Used 2007 Jaguar XJ-Series Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$6,223 - $12,674

Used XJ-Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Stunning Big Cat!

Brian Mac, 02/27/2017
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

Incredibly smooth and quiet ride. Surprisingly quick and nimble for a car of this size. Far more class and comfort for far less money than comparable German cars when purchased preowned. Reliability has been flawless for the 10,000 miles I have owned it. Took a road trip and drove 23 hours with fuel stops only and found this car does not wear you out even after hours behind the wheel. LOVE THIS CAR!!! 08/31/2017-Owned 1-1/2 years & 20,000 miles now. I get bored with cars quickly, trade every year or two for something different. However, not this one. I still get excited to jump in for a weekend cruise thru the mountains or down the coast of New England. I own an auto repair shop so I know cars pretty well and this one is proving to be much more reliable than the German counterparts owned by my customers. It rides infinitely smoother and quieter. During spirited driving it may not corner quite as well as well as a BMW however, for a car this large it comes close. I would take the ride quality over the cornering agility any day. Reliability has been very good with a thermostat replacement being the only repair in the 20,000 miles I have owned it. What a pleasure to drive...and even at 10 years old it still turns heads everywhere I go! 03/01/2018- I must say I am still absolutely in love with this car. Again reliability has remained excellent with no repairs needed since my last review. Car still rides limo smooth & quiet. Looking forward to another year with my Jag! 09/04/2018- Here we are with another year passed. My Jaguar XJ8 of course is still running & driving as it did when I first purchased it in February 2016. Now at 83,000 miles I replaced all filters, fluids & spark plugs. I did replace the alternator due to a whine noise and will soon replace the battery as a preventative item as it is now 5 years old, although it has not caused any issues and it still test OK. Gotta say I still love this car!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Purrfect!

Mike , 03/05/2007
Vanden Plas 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
15 of 15 people found this review helpful

I purchased a 2007 XJ VP and find this car to be an absolute joy to drive. For the first time in owning most other prestige makes, I have finally found a vehicle that I am proud to own. The XJ VP interior is total comfort and the finish quality is unbeatable. Despite its size, the 300 HP V8 and all-alloy body makes this car surprisingly quick and it handles almost like a sports car. Thank you Jaguar! After so many years I am enjoying the experience of driving again.

Report Abuse

Underrated

Underrated, 06/28/2007
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

After owning almost every other premium import sedan over the last 20 years, I finally bought the XJ8L Jag. What a surprise. It may be sold as a luxury sedan, but it performs like a sports sedan. Quick reflexes without the hard ride. Comfortable seats, tons of room and excellent mileage. Plus its straightforward interior controls and ergonomics beat BMW and MB to death. Its sad that this car is not considered by more enthusiasts drivers wanting luxury as icing.

Report Abuse

Big Kitty performs better than expected

rEgan P, 10/04/2018
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

Incredibly affordable high end luxury car, drives much better than expected for such a large vehicle. Comfort is exceptional, driving experience is amazing, passenger amenities are plentiful. Fabulous build quality, exceptional materials. Pros: It's a Jaguar, it's inexpensive to acquire, rides, drives and performs very well at the high levels expected or even beyond expectations. Luxurious ride, and the 'ford years' of Jaguar are known for reliability. Cons: repairs can be expensive, terribly thought out and not very well supported NAV system, only valid through 2012... one expects more 'ongoing support' from Jaguar than 5 years on a Nav system. Purchase price was $9,500, put additional funds in to repairs and restoration to bring it back to factory, including utilizing Jaguar dealership which was helpful, courteous, professional, and well, expensive. ALL in on vehicle to get a very high quality restored daily driver is just under $16k Years on, the car is still a daily driver. There have been a few issues with electrical systems like the passenger side automatic door lock failing and the front and rear sensors not always functioning as they should. The car still is very luxurious, although modern cars have caught up and surpassed the technology on this 2007. (13 years on, I would hope so!) Many modern cars at lower trim levels still do not have the technology this car does have. Drives like a dream, handles incredibly well for such a big car. Keep up on maintenance in order to keep yearly repair costs down, insure you are using correct oil for example. Good bit of used parts on eBay and secondary markets. Not always easy to find a Jaguar dealership unless you are in a major city.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

A beauty!

John , 07/01/2009
XJ8 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

A beautiful car inside and out. A very British look makes heads turn when you drive it. Smooth powerful engine that gets excellent gas mileage - typically 28mpg highway driving. Navi system a bit difficult to use and has a great display.

Report Abuse
Items per page: