Used 2016 Mercedes-Benz GLC-Class Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$25,990 - $31,899

Used GLC-Class for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Great luxury SUV with some minor refinement issues

Len Kun, 01/26/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
53 of 54 people found this review helpful

Overall it's a great vehicle. The price can quickly go up depending on options selected. And in order to get certain options, you must select another package which increases the price further. Plenty of features, but surprised that a few aren't even standard considering it's 2016. Features such as keyless entry (MB calls it keyless go) and any color other than white or black is still an added cost option. Most models in dealership comes with the high end stereo system, panoramic sunroof, heated seat, which add to the cost but not providing a lot of value for certain region. You must special order in order to get close to what you want. The quality is good and design is nice. A few trim pieces felt cheap because of plastic feel. The ergonomic is poor, but that's typical German where common logic isn't a high priority on their design. The center console with the touch pad and wheel is over complicated and difficult to use, a lesson they need to learn from the Japanese, or take a page from Apple in design. The gear shift located on the column is awkward to use. And then the turn signal, lights, front & rear wiper, and washer are all located on one stalk on the left hand side along with another two stalks for cruise control and steering wheel adjustment as well as the paddle shift. The steering wheel already have many buttons. I think it's overly complex and not very user friendly. So far during the first month of ownership, a couple issues creep up already. One is the rear camera for parking which is unreliable because the image could freeze or goes black completely. Also some squeaking sound from the dash which is a reflection of NHV control. But this is typical for a first year model of a new design, but it's a Mercedes and these should have been ironed out during quality control testing.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Classy, Sporty, Quiet Ride = Jack Pot MB

Electricvette, 01/19/2016
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
67 of 72 people found this review helpful

OK I'm a car guy. I spend way too much time looking at cars on the web and to tell you the truth this car was not on my radar because I thought I was going to buy 1 YO used. So I did my obsessive planning for about 3 months and spent 12 hours on a Saturday looking at cars. Problem was I just could not track down the car I wanted so we went from used to new. I loved the 2016 BMW X3. Its nice nice nice but it was the 1st car we drove and should have been the last because that was the car I thought we would buy. Drove the Audi Q5 but it's dated and is in need of a face life. My wife liked the Q5 seats the best. We also drove the Lexus RX 350 (AKA the space ship) liked the interior but the exterior lines are way too sharp. We were pulling out of the Audi dealer and I saw the Mercedes GLC. I knew about it and liked the looks but it was a 2016 and I was thinking 2015. So we took it for a spin and WOW it was smooth, love the transmission (A+ MB) it is quiet inside and has the rounded exterior similar to the Porsche Macan I think. The Tech is really good too. So the dealer only had the demo and we wanted a different color so we drove to Seattle (30 miles) and did the deal. (1500.00 over invoice) Very happy! My wife loves it. We drove it about 70 miles today and got 29.6 MPG mostly highway. Ok here is my follow up after 2 1/2 years and 50k + miles. Last Friday (the 13th) my wife was involved in a head on collision. All the airbags deployed and the car is a total loss but this car not only saved my wife it did it with very little impact to her body. Yes, she is sore and has bruising on her chest and her little finger/hand but I am amazed after looking at the car that she did not get hurt worse. Another thing is I couldn't believe that all the doors still closed perfectly. Needless to say we are now going to buy another GLC 300 4matic. THANK YOU MB! You are very serious about safety and your product shined even when wrecked. This is what you get with Mercedes Benz.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Only really one complaint, otherwise stellar

