Used 2005 Jaguar XJ-Series Sedan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$2,719 - $5,721

Used XJ-Series for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

2005 XJ8L Review

Jaguar lover, 12/06/2006
30 of 30 people found this review helpful

This is my third Jaguar and by far the best. The quality of this car is outstanding. Owning a Jag always meant you had to have a back up auto to drive when your Jag was in the shop. But, not anymore. Class, comfort, reliability and prestige you can't get from a German or Japanese mark. Four good sized adults can fit easily in this car and everyone is happy. The aluminum body, V8 and six speed transmission are light years ahead of the previous design. I love this car. If you're looking for the whole luxury package in a full sized car, check it out.

Report Abuse

Best used car value ever

nate93460, 09/04/2014
28 of 28 people found this review helpful

We purchased this car 2 years ago with just over 90k on the odometer, and couldn't be happier with it. now with over 100k on it it still looks and drives like it just rolled out of the showroom. The leather seats hardly show any wear at all, there aren't any odd squeaks or rattles, everything works exactly as it should. The only thing that may need attention in the future is the headliner, as it is pulling away from it's backing in a couple small patches around the sun visors. not really noticeable unless you look for it. Fast, smooth, nimble, outrageously comfortable, and thus far, exceedingly reliable as well.

Report Abuse

Love It

Bill, 02/17/2016
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
20 of 20 people found this review helpful

I have enjoyed it for a year so far. It has been very reliable. It has surprised me on performance and fuel mileage. City about 17 and I made a trip from Atlanta to Birmingham last summer with the A/C on and got 29.3 mpg! On the trip computer B I keep up with the oil change, but it also shows MPG. On the first 5000 mile run it averaged 21.5. Not bad for a big car. It is not a slouch either. My previous car was a Chrysler 300C with the 5.7L HEMI. Look up the specs and compare, they are the same. You can feel it too. 0-60 in 6.3. Being an all aluminum car helps too. It only weighs 3750 lbs. 300 lbs lighter than the 300C. I'm on the look out for another one, but an '08 or '09 this time. The next generation up from my '05 XJ8-L has a few additional things that I would like. Like HID headlights, Bluetooth and factory satellite radio. I'll look for a Super 8, an R or Vanden Plas this time. The Supercharged version would be very nice. I hope the next one is as good as this one.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Great old Barge

Jeremy Bell, 02/20/2018
Vanden Plas 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
18 of 18 people found this review helpful

I bought this vehicle at 123k mi / 15 years old. Its come along way down the Depreciation Curve - from $85k to $6.5k It rides extremely well - its a large comfortable car. The trick (for me) is finding a good long-term previous owner ! Many of these are on a one-way trip to a 'Buy Here/Pay Here' lot... There's an Arab saying : When buying a Camel, look closer at the Seller than the Beast. I've changed the brakes (pads and rotors ) as well as most of the suspension components. Although the body is all aluminum, it's still a large heavy car. OEM Parts are very inexpensive from aftermarket vendors, not from Jaguars Main Dealers.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

vanden plas rah rah

mike g, 07/02/2010
30 of 32 people found this review helpful

The 2005 Vanden Plas XJ8 is the autobahn beater that should be considered by anyone looking to combine luxury with size and power. Jaguar's flagship matches up with the S-Class and the 700 Series very well. Less weight (aluminum) equals speed and agility you would not expect from such a large auto. The additional costs for he German cars can only leave you wondering why would you spend more to get less? Compare the three. The car will sell itself. Tally Ho

Report Abuse

Luxury, Performance, Beauty, Value

David T., 05/18/2006
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

I've compared specs with small-block MBs, BMWs, Audis, VWs. The XJ VDP is the roomiest, best ride, highest hp/ton of them all and the best compromise between comfort and sport in the luxury vehicles. It's so quiet and comfortable, yet I can drive it aggressively whenever I need to or want. Rear knee room is huge 'cause the wheelbase is longer than even a Bentley! The riv-bonded aluminum frame is state-of-the-art, so my VDP weighs only about 200 lbs more than my 2000 Firebird. Imagine that! A limo that responds like a sports sedan. My wife loves this car for the comfort and big back seat. All this for much less than the others. This Jag is a very fine automobile.

