Used 1998 Kia Sportage SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$821 - $1,737

Used Sportage for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

don't buy

rodeodog, 06/27/2002
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

30,000 miles time belt shredded, 12,000 miles replaced heater fan, 45,000 miles tires dry rotted and manufacturer (Hankook)refused to adjust, no power, 70,000 miles exhaust system replaced,uncomfortable to ride long distance, paint peeled off fender and running board mud shields, manufacturer would not discuss, Difficult to get to the sparkplugs to replace, etc

Report Abuse

VERY UNSAFE VEHICLE

TJJTRUCKER, 01/13/2004
5 of 6 people found this review helpful

DO NOT BUY, VERY UNSAFE, HIT POLE AT 25 MPH, TOTALED CAR, SPEND 1 WEEK IN HOSPITAL, CAN NOT BELIEVE I PUT MY SON IN THIS CAR. SPENT MORE TIME IN SHOP THAN I DROVE IT. RUSTED OUT BACK END, 4 WD WENT OUT TWICE, DOOR HANDLES WOULD NOT WORK, FUEL TANK, FUEL PUMP, SPARK PLUGS, BATTERY, WIPERS, FRONT BRAKES, COIL WIRE, STARTER, WASHER NOZZLES, YOU NAME IT.

Report Abuse

Poor Purchase!

Wendy, 04/16/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I bought th 98 Sportage thinking it was a cute little sporty 4-wheel drive that I would find useful. Unfortunately it wasn't useful because something was broke on it every 3-6 months. I wasn't impressed with the service of the dealership either. Now at 60,000 I'm faced with trading it in because of the horrible problems I'm facing. The warranty is no longer effective and the repairs are just too expensive. I'll be paying my way out of this for quite some time.

Report Abuse

REPAIRS ADDING UP!

OUCH!!, 08/04/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my Sportage two years used- it had 39,000 miles-high. Owned the car 9 years and have only put 52,000 miles on. The dealer services do little to take care of the car-better to find a good independent. At 60,000 miles, it needed front wheel bearings packed,new timing belt,drive belts,& new battery. At 78,000 miles, the radiator overheated; I had replaced the radiator,thermostat,fan clutch,and a cooling system power flush-cost $1200. Car has always had poor, vibrating brakes that I've had repaired numerous times to no avail. The engine leaks oil - I've had this partially fixed twice for $$$ but still leaks. The 4 WD failed some time back but the indicator light says its working.

Report Abuse

the biggest mistake i ever did

svetlana, 06/27/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

when i purchesed the car on march 26 2002i had nothing but i major problems and still does and they can never find a problem i would never recomend to any one or but it my self kia again or deal with thatg dealership they take advantage of people i wish i never got this car it still have more problems than i know what to do with

Report Abuse

BIG MISTAKE

Monterrey, 08/09/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The worst car I have ever owned. Consistantly one problem after another, each time I would give it the benefit of the doubt believing that this was the last problem, it never was. I have spent thousands of dollars in repairs and have had horrible experiences with the Kia dealership. No one else is familiar with Kia's so they all told me to go to the Kia dealers plus I could still get a warrenty out of it, that never happened once. I'm happy to tell anyone to not even consider this brand. I've had it for 1 year and I'm selling it now and have lost half my value, big waste of money!!!!

Report Abuse

I guess I got lucky

Fafurd, 08/14/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Although I think I paid too much, it has been a good little car, for us. Have not had any major problems, service tech (in our area) are helpful and knowledgable. Things I disliked was the low resell value.

Report Abuse

Find it fun

Doug-l, 08/16/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have aprox 32000 miles on it, made some long trips and have found it to be fun. I even placed a hitch on it and tow my 16 foot boat with it. I watch others spin their wheels while the Kia just goes and goes. Those who buys knows Kia is a new company, so there will be bugs and items to work out.. Its your fault...

Report Abuse

TOO NOISY!