Kevin, 12/14/2018
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

Acquired a dealer-loaner 2016 GLC 300 4Matic with 800 miles and saved about $4,000 under invoice. The windshield had a rock chip directly in front of the driver's eyes and the dealer attempted to get it repaired - wife still not happy. Dealer replaced windshield with a MB windshield. So, good on the MB dealer. Now, on to the car... It is an absolute dream to drive. The door/window seals are absolutely amazing. Coming from Hondas and Volkswagens for the past 25 years, this car is definitely better than any of those when it comes to quietness and air noise. The windshield and two front side windows are "acoustic glass", which also aids in the car's quietness. The car has 4 different dynamic settings and 1 user customized programmable setting. These allow you to change the steering wheel feel, the air conditioning, and the engine shifting into pre-packaged settings (Sport+, Sport, Comfort, Economy, User). The 9-speed transmission shifts like butter, but we all know that if it ever needs to be rebuilt it will be a lot of money (any 9-speed from any manufacturer really). On to our only complaint - the brakes. They are powerful and work flawless in stopping you. However, when you are reversing and the ambient temperature is cold (Winter), they will squeal louder than you have ever heard brakes squeal before. My daughter can hear her Mom from 3 blocks away and around the corner when she is reversing out of the garage. The problem seems to start at around 5,000 or so miles on the car. The dealer serviced the brakes by replacing the pads and they were silent again - until the next cold weather season, where they squealed again. They have had their brake supplier redesign the pads and such, and I believe they are having better success. We also decided to install a garage heater, and now the brakes aren't squealing as we back out of the garage. The other issue, and it isn't related to the manufacture of the car, is the tire they decided to put on these cars - run flats. We drove this car like a cream puff, and our tires needed replacement by 19,000 miles (most are getting barely more than 15,000). After a lot of research, we decided to go with a standard tire. Wow, what a difference!! No car should have run flats in my opinion. They are heavier than a standard tire, have poor cornering, are difficult to repair, and are costly. The only problem is that MBUSA does not offer a spare wheel for this car. So, after more research I got a spare wheel on eBay for a different model of MB that fits on this car - problem solved! I also carry a small inflator and some Fix-a-Flat as a 2nd backup. And if we are local, we would just have the car transported to the nearest MB Dealer on a flatbed for a tire change. The upgraded Seinheiser sound system is out of this world for OEM. MB puts the subwoofer in the driver footwell area in the firewall area - genius! Many cars have idle-stop engines, and so does this. We don't really like it. If you stop at a traffic light, the engine will stop, and it is perfectly silent. As you take your foot off the brake, the engine will quickly start back up. However, if often does this with a small shudder. Apparently, the MB engines shudder less than many other cars, but nonetheless, it shudders. I also believe that these countless on/off cycles are not good for the engine and/or starter over the life of the car. And fuel savings for this feature are negligible. After you start the engine, you can deselect this feature off. But you cannot deselect it permanently. The back hatch is excellent. You can program how high (or low) it stops at the top travel limit. And the back seats sit perfectly flat when selecting them down in the cargo position, making for a really nice, flat, and large space. The seat heaters are very quick to get hot and have Low/Med/High positions. The steering wheel is quite thick, which makes for a nice feel in your hands. Wife mainly drives the car locally, so she gets about 24 MPG. If I drive it on the highway and do the speed limit, this car will get about 32-34 mpg. Otherwise, it easily gets 29 or more when you are cruising along at 70-75. Obviously, the need for premium fuel is a bummer but is common amongst luxury German car brands. Overall, a 5-star product, as the brake squeal has mostly diminished and the move to non run-flat tires changed the handling for the better.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

I finally found THE PERFECT CAR

EJ Perryman, 08/16/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

I am a Honda and Subaru owner who usually keeps her cars for 15 years. Those brands are not known for having impressive interiors, but the cars ran great, were reliable and had good resale. When it was time for a new car I spent 3 years looking for a car that was a little higher than a sedan and had some cargo room, but was also not too big, was super comfy and handled great. I could not find that car at Honda or Subaru. I did however find it at Mercedes Benz. The GLC300 embodies all of those qualities and then some. If you want a car that feels like it was made for you, that makes you look forward to driving, then you have found it in the GLC300. The cabin is quiet, the seats are great, the multimedia is second to none (get the larger 8.4 inch screen), the Burmester is the best sounding factory audio in this price point, the handling of this car is dreamy, it has great acceleration. I guess the only negative about this car is that it's not a Honda or a Subaru with proven reliability or resale value. But since Honda and Subaru refuse to make comfortable, luxurious vehicles with great tech, audio and handling, it's MB for me for the next 15 years.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Small Luxury SUV that Lives up to its Name!

GLJ, 06/05/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Finally...been shopping all the small luxury SUVS and this one REALLY lives up to the word luxury! I tried the Lexus NX for a year...I'm sorry...noisy, cheap plastics everywhere. It seemed more like a $30k SUV, and not the $45k sticker price. The MB was a bit more, but it has REAL leather, better acceleration and sporting feel, and luxury feeling materials all over the vehicle. I've only had the GLC a month, but it is far above the NX in terms of luxury feel and performance.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

So far so great!

