Used 2001 Mazda 626 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,040 - $2,467

Used 626 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

good value for the $$$

vhsmbg, 03/14/2002
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

This one is a nice V6 4 door midsize sedan. Nice design, not too fancy, has all you need. Performance is very good with the V6. gas milage might need some improvement. Seem to be pretty reliable. You won't go wrong if you get one

Report Abuse

Zombie car that I love.

hassef, 05/20/2012
9 of 11 people found this review helpful

Owned this car for 11 years. I purchased car used as a dealer demo with 7K on it. At first thought I had a lemon, door trim peeled off, radio broke, O2 sensor went and a sway bar linkage broke, thankfully all under warranty. Now in its 12th year the car has given up the ghost and is a rolling zombie that refuses to die! This year had to replace the CV boot and axle (my fault regular maintenance would have spotted cracked boot and saved me $), the oil pan rusted out, front struts gone, check engine light is on, exhaust almost rusted out and engine leaking oil from a gasket. Saying all this I still loved it. Has out lived all my other cars and cost the least in maintenance.

Report Abuse

A good car overall

Al, 08/22/2009
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

From an appearance standpoint, this generation has the best lines compared to previous 626s, and the interior has an inviting look to it, plus it's roomy and comfortable with a great stereo. If you want a car full of high- tech toys, you'll be disappointed. The luxury/power features this model has (ES-V6) have been in luxury cars since the '80s. Reliability is good, except the radiator needed replacement @ 110K. I've heard complaints about the transmission but so far I've had no issues with it @ 156K. The V-6 runs horribly on 87 octane, it needs at least 89. I'm getting clunking from the rear suspension, most likely bushings/struts needs replacing.

Report Abuse

Dont buy kee max

nokeemax, 05/16/2010
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I bought this car from kee max several years ago, the engine blew before I made it home (less than 15 miles). Kee max buys cars from auction and puts them directly on their lot. After spending approx $2500 on a new engine, this car keeps going and going. It now has over 144,000 miles and still going strong.

Report Abuse

Mazda 626ES

V Land, 08/24/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Outstanding reliability for 8 years. We did all the preventative maintenance as scheduled and changed oil every 5,000 miles. Fun to drive; responsive. Great Bose sound system. Still a great car after all these years.

Report Abuse

Very Reliable Car

missy, 02/05/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

There is nothing fancy about this car but I have had no problems at all with it. Just keep the oil changed and this baby will run forever. It is very comfortable inside with lots of leg room. The leather seats still show very little signs of wear on them. The interior has really held up over the years. I am the only owner of this car but with proper maintenance I think it will run forever! The engine does jump a little which no one seems to be able to fix. But other than that it is great!

Report Abuse

Good Car For The Money

Chris, 10/19/2010
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought my car four years ago with a little over 70,000 miles on it. In that time, the only big repair I've had to make is replacing the axles due to the CV boots, which were busted when I bought it. Other repairs were minor, including new spark plugs, plug wires, new battery, and a valve cover gasket. Regular maintenance has kept it on the road and relatively problem- free. I trust it to get me to work and back and to occasionally drive almost the full length of Texas and back, which I've done a few times now. The car isn't sexy, but the looks have held up for close to ten years now. Not fun to drive because of the 4 cyl engine. It's just a tool to get from A to B, and it's done it well.

Report Abuse

Good Family Car

Mike, 08/27/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've been fortunate enough not to have the various problems listed by other owners on this site. Any car (even the allegedly bulletproof Camrys and Accords) can have issues. My 626 is reliable, handles well, and has been a good car for the money. I would seriously consider another Mazda product in the future. It has all of the features of the competition for less. Plus, you don't see one at every stop light (such as the aforementioned Camrys and Accords). I can't vouch for everyone that left the plant, but mine has been great.

Report Abuse

Piece of junk never buy a 626

miami3055, 04/09/2009
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Ok where do I start I bought the car for 4500 and I have put that much into repairing the darn thing. Tranny went out at 117,000 water pump and timing belt at 118,000 2 radiator resivours had bad seals and coolant leaked through. Brakes needed to be done @ 115,000. The car just fell apart right after I bought it and I would never even consider Mazda again for a future car in any model at all. They are cheeply made and also the tranny is a Ford tranny. Umm Mazda car with Ford tranny? tranny has been known to fail in these cars but Mazda says nothing about it and has no recalls on it. Ford and Mazda will never receive any future purchases from me ever

Report Abuse

Not a winter car

Richard, 10/06/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd 626. It's been a reliable car and gets exceptional fuel economy. It has no frills, but gets me where I have to be... except in the snow. Like my first (1998) 626, it slides all over the place in snow. I've tried several different tires, including snows and there's no drastic improvement. I fear driving on snow-covered roads! The only cumbersome maintenance issue is having to replace a pair of bushings in the rear suspension every 20k-25k. You know when they're worn; the noise is deafening.I've got 105k on the car and really haven't had to put a lot into it. I plan to run it as long as I can up to 200k.

