Used 1996 Plymouth Breeze Sedan Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19 reviews
List Price Estimate
$786 - $2,021

Used Breeze for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Rudy, 03/05/2006
4dr Sedan
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

It has a 2.0 liter 4 cylinder engine with 4 valves per cylinder. It has a 5 speed manual transmission which shifts very easily. I keep an accurate record of every gallon of gas put in, mileage driven, cost of gas, oil changes, tire rotations and any repairs on a spreadsheet. MPG for the last 7 years (1999 to 2005) averages out to 34.983. I am just under 148,000 miles and am thinking of keeping it to 200,000. It has no visible rust anywhere. Having initially paid $14,200 for it, I am very pleased with this car and regret that Plymouths are not made any more. I definitely would buy another car like this one.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Tazmrazmaberry, 02/28/2002
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought my 96 Breeze used with 51,000 miles. It's been almost a year without any problems. When I first drove it, I hated it. Being used to an older vechile, this one seemed to have blind spots to the left and right of my vision. After adjusting to that, it was a sweet ride. I have to admit, putting bigger tires in the rear made the handle a little off. With the same size tires, the car will handle the corners and hold it's own. 21/F/VA

Report Abuse
4.63 out of 5 stars

Pleasant Surprise

TomG, 01/28/2006
4dr Sedan
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In spite of reading some bad reviews, I bought this car for my daughter because it was in great shape and only $2100. I thought that was great for a car with an auto transmission, new tires, A/C, power door locks, CD, etc. -- even with 93,000 miles. Since then, she has driven it over 20,000 miles and the only problem was it needed a new EGR Valve (about $140 with installation at NAPA). There isn't a spot of rust anywhere and the entire engine compartment looks almost new. It has been great for her going to from college since it extremely roomy and has a huge trunk, something unusual in such an economical car. Acceleration seems sluggish, unless you stomp on the gas so it kicks into lower gear.

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Excellent Car!!!!!!!!!!!

LR Diesel, 03/02/2009
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car for my 16th Birthday from my dad and had 52000miles at the time now i have 94000+ and it is a great car. have had minor repairs of course like timing belt at 72000 and a couple sensors but snow this thing is great couldn't be better good on gas and through all the abuse like off roading in fields and woods this damn thing won't die. it needs control arms and ball joints but its been beat on. this car is VERY tough and like i said through all the abuse it just won't die. its also a very fast car it has no problem reaching 115mph quickly. for a 2.0 4cyl this thing has plenty of pickup. if u are looking for a very reliable good on gas very comfyridethisis the car u want. AWESOME!!

Report Abuse

4.88 out of 5 stars

Very Tough Car!!!

L.R., 04/29/2009
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I got this car for my 16th Bday and i am impressed i am 18 now and still have that car. Being young i have put that car through alot of abuse and it just won't don't. I am very impressed with this car and if i wasn't getting a 1992 Pontiac Bonneville then i would deffinately keep this car. I recommend to anyone looking for a reliable car with excellent fuel mileage and excellent comfort then this car is for you. The only real major repairs i had to do was control arms and ball joints but that's because i beat the crap out of it. i was in automotive shop for 4 years and grew up around cars, so i know what im doing and i know what im saying when this car is a great car. i would buy another!!!!

Report Abuse
4.25 out of 5 stars

Warm96Breeze

moparpro, 07/11/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car since new. All I have ever out into this car is oil and gas and routine monthly maintenance. You can't find a better car than this. Even with the underrated 41TE trans. My car still shifts solid to this day. (144,000) trouble free miles.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

My Plymouth Breeze

Hunnibeet, 07/15/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Because of the sleek style and hot red color, people are always thinking I have a new car! I just keep it clean and shiny and it looks good! It does have a couple interior quirks that are annoying but all in all the car handles good and good gas milage.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

Love my Breeze

thissmicki, 08/03/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I ordered my Breeze from the factory to get the color (light iris) I wanted with the manual tranny that is so fun to drive. Only car I have ever factory ordered and it was well worth the 6 wk wait. I have been driving it for 6+yrs and it's a reliable and fun car to drive. The interior room is amazing for its size. I ordered minimal options because I'd had probs with electric windows/locks in my previous car. The manual transmission wasn't available with cruise control and I have missed that option on several long road trips.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

love the look, hate the quality

mmmskay, 08/10/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my car, the styling and comfort. But I have had to change the head gasket 3 times since owning the car. Not a quick or inexpensive repair. Twice the car was still under warranty. Come on, Chrysler needs to fix this problem. Also have had to change the transmission.