PS Horn, 06/10/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
24 of 26 people found this review helpful

Have had the GLC about 3 months and have about 2000 miles on it. It does everything it is designed to do. It is a pleasant place to sit in in traffic and move about town, but can quickly change character if you wish. Just downshift with the paddles or change the driving mode. Mileage has been decent considering my mostly city/traffic driving (about 23.5 mpg). Like BMW, the GLC shuts off the engine if you are stopped for a few seconds. Since the car is so quiet I do not notice this, and so I think it helps with some of that city mpg. My friend who just got a BMW X1 turns off the auto shut off because he says it's annoying. Possibly because BMW wants you to hear the engine - so I can see what he means. My only quibbles are things I knew about the car before I got it - getting in and out takes a little bit of effort, unlike my old RAV 4 which was so easy. However, the GLC seat is incredibly comfortable. Rearview from the side mirrors are only so-so, but the Blind Spot Monitor takes care of that. The Burmester stereo is great, but I would recommend using .wav files which are uncompressed. The 2 USB ports, the SD card, and the 10.8 GB harddrive mean that there is about 200 GB of storage (64 GB max for USBs and SD) - so that's approx. the equivalent of 20 GB of compressed music. The difference in sound is worth it to me (e.g., Lexus does not play .wav files through the USB; BMW does, though). The active safety feature of warning/stopping the car if you get too close really works. It does, however, beep at me when the car in front of me is almost finished making a right turn and I have not braked. Better safe than sorry, I suppose. As far as all the buttons, etc., I found that after a few days I easily got used to it. Still finding some neat little tricks here and there. Another thing I really like about this car is how MB packaged the options. I got everything I wanted and did not have to pay for the things I did not want (e.g., sunroof), compared to BMW, say. Also, I got a pretty good deal, about 9% off MSRP at the end of January.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

MB should be embarrassed - 6 mos old and regret!

lorri, 12/29/2016
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This is my first and likely my last MB! I did the research and ultimately decided on the GLC 4MATIC SUV (BMW X3 , Acura RDX and Audi Q5 were closely considered). The smooth ride, MB reputation, customer service (boy was I wrong!) and safety record sealed my decision. At 6 mos. old and only 3K miles on my car, the SCREECHING brakes are SO incredibly loud that I have switched cars with my husband. The brakes wake my young daughter up from a sound sleep as I am backing out of the garage in the morning. My neighbors and colleagues have asked multiple times, "What is wrong with your brand new car?" This is not a small squeak, but a screech that turns peoples heads! This is evidently a known problem to MB and they have no solution to date. My car is currently at the dealership for a 'temporary fix', which the service manager admitted will only put a brief bandaid on a larger problem that MB has yet to formally acknowledge to its high paying customers. No letter from MB. No phone call. No email. Nothing. Just me calling and complaining, with the dealership ultimately putting me on a waiting list for several weeks to have a temporary fix implemented. Sorry MB, but this lack of acknowledgement of a problem and disrespect is not going to earn you my loyalty. How do I know if the car is even safe to drive? MB - I'm very disappointed. I've waited a long time to purchase a brand new car that I've worked very hard for. Potential customers be warned and go with another option IMHO.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Major brake issues no replacement parts for months

Mike U, 12/18/2016
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

Deafening brake screech! Not a squeak or squeal, but a screech. Has been an issue for months, dealer says no parts for 2 more months

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

MY Mercedes is an embarrassment

Rosanne, 02/26/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
22 of 24 people found this review helpful

The brakes screech when backing up. They are so loud that the neighbors don't want us to pull out early morning or evening. People complain we wake babies and make dogs bark. Dealership has been saying for months that Germany is working on a fix and parts are coming. Its been over six months no one call us back anymore. They did mention it is Motor Trends Car of the Year and they can't keep them in stock. Question... should they be selling them knowing this is a serious issues?!!!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great CUV/SUV

Shana Lardi, 09/14/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

My GLC300 is the 2017 model and this car is by far the best value in its class especially compared to Lexus 350, Audi Q5, Infiniti F35, & Volvo XC60. Pros: Smooth ride, nice handling and feels sporty especially with dynamic controls, roomy interior including decent backseat legroom for growing children, like the parking break option while waiting at light/traffic, good value for standard features and packages. moon roof is a great option, gas mileage and safety features a plus, and spacious cargo area. Cons: Infotainment system controls are ridiculously confusing and cumbersome, too many repetative knobs and features, if main screen was touchscreen it would make it much easier. Shifter, wipers, lights, & steering wheel adjustment are all on the steering column which takes a little getting used to and it sometimes feels a little clunky when accelerating from a dead stop. Overall, pros outweigh the cons and it is a nice looking vehicle.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