Report Abuse

ABSOLUTELY "THE BOSS"

WARREN STEINMAN, 09/05/2016
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

I just purchased the almost Identical (2004 XJ8) car for my fiance. Market is still soft so I stole it for $2,900. It runs and looks as good as my first one. (Hers is white.) Purchased 6 months ago with 160k now has 190k. It is smooth, comfortable, quick, agile, frugal (avg hwy 27mpg @75mph). I dropped in a new radio head unit with backup camera, nav, sirius, bluetooth etc. Now it has all the bells and whistles you can get from a newer version. Car looks like new, runs like new and the best part, including the new head unit, - $3950 on the used market. It is by far the best car I have ever owned. My Cadillac SLS was a not so close 2nd. (previous cars - 3 Mercedes, 3 Caddy's , Chrysler 300, Prius + many many more.) right now it is an excellent buyers market for one of the truly superb vehicles you could own and enjoy.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Beautiful car

charlyn, 03/24/2005
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

We have had only one problem with this car, a door handle. It has been replaced, but still is not completely fixed. It works.We have had trouble with the service dept. where we purchased it. That is our biggest complaint. The car is a wonderful car. I don't think it looks as classy as Jaguar used to, but it's still distinctive.

Report Abuse

BEST VALUE in the WORLD !!!

Anthony, 07/07/2016
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

SEXY + GORGEOUS + FAST + RELIBLE !!! NOTHING BETTER as far as VALUE and I have owned and driven EVERYTHING else !!! Anthony, Temecula, SoCal

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Absolute BEST car in it's class

#1 Luxury Sedan , 06/24/2005
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

I recently bought this car after test driving a BMW 750Li, Lexus LS, and a Mercedes S500. Let me tell you, when I test drove my car (05' Vanden Plas) for the first time, it was a great feeling. The V8 is smooth yet very fast.. sounds like a cat growling when accelerating which I love! I think, if you're going to buy an XJ, you simply MUST buy the Vanden Plas. The wood and leather piping alone add SO much to the cars appearance. People do not give Jaguar enough love. This car beats out every other car in its class by far. The steering and suspension are absolutely wonderful. If feels like your floating on air. The GPS Navigation System is the easiest one I've used.

Report Abuse

In Love With A Car?

Ward, 03/22/2005
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

How do you say you're in love with your car, without being considered a bit unusual. When I was a kid in my teens I loved cars, and I've had 9 new Cads and a whole series of other autos. But, as an adult -- I LOVE THIS CAR! From the performance to the feel of the car on the road, to the admiring glances from everyone it is the best.And the carpark valets park it in front of the restaurant!

Report Abuse

Dream Coach

Allan Baker, 02/22/2006
6 of 6 people found this review helpful

Well, it's been a couple of months since I picked up this 'motor coach' -- that's right, it is not just a car, but a true 'motor coach'. Power, speed, quick feet and sure footing! I had a 2002 Mercedes S500, Sport Sedan - - no comparison! That was a mere car! This is something more! The heads turn and they stare when this motor coach is in their presence. This model is not for the shy and certainly not for the small ego! You have to have driving passion and pride to get in and out this joy!

Report Abuse

XJ8L

Timothy, 02/12/2009
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This is my second XJ8L and the body design is a blend of the lower height 2003 and front grill of the X-Type. I'm a fan of the performance. The car is very quiet and on two extended trips of 2,000+ miles I averaged 29 and 28.5 mpg respectively. Portions of the trip exceeded 30 mpg at 65 mph. The driver seats are amazingly comfortable with excellent lumbar support. As a musician, the Alpine stereo system delivers a very rich and neutral sound across the EQ spectrum, with the base being very natural, not boomy.

Report Abuse

Great car

matthew , 04/29/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

This is one great car to own. It's bizarre how I catch myself driving this car much slower than any previous car I have owned. The reason: I feel like a million bucks driving it, and want to spend as much time behind the wheel as possible.

Report Abuse

Ex-Mercedes CL600 driver

flighttest, 11/21/2005
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I have had Mercedes CLs for the past 10 years. My last one, a 2002 CL600, was in the shop more than in my garage. I decided to try the JAG. Being a retired pilot I wanted performance over comfort so I opted for the Super V8. WOW!!! What a car. Great performance along with an amazing ride. No mechanicals up to this point. Highly recommend.

Report Abuse

My favorite car EVER!!!