Report Abuse

No more Mazda

twalston, 12/29/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In one year, I have needed an expensive tune-up and then the transmission went out at 85K miles. Gas mileage not very good for a four cylinder engine. Right tail lamp developed leak when it rains and had to be replaced.

Report Abuse

Good family/professional car

jordao, 10/04/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Other than the nice features below, the leather seats are really comfortable. It has a very smooth drive, but the V6 has plenty of pick up and go when I need it. I am 6 foot 2, and the Hondas and Toyotas I tried are not comfortable. The Mazda has a great roomy interior with a real professional feel, easy to get in and out.

Report Abuse

Really good mpg and handles great

Tx110703, 11/29/2018
LX 4dr Sedan (2.0L 4cyl 5M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Well I got this car for $450 because it was setting on the last owners property for 4years in new England and and was parked because of a trans axle seal leak but it started right up after setting four years but so far I've had a misfire code on cylinder 3 I found the problem the fuel pressure regulator then the passenger side CV axle boot was broke and axle made clacking noises the rear suspension makes noises on bumps and the engine is noisey like I've heard from other people but it handles really well make it fun to drive but I wish the engine had more power the radio screen messes up but the interior is very comfortable and the trunk has a lot of room I'm really tall and I can set in the back and front and be comfortable A/C works good but the heat could work better over all a good car ain't perfect but keeps running currently has 176,749 miles and the mpg is incredible we went on a 15hour trip with the trunk completely loaded and 4 people inside plus the dog and it got 31mpg on the highway I really like this car

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Falling Apart

Peddler281, 07/07/2005
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Thank goodness for extended warranties! At 35000, but over the 3 years, the rack and pinion was replaced. At 38000 the transmission was replaced. Air conditioner has been making a noise for the past 18 months, but not broken so not repairable under the warranty. Struts are shot even though driving only on good paved roads. Planning on selling as soon as possible.

Report Abuse

2001 626LX

bogeyman, 04/19/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Mazda has 45K miles. No problems. It has the standard 4 cylinder motor. Plenty of power for town and interstate driving. Styling is a little dated, but so am I. Comfort is pretty good, except for drivers arm rest. I do not like the ignition key...it it very long and jabs my side during the day while it is in my pocket. I change my own oil. This is one of the hardest vehicles to change the oil on(the filter is super small and in a hard place to reach). Most of the time I go to Jiffy Lube instead. I have owned 4 Honda Accords in the past. This auto is as good overall as a Honda, and a little bit cheaper to purchase. Defects have been zero so far.

Report Abuse

Great family Car

Dan, 09/16/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've owned this car for 6 years. We put over 110000 miles on it. In the whole time that we've owned we only had to replace CV boots and a timing belt. It is comfortable and has great trunk.

Report Abuse

Zoom-Zoom-Zoom

pcannon, 05/03/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Second Mazda 626 LX V6. Gets 21 mpg on average. Elegant style and acceptable craftsmanship so far. Added simulated wood grain trim really makes car look classy. Very nimble for sedan hard to believe! Fun to drive, great for midlifers and above! A very happy Mazda Owner. Only complain so far is paint around fog lamp plastic bezzel peeled off when I power washed car to get bugs off in coin operated power bay at 3500 miles. Dealer agreed to fix after consulting with regional service manager.

Report Abuse

QUALITY

pdrwc, 06/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

the overall quality of this car is great,i have been an automotive technician for fifteen years and this car rates with the more expensive models from other manufacturers.

Report Abuse

not a bad car at all

capt. midnight, 07/17/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very reliable and no problems at all in first 15 months of ownership. My only complaints are a very whimpy V6 (165 hp) that uses premium gas, and stereo has bad reception and sound for a Bose system. Main problem is antenna built in rear window. Aside from those issues it is a very nice car and well built.

Report Abuse

Good but with flaws

mchilders, 10/23/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the four cylinder LX after comparing to other cars. After driving for a couple of months I think I should have gone back to Mitsubishi. The automatic used with the four is from Ford, same one used on the Contour/Mystique line. Not very smooth shifting, quite jerky. Dealer recommended aftermarket cooler so that transmission wont burn out so soon. Talking to others with this car that seems to be a common problem. Been to service a couple of times for warranty work on interior panels and that in window antenna. Replaced rear glass due to faulty antenna (radio would go out when rear defrost is on.)

Report Abuse

Excellent car for the price

iBlue, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Excellent car for the price. I got 44k miles on it and had zero problem so far. Comparable with Camery and Accord, but much better price. Mazda offers better performance/price ratio. Buy again.

Report Abuse

MAZDA 626

fmn3926, 08/04/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

HAVE NEVER EXPERIENCED ANY ENGINEERING RELATED PROBLEMS. SEATING COULD BE MORE COMFORTABLE. DIFFICULTY WITH RADIO AND CLOCK VISABILITY.

Report Abuse

MY CAR

DIANEDLE, 08/11/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First front wheel drive I have ever owned, excellent in snow and ice...I am so impressed!!