Happy

James, 02/28/2016
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
28 of 33 people found this review helpful

My first Mercedes. I expected more and better technology. The mouse pad and control are difficult to use. I have come accustomed to the control knob. A touchscreen would still be 100 times better. Navigation has become easier to set up an address. Panoramic sunroof wind noise is so bad we do not use it. Front and rear cameras have limited view range. Sensors do not sound until you are right on an object. Accustomed to General Motors and Chrysler where rear camera range extends up and down the street when in reverse. Sensors also sound when another vehicle approaches; not the GLC300. Ride and handling are very good. Performance is good. Dealer, Cutler Bay, Florida, very bad in explaining accessories and technology. Pushed Lojack when MBrace (included with the vehicle) does the same thing in more areas of the country. I would not buy another vehicle from them or suggest the dealership to another person.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this SUV.

Pat, 04/28/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Really love this car. Comfortable, quiet, great sound system, and really great gas mileage. On the freeway I can get 29 miles per gallon and around town getting 21+. The mouse is somewhat antiquated but easy to use - I would prefer a touch screen. Love the turbo which allows great acceleration entering the freeway.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Love my new GLC

Lwilde, 07/19/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my first Mercedes and it is a v good small SUV. I love it except for the computer. The controls are awkward. The screen is propped on the dashboard and it is strange. I wish it was built in.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Father's day Gift

father's Day, 06/20/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
8 of 9 people found this review helpful

Just got it as Father's Day gift. Only drove 75 miles (mostly on high way at 70 mph) so far. Got 33 mpg on high way. My old ML got 20 mpg, my BMW X5 got 26 mpg on high way. I've never driven a car having this high gas mileage before, not even a sedan. No complaint here. V4 with 241 hp is still very powerful. Competiters: X3, Q5, RX, MKX, XT5, RDX, QX50 and Macan.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A+ Mercedes

Alex, 04/06/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
17 of 21 people found this review helpful

Looked at BMW X3, Audi Q5 and Porsche Macan. All were excellent automobiles. I choose the GLC because it stood out in all the right ways price, options, style and build quality. My advice is not to skimp on some of those options that make owning a car like this pleasurable.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Some great,, some terrible

Rich ziminski, 07/23/2016
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
13 of 16 people found this review helpful

I have a love hate relationship wth this car... It has a great,comfortable ride,the mileage is great ,the is plenty of power ,the mechanical aspects good...my big complaint is that the controls on this car are terrible. The controls are very poor designed and hard to use. The mbrace is no substitute for onstar.in addition to my previous comments the navigation system including controls are terrible . The logic and ability of this system is really poor. My 100$ Garmin is more user friendly and more reliable.the service dept is top notch

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Screeching Brakes - buyers beware

C.L., 12/30/2016
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Cold weather locales will no doubt find screeching brake issues. Manufacturer is aware and even though it existed in the 2016 models, the fix still eludes their engineers in the 2017 models. Neighbors hate us and it's forcing me to attempt less braking while backing out of my shared (and loooong) driveway. Take away this issue and this car would be near perfect. Yes, controls are clunky but it can grow on you.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Thumping Noise in Front End

Don S., 04/26/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

Started at about 5000 miles. Dealer rotated tires. Still thumping. Dealer said tires were feathered, needs alignment. Brought car in for alignment but was told car needed new front and rear differentials. Differentials installed 2 weeks later. Thumping has been significantly reduced. I asked for alignment to eliminate that as an issue. I was charged $150 for what should have been a warranty repair. I was told car needed new tires at 13,000 miles--typical of run-flats?? This problem, coupled with the screeching brake issue previously reported, has made owning this otherwise fine vehicle a headache. Update: Replaced runflats with 4 Continentals standard on Audi’s. Wow! Quieter, smoother riding, 90000 mile warranty. Bought Continental road repair kit instead of spare tire plus have M-B and AAA road service. I still think proximity warning system is very bad. Seriously thinking of Audi Q5 soon. Brake squealing backing up is coming back. I would not recommend this car to prospective buyers because of brake noise, run flat tires, and poor proximity warning.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brake issue STILL EXISTS after 3 years of owning

S P, 01/10/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The loud brake squeal (in cold weather) while reversing has NOT been resolved after 3 years of owning this car. This is frustrating since I have to deal with this loud noise from the brakes as soon as temps drop below 50. MB replaced the brake pads (under warranty) last year and for a couple of weeks things were fine but, problem started again after that. I just left my car for service again for the same issue. . I have owned this GLC for 3 years now and unfortunately I will not recommend this vehicle anymore as this gets frustrating every day when your loud squeal gets attention from your neighbors.