KIaOWner, 11/29/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my KIA recently from a private owner. Although it had 120000 miles on it i thought it would be a good investment. I spent 4000 dollars on it and i knwo i shoudn't complain but i mean the car makes too much noise. the engine is liek deteriorted and it has NO power. You have to floor the sucker to actually et you somewhere. Its Cute though for a teenager car but a bit embarassing when you drie by some where and every one looks at you casue your car makes funky noises. Unless you want a smooth ride, don't but a KIA SPORTAGE. . .sorry. . .

Report Abuse

BEST BUY IN BELIZE TRY IT

FLOWERSJ, 12/10/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

THE 1998 KIA SUV IS AN EXCELLENT VEHICLETO DRIVE IT RUNS LIKE A DEER AND PURS LIKE A CAT .IWOULD SAY TO YOU, BUY THIS VEHICLE NOW!!! ENJOY THE QUALITY OF LIFE YOUR MONEY WILL BE WISELY SPENT AND YOUR HEART WELL SATISFIED. IF NOT TAKE YOUR MONEY BACK OR WE GIVE YOU THE KIA FREE. TAKE IT OR LEAVE IT, THIS IS A DEAL OF A LIFE TIME.YOU WILL LOVE THIS KIA WHILST THANKING ME. I AM WAITING,HURRY HURRY HURRY!!!

Report Abuse

What do you expect from this car?

KennyRayRay, 10/27/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've driven my '98 Sportage from day 1. 7 years now. It's had a few problems. Most annoying was that I had to replace the starter about 4 times. $300 bucks a pop. It's a cheap, little car. You didn't spend $50K on a BMW. You spent $12K on a Kia. It's been a great car for me. If it died today, I got my money worth. Repairs and all. Most people don't post things on this site unless they are REALLY happy or REALLY upset with a car. I was tired of listening to people moan about this particular car that has been good to me.

Report Abuse

Kia Sportage

kiadriver, 06/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Depretiation is not one of the best parts of a Kia. However, I bought this car used, so I got it for a good price. You got a lot of room in it. I especially like the high sitting point, which gives you a very good overview of traffic.

Report Abuse

I LIKE!

EAGLUVR, 11/06/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Sportage used. It was exactly what I wanted. Smaller size, plenty of room for my two kids in the back seat, plus they could easily see out the window's. I received many compliments about it from friends and coworkers. It ran fine. I have had a couple problems, front hubs wouldn't lock, and rear tubed swinging tire holder was rusting. My nearest dealership replaced the whole front end under warranty. Great! I'll get the rust problem fixed myself.

Report Abuse

NOT A GOOD BUY.

disappointed2, 02/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We purchased the Sportage in 1998. It was cute, reasonable, with a good warranty. However, what good is the warranty if it is not honored. Kia lack knowledgable service tech.

Report Abuse

Not bad at all

shepp69, 11/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

owned this car for approx 1 1/2 years. Needed bigger. Overall not bad for cheapest 4x4 you can buy. Never broke down on us. In shop once for loose exhaust system. No other problems. Smallish cargo area. Interior pieces cheap looking, but what do you expect? Fun to drive for an suv. This car did not evoke much emotion either way, however, its low price will make it a worthy consideration.

Report Abuse

Don't do it

Liztomlos, 01/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Every six months there is a problem with this suv. The check engine light is always on the car has always been in a garage and had rust on the back tire cage after one year. The brakes started to squeak after the first year. THe harness had to be rewired twice in the first two years.Believe me there is more bad news too just don't do it. Look around and pay a little more you will be happier. I want to sell mine asap.

Report Abuse

Don't Buy Kia

Toni, 03/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Purchasing a Kia was the worst investment I've ever made. I have had nothing but problems from brakes and belts to the engine. Not to mention its poor performance. It is rear wheel drives, and it handles horribly in the rain and snow. Now I am stuck with it because I can't even trade it in because it has no value!

Report Abuse

Thumbs Down

shala, 07/23/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Lets say I could be rich, if it wasn't for taking in this piece of crap into the shop all the time. And all the different dealerships charging me different prices for the same work to be done on the kia. When it's not in the shop and up and working it runs ok, but I always worry if it will break on me again or will something go wrong again. It's was a good car when I was a teenager, but stink nows. And stucks in windy weather. Kia hates taking any responisblity for anything that goes wrong with this car.