Daniel Chao, 07/25/2015
XJ8 L 4dr Sedan (4.2L 8cyl 6A)
13 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have the black on black xj8 L. I got some sexy 20 inch rims for it. Smoke the windows. My car is super sick. Everywhere I go everyone looks. I bought this car because of the price and what you get for it. People think you have to be a baller to drive this car. I did buy my car used with 80000 miles on it. But the conditions were immaculate. I am having some minor issues with the air suspension and I know the shocks on this car are very expensive. But I rather drive a Jaguar with this type of attitude than anything on the street for this year 2005. I have the nicest car on the block. I wish I could post a picture so you guys can see but unfortunately I can't. I highly recommend people who want this car to buy it in black or in white. Any other color will make the car look like any other car. Has to be black an exceptional white. I promise you that if you buy this car in black and smoke the windows you will be feeling like the boss of the road

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Heaven on Wheels

Ward, 03/12/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

How do you describe drivers heaven? The new Jag is an engineering marvel and it's performance leaves nothing to be desired. Road feel is exceptional, and the 4.2 V8 along with the light aluminum body give it performance second to none. I have found no defects in the car at all. And the smell of that English leather and wood are impossible to duplicate.The fringe benefit of the Jag is that the car park people at the finest restaurants leave your car out in the front to show what kind of clientele they attract. They put those ordinary German and Japaneese cars in the back.

Report Abuse

Hit the Road

Michael Roberts, 05/21/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I have owned my new XJ8-L for 6 months and have put a total of 5200 miles on it. The longest road trip was from Portland Oregon to Palm Springs California about 1100 miles on I-5 . This road trip was 15 1/2 hours with stops just for gas and food. The seats are very comfortable and the car was a dream. After driving that distance you really get to know what your driving. Most impressive besides the handling and endless accelerating power was the fuel mileage, I was averaging in the high 20's and that's at speeds between 75 and 90mph most impressive for such a large car. The car never lost power even going up the LA Grapevine. The return trip was just as much fun and in record time!

Report Abuse

super V8

chauffeurboy, 10/09/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Wow!!! This beauty pulls like a loco. Glides along like silk knickers on a highly polished bonnet.Comfy seats unlike the old model, feels like a Merc, with great handling and much improved suspension. The Sat Nav is the best I've used, just tap in the post code and away you go, and it stays with you if you alter your course, unlike others which demand you to 'U' turn. Lovin'it so far after 500 miles, and I've still got my driving licence! Luck I guess!! My only concern is the build quality, the bodywork feels a bit flimsy...a bit like a coke can..well it is made of aluminium! great for performance, but how would hold up in a smash?

Report Abuse

XJ VDP V-8

Donmoore, 11/18/2004
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Yeah, you have to be definitive when placing it in drive or it will stop in neutral. Actually, that may be a safety feature!! But, I love it and it just changes the value you equate to yourself to permit youself to drive such an automobile! Man, what a drive.

Report Abuse

Jaguar XJ8

Steven Bragg, 03/12/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My 2004 XJ8 is a quality luxury automobile which handles like a dream. It gets the best fuel economy in its class, with 18 mpg in the city and 28 mpg on the highway. It has a plush interior with leather and real wood trim, telescoping and electronic tilting steering, rain-sensing wipers, rear collision avoidance radar, electronically adjustable pedals, and many other luxury accessories and features. The styling is elegant. The over-all body length is shorter than previous models, but the wheel base is longer: giving it better handling than previous models. The weight of the vehicle is about 1,000 pounds less than previous models of XJ series, resulting in better fuel economy.

Report Abuse

The best Jaguar ever!

Eric, 03/13/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My first Jaguar was a 1997 XJ6L, bought certified pre-owned. It went to 140,000 miles before any repair problems. This new XJ8 is a better automobile in every way. It retains classic British feng shui with state-of-the art technology. I also own a Mercedes and Cadillac. The Jaguar is simply a superior automobile.

Report Abuse

Reborn Driver

David T, 03/24/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car has put the fun back in driving for me. What was a chore has become pure pleasure. I jump into my Jaguar at the slightest excuse. On the highway, you set the cruise control, settle into the pilot's seat, & luxuriate. What strikes me after driving high-end Volvos for 25 years (& a TR-6) is the quiet of the cab, the surge of power when needed, & the superb handling. And let's face it: there's no other car in the price range that has such beautiful styling. Audi, BMW, Mercedes, Lexus - especially from a 3/4 view - all look the same. I take pride in owning a classically distinctive motorcar that turns heads, esp'ly mine. Admittedly I've only owned it three months, but I'm still in love.

Report Abuse

Better than Mercedes & BMW

Carol, 09/01/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

We have owned both S SERIES Mercedes & 7 series BMW. Our 2005 long body Jaguar XJ8L is better riding, handling, more beautiful inside & out, more standard equipment than either of the above, better gas mileage, more room inside & trunk. Better warrantee, free service, free maintenance, off road service.

Report Abuse

Dream Comes True

happy girl, 10/08/2007
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

The XJ was always a car I dreamed of owning, fell in love with the wooden dash and steering wheel back in the day. I love that I have this car but it scares me. I read lots of reviews before purchasing and felt confident in purchasing the '05 XJ8L. We started hearing a creaking noise overhead; it is now in the shop having the alumunium panels reglued, how scary is that. I have been reassured that this is minor but it sounds serious. Still in love and missing my car!