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Not a Mercedes by any standard

Ron Cornelius, 03/08/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

If you don't take out of the city it might work for you. I traded in my GLK350 and I loved it. Just getting up in the miles. It came with run flat tires , no spare and no jack. The tires came with a warning saying that they've were not safe in temperatures under 45 degrees! I had of course purchased this vehicle with a 4 magic so I could use it for winter driving with all season tires. My travel out of town is all 200-300 miles and in desolate areas with no cell service or road service which means that a flat tire could be life threatening in summer or winter weather. Run flat tires are not stocked anywhere close and can not be repaired [non-permissible content removed] The dealer and MB are of no help at all. Can't by a jack or a spare for this vehicle. So if you're looking for a safe car look elsewhere. It is also noisy and bouncy. Not a Mercedes by any standard I'm aware off. You'll also need to study the manual as there is nothing intuitive about anything on this car. Don't be tempted by the styling.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

hertzdav

hertzdav, 08/01/2016
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
10 of 13 people found this review helpful

My collision avoidance system is not working. Took it back to the dealer and they don't have a clue as how to even test it. I called Mercedes Hq and they supposedly have advised my dealer how to insure the system is working properly. Tomorrow we try again. If they don't repair it I will Lemmon law the vehicle. Dealer still can't get the collision avoidance working. Very disappointing! I love the car and have taken it back for the collision avoidance system 3 times. It still doesn't work. One more engineering mistake is with the drivers side windshield wiper. If you lift the wiper up it comes in contact with the hood and scratches the paint off the hood. They have no fix for that.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

2017 GLC - Excellent Mid Size SUV

Jeff Thomas, 08/10/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

The new 2016/2017 Mercedes GLC is very refined, smooth, quiet and has a lot of technology. The ride is great and materials are top notch in the interior. Acceleration is very good for its class and handling is pretty good. I would consider it at or near the top of its class compared to BMW X3, Jaguar F Pace, Acura RDX, etc. Price is competitive.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Very nice package

Michael Ellis, 08/22/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
12 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have absolutely no complaints! Great interior and technology package! Shopped Porsche Macan, BMW, Audi Q5. Mercedes gives you a lot of car for the price! I simply was not willing to spend over $55000!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

We too have the noisey brakes in reverse. fixed

daspenguin, 01/18/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Great car. Quite. Interior is first rate. Ride is nicely flexible with program. Don't understand the squeak in the brakes in reverse. Squeky brakes fixed under recall. 32k on the car with no other issues. tires needed in the next 5k miles. Update: 45k on the car. New tires at 35k. Stamdard maintenance by an indy mechanic. A couple of recalls under warranty. Crankcase ventilation system fixed under warranty. It would have been expensive. Considering an extended warranty to defray future costs.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great mid size Benz

Dave Enlow, 12/14/2018
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I leased the 2016 MB GLC300 on a whim when my wife and I were frustrated by our treatment at several other high end dealerships. We walked into the dealership at 6 pm on New Years Eve. I was shocked by how affordable this vehicle vehicle was and how ready the dealership was to meet my price criteria. I was stunned by the power and acceleration of the 4 cylinder turbo engine, very responsive when needed. The car has performed flawlessly for 3 years, although it has had a large number of factory recalls, all for issues I would have never noticed such as a questionable electrical ground and "possible" coolant leak. The dealership experience was outstanding, they were low pressure and very proud of their brand and products. The salesman warned us that once we drive this car, no other brand will compare. I was willing to take that chance and drove it, he was right, I was in love with that MBZ ride and acceleration. The cargo room is perfect, the interior comfort is unlike any other vehicle I have owned. My biggest frustration is the tuning of the audio system, it is a joy stick on the console and very distracting while driving. I wish it was a touch screen like my Subaru. Of course I never get to drive the vehicle as the wife thinks it's hers. Now my lease is up and I had to decide to either turn it in, buy it out or walk away, or go with the 2019 GLC300. That salesman did it to me again, he brought a beautiful 2019 to my house for a test drive. I couldn't let it go, I signed up for another 3 years on the 2019 GLC300, this time I got the AMG package! But I'm sure I won't be driving it much, wife thinks it's hers again. One more complaint.... that nice MBZ ride comes at a price, the tires wear out at 18K miles due to the heavy weight of the vehicle. A set of tires for this beast will set you back $1000.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Too many recalls and issues for a Mercedes-Benz