Report Abuse

Cheaply made

kathmarrello, 10/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this Sportage with 33000 miles thinking I was so lucky! I have taken it back to dealer repeatedly for computer problems, check engine light comes on and stays on. suspension stinks, very bumpy ride. Also had to replace radiator at 50k miles dispite regular flushing bi- yearly. Rear gate latch has repeated trouble latching and since the key is needed to unlock to slam it closed again,inconvienence. I have to slam it hard the panel on the inside of gate has come off repeatedly. Trouble with spare tire arm not latching properly flying open while driving! Also really lacks pick up going up hills. Engine is small for weight of vehicle

Report Abuse

Not as many complaints

SciGuy, 11/11/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my Sportage for 6 years now, and despite one problem in the first year that they had trouble pinning down, I have had no major issues with my SUV. KIA gave me an extended warranty after the initial problem. The car rides great and fuel economy is the same as similar models. The factory CD player has lots of great features, and interior is very comfortable and user friendly. The styling caught a lot of eyes and there was quite a bit of interest in the car when I first got it. Plenty of cargo room, and headroom.

Report Abuse

Just My Luck

Just My Luck, 02/19/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought this after having a big Chevy SUV. Didn't need the big gas hog but this thing isn't that much better! The big problem is when it needs repairs it will cost you a fortune. I paid over $200.00 for a rebuilt alternator and it cost me $900.00 to have one of the catalytic converters replaced. Another problem is that auto parts stores don't carry parts for Kia's. Just when I think it's OK, something else goes wrong. I should have spent more up front for a Honda or Toyota.

Report Abuse

GOO FOR THE $$$$

C.BASS, 04/13/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Mine is a 2000 model,Great 2nd car for the household. When it snows the 4wd works great to get you through unplowed streets. The sportage also has ample room inside for a small family, two adults and two children.

Report Abuse

Kia

Jeckaroonie, 11/05/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great first car! Awesome for an 18-23 year old

Report Abuse

Good Value for a 4x4

Joehello, 01/13/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

When I bought this car I knew I didn't spend $45,000 for a Lexus, $30,000 for an Explorer or even $24,000 for an Escape. When I keep that in perspective, I believe I got a very good car for the money. Has been very reliable, is awesome in 4WD for the bad CT winter weather, has decent ground clearance for off-roading, and gets me from point A to B with minimal fuss every day. Those who complain of a bumpy ride must have thought they were buying a car. This is not a car, this is a small truck, and is built like a truck. I bought this car new to the ridicule of my friends, but would buy another again. You get what you pay for, and I paid for what I needed and have been pleased with this decision.

Report Abuse

Gets me anywere in any conditions

CP, 08/26/2007
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have maintained the car's engine with oil changes and any recalls. Kia is good about informing owners for recalled parts. I never worry about getting home even with over a foot of snow on my long upward driveway. 4x4 is excellent. Torque for a 4 cylinder is ok and sustaining speed is excellent. I really like it and may drive it another two years unless offered at least 4K.

Report Abuse

Hindsight 20/20

kdog, 04/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The first 18 months we owned this vehicle, it was in the shop 70 days. Last week the fuel pump went out. Kia says it isn't their fault. Kia's rep and dealership were rude. The area rep said, "There's no way in hell we're going to help them out!" when the dealership tried to get them to help us trade out of it. Good thing they have that 10yr/100000 mi warranty now.

Report Abuse

Worthless Sportage

KiaHater, 01/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

What a poor excuse for an SUV. This vehicle definately has NO spunk within the underpowered 2.0 engine. The 4 wheel drive power transfer in 4HI is virtually non-existant, and the 4LO gear ratio is extremely too low. The fuel economy is horrible, even after a complete tune-up. The overall quality put into this vehicle gives new meaning to the phrase "you get what you pay for!"

Report Abuse

1998 Kia Sportage

nicespy, 01/13/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had very much fun with my Sportage.The 4 wheel drive works great,There is plenty of hourse power for playing around and also for the street.I have a manual transmission,,This makes all the dif.

Report Abuse

Great car

jshak43, 09/04/2012
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We got this car when it was 2 years old and never had any major flaw. It runs as good now as it did brand new.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050