Report Abuse

2001 Mazda 626 is a great car to have

selhouar, 08/28/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a great car to drive. If you are looking for a family car with a sporty look (my car has a spoiler), this is the car for you. Keep up with your maintenance schedlue and you can drive this car for a long time - worry free.

Report Abuse

Transmission Problem

Jill Sevastianos, 11/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My experience with the Mazda 626 was that the transmission went out at 46,000 miles (4 months past warranty) and Mazda refused to help with any after warranty repair. The dealership helps Mazda determine whether they should extend help and there is no escalation point. Mazda has a severe quality control problem with their transmissions and I would not recommend this vehicle to anyone.

Report Abuse

Not quite nice...

nyhel, 01/19/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ok, so this isn't the best investment I've ever made. I've had to take the dumb thing back to the shop every few weeks for some repair or another. The transmission is rough on the shifting and burns the fluid quite fast. The handling is poor and even though the shop said the suspension is good I seem to feel every bump I go over, not to mension the car drifts while being driven. I make sure to keep up on all preventive maintence but it doesn't seem to be enough.

Report Abuse

Great Car

rondolio, 07/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The vehicle has always been a great car for me. I have only had one warranty issue which was resolved easily with the dealership (broken knob for A/C). Anyway this car compares with the Honda Accord without the big price tag.

Report Abuse

Less than reliable

Drewp, 09/29/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car might have been better as a 5 speed manual. I personally would never build a 4 cylinder car with an automatic transmission. It was underpowered and noisy from the beginning. At about 59,000 miles I needed a major tune up and now it has a broken boot and front drive axle and the car has only little more than 70,000. The handling in any weather conditions is sleepy at best. It may be a front drive car but it should be able to control its back end a bit better.

Report Abuse

One reliable car

aaron, 10/20/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First off this car will not beat too many vehicles on the road. It will get you where you want to go but speed is not what my car is about. I can't speak for the V6 models but my 4 banger is definitely missing the VROOM VROOM. But I haven't had 1 problem with the car yet so its reliability for me is outstanding and gets a 10 thus far. Car has no thrills and is nothing impressive. It just does the job its meant to do and does it well. I think it would be a good car to give to a high school kid or a family. But I wouldn't want to go hit the town in it.

Report Abuse

Dependable transportation with good MPG

Jim, 04/09/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd 626. I sold my 1998 626 in 2002, and bought a truck. Sold the truck to get higher MPG going back and forth to work. Pros: MPG (29 highway, 24 all-around), dependable, reliable, no problems to date even with 80K miles (had 59K when I bought it). Cons: Ride quality decent, pick-up and transmission aren't the greatest (but to be expected with a 4 cylinder); AC isn't strong when idling (again, 4 cylinder issue). I'm very happy with this car. It's not fancy, gives a decent ride, has good gas mileage, is dependable, and I can take the family (including 15 and 8 year old) on 4 hours trips with no leg room complaints. It won't create envy of others, but gets you there.

Report Abuse

reliable and fun to drive

oncerest, 04/21/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought it as the first look. As a used car, it doesn't cost that much as Honda, and certainly a good value. Since we bought it, it has been reliable, and just change oil every 3 months. And with that good price, I can use extra money to buy good warranty

Report Abuse

Bland, but Efficient

mbaisden, 05/05/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It is liyttle more than basic transportation. It won't "WOW" you, but it's relaible. Transmission is a little "choppy" and "harsh". Overall, it'a a decent vehicle.

Report Abuse

4Bangin

lx man, 05/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Just got the 2001 mazda 626 with 37000 miles. I think this car is impressive for the price and I get a lot of compliments (especially the interior).On the freeway this car maneuver really nice.It supposed to have a sport suspension (and I believe it)Gas mileage is acceptable 26 mpg all around driving. Can't complain. I'm happy with it and glad I didn't get a civic or elantra.This car is worth checking out if you're in the market for a good used car 10-13 gran.

Report Abuse

Class problem with auto trans

Goopie, 03/20/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We bought this car out of the Hertz fleet with 26K on the clock. It was reliable early on, needing only a plug wire set and fuel pump (both replaced under warranty). Now at 100K mi the transmission failed to the tune of $2000, even though I have had it flushed twice and have been running Amsoil synthetic ATF since about 50K mi. Perhaps it would have failed sooner if I hadn't been proactive about the service and premium ATF. It is a Ford CD4E trans and is infamous for failing in this car. Mazda is apparently not standing behind it; there are no recalls and of course now it is out of warranty. The engine has been reliable but due to the trans failure Mazda has lost a customer forever.

Report Abuse

Granny tranny

sucker, 05/14/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Needed rebuilt tranny at 65k. Needed another rebuild 20k later. Trunk leak created by factory defect - leaked water into spare tire well which would soak insulation and cause mildew. Starting to rust around rear tire well. 8k in maintenance and repair costs since I bought it used with 38k mi.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050