getting ready to replace the original set of Bridgestone tires. The car consistently gets 29-32 mpg. With its simple, almost primitive features and great handling, it reminds me of an old British sports car. It was made for people who love to drive.

Report Abuse

Fun little car but nothing exceptional

SugarBear, 02/26/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love to drive this car! It's so much fun! BUT, the back seats do not fold down which kills me and the interior is pretty standard. No really extra features. I think if I were to do it over, I would get the Legacy instead b/c of the sunroom, and the more comfortable and luxorious interior or go with the WRX version. I have never had any problems with the car and the Subaru dealerships have always been great at doing maintainence and answering any questions that I have. The gas mileage is all right... I get around 28 mpg depending.

Report Abuse

GTI, Mazdaspeed3 - no comparison

Car Aficionado, 02/06/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The WRX is a phenomenal car. Not only because of its price tag but also because of its performance, reliability, and its rally breed uniqueness. This is the car that forged the way for the likes of the other AWD performance cars - i.e., the Mazdaspeed6, Audi A3, R32 etc... however it's quite a bit cheaper. It still baffles me why the R32 is compared performance wise to the STI - its acceleration is not better than the stock WRX. The GTI is not in the same league. The Mazda3speed is a great car. If you're not interested in AWD it's a great choice. I do like the front 2004 & 2005 front fascia better than the 2006 & 2007. The stock 17" rims should have been offered from the very beginning.

Report Abuse

Fun little car

no name, 03/21/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Overall I have been very satisfied with this car. It handles great, the AWD grips the road very well, decent amount of power, and fun to drive. But of course this isn't a luxury car. The interior seems to be well assembled with no rattling and it looks cheap but it does have nice supportive seats and a sporty look. I get 22 miles per gallon in the city even though I push it a lot. Decent for an all wheel drive car.

Report Abuse

Very good car!

Rally Racer, 08/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very good car, More horsepower than any other $18k car. The AWD makes it awesome to drive. If you are more into luxuries rather than fun and performance, this is not your car.

Report Abuse

I love my little Suzie

esergent, 09/24/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I wanted a fun and reliable car to fit in a very broke college student's budget and got it in this car. Love the dealership and love the car even more. Wish I could have afforded the insurance for the WRX STi, but oh well. The 2.5i is tons of fun too. =)

Report Abuse

Love this car!

jomr, 08/23/2011
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After one too many expensive problems with my Volkswagen VR6 I decided to trade it in for a Subaru. My first car was an '87 Subaru wagon. She wasn't much too look at and completely gutless but she was reliable. I found a used 2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i sedan and took the car to my mechanic for a thorough check up. All it needed was an air filter and new battery. Although it doesn't have the V6 5-speed of my old VW it has more power than I expected from a 4 cylinder. I love the growl of the boxer engine and it handles great. This car has turned out to be just as fun to drive and far more reliable. I can't imagine owning another VW or ever not owning a Subaru again!

Report Abuse

36,000 Mile Update

Fandango, 05/27/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This car keeps growing on me. After driving it every day for the past year and a half, I like it as much or more than the day I bought it. It's just so much fun to drive. Every time I drive a rental or use my daughter's car and then come back to this one, I realize how much I enjoy driving it. I even find the seats comfortable now, though I didn't like them very much at first.

Report Abuse

Great Car... but buy a WRX

Weston, 12/10/2006
3 of 9 people found this review helpful

The 2.5i model of the Impreza really is just the little brother of the 200+ WHP WRX and the 300+ WHP STi. If you want a good starter car for a teenager... this is not it. The 2.5i still shows an impressive 175WHP and is easy to upgrade. While the car may be lacking in power, it still shows a lot of promise in the handling and all around performance areas. If you are looking for a car that is an easy comparison to the RSX or the Civic but safer, look no farther. This car is GREAT and I have a feeling it will be great for years to come.

Report Abuse

Can't wait for winter

LD VADER, 10/16/2006
8 of 32 people found this review helpful

Bought a 2007 Impreza 2007 2.5i this week. Love the AWD. I can't force the tires to loose traction. 174hp is a little doggy after driving a V8 for a year but the 28mpg is a nice change.

Report Abuse

Lovin The Suby!

Waldorf 2008, 07/05/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My husband purchased this car and it has now become his primary work car. I don't think that it is possible to hurt a Suby! It is so well built I have also been informed that I am not allowed to purchase anything but a Subaru for the rest of my life! If you are considering buying one do ti!

