Used 2017 Kia Soul Wagon Consumer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars
34 reviews
List Price Range
$14,999 - $22,000

Used Soul for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

We are Soul People

Rodney Hunt, 10/05/2017
! 4dr Wagon (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
54 of 55 people found this review helpful

My wife first had a 2010 Soul and traded it on a new new 2012 VW Beetle. We traded that in a year later on a 2014 Soul ! for her and one for me. We really liked those cars but are always looking at others. Traded them in on 2 Chevy Trax, the top model. Then about a year and half went back to to the Souls. One for each of us and we are not going to change. Easy in and out, more elbow room than the Trax and more storage room. Love and use the under floor storage in the back. Don't feel cramped in the seats which are very comfortable. Our trip via car to Las Vegas from Minnesota was very nice. The 200 hp engine in the ! was not taxed by the Rockies. No extreme down-shifting when going up the mountains. Carried all our luggage (and we have a lot because we are gone for 10 days and all our electronics,pills and food. The touch screen radio and navigation and climate controls are easy to use (we are 68 and 70 years old.) Gas mileage around town is consistently 24 to 25 MPG and highway runs 31 or so. Most of the Souls we see on the road or in town are driven by older people who need easy in and out and all the other features.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

I love this car! (as of 12/28/2018 - I STILL DO)

Jeff, 06/16/2017
! 4dr Wagon (1.6L 4cyl Turbo 7AM)
80 of 83 people found this review helpful

This car has most of the things I wanted in a vehicle all put into one. I had been searching and test drove quite a few vehicles and walked away from each disappointed about something. That was not the case with this one. The ride is smooth and the EXCLAIM is very quick. I used to drive a smaller hatchback and got tired of having essentially fall into my car. With the soul, the seats are at waist height and I quite literally just walk into my seat. Just yesterday, I took a friend out in it who owns a truck and he mentioned this very thing. He was saying he has to climb up into his truck and loves that you can just walk into the seat. I said the same thing regarding my golf (as you just read). I also got the Tech Package and I am very pleased with the sound system. It is superb. Definitely not a miss there. The audio controls actually make sense and is very easy to navigate. I test drove some cars that were just way too complicated (looking at you Honda). We don't want complicated while we're driving. I want to push 2 buttons max to get where I want and do what I want. The fuel economy is actually lower than advertised, and that's kind of a bummer. I drive mostly (that's 90%) interstate and am lucky if I break 28 overall. The A/C unit is not what I'd call amazing. There are definitely better A/C units out there. Other than that... very comfortable. Drives great. Turns on a dime (better than my Hatchback did, but the hatchback handled like a dream... cuz it's a hatchback). I am not at all disappointed and would highly recommend it. Also, Kia's warranty kind of tells a story of a company who's not afraid to offer a high warranty because they have faith in their product. Seriously, their warranty is twice as good as anyone else's. Highly recommended.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Great compromise

Bob, 11/13/2017
+ 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
17 of 17 people found this review helpful

Not too big, not too small. Easy to drive and park. Responsive engine. Entertainment center is good with a small but functional touch screen. Good value for the money. Update:. We don't drive it alot. So far we are very happy. Update:. We drive mostly local and less than 8k miles. Been a great car. May 2021: Still a great car. We've driven less than 9k miles. Very convenient for commutes and local trips.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

5 out of 5 stars

My Hamster Mobile

SHERIC, 01/13/2018
4dr Wagon (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
25 of 26 people found this review helpful

This is a really great car for the price point. Remember that this is an entry level economy car. Keeping that criteria in mind and you will not find a better value considering the 10 year warranty. No other manufacturer is standing by that long to keep your car running tops. The one issue I have found is that the fuel mileage is not as good as it should be for a 1.6L 4cyl. Mine is the 6 speed automatic and I average 27-30 mpg with a mix of driving. If you drive really easy and with great care, you can get the average up to 30-33 mpg. That is a lot less than is shown on the sticker. I can still say that it is very nice car for running around town and will hold quite a bit of storage when the seats are folded down. No regrets on this little car so far. I have 40k on it and it is still going great.

Safety
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4 out of 5 stars

My first Kia

Joe, 08/04/2017
4dr Wagon (1.6L 4cyl 6A)
49 of 53 people found this review helpful

I have a three year lease on a 2017 Soul. I have owned the vehicle for just a few weeks now. In that time I have made the following observations. It is important to keep in mind that this is a base vehicle. I see it filling a niche was owned by the VW Bug, with technology and comfort. My 1.6 130 hp with an automatic transmission is plenty of motor for this car. The mileage is amazing and I love all the technology that tells me about my consumption and range. I find that I drive a bit slower in this vehicle for some reason. Getting in and out are important to me and this is done with ease. I wish the front seat had a few more adjustments but it is fairly comfortable. The Soul is easy to drive and the ergonomics are good. The technology is easy to understand and use for an older driver like me, love the Bluetooth.. This vehicle is easy to park and navigate well in tighter areas. The one real knock on the Soul is that its smaller windows create very dangerous blind spots. If you don't have a warning system and I don't, the passenger side has a huge driver's blind spot. The drivers side is also bad but not as bad. Overall I am delighted with my KIA Soul.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
4 out of 5 stars
Comfort
4 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I'm a Kia Soul convert!

