Used 2007 Saturn ION Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price
$4,990

Used ION for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2nd Saturn

jenniferp3, 02/09/2013
21 of 21 people found this review helpful

This is the second Saturn that I have owned. I still own the first one. It is 10 years old with 250,000 miles and still going strong. I bought that car young and did not keep up with the maintenance, it has been side swiped, caught on fire and driven cross country twice. Yet, it still lives! I have never put more than a thousand dollars in to it for parts. So of course I bought another one. These are not the most comfortable cars, but for the price that's what you get. My second car has 85,000 miles and is 7 years old and I plan on keeping it for many more years. These are VERY reliable cars

Report Abuse

Owning my Saturn ION

Amy Jordan, 09/06/2006
27 of 28 people found this review helpful

I've had no problems owning this car. It has been a wonderful car since day one. I love the way it hugs corners, and the seats really support my body. I love the center dash because I don't really have to take my eyes off of the road to monitor my speed and other things, whereas you would to look between the steering wheel in a typical mounted dash. This economy sedan really puts the fun back into driving. The car is very responsive, but not too responsive like some cars. It seems to get pretty good gas mileage. This car performs very similar to a 6 cylinder car although it is a 4-cylinder. So I get good gas mileage in a car with plenty of power to get out of the way.

Report Abuse

Saturn

Justin Swift, 11/17/2006
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

This makes my 3rd Saturn and I love it. Smooth ride and low interior noise. Not a whole lot of shift shock from the auto transmission and it also has very good acceleration. The power steering is excellent, and it seems to really hug the corners. The suspension is very nice also, you don't even really notice going over RR tracks. Also very roomy for a smaller car. Excellent head room. The sunroof leaked early on, and Saturn gave me a loaner car and fixed it right away. So great service on their part. Also the low pressure approach of their sales team made the buying experience great.

Report Abuse

very reliable!!!

suntan78, 01/09/2014
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

2.4 has been a great car low maintenance other than the recalls with power steering and fuel pump the car has not had any problems. put gas in and go. owned it since new in 2007 regular maintenance. Only thing I don't have to worry about is my car it always starts and drive anywhere I need it be it a short trip or across Florida. I have the larger motor 2.4 average 24 city and 29 highway. No regrets buying this car most reliable car of my 20 cars I've owned.

Report Abuse

THE BEST

sunrise7, 03/28/2014
15 of 16 people found this review helpful

I owned a body shop and have been around many cars.. yes it could add some extra sleek looks but when i bought mine new 10 years ago and 160K later I was looking for something I can depend on.. and this was the car. Best car I have ever owned.

Report Abuse

Reliable 30 MPG

07saturn, 12/15/2013
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

2007 Saturn Ion company car with 163K miles. Drive 75 mph on the highway and get 30 mpg consistently. All electrical works with no problems, leather seats still look good (no rips or tears). Normal repairs with one exception. Exhaust pipe behind motor(flex pipe) is also attached to cat. converter. Over $700 for new pipe with converter at dealer. Front suspension bushings have been replaced twice. Motor runs great, uses no oil. Car is dependable and has not let me down.

Report Abuse

Re-skinned cobalt

potatomasher, 11/28/2012
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought my Saturn ion sedan for about $6000 with the manual, from private party. As an engineer, I value my Ion. Fun to drive, kinda sporty for compact sedan. Made in Tennessee Comfortable seats Decent fuel economy with the 2.2. I averaged about 27-30 mixed driving. Reliable engine. Easy to work on compared to imports. Two bolts to remove this and that. Nobody I know has a positive thing to say about the styling...however it has composite panels to last on salty Wisconsin roads. This ion won't look like Swiss cheese in 10 years, and believe me, I am tired of working on rusty vehicles. Think of it as a more durable Chevy Cobalt. Have had no problems at all with my Ion.

Report Abuse

Truckin Along

huntermcc, 02/06/2013
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have 120k miles on my ion 3 and it's still truckin along just fine. At around 100k I had the infamous power steering glitch, it would go out till you restarted your car but after a week it stopped. Havent had it happen in 20k miles. Just keep up with your maintenance and change the oil every 3-5k and itll last forever. I havent had one thing go wrong since I got it at 65k. I am 6'4" and its not the most comfortable to get in and out of if your a big person, but other than that there is nothing to complain about.