Report Abuse
4.38 out of 5 stars

my breeze

kevins breeze, 08/27/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I really like the car and runs good. Ipaid $5,200 for mine its a 96 and it had 29,000 miles when I bought it. People have trouble with the head gasket but I have not had any problems with it yet.

Report Abuse
4.13 out of 5 stars

Great for the money

Jack Neuman, 07/31/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a program car with 2000 miles. It has only been in the shop only once in 6 years. Starts even on the coldest days. I'm 6 feet tall and fit in fine. Rather satisfied for the money that I spent.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

costly repairs

v. bizzak, 09/03/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lots of front end problems, tie rods, wheel bearings, ball jonts also head gasket, valve cover gasket,cam seal gasket. Love the car but cost me money every time I turn around. Also is rusting out

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Good family car

poppart, 12/01/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought ours almost 4 years ago, it had high miles but was well- maintained. We have had our share of problems, replaced a head gasket, two seals on the motor, ti-rod, and there is a problem with the back brakes, they get stuck on sometimes and wear out the brake shoes. It has no rust and has survived two minor accidents where I skidded and hit a snow bank. It is great in the snow and I don't think I could ask for a better car considering we have put 60,000 miles on it in the past three years and I still plan to keep it for another year.

Report Abuse
3.63 out of 5 stars

Not that Bad

J, 12/24/2005
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Plymouth Breeze in college and have put over 70,000 miles on it in three years. I drove the heck out of the thing and it's still standing. I never really had any major problems, until recently, when everything just fell apart. The rear brakes are a constant problem, as is the front end (two tie rod replacements in two years). Engine oil disappears, I put in about two quarts a month. The resale value is so bad, you're better off donating it for the tax write off. Other than that, it's been a pretty solid car.

Report Abuse
2.63 out of 5 stars

MECHANIC SAYS SELL IT

kristyann, 04/20/2004
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After bringing my lovely Breeze into my mechanic for the twelfth time, he told me that I should sell it because otherwise I would end up giving him every paycheck. I gave my little brother my 1990 Chevy Cavalier (14 year old car). I only had to do routine maitenence on it. The Breeze is another story... It is burning oil, has had two broken ti-rods, trans fluid leaking, connections to engine are fried, radio connections shorted and still waiting for something else.

Report Abuse
4.5 out of 5 stars

Happy to Have It

Rudy, 02/24/2005
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love the 5 speed manual with the 4 valves per cylinder engine. I average about 35 mpg overall. The only problem I had was the head gasket. This car saved me a lot of money and is fun to drive. Too bad they don't make Plymouths any more.

Report Abuse
2.13 out of 5 stars

worst investment i have ever made.

Adrienne, 04/17/2003
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i used to drive 1994 chevrolet cavalier and i loved it, but i wanted to upgrade so i thought "this car seems nice". was i ever wrong. yes its good on gas, and its not bad inside. BUT. a door handle snapped off. my trunk release doesnt open, and the lock does not work anymore. i have to get in the trunk from the back seat.the back door that doesnt have the broken handle sometimes doesnt shut, driver side handle sticks in the open position, i've had leaking power steering fluid. and i am a young driver, however i drive responsibly and do not beat on my vehicles. This car is a terrible investment and i hope you don't make the same one.

Report Abuse
3.13 out of 5 stars

Beware of ABS

Jack2002, 03/07/2002
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Fine car, except the model I have has ABS, which has caused the brake pedal to lock creating a brake failure and potential for a serious accident. No shop has been able to diagnose the problem, so unfortunately I must get rid of it. It was a very good car, but did have its problems as well. Can't find a more ergonomic or roomy car for the money though. Just pass on ABS and you should be fine.

Report Abuse
4.88 out of 5 stars

Great Car

Display Name, 03/24/2008
4dr Sedan
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My dad bought it about 10 years ago used with 10000 miles it just hit 118000 and it still runs very solid. As long as you keep up regular maitnence the car will last. Has had a few things break but that is expected with any car. It is a good looking car for being a sedan and the interiotr is excelent. I'm a tall person 6'8" and i fit fairly comfortably in it. It is excelent on gas, at 110000 i figured out the MPG of the car and it will run at about 30 MPG. Very good car for winter,rain, sleet,any weather. It is a blast to drive even though it is a striaght 4 it has a little bit of pickup and it can take a lot of abuse. If you're looking for a cheap, fun, and comfortable car, gat a Breeze.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050