Used 2001 Lexus GS 300 Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,749 - $3,852

Used GS 300 for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Don't die before you drive a Lexus !

Tony, 06/16/2017
4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
8 of 8 people found this review helpful

Well, you can spend all your life time driving other cars and your life goes on , or you can drive a Lexus and every day you will be waiting for the moment you get in your Lexus to drive home after work- wow what a feeling being in a Lexus after a long day at work on a heavy traffic day- this is a meditation in a car, and you will be wondering why other drivers around you are yelling and stressed- because they don't drive a Lexus- look at any Lexus drivers around you and you will see them just enjoying being united with their Lexus. Its been stated multiple times that driving a Lexus is therapeutic, makes you wonder is it still a car? Try a 27 years old LS400 with 300K miles and you wont believe its a car- BMW and Mercedes must be worried, seriously- if you reading that review, get yourself a Lexus, PERIOD.

Safety
Performance
Comfort
Value
Report Abuse

Lexus G300 230,000

Philip, 04/13/2016
4dr Sedan (3.0L 6cyl 5A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought this car used. Had an accident that did NOT show up in Car Fax Report. None-the-less, I've had it since under 25,000 miles and it's run nearly flawless. Air conditioning went, wheel bearings on only one wheel (accident) but we figured that out and repaired it. Taking it to a quarter million.....

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

6 months in, very happy

mrljacobs, 01/21/2012
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased my GS300 with 92,000 miles on it 6 months ago. So far I am very happy. Car is very nice, has great features, and has been problem free. When I purchased there was some rattling coming from near the right front tire. Took to mechanic, replaced front strut mounts, and rattle was taken care of. Cost me $350, but now I enjoy a smooth quiet ride. Average 22mpg, and get much better on long freeway drives. Will upgrade to LS430 in a few years.

Report Abuse

A great car to own

mylexgs300, 07/18/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This my 3rd GS300, the previous being a '93 and an '00. When the opportunity came along to purchase this vehicle again, this time from my uncle, I couldn't resist. Besides, the normal routine maintenance, the car has required nothing bus gas. Its amazing to drive and feels like a pillow on the road. I can't see myself owning any other brand of car besides a Lexus.

Report Abuse

The quality Lexus experience

HC Barnes, 06/15/2007
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My second Lexus. I had the first, a 1991 SC 300, for ten years. I bought the GS 300 as a certified used car with one year and 25,000 miles. I now have 124,000 miles on it and it still looks and drives like a brand new car. Service has not been that expensive considering the car and treatment has been perfect. Highway mileage consistently in mid 20s, not bad. I replaced the terrible OEM tires with Yokohama Avids and have been happy with the handling ever since, although the car will never stir the emotions on a visceral level. Bottom line: an ultra- high quality luxury car with competent, but not exciting handling.

Report Abuse

Value Performance

driver108, 11/28/2011
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

At the price point, it can't be beat. 65K miles, one owner, $9K. The straight six is super smooth and the automatic shifts predictably and powerfully. The interior is very cush and the entire car has a very solid feel. It has very strong passing power, but could be faster 0-20. Also, the auto gets momentarily befuddled when shifting into 1st when coasting at around 5mph when you then hit the gas. If you want a car that is all about performance, the GS300 is not for you. However, if you want a comfortable ride, nice appointments, a smooth and powerful engine that gets to 110mph pretty fast, its a good choice. Average 25 mpg on the freeway

Report Abuse

Lexus-Finally Mine!

lhester, 03/08/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has been a treasure to drive. I've not had a bad time in it. The only downside is I couldn't afford the 8 cylinder GS430.

Report Abuse

My GS

JimS, 12/28/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have been driving my 01 GS for 3 months now. The car drives so well and so comfortable that I have been driving really slow so I can enjoy spending more time driving.

Report Abuse

GS 300

TJ1, 08/07/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

What can I say. It's a Lexus! I am not in the least bit disappointed. It handles like a dream and is quick, safe and comfortable.

Report Abuse

IT'S A LEX

KANE, 05/18/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have only had this car for 2.5 weeks but I love it so much. Even though the style for this car has been redesigned because it was seven years old, it's still a headturner, it's a good feeling. This car is marketed as a luxury sport sedan but I think it's still more luxury than sport. I prefer luxury over sport anyway that's why I bought a Lexus, but the car might not be that appealing to people that want to feel the road. It feels like you're riding on a cloud when you drive this car, like you're separated from the rest of the world. The car is loaded with an abundance of features. It's a great car and I know it will last as long as I need it to.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050