Report Abuse

A Headache

genine84, 01/26/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2007 Level 2 in Nov 2006 new... I did not have major problems with it until about two years ago when it began leaking gas... The fuel pump was recalled, but Saturn refused to fix it... Last year, I got a letter stating that the power steering could possibly go out on the car...Well, not long after I got that letter, it did. They still refused to fix it... Other than that, it gets great mileage and is somewhat dependable @ 190k miles...

Report Abuse

Big Mistake

Christina3110, 11/29/2009
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

LEMON! This car is nothing but problems. First a head gasket replacement at 24000 miles then the power steering went at 32000 miles and now the front wheel drive is all jacked up. overall a terrible running car with way too many problems for the mileage and year purchased and I only drive to and from work, no hard driving. Very cheap feel to it and not reliable at all. I would love to have my Civic back!!!

Report Abuse

Have to defend my ION!

TheTaxWizard, 10/28/2008
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have to defend this car. Have had mine for 14 months and with the exception of a tiny bit of wind noise (Saturn will fix it) the car is great. No, I am not in any way affiliated with Saturn or GM. In fact, this is the first American car I have owned new since 1979. Folks, it's a $20,000 car, not a $40,000 SUV. When I drive well, I get an avg city/hwy of 33mpg. I use only good gas-Union, Shell, Chevron, etc. I change the oil every 3,000 miles no matter what the OnStar report says. I keep the tires inflated properly and clean the air filter every 6 mo (dusty area) Frankly, I was very happily surprised as I have been very soured on American cars.

Report Abuse

A Solid Little Car

murphy49, 11/05/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought my ION 3 Quad Coupe new in April of 2007. It wasa solid car with good build quality despite the relatively low price. Over the next 4 years I put over 131,000 miles on the car with only two major problems: The throttle position sensor and the power steering motor failed. I also had to replace the original tires (Chinese Hancooks which were 3 years older than the ION) because the they had dry-rotted to a dangerous level. I would still be driving the ION today if it hadn't been totaled in a rollover accident which was not the fault of the ION. It kept me alive. I only reget GM decided to try to make Saturn into an outlet for German Opels and thus killed the Saturn product line.

Report Abuse

2007 Saturn ION 2 4 dr.

Eric, 09/12/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have owned this car for about three months now and have been very pleased with this car. I drive arond 100 miles a day and all interstate. I have been averaging between 30 and 33 mpg. The car drives and handles great and has surprising pep for a 4 cylinder. As of now, no problems and still enjoy driving the car.

Report Abuse

Miss the Saturn Dealer

roving123, 02/28/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought my Ion 2 new after owning an SL2. Love the way it looks and drives. Currently has 38,000 miles on, several real long trips. The only problems I have had are: 1.Right side mirror fell off.... (I thought someone may have torn it off, but see someone else who did a review lost theirs as well.)2.After driving on a very long trip out west going over some terrible road construction (read big chunky rocks and holes- no road)had to have the strut and mount replaced and exhaust system fixed. All was covered under warranty (it was just under 36000 miles at the time). Haven't experienced any problems with steering, noise, bad mpg as some report. Always starts, even in coldest weather.

Report Abuse

Great Car

Shawn, 02/16/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I wanted an American car. I know this doesn't exist in the truest sense any more, but I wanted to find something made by US workers for an American maker. I've had great luck with foreign cars in the past, and so – so luck with American cars, but I wanted to support US workers as much as possible this time. I thought “This is their last chance”. So far the car has been great. Just what I wanted. Nothing fancy, just a commuter. 8K miles in a NE winter on mixed freeway\city roads. 31 mpg average and I make no attempt to drive efficiently. If these first 8k miles are any indication, I'll be back.

Report Abuse

Great Car

LuvinmySaturn, 12/02/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This is a great car! It is the first Saturn that I've ever owned and I love it! The mileage is great. I like the center dashboard and the responsiveness of the car. Currently, my car has a leaking problem, but the dealership gave me a loaner and I have confidence in them to fix it. Other than that, the car has been superb. I like the fact that if I need to accelerate quickly that it doesn't shift in to a "passing gear", but that it just accelerates!

