Used 2005 Maserati Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$14,101 - $27,731

Used Coupe for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Bonding with my Maserati Coupe

Tom R, 07/07/2006
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
11 of 11 people found this review helpful

Just completed a 2,100 mile round trip from Florida to Tennessee. During this time I got a chance to experience everything the Maserati has to offer. My car was extremely comfortable on long highway in Florida and Georgia were I averaged 80 mph. The Skyhook suspension is amazing, even with ultra low profile performance tires the ride is never harsh in normal or sport mode. In Tennessee on the curvy mountain roads the Shyhook suspension kept the car flat and predictable. It is much easier to drive at high speeds in the curves than my wife's Corvette. Its overall gas mileage for the trip was 21.2 mpg, which is really not too bad especially with the aggressive driving done in TN.

Report Abuse

Everyone should own one, but only briefly.

John F., 05/07/2018
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
17 of 18 people found this review helpful

This car reminds me of the joke about yacht owners: the two happiest days in a yacht owner's life are the day he or she buys it, and the day he or she sells it. Owning a Coupe teaches you any number of advanced-level life lessons: you have to pay to play; be careful what you wish for; and Italian cars really are as good and bad as people say they are. It's a remarkably affordable exotic, considering its prestige value and premium drivetrain, but mine lived up to its Italian-ness. During the thirteen months I owned it, it was in the shop every month or two, all but once for minor things. And the funny thing was, I didn't really mind--until one day the car's bad points outweighed its good points and I decided to bail. The only big repair was replacing the clutch, and I knew going in that they're good for about 20k miles on average. You really need to know a good independent repair shop--having a dealer replace the clutch would have been three or four times as expensive. Aside from that, the drivetrain is reliable and appears bulletproof. It's the small bits that are always breaking in your hand or falling off. Don't buy a Coupe just for its acceleration or handling: it's fast (and makes great noises), but there's faster, and while the factory sorted out the handling by the end of the model run, they're too heavy to handle great. It's a GT, and a striking one at that, with even more personality than the GranTurismo that replaced it in 2008. Additional perk: people will think you paid way more for it than you did. Besides eating clutches, the Cambiocorsa automated manual has a few rough edges, but I loved it--it shifts with *authority*. And by all means, do not--repeat, DO NOT--actually drive the car. Put miles on it and its value plummets. I bought mine with 12.5k, put 8k on it in one year, and took a beating when I disposed of it. I guess the market expects these cars to be garage queens. Maintenance costs, while frequent, aren't terribly expensive when done by an independent shop, but judging by how impressed the local Maserati dealership was by all my repair receipts, I get the feeling many owners just live with the broken bits and pieces. Finally, be aware that the market for these cars is extremely thin. That's why you get an apparent (but largely illusory) discount on these cars when you buy, and why you give a very real discount when you sell.

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse

For a Hobby Only

sklein, 12/22/2006
GT 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6M)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car is not all that great. The tires are 90 days backlogged (so buy a new set of four if one goes). It has software problems that cause stalling and no real answer. For $80,000 or there abouts, it is a bit rough (and I am just referring to the time it takes on the phone). The check engine light has been on since I purchased it and when it was "fixed" it lasted two minutes.

Report Abuse

Ever see a lemon on wheels?

e, 01/20/2008
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
18 of 23 people found this review helpful

First a blowout then the sensors couldn't differentiate between a stop sign, red light and intentional turn off of the car. The result was the car spent more time in the shop and with AAA roadside assistance or Maz roadside assistance than on the road with me. The little gear shift is easily broken (esp by valets @ $1500 a pop ) and you can get service for an easy $500-800 anytime it is due. The 1st 2000 miles were awesome. The rest absolutely stunk and I felt extremely insecure. Maybe if I rotated the tires every 5k miles it would have handled better but this turkey is not recommended.

Report Abuse

fun to drive!

pc, 07/18/2005
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

city slickers rejoice, here's something new and for those of us that missed the suburban get your permit( @15 1/2!) and drive lifestyle finally a fun to drive car with a clutch free manual drive that gives us the feeling we too are driving experts!.the cc coupe is the 1st car i've driven that encourages accelerating into turns and surprises as there seems to be no centrifugal force when turning. furthermore the paddles on either sides of the steering wheel easily allow for upward/downward shifting and the car is as tight as any.there is an automatic option and it handles magnificently and feels quite sturdy despite the aluminum frame.you might also enjoy the awe others have for this beauty.

Report Abuse

Lovin the Maserati coupe

snap lemon, 11/23/2015
GT 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6M)
6 of 9 people found this review helpful

If you do not know how to drive a real car do not buy one. this car is more fun to drive than any car i have ever owned and i have had a lot of them over 30 corvetts, several other sports cars ,mostley american built cars. never been a fan of most foreign cars but i love this coupe. i only take it out on nice days and i drive the hell out of it. it handles well goes good. does not have the power of the big american v8's but it is only about 260 cubes. and it is a hand full. you got four modes to use the six speed std trans. i love the car but if it breaks the fun is all over.i HAVE OWNED THIS FOR ABOUT A YEAR NOW, AND I AM LOVIN THIS CAR

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Blast to drive

Chuck, 03/22/2005
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

Maserati Cambiocorsa has been a fun car to drive everyday. It's exterior styling is unique and exotic, the interior wraps you in full Italian leather, and the note of the engine is unsurpassed by any other car less than $100,000. The backseat is small but useful and holds two children. I find myself looking for places to drive in this car. Its 4 year, 48,000 mile warranty lessens the risk of this exotic costing you a fortune. I have not had any major repairs required yet. I have owned the car for six months and would purchase it again today if I needed another car.

Report Abuse

Terrific GT Car

GEORGE, 08/22/2007
GT 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6M)
2 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have never owned a car which has attracted so much favorable attention. People assume it is an Italian exotic in the same price range as Ferrari. It is more fun to drive than any car I have ever driven. Plenty fast with the great Ferrari built engine and beautifully balanced handling.

Report Abuse

Love it

jaynat, 05/27/2005
GT 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Love it...I'm 6'3'' and this car fits me to a tee, plenty of room,

Report Abuse

Love this car

Mrdc, 07/09/2005
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchased this car in march of this year. Love the handling and look of the car the only con is fuel economy.

Report Abuse

My Maserati

Voila, 07/05/2005
Cambiocorsa 2dr Coupe (4.2L 8cyl 6AM)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I've had my Maserati for a year now and I had an Aston Martin DB7 before this CambioCorsa. When you buy this car, make sure you buy it with the paddle shifting. It's a blast to drive and so far is the most reliable exotic I've owned. The performance is great and the back seats are perfect for adults. The service department in Atlanta is a pleasure to work with. I give this car an "A" as an every day driving car.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050