Report Abuse

19000 mile and 13 month update

45 year old kid, 08/23/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car has been very good. This is my 4th Subaru. Living in the North east makes AWD that much more important. It is good in the snow but not as good at the Legacy sedan or Outback. I think it is the performance tires. If I ride it hard, I get 25 MPG. If I act like an adult I can get 27.5 MPG. My commute is 25 miles (1/2 highway) one way. I have had no issues to speak of. I actually have gotten 70K + miles on each of my Subarus before I have any kind of repairs >$500 (excluding maintenance of course) The WRX is a great car. I like driving our Outback sometimes for a break, but it has been a year and I still smile when I leave work and see it in the parking lot!

Report Abuse

Great car

Donald Smith, 01/22/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've put almost 10,000 miles on my special edition Impreza and have loved every mile. Great in snow covered, wet and dry road conditions. I spent over a year deciding which car to buy and I'm glad I chose the Subaru.

Report Abuse

Crashed with no scratches!

Mo, 06/09/2010
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car was great maintenance and reliability wise, I live in a mountainous region with ice, snow, and potholes. Then we crashed it going 50 mph into a stopped vehicle with no scratches on our bodies. The car was totaled. Definitely buying another Subaru!

Report Abuse

Amazing value, amazing car!

fawiek, 04/28/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My first Subaru and what a car it is! This car's performance is exceptional. I find myself taking corners at above average speeds, just because I can. :) The AWD system speaks for itself. It's a must have as I face Canadian winters ahead of me. I love the styling of the car, which is emphasized with the optional spoiler. The acceleration with the 2.5i (non turbo) is fair. It would not kick back your head like the WRX but at the same time your insurance bill wouldn't be off the chains either. Overall, it's the best car I've ever owned and I will continue to buy Subarus as long as those fine folks continue to make them.

Report Abuse

New to Subaru

Steve, 05/18/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first new car. In the past I have owned Hondas, and up until a few weeks ago, I thought I would still own a Honda, but after driving the 07 WRX, I was hooked. The performance is THE best for the price, I love the interior and the seats, the steering is crisp, the transmission is smooth, the brakes are awesome, I'm getting better mileage than I thought with a turbo, 25-26 mpg, especially considering the way I have been driving it, and I can't get the grin off my face everytime I think about getting back in it. I am new to Subaru, and Honda set the bar high since that is all I have owned in the past 10 years. All I can say is, I am extremely pleased with my purchase.

Report Abuse

Best Handling on the Road

Alias, 06/16/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I work valet, so I've driven pretty much anything out there. For my money, the WRX TR was still a good deal at $23k. While the interior is pretty bare (the TR model is lacking since they figure you're going to modify), you've got 230 horses pushing symmetrical AWD, with a low turbo point of just under 3000 rpm. This car sticks to the road like no other, and fast turns are almost a must. If you've got the cash, the STI has a lot of great upgrades, but if you're on a budget the TR model is a great place to start, with the potential for you to have your way with it. This car will turn heads, and leave plenty of others in the dust.

Report Abuse

2.5 Special Edition Impreza

elosiga, 07/09/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My 2007 Subaru Impreza 2.5i Special Edition in Newport blue gets a lot of compliments. It came standard with a 6 CD/MP3, sunroof, iPod connectivity, power everything, and climate control. Very happy overall, but looking back in hindsight, should have bought the WRX Limited Edition.

Report Abuse

Over a decade and going strong

Ryan, 09/15/2019
2.5 i Special Edition 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for 12 years and have tried to trade it in twice. Both times the newer Subarus feel anemic to drive. My car is old and yes I've have to replace a lot of things over the years but all cheaper than a car payment. I've kept it because even though reliability is getting worse (more needs to be done every year) to keep it going through winter after winter, it's still more fun to drive than the newer models.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Intentionally making you pay for repairs

Aaron, 02/09/2020
2.5 i 4dr Sedan AWD (2.5L 4cyl 5M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Sold this car 140k miles on it Auto version. Head gasket blew on me and the most frustrating part is they built this intentionally to break on you. In the turbo model they put a much superior head gasket that also fits the non turbo model so wjy not use it in both models? If you do pay for head gasket make sure to get turbo version much better. On top of that oil leaks everywhere that i had to replace valve cover gasket which isnt bad to replace and it developed one by the right side wheel cant remember the exact location but it was 1200 to fix. And make sure your ready to pay top dollar for these parts as for whatever reason they are very expensive. And the transmission was gettimg ready to go out at 140k. Not to mention the subpar audio.The only upside I really see to this car is add.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050