Report Abuse

Best car for the money, hands down.

Getch, 12/20/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Built in America, built by Americas, and reliable. The Honda Civic doesn't even compare in my mind in terms of price and quality.

Report Abuse

Ion

g g, 05/17/2017
2 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 5M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Great little auto

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Not Impressed

tazette, 08/01/2008
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I typically buy foreign cars. In selecting Saturn, I reviewed the fuel efficient and its environmental impact. I wanted to buy an American car again, but I have had problems in the past. Anyway, I bought the ION brand new in 2007. I have been put in a rental car for a total of two weeks over the past year due to problems with my vehicle: I was driving on the highway and my vehicle started decelerating while I had my foot on the gas. It took them three go arounds to fix that. Right now, my passenger window will not roll up. My seatbelt light indicating that something is wrong with it goes on intermittently. Cheap interior. The mileage is good though all around - not impressed!

Report Abuse

Suspension, Manual Transmission

OML, 11/24/2009
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought3 cars, 2 stripped down version and one with Auto Tran. The front suspension started to clunk/rattle while driving over not-so-rough road conditions,all three vehicles affected when they hit the 33K mark approx. The traded 1995 SL2 front end noise started when it reached 165k miles. There is a grinding noise when shifting to 4th or fifth gear. Downshifting becomes impossible sometimes ( will take 2 or 3 attempts until it finally engages). The passenger side air bag light will turn ON (intermittent) when there is no passenger.

Report Abuse

Excellant first car!

shannabanana1, 05/21/2012
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

My dad bought this car for me in 2007. It was brand new when I bought it, and I've driven it rough, to say the least, for the past 5 years. I have never had any serious problems with this car, and have rarely had to do any repairs except for general maintenance. The only real headache I've had with it is that it has ignition problems. The key is sometimes hard to turn and one time the key actually got stuck in the ignition. I had to drive it to a repair shop and let it run out of gas because I could not get the key out. But all in all it cost about $100 to fix and I haven't had problems since. Its built like crap but that's why it made such a good first car.

Report Abuse

Economically Purchased - Surprisingly Content

maisegem, 01/18/2011
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Look, Purchased vehicle in 2007 July. I wanted a vehicle that was economically and efficient for my needs. I have 105,000 miles on the vehicle since purchased. There are a few items that are cruddy, like the a/c blower's tick, the back passenger window not opening in the summer heat, the weird knock in the back.. due to the battery being in the back.. (I know when I get the oil change and they don't pop the trunk and "claim" they checked the battery... I normally get a nifty discount for their lying ways..) the interior being tiny and cheap. But, I bought a cheap car. I drive the crap out of the vehicle. It can get up to 35 mpg on solely highway driving.. I know this because I drive a lot!

Report Abuse

A very satisfied owner of an ION 3

John Huddleston, 11/01/2006
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

I purchached an ION 3 /enhanced performance package and this car has everything I need. The center mounted console takes some getting used to, but it really looks cool once you get used to it. A+

Report Abuse

Stupid American Car...

papaclutch, 05/30/2015
2 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
8 of 15 people found this review helpful

Used to Hondas and Toyotas. Bought used Ion for my teenage daughter - what a mistake. Clean CarFax, 91,000 seemed to drive fine. Assumed it would be good for her limited driving needs for a few years. Wrong - at just 91K needs ball joints, shocks/struts, and the transmission seems to occasionally slip. Repairs first year are going to be as much as I paid for the car - $3000! In the end I should have just spent $6000 on a good Honda or Toyota. American cars are just bad - especially GM. No American cars for me EVER AGAIN.

Report Abuse

Terrible car

spiderrig, 07/19/2012
4 of 8 people found this review helpful

Nothing but bad things with this car. I have 39,000 miles and already have had to replace the power steering, the fuel pump, the sensor on the accelerator (TWICE!), the wiring in the driver door, the back glass (defroster wasn't working). Some wiring in the console was found corroded due to poor connection. The gas mileage has been OK at around 28-29 MPG, but I expected better for such a little car. Also, the rubber seals around the windows are buckled and look terrible. I also had to replace the tires at 27,000 miles for dry rot. The worst car I have ever owned and I'm 40 and have had a more than a few old beat up cars. They all ran better than this one did. I like GM, but hate Saturn.