Report Abuse

I Luv my Vanden Plas

gomccall, 09/25/2004
4 of 6 people found this review helpful

This sedan is without a doubt the best vehicle I have owned to date.As a former Jaguar XJ8 owner in the late nineties,and then a BMW 700 series owner, I can tell you the new Jaguar Vanden Plas is a joy to drive. I have 10k miles on it and have not had to have it serviced once.The computer assisted auto leveling air shocks perform flawlessly giving you that cushy ride without that swaying or bouncing feel.It has an extremely quite ride, in fact, it is much quieter than it's brother,the XJ8 model.I could go on and on about all the excellent features this car offers but in closing I will simply say that Jaguar finally got it right this time.

Report Abuse

I love my Jag

John, 11/10/2010
9 of 17 people found this review helpful

I have been an owner of Audi A8 and Merc CLS AMG. And I must say they both do their thing very well - separately. My AMG is wickedly fast, the A8 comfortable. But my Jag is the only car so far that does all these things well - in one handsome package. The surprise bonus is the economy; it runs more frugally than my previous A6! The aluminum frame is light and nimble, making this a fun car to drive actually. Its handling is not far off than the AMG, yet it's backseats are much more spacious. Awesome!

Report Abuse

Excellent ride surprisingly sporty

Wendy, 02/03/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Excellent ride, strong V8 and smooth transmission. More engine noise at high speed than S-class. Interior design and comfort is superb.

Report Abuse

New XJ is great

ken, 05/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is the best XJ yet. I have been a fan of Jaguars for many years. I have driven older ones from the 80's and 90's but they do not compare to the room, handling and power of the new XJ. They really have a great car especially with the new technology in the automatic suspension and the aluminum body and frame. The car is light and fast.

Report Abuse

Better than a Lexus

dj, 07/11/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We purchased an XJ8 for my wife two weeks ago and do far, I have been awed by everything about it. I wanted to purchase the new Lexus GS430, primarily based upon build quality and reliability reputation. The Lexus has nothing on the XJ8 in those areas. Plus, it has similar acceleration, a MUCH better ride, excellent handling and better MPG. So far in a combination of 50% city and 50% highway (usually at 75mph or better), it's averaging 27 MPG! I actually prefer the ergonomics of the Jag to the Lexus. In addition, our experience with the local Jaguar dealer has been on par with Lexus' vaulted reputation.

Report Abuse

My Jaguar XJ8

Richard Anapolsky, 05/07/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love the vehicle, it's look, ride and performance. The only major problem I have had is the computer system/modules. I find warning lights going on and then the dealer having problems tracing the route of the problem. Changing any of the 8 computer modules doesn't correct the problem. Hopefully the problem will be found and I will be able to enjoy my XJ8 even more. I have also not been able to find a supplier of the trailer hitch that Jaguar says is available for use with this auto. In addition producing an auto that is wired for cellular use and being told by the dealer that to activate it is $1,00- is ridiculous. Jaguar should price the activation to be affordable.

Report Abuse

If you like Jags

xjr, 02/13/2007
1 of 11 people found this review helpful

Folks I am 6'2 220lbs, if you have my dimensions don't buy - you will always be uncomfortable in the bucket seats. The car has a very attractive exterior, and the engine will blow anything away in its class, but lets face it folks this is a super ford, and everyone knows it. Remember folks if you drive, and spend time in the car, prepare to hire a massage therapist for your back and thighs. I can't wait to sell the damn car. Just my thoughts.

Report Abuse

IAM SOLD

Ronnie, 08/17/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Iam sold to Jaguar for now on. I first walked into the dealership telling myself that I wanted to purchase an S-Type but I took one look at the XJ and completely changed my mind. The take off is awesome. Its way faster than my Mercedes S430. I love the low sports car feeling when I sit down in the front seats. The car gives you a low feeling with high doors and a high center counsel. The wood and leather are top notch and I love the carpet feeling of the headliner and pillars instead of that cheap threaded cloth that Mercedes uses. Jaguar also updated this car with more hightech gadgets but didnt overdo it like BMW and Audi.

Report Abuse

Best car I've owned

Jim, 01/05/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The XJ8L is probably the best automobile I have owned. Just drove it from Chicago to upstate NY and achieved almost 30 MPG! The ride was great and engine performance excellent. The interior is luxurious and spacious for road trips. After owning two Mercedes Benz E series, I think I've found a winner!

