Skip to main content

Used 2015 Nissan NV Cargo Consumer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
6 reviews
1

See Edmunds pricing data

Has Your Car's Value Changed?

Used car values are constantly changing. Edmunds lets you track your vehicle's value over time so you can decide when to sell or trade in.

Price history graph example
We have a limited number of reviews for the 2015 NV Cargo, so we've included reviews for other years of the NV Cargo since its last redesign.

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
4 out of 5 stars

Great work van

Mike Cardillo, 12/06/2015
2015 Nissan NV Cargo 2500 SL 3dr Van w/High Roof (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
44 of 44 people found this review helpful

I own one with a V6 and one with a V8, both have enough power to do the job. The V8 is over kill unless you plan on carrying heavy loads. Milage is low around 13 highway. The V6 gets 18 highway and has plenty of get up and go... So far my 2012 has 40,000 miles and not a single repair. The van is tall so the wind will push it around some in windy conditions. A very good van to own.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Technology
3 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Comfort
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I wished I purchased one sooner!

Reacherman16, 12/08/2016
updated 06/15/2017
2015 Nissan NV Cargo 2500 S 3dr Van w/High Roof (4.0L 6cyl 5A)
23 of 23 people found this review helpful

I love the head room of my van. I don't have to bend over or crawl to get in my van to reach my tools or parts (6"2). I have owned my 2012 NV 2500 S high-top (It does not have Navigation and Backup camera but it has the rest of the bling) since 2012. I brought it used with 35,636 miles on it. I could not purchase an extended warranty because it would be used commercially. That turn out in my favor and I saved $1522.00. Outside of normal repairs I replaced 4 interior bulbs and an a/c blower motor. The van has paid for itself and has made me a proud owner. I have gotten 50K plus on my tires and I am only now showing a need for an alignment. The gas mileage is poor due in part that I have shelves, tools and parts that I carry on the van and that it is a v6. The v8 in my application would perform better and perhaps improve my gas mileage some. It is hard to complain of any thing other than slight interior creature discomfort. Must tell story...while on a service call to the lake after a violent storm. I was traveling 60 plus on a 2 way highway and a tree had fallen across the road to make the road look like a dead end. My van never lost control or traction, my van never swerved violently, it never rocked from side to side, I felt no play or shake in my steering wheel and my brakes never locked. I swerved at the last minute to avoid the tree and found a road which (te-ed) into the highway which got me around the tree. I had full control over the van all the times. I have no complaint about the handling of my 2500 Hi-top van. If I were not winning down my career...I would buy a v8

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Most reliable cargo van on the market

David, 01/30/2020
2014 Nissan NV Cargo 2500 S 3dr Van w/High Roof (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Between the Ram, Transit and Sprinter. The NV is the most reliable van you can buy. You'll be surprised on how long you'll ever need service. These vans were way over built using the Titan XD platform. Problems with the other vans can be hard to service, small brakes, overheating, constant breakdowns, unibody and transmission issues. The NV is an amazing van, just wish the rear cargo was a little longer. Thats what makes the van such a problem. The comparable 144 and 148 vans have 10" more. Which is a lot, especially with camper vans.

Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

High, hot hauler

Pickles, 06/21/2018
updated 06/22/2020
2014 Nissan NV Cargo 2500 SV 3dr Van w/High Roof (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
14 of 14 people found this review helpful

We do home staging. What we move needs to be coddled but carried en masse. I considered a MB Sprinter but as my first big, crude van, it was just far too austere. No power seats, rare to find backup cams, no XM, no cruise, rare side door windows... it just seemed too raw, oddly given the perceived brand prestige. The Ram Promaster just didn't instill confidence. When we got our 2014 NV2500 HD High Roof, the Ram was new and clearly problematic, from what the forums said. Equipment could be ordered up and it didn't have to be super plain but I just couldn't feel confident about it. The new big Transit wasn't getting strong reviews about it's transmission durability ... so I read more and more about the Nissan. A FIVE year 100k warranty (even on a used vehicle) was super. The equipment on my higher end model is great- side airbags, nav, power seats, XM, backup camera. It's still crude compared to our BMW and Sienna Limited but it's comfortable and rides well. We drive HWY 1 in Sonoma and Marin counties often and it handles shockingly well. The V8 is powerful if lousy on gas. The only problems we've had were a repeatedly sticking side door and rear door extended opening pieces which need constant lube-ing. And oddly, rust. We bought it from someone who clearly was a rich hippie and used it for his surf van, thus it was at the coast all the time, so there is surface rust on the tow hooks, behind the grille on the radiator but it seems to have halted and the dealer has a rust warranty so... not too worried. I'm not in love with the blind spots from the huge side mirrors but the upside is the side mirrors show a lot behind you... so, yin-yang. Dealer service has been very good and I'd get another in a second. Update, June 21, 2020. 67,000 miles Nothing has changed. This thing just goes and goes. It's a superb vehicle. Though it's obviously big, it's still parkable. Maybe it's the rear wheel drive, but getting in and out of parking lot spaces is no harder than in our Sienna or Volvo XC60. The seats are still VERY good for a vehicle of this kind, though the "stain resistant" fabric is only a concept. It seems as if even pure water stains it. I've cleaned it with upholstery cleaner and it helps but in reality, I'm spoiled from years with leather upholstery. Sadly, I read that Nissan won't continue making the NV series after this model. I guess, I'd dabble with a Transit or if I'm drunk-shopping, a Sprinter but man, those reviews are scathing. Nothing but love for my Nissan NV2500 High Roof.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
4 out of 5 stars
Value
4 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

Nissan Dealers Will Not Service their own product

Richard, 02/10/2016
2015 Nissan NV Cargo 2500 S 3dr Van (5.6L 8cyl 5A)
27 of 30 people found this review helpful

Before you buy a Nissan NV2500 be aware that there are only certain Nissan dealerships that are allowed to service the vans. I have been turned down at 2 local Nissan dealerships in Southern California for oil changes. If the Dealership is not a "Commercial Dealership" they cannot even change the oil. The ludicracy of this is that the Titan and the Van have the same drive train.

Safety
3 out of 5 stars
Technology
2 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
3 out of 5 stars
Reliability
1 out of 5 stars
Value
1 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1
Items per page:
5