Kitkat7, 07/04/2018
+ 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Update #3: Still love my car. No issues. It runs great and gets me where I need to go. Update #2: I've had my car for almost two years now and nothing has changed. I love this car! No problems–it runs great & is very reliable. I still feel inspired to keep it clean & tidy, and get excited to drive it around. It's such a fun car–comfy & maneuverable. It is also perfect for my outdoor activities; it's easy to strap my bike rack on/off the rear hatch, and easy to load my 14' and 16' kayaks on the rooftop crossbars. Again, the only improvements I would suggest are better gas mileage and better stereo (that will auto-resume play to your bluetooth device, i.e. cell phone). But all in all I absolutely love this car and highly recommend it. UPDATE #1: I've had my car for almost a year and I still love it! It's so fun to drive–it's comfortable and handles deftly. People who ride with me are often pleasantly surprised at how roomy & comfortable it feels on the inside, including my dad who is 6'2". I use it for commuting to work and transporting my bicycle & 16' kayak with no problems. It's got just the right amount of space and no excess, with good gas mileage. Everything still works great. My only small gripe is that the bluetooth stereo doesn't auto-resume play when I restart the car. Otherwise it's perfect and I'm probably a Kia Soul owner for life. I bought my 2017 Kia Soul (+) about three weeks ago, so I'm still a new owner. It's my first one, and so far I love it. If it proves to be reliable over time, I will probably drive a Kia Soul forever. It is the perfect car for my needs: I'm single & only occasionally have passengers, so I don't need a huge car, but I'm also active and sometimes need to pack my car up with camping gear & strap my 16' kayak on top. The back seats are roomy for when I do have passengers (the car has plenty of head clearance for tall people). I live in the south so I don't need AWD. I love how easy the Soul is to maneuver (it turns on a dime) and to drive; it handles very well, to the point that I often feel comfortable enough to steer one-handed. It seems compact from the outside, but inside it feels very roomy. The backup camera is great, and I was pleasantly surprised at how wide the view is. The hatch is convenient, and with the seats down there's plenty of room for gear or a bicycle. I'm not an extravagant person, so I enjoy that this car has character and is cute, but is also utilitarian, without a ginormous touchscreen and over-the-top bells & whistles all over the dash. Another surprise: the driver seat is SUPER comfortable. I have lower back pain on longer car trips, but the seats are comfy and have great lumbar support. There are a few things I would improve: the MPG is lower than I'd like (~26 overall) and sometimes I feel as though I have to gun it a bit to get the car to accelerate appropriately. However, I knew both of these things were criticisms going in (mine is not turbo-charged) and I can live with both, easily. I will also probably upgrade the speakers eventually–I'm a music lover & audio snob, and the base-factory speakers are just adequate (but will probably suffice for plenty of people). Otherwise, I'm in love! *fingers crossed* that I have many happy years with my new Soul.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Fun to Drive

Matt, 11/12/2017
+ 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

You get a lot for your money: Lots of leg room and head room, lots of quality and lots of compliments, but compared to the cargo space of my old Honda Element, it is lacking. The car handles great and the 2 liter engine has enough power, although there's a lot of downshifting in cruise control. Sits high to see the road ahead and a back-up camera to help park in tight spaces. Overall, I love this car and would recommend it highly.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

I'm a Soul Man; and YOU will be too!!

Jim In Sterling, 06/18/2018
+ 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
16 of 17 people found this review helpful

I work for a major car rental firm, have previously driven the Soul+ many occasions, and worked for car dealers for five years. I have drive HUNDREDS of cars, many weekly to and from the airport destinations. There is no car I more highly recommend to clients than the Kia Soul for overall VALUE for your dollar, comfortable seats, massive storage cabin, and versatile capability. Millions of owners agree, which is why Kia Soul has earned the public support to make Soul the #1 selling Kia vehicle. The 2018 Kia Soul ranked #1 in Compact Cars. It has earned respect and accolades every year and ever since it first hit the market. Consumer Reports states it is ne of the few to be known as the most reliable vehicle on the road today. It is affordable, fun to drive, and popular with all age groups. Insurance safety score is based on the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety crash test ratings and the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration safety ratings safety ratings have declared the Soul one of the safest vehicles on four wheels. The one single thing about the Soul that I like is that it brings pleasure to so many. I have often chatted with owners to find them delighted with their vehicle and willing to share their recommended joy.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
5 out of 5 stars

Used to Be a Honda Enthusiast.

Car Guy, 05/08/2017
4dr Wagon (1.6L 4cyl 6M)
34 of 38 people found this review helpful

I now own two Kia Souls - The first one (2013) was so impressive in build quality I bought a second upon reading the 2017 reviews. When Car and Driver and Road and Track give a 4.5 out of 5 stars - one pays attention. The 2017 I own Is simply amazing in build quality, ride handling and amenities ...... No comparison out there especially considering price.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
5 out of 5 stars
Performance
4 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse
1 out of 5 stars

Blown engine at 69,000 miles

Please read this.., 11/01/2020
+ 4dr Wagon (2.0L 4cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

Until October of 2020 the only complaint I had was it was bad to hydroplane. That changed within an hour. Driving along I hear a ticking sound. No lights came on, no pressure problems. We pull over to check things out and no oil.. we religiously do oil changes and there was no need to question the souls quality. We put in oil and half an hour later our car went from being worth around $11,000 to $500. The best part is, the warranty was for 60,000 miles. The mileage it had was just over 69,000 miles. Come to find out this is common..! Apparently there is manufacturing debris (FOD) that gets caught in the oil line and clogs so by the time you hear anything it’s too late. Your engine has been starved. Long story short (hefty loan still owed, bank approvals, no options) I’m stuck with another Kia I do not trust. Please do your research before committing to pouring your hard earned money into a Kia Soul. I’m currently worried about any Kia at this point.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050