Report Abuse

Classy and Quick

Dan Derrick, 01/10/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The Jaguar is a bit of a paradox. Folks look at the classic Jaguar appearance and make assumptions, but this aluminum XJ is light, quick and responsive. The car handles well, and is comfortable. The cabin has plenty of space, but it also retains a warmth and coziness that is unique to Jaguar

Report Abuse

cortez , 10/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this jaguar will give more bang for your buck. comfort, performance,great warrenty, you just can't beat it!

Report Abuse

Jaguar vaden plas review

victor j palmucci, 10/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car no complaints

Report Abuse

Great Car

JagLovR, 11/03/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Use this car as both a weekend car and my driver takes me to work in it during the week. Great features, lovely woodwork. SUPER FAST SuperV8! SATNav EASY TO USE! Comftorable Ride! After owning XKR's I know Jags to be well built machines. I have no doubt my SuperV8 will be!

Report Abuse

Jaguar 2005

Jakrufus, 11/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful car with very few faults, in fact it was delivered with none

Report Abuse

XJ8

Stanley Langbein, 12/18/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's good, the car is very fine, it's fun to drive, and accelerates very smoothly.

Report Abuse

Awesome Automobile

pjl275, 12/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is one excellent machine. I cannot believe the power and smoothness of the engine and the ride comfort. I paid less than $47k (left over '04) for a car that rivals the "S" Class and 7 Series. You cannot find a more elegant, distinguished car for the price. It really turns heads. I am having a tough time leaving it in parking lots and have yet to use it in the rain. Would not bother with the XJR, 294hp for a 3700lb car is over kill. So far averaging about 20mpg which is impressive for this type of car. Workmanship is top notch. Interior style will make any other car look like a coal bin. For less than the price of 5 Series or an A6, go find a deal on a Jag. You'll love it.

Report Abuse

One of the Best Cars I Have Owned

Tom, Boca Raton FL, 12/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After owning a Lexus and BMW, I decided to buy a Jaguar - VDP. Excellent car in styling, comfort, reliablility, handling and dealer service. In a Class of Its Own, The German & Japanese cars cannot compare.

Report Abuse

2005 XJ8

Chris, 01/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have owned numerous luxury sedans (including other Jaguars), and this one certainly ranks near the top. It is "tight," quiet and responsive. The ride is smooth, although not "floaty." The interior is comfortable, and the seats conform well to my body. Having a rather long daily commute, I have already clocked approximately 12,000 miles. The only repair that I have had thus far was due to loose trim in the trunk.

Report Abuse

Third Time is the Charm

Dr J Rapp, 03/09/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Three weeks ago I took delivery of My XJ8. I had previously owned a 2002 X type which was so poorly built it made me (a grown man) want to cry. I then was foolish enough to go for an 04 X type on the word of the dealer that the car had been radically improved, which it was, but still shy of acceptable for a "premium" automobile, even an entry level one.I managed to convince myself that I had bought the wrong Jag and traded the X for a very svelt looking new XJ in Midnight Metalic Black. All I can say is that the XJ is a truely wonderful automobile in all respects. Day by day it continues to surprise me with it's comfort, cat like agility, outright speed and overall grace.

Report Abuse

jaguar KJ8

R. Anapolsky, 03/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is a wonderful automobile to drive. I can say without question it is the best auto that I have owned and driven in my nearly 50 years of driving.

Report Abuse

I'm a believer

DrJRapp, 03/24/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After having two X Type Jaguars which I found to be nothing special, I took the plung and bought the big cat. I'm so glad I did, this is without a doubt the best car I've ever owned. Each day I discover new things to love about it. Most amazingly, it's big and it's quick and still gives me 22 MPG average (and I'm not a light foot).

Report Abuse

My XJ-8

Sumner, 04/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car to drive... lots of gadgets, can be confusing. Bucket seats could be more comfortable. Excellent fuel mileage, up tp 32 mpg. Superior exterior finsh. Very steady at high rates of speed and difficult to stay within speed limit.

Report Abuse

My XJ-8

Sumner, 04/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Great car to drive... lots of gadgets, can be confusing. Bucket seats could be more comfortable. Excellent fuel mileage, up tp 32 mpg. Superior exterior finish. Very steady at high rates of speed and difficult to stay within speed limit.

Report Abuse

My XJ-8

Sumner, 04/22/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

great car to drive... lots of gadgets, can be confusing. Bucket seats could be more comfortable. Excellent fuel mileage, up tp 32 mpg. Superior exterior finsh. Very steady at high rates of speed and difficult to stay within speed limit.

Report Abuse

My XJ8

Ed Piccolino, 05/11/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

A remarkable combination of agile performance, but not at the sacrifice of a very comfortable ride -- up to now, an impossible combination.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050