Report Abuse

Great car

Jennifer, 08/11/2008
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have always drive a GMC Z-71 but living in Atlanta GA and driving 25,000 miles a year had to retire my truck to the driveway and get a car that fits my driving budget. This car has been great! I still love my truck but do not want to spend $1000 a month. The ION is fun to drive and gets about 30mi per gallon, my truck gets 12. If I had to switch this is the car for me. 16,000 miles and no problems with this car.

Report Abuse

Worst Car I have ever owned...

Rich Anderson, 01/02/2017
2 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I bought this car only 7 years old with 95,000 for my daughter. The shocks and struts had to be replaced, and even after that it made horrible creaking sounds from underneath. It had 6 or 7 factory recalls. One was that the key could be removed from the ignition even when the car was running! Crazy - but when I took to the dealer they refused to replace the ignition switch because they said it had been done 1 year prior. If so they put another bad one in! Next the gas tank leaked - and had to be replaced - $300. Never had that happen to a car before! Replaced a couple sensors and check engine light came on again a couple months later. I have owned 15-20 cars in my life and this was by far the worst - even worse than an old MG Midget I had. I will never buy any GM product again - I should have known better. I only have 1 good thing to say about this car: The battery is in the trunk, so when - predictably - I had to replace that it was super clean. Yay!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't Buy GM!

Outraged, 07/26/2010
5 of 12 people found this review helpful

Purchased brand new. This car is beyond fixable. To start, had problems with the knocking noise coming from rear, never repaired, radio went out under warranty, wheel bearings went out, power steering goes out intermittently even after having repaired just 6 mos ago. Car now will not shut off! GM wants to act as if they aren't associated with the vehicle but its one of their products. Needless to say, I'll never buy an American made car again!

Report Abuse

Why did I buy a Saturn?

C_Houten, 10/07/2008
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car brand new in Toronto, and drove it from Toronto to California, up the coast to Oregon, and all the way to Phoenix. I have put 39,000km on it in just over a year. In the first 6 months of owning it I had to have the entire electrical system replaced. 2 months later I had to have to accelerator and brake system replaced. The starter had problems after one year, and once it wouldn’t start at all for quite a few hours. AAA will not unlock this car if your keys are locked inside. They told me that this models electrical system is too delicate. The fuel economy is below average and far below the EPA estimate. Overall I am sure you can tell that I am very disappointed in this car.

Report Abuse

Stay Away!

sandmanz66, 07/05/2009
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought this car because, at the time I thought my 2003 had been ruined by a quick oil change company. The engine died at 150k. The dealership offered me 1k for the dead car to buy a 2007. I did and regretted it from day one. The engine on the 07 died at 52k miles. I had 2 steering replacements the first costing over 800 dollars. The trunk bar broke almost after a month. The car sounds like its ready to break in half when you hit an average sized bump. The transmission was really quirky when accelerating. The interior stained way to easily and was cheap. There was a constant chirping sound from the front wheel area that would get fixed and happen again not long after. I'm out of space now.

Report Abuse

Nothing but problems!

Simpleplex, 03/07/2010
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

After buying it new, there was a brake problem, warped disk. They fixed it. Then, at about 35,000 mi. the radio stopped working properly. The engine light came on. Saturn said engine light was caused by bad injector, replaced and problem still there. Some dummy lights would stay on and go off. Had to replace bearings. A lot of ride and engine noise, and front wheel noise, and brake vibration because disk is warped again. Seems to be some transmission problem with hard shift into first gear. So basically, a terrible car with too many problems at such low miles.

Report Abuse

Bob's Best

Bob's Best, 06/09/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

There is no doubt but that this is the best car I have ever had in terms of quality. I have 19,000 miles on it and have not had a significant repair. All work done on the car has been routine maintenance. My son-in-law has the same car but without the fancy features and his experience is similar to mine.

Report Abuse

Pleased

Pleased, 06/25/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my Saturn used (22000 miles). I've only had it for 4 months, but I am extrememly pleased. Gas mileage is great 26/27 in town, 31/33 highway. I find that the car has plenty of power and I like the ease of parking. The only drawback is the comfort level. I'm not a small guy, 5'11" 250+. I find that there's not a lot of leg room for the driver. Of course I was driving an F150 before.