PostalGuru, 02/16/2019
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

1) There is too much road noise for this to be a Mercedes vehicle. 2) At 23K miles there were suspension issues. They had to replace struts. 3) There have been too many recalls. 4) At 26K miles (about 6 months later) the suspension issues are back. 5) Brakes squeal when backing up, especially in cold weather. 6) Main battery had to be replaced at 26K miles. 03/04/2020 update: The suspension issues are back. The reliability of the 2016 model is simply not what one would expect from Mercedes-Benz. 09/11/2020 update: The suspension issues are back. The auxiliary battery/capacitor had to be replaced, but they were supposed to have replaced it in February when they replaced the main battery while the vehicle was under warranty. Cost: $359.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love this car!

Joshua Fenton, 07/26/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 8 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy the ride and how my GLC drives but I am going to highlight a few nits for those considering this model. This is my first Mercedes so I did have to get used to the multimedia/nav controls which are a bit less intuitive that my old 2007 Acura RDX. While the 9 speed auto transmission is very efficient, I personally think it does not downshift enough when slowing for a rolling turn at an intersection. This can lead to either a soft acceleration or a light jump as you hit the gas to make your turn. As I pull up to a Stop sign, the transmission can still be in D5 even when the speedometer reads 10-15 mph. There is no issue starting with good acceleration from full stop, though. The USB ports for charging my iPhone are great and I like how they are both hidden and accessible. However, pausing my music player also seems to silence any vocal queues from Google Maps or Waze. If I have the music playing, then the vocal queues work over the bluetooth but I have to have both or neither. This might be human error, though I have tried to figure it out.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

I expected a lot - but - a huge disapointment

GLC owner, 08/19/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
44 of 70 people found this review helpful

I really wanted to love this GLC. On paper, it looked perfect. Ive owned 5 previous Mercedes and expected it to be a modern state of art design with traditional MB quality and driving dynamics. I custom ordered it and waited several months for delivery. The similar designed C300 sedan loaned me while awaiting delivery was a fantastic vehicle. It does has a lot of great features; classy design, great looking interior, a refined strong drivetrain, high overall quality. BUT..... This vehicle has SEVERE driving flaws, terrible controls and layout, the worst NAV/audio/infotainment system Ive ever experienced in any vehicle [and had the priviledge of paying $4K extra for]. These flaws have ruined the ownership experience for us. On smooth roads, it drives and handles fine. On certain rough surfaces, the car shakes, rocks, shudders, bottoms out, and feels like the front suspension or front frame is loose and disconnected from the road . Scary and unsafe to drive. I NEVER expected this in a Benz since all previous ones had a " locked down" driving quality on poor road surfaces. I dont know [or care] if this is result of bad tuning, run flat tires, or a flaw in this particular GLC....but its scary and unsafe to drive on rough roads. The wiper/wheel adjustment/cruise stalk controls and transmission shifter are all on the steering column, all milimeters apart from each other causing you to activate the wrong feature. Who thought of this confusing lever layout and what were they thinking ? The NAV/audio features and controls seem thought up by tweens that never...well ever used them in a moving vehicle. The IPad style screen stuck in the middle of the dash looks tacky and PepBoys classless, voice controls rarely work reliably, the radio has no ability to seek/scan stations, the double wheel/touchpad controller on console interfere with each other [Hans, marketing says we MUST have a touch entry because Audi does, I dont care how you do it, stick it on top of the control wheel !] making sure you never select the right control on the first try, NAV system has a great display but takes 5 minutes to tap & dial, tap and dial an address....excuse me, this is 2016 where flawless Google voice entry is the design standard, who is going to take the time to use that ? Mercedes carefully dances around the subject of CarPlay and Android Auto in the GLC..but after a long conversation with MB helpline they admitted.....you guessed it...not availabe and not upgradeable for the GLC. The bad features overwhelm the good features in the GLC .... a real shame in what could have been ..but isnt...a great vehicle.

Performance
Value
Report Abuse

Surprisingly fun little SUV

Doc Mike P, 07/18/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Surprised just how much we really like this SUV. For the price of the navigation it really should have Apple play and not rely on an old-school CD system. Speaker upgrade panoramic roof and rear camera where worthwhile oprions. The panoramic roof that's in so much light that it makes the cabin a nice place to be.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GLC– disappointment

Mike, 08/12/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

We have all the numbers Mercedes over the years and decided to get the GLC versus the GLK due to it being discontinued. We were one of the first buyers in the Denver market and had to wait for it to be shipped from Germany. Unfortunately I did not use my, do not buy the first year of the model, when buying this vehicle. We have not only had poor service from the dealership in trying to determine a problem but are having continual transmission issues which now need to be resolved through Germany. This is the second time we have brought this vehicle in for the same issue. The service technicians tell us that they have had numerous complaints for the same issue that have gone un resolved. There is a potential Lemon law in Colorado that may also be enacted on this vehicle. With a number of vehicles in the same class. Audi, and BMW. I feel I did not make a good buying decision.

Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Love IT

Lin, 09/14/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I also shopped all of the luxury SUV brands. What sold me was the interior and the comfort of the seating.My passengers have remarked that the backseat is the most comfortable they have ever sat in. Very smooth ride and ease to park. Very satisfied so far.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Break Noise

NightMare, 01/13/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This GLS 300 is best in performance and comfort. But it has a loud noise when taking reverse and applying the breaks. I agree with other reviewers that this loud squeaky noise is definitely an embarrassment for owning this vehicle !!!! Mercedes with their reputation need to fix this ASAP.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Brakes sound like nails on a chalkboard!!!!!!!!!!

laundry queen, 01/18/2017
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Don't buy or lease this vehicle until Mercedes figures out the deafening brake screeching issue. (This happens when backing up the vehicle mostly, then over time when driving forward and braking as well). The dealer makes excuses but it's basically good luck sucker!! The whole neighborhood knows when you're backing out of the garage. Very rough ride. I hate the suspension. Poor example of an SUV, I think it's more of a crossover. I would take my Toyota 4Runner back in 3 seconds. Garage door opener works when it wants to, but only at close range. Good on gas, good acceleration, great leg room for driver and front seat passenger, I must say. Can't find a comfortable headrest position. Most important, my engine light has been on for a week. The only reason the dealer HAD to take it in and give me a loner car, which I am in love with! A 2017 GLE 350....love it. It's what I expect from Mercedes, and an SUV. Hoping for a solution soon.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Simply the best SUV in it's class.

Craig T, 03/23/2020
GLC 300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I recently traded in my Audi 2018 Q5 for a 2016 certified GLC300 4Matic; so happy I did because the Mercedes outshines Audi hands-down. Much sportier, especially with Mercedes running boards; the ride is incredible and if you don't miss current technologies like Apple Car Play you may too want to take another look at Mercedes. Audi in my opinion, having owned a Q5; is highly overrated.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

GLC 300 Good Value

SJ Grossman, 03/08/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

Chose between a GLC 300, BMW X3, Land Rover Discovery. GLC 300 seemed to have more extras than the X3 and Discovery that were pumping up their price. For example, the BMW with a sunroof was only available if I bought one with a bunch of premium stuff that I didn't need, putting it out of my budget. TRAILER HITCH IS NOT AVAILABLE AS OF 3/8/16 SO IF YOU NEED A HITCH BUY AN X3 or Discovery. This is on Edmunds and MB of San Diego dealer said, "No problem, we don't have a vehicle with one in stock, but you can just get one put on after you buy the car." He didn't say that they weren't available right now. It's been over a month and no trailer hitch is available. Now I have to go rent a handicapped accessible ramp van so I can move my daughter and her power wheelchair around when she comes home for spring break since I have no trailer hitch to attach a trailer. Not sure if I'll ever have one.

Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

Quality Issues, rides very rough

DK, 02/27/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
8 of 14 people found this review helpful

Ride is responsive but rough. Quality issues: back seat did not fold, washer fluid froze first week, very loud squeal in front tire, mbrace remote start only works periodically.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice car

Suneel, 01/14/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
10 of 19 people found this review helpful

Car is nice but little pricy. 4yr maintenance plan is $1275 don't pay more.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Small flaws kill the experience- updated new issue

Patricia, 10/24/2016
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 12 people found this review helpful

My previous reviews was on the experience. I have had the car since April 2016 and now I had my first dealership visit after 13K miles. Computer malfunction left would not allow the car to start. After 30 minutes it finally started but had a few warning lights on. Sensors go off for no reason. Rear seat belt got locked inside wall. There is no restraint to have the seatbelt buckle from getting swallowed. Waited many years to purchase my luxury vehicle. Love the car hate some of the features that kill the perfect experience. When Sunroof and/or windows are open there is a lot of noise. Can not drive more than 40 mph with Sunroof open. Wish the car had a little more height. Mouse is so annoying and it burns your wrist on very hot days. Garage door opener only works when it wants. I now have to carry my old remote control.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beauty is empty inside!!!