Report Abuse

An afforfable car for a single lady

sugababy, 08/10/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased a Saturn because I could not afford a Toyota Corolla. However, my driving experience has been great. I drove this car from Alabama to Texas and back. It did not give me any problems. After I purchased my Saturn, one of my friends decided to purchase one. If you are in the market for an affordable and reliable car, I would strongly advise you to consider purchasing this vehicle. The monthly payments are extremely affordable too. If you are looking for luxury, honey you are looking in the wrong place. Remember that the car's main objective is to get you from point A to Point B. That's it!

Report Abuse

2007 Saturn ION

mannagift, 12/25/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We absolutely love this car. No, it doesn't drive or ride as well as our Cadilac, but itt sure gets a lot better mileage. 44MPG on the road. and 35 around town. Good comfortable car for the money. And we can tow it behind the motorhome. My wife drives it to and from her work for pennies a day. We love It!

Report Abuse

Excellent car , for the price.

Brian, 01/04/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I find this Ion to be an excellent car. Keep in mind it is not a luxury car. Basically a no-nonsense, reliable vehicle. I had owned 2 Saturns previous to this one & have found all 3 to be reliable, transportation, & based on cost per mile I couldn't be more satisfied. Unfortunately the polymer exterior panels were dis-continued in 2007. That was one of the main reasons I chose to buy Saturn. They are tough , don't rust or corrode & the paint finish is as attractive after 5 years as it was when new. Not to say these cars are flawless. I have encountered a few minor problems. None that ever put the car out of service & all were repaired under warranty to my satisfaction.

Report Abuse

Good Value for the Money

Mick, 03/07/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After somebody cut out in front of me and my 10 year old used car got smashed up, I applied some of the insurance money towards a new 2007 Saturn ION. The Saturn dealer let me have it for under $12,000 and I've been happy ever since. It came with cold AC, a decent radio with CD player, 1 year of FREE OnStar service, and dark tinted windows. It drives well, has pep, and it cruises at 80 so well that it feels like you're going 60. I've put almost 19,000 miles on it in 17 months and it's been a very good car.

Report Abuse

A great starter car

MJF, 03/20/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought the stripped down version of this car (manuel transmission and windows) for 12500 brand new and so far its been worth every penny. 30000 miles later it still runs great and gives me no problems. At 20000 the change oil light went on and stayed on thru 2 oil changes but it evenually went off. The interior is a tall persons dream as the front seats go back extremly far, making it very comfortable (im 6'5) The milage is constantly around 30mpg. The only downside is the lack of acceleration in the car. Even is a standard you cant beat a SUV of the line. If you want a simple no frills car that is reliable, go with this car.

Report Abuse

Nice Basic Vehicle

Doug, 03/21/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I orignally purchased this car for one of my kids, but needs changed and I've ended up driving it. It's a nice basic vehicle. It has adequate power and handles nicely, although the traction control doesn't deal with deep snow as well as it should. Gas mileage is pretty good, about 23-25 mpg in the city and up to 35 mpg on the highway. It provides reliable, economical transportation. Certainly deserves a better rating than the Edmunds Editors gave it.

Report Abuse

An Underaetd Car

New Jersey Driver, 01/05/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 97 Sl 1 automatic for my ION. I have been very satisfied to date .I have had no problems at all. I find my ION to be comfortable, quiet & fun to drive . The fuel economy is good. I like the electronic steering. My ION is easier to handle than my SL 1 was . I was surprised by this car and it exceeds my expectations. The build quality is good and the interior is well put together .The Storm Grey color is beautiful. My ION holds the road well. Saturn refined the ION since its introduction and my 2007 shows the results.I do wish that the power window buttons would be easier to find at night. Overall my ION has a degree of refinement that I did not expect to find.

Report Abuse

2007 ION Mold issue

E Frickert, 09/18/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've had a continuing problem with a mold smell (and actual mold growing) from the engine compartment into the interior cab. I've had it in for service twice and the third time today. They are trying to push "environmental" issues as the cause but I cannot believe every ION in Florida has mold issues under the hood. I am curious if any other users had this same problem

Report Abuse

SatisfiedVeryI bought a preowned

Maclary, 09/23/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very happy with car but disappointed with a squeaky brake pedal. Dealer says it is a faulty booster and cannot do anything about it. Been greased two times and still squeaks.

Report Abuse

2007 Saturn ION 2 Sedan

Orbit9090, 11/21/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our Saturn ION 2 sedan automatic 2.2L is very quiet and smooth riding. It is noticeably quieter and smoother than our 2007 Toyota Corolla LE automatic, especially when accelerating from a stop. The ION's handling is excellent. Headroom and legroom is impressive for this class of vehicle. Average fuel mileage (27 mpg) is not as good as our Corolla (30 mpg), but the ION feels much more spacious and comfortable inside. The ION's standard steering- wheel mounted cruise-control performs perfectly.

Report Abuse

Economy

ed, 05/29/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I researched compadible vechicles, and either the price for what I needed and the fit for size and comfort was not met by these other options. This vehicles runs great, handles nicely and even though it is not a stick, the 2.2l engine still gave me 34.6 miles per gallon for highway driving on its first road trip. This is impressive considering it is larger than the Saturn SL2 that I could squeeze as much as 40 miles to the gallon under certain conditions, but was to small for taller passangers. I will keep an eye on it to see what overall performance will be in the future, having owned a Saturn in the past, I believe it will be impressive.

Report Abuse

Love my Saturn ION

patriziam, 06/12/2019
2 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This has been the best car I have owned. As a female you want a car that is reliable and doesn't constantly give you trouble. I bought my Saturn right off the truck 12 years ago, 200,000 miles later it still runs great.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice little car

Ben Francis, 11/22/2019
2 4dr Sedan (2.2L 4cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I ended up buying this car. The mileage was a nice selling point for me and the mpg is great. The dealership put new tires on it which is a plus. Overall pretty happy with my purchase.

Report Abuse

Horrible, save yourself the hassle!

CourtneyT, 09/12/2008
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car in Dec 2007 for a birthday gift to myself. Ii am 19 and had never owned a new car. Well let's just say if I could go back and get a different car I would! At 3000 miles my car was in the shop 2 times for clunking while doing u turns, which they replaced the tire well and it still continues today, and also a chirping in the tires. They tell me there is nothing wrong with it, also still going on today. I have 8000 miles on my car & I have been to the shop 9 times for the reasons above and now clunking in the back of the car as well as brake clunking. My rotors have been replaced for being warped after 2000 miles. and the tire well, also things have been falling off the car!

Report Abuse

Would not reccomend

inpeaces, 04/28/2009
2 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car has been nothing but trouble for me, in the 1yr of owning it I have had to replace the headlights (apparently they had cracked and there was about a cup of water in each), the electrical system is very touchy (not fun having your seemingly brand new car stall at a light) and to put the icing on the cake my right side mirror fell off, no I did not hit anything, it simply fell off while driving.. Also it gets no where near the estimated gas millage, I might as well be fueling a truck for as much gas as this car eats up. It will take a lot for me to buy from Saturn again.

Report Abuse

Great Small Car

Cardog, 06/03/2008
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My college daughter had driven this car in Grand Rapids for the past year with wonderful fuel economy and through a lot of hard winter days. This was a great buy and it is too bad GM stopped making this fuel efficient and affordable small vehicle. She loves the center display as she is short and can see the road better with nothing block her forward vision. With a manual transmission the highway economy is 35mpg. She claims this is a very quiet car and I would agree as I have a couple of Saturn Vues, 2006 and 2007 and it is by far more quiet then these more expensive Saturns on the highway. With full airbags I feel confident she is in a safe vehicle even thought it is a compact.

Report Abuse

Couldn't be happier

Couldn't be happier, 12/30/2007
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Our daughter purchased the first model year (2003) ION, and is generally pleased with it. The ION has been refined and improved each year, then when they "perfected" it, they stopped making it. We purchased this car used (31,500 miles), but it looks, handles, and performs as if we just drove it out of the new car showroom. A good, solid feel to it, and fun to drive. A mistake with the original ION was the factory-installed Firestone tires (terrible), but they switched to Goodyear Assurance Comfortreds a few years ago, and they are great, safe tires!

Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050