HOA MULAN, 05/03/2017
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

Does not come with anything, no keyless go on standard model. You have to have a key to open the door, no touch open and go. After 5.5 months of driving the air condition have mildew smell and the trunk sealer at bottom fall apart. The monitor is not touch control, issue with blue tooth connection.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Car but somewhat un-Mercedes

al frank, 05/25/2017
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've driven Mercedes 30 years. I have had 300E, E300, S500, and C320. But I needed high seats and an ease of entry/exit for my bad back. So, I got a GLC300. Well, well! While the ride is Mercedes like, suspension is awful. It jerks, bobs, bounces, vibrates, and wiggles. Some vibration is very unpleasant frequency. There're other issues too. My tires went bald at 20.5K miles. What happened? Well, a simple accounting trick. MB installs run-flat tires but doesn't include a spare and installation kit. It saves MB money but at the expense of the buyers replacing tires 3 times faster. So, after 1 year of service I spent $1400 on Michelins and must buy a spare kit (from MB, of course) for $800. There! Didn't expect this from MB.

Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Class act

Nate, 03/31/2016
GLC300 4MATIC 4dr SUV AWD (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
6 of 14 people found this review helpful

The GLC is nearly perfect in every way. There's just to many great things to say about this car. Drive one and I'm confident you'll want to buy one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

worth the half year waiting

Yannie, 01/17/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 9 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Owed for 6 months, and then discover the SUV Volvo

Freddy, 04/29/2017
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

At 1st the performance was ok. After a time it lacked behind in agility and performance. Followed a speedy Volvo SUV going down the mountain where I live, and could not keep up with it. Test drove Volvo and found out why. Bought Volvo and glad I did. The styling is also so much better and special. The Benz was boring.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Luxury at its best

William Leming, 03/27/2018
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is a great vehicle! The ride is awesome, the gas mileage is really great! You feel not only safe in this vehicle but truly special!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Rockin my GLC

Sunny, 09/05/2018
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Acceleration in comfort mode is a sleepy. However, using the sport mode rocks you out of the starting position without so much as a squeal!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

I wasted my money

No Mercedes for me, 01/09/2019
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

6 months after leasing this vehicle I was taking it in for extremely squeaky and embarrassing brakes when backing up, panel on front seat falling off continually, and a rattling noise in the dash. I expected so much more from this vehicle. I should have kept my Lacrosse. I've had the brakes serviced at least 5 times since having, had mechanical issues and had to replace tires. And the ride is just noisy. I am running from this car. Lease is almost up. Never again. I wished I would have talked to more owners before I bought. Everyone I know hates their Mercedes and wasted their money. And I hate the mouse in the middle, it should not be the complicated to change the radio station.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great Compact SUV

veeresh yadla, 05/02/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 12 people found this review helpful

Overall very nice. Would have been great with a touch screen or easier user interlace for the Tech.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Great car

GCK, 12/15/2016
GLC 300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

I grew up with parent that always bout top of the line Lincolns but I have 3 kid and needed something larger. So, for the last 20 years we have purchased top of the line Honda or Toyota vans. Now we have 2 in college and one at home so we wanted to down size our primary vehicle and decided on the size class the GLC is in. We did our research...read the reviews and narrowed our search to the Lexus, Acura, Audi and Mercedes. We started test driving the cars in our list and really like the Audi Q5 until we drove the GLC. I know everyone's buying criteria and expectations are different so here are our deciding factors. Comfortable ride because we take a lot of trips over 4 hours. Safety features. Entertainment system that includes Satellite radio. Limited Blind spots. Performance. And, if my two oldest sons had to ride in the car and we comfortable considering they are 6' plus and have size 14 shoes.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

TOO expensive

Caruscar@aol.com, 04/24/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
4 of 33 people found this review helpful

Very expensive SUV for what it cut out very little technology for the price. No adaptive cruise control standard Comes as bery extra very expensive to be able have adaptive Cruise control of your highway driver did not recommend this SUV.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Peerless GLC (Compared with BWM X3 and Audi Q5)

Jingyu Zhu, 02/04/2016
GLC300 4dr SUV (2.0L 4cyl Turbo 9A)
2 of 19 people found this review helpful

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050