Used 1999 Hyundai Accent Hatchback Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$777 - $1,831

Used Accent for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Hyundai is Reliable!!!

eddie1700, 09/08/2014
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

Hello, I just felt impelled to write a review of this car. It is a Hyundai accent 1999, it is a little reliable rider I'’ve seen plenty of friends with BMW's and Fords all go down before my ride. I take regular maintenance serious and this car has not let me down. Currently has 150,000 plus miles and I keep track of mileage with highway and city driving I still average 35mpg its amazing; very efficient. It might not be the most attractive ride out there but makes up for it in swag points that' for sure. Plenty of room in the interior for hauling basics, and again its reliability is incredible.

Report Abuse

10th Birthday and still going strong!

mweinmann, 06/26/2009
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car in 2000 when it was one year old. I was looking for an economical, dependable car. This little gem has exceeded all of my expectations. I fit an unbelievable amount of stuff in the back....it is so much larger than it looks from the outside. My fuel bills are less than anyone that I know.....it drives great in snow....and the best part is that I have had to put so little $$$$ in this car!! At ten years old, it is still going strong. Best value I have ever had.

Report Abuse

Excellent first car

exonite, 08/24/2013
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

really reliably,economical and fun to drive car.it's been almost 14 years now and it's still handy and without any major problems

Report Abuse

Cool little car.

Brian Sherman, 10/04/2002
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Absolutly love my 19990Accent. Nice tight suspension around corners, very zippy 5 speed and very comfortable. Did I mention the awesome gas mileage? Recommend!

Report Abuse

Hyundai Accident, it runs...

Senaelen, 05/15/2009
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

I purchased this car for my brother, all it had wrong with it when we bought it was an exhaust leak. He didn't fix it because he's a butthead. but, this would appear to be a hyundai thing - if you're buying this car, check to make sure youre exhaust manifold and pipe were replaced, they rot out from the front onward! also check to make sure your alternator was replaced, and for the love of god, change the transmission fluid. This car has run into a lot of manufacturer problems starting with the schematics from hyundai listing the wrong wire colors. The overdrive switch on the shifter console has wires inside of it that break over time with the shifter moving. Be careful if you buy this car!

Report Abuse

Not A Lemon But

Bobby Perry, 06/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

After three years, car began to drive like a Sherman Tank. Bad suspension. Went to dealer and was told it was normal. Became normal after 3 years. Had another that drive comfortably for 11 yrs without delcine in suspension performance.

Report Abuse

Excellent Hyundai

Albert Rockford, 08/02/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Absolutely no complaint's whatsoever, just an amazing car!

Report Abuse

My first Hyundai...

rocket88, 10/01/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In '99 I bought the Accent just for commuting to work. It's got 40,000 miles on it now and I've had no problems whatsoever. Oh, wait, a headlight went out at 30,000 miles and the wiper blades need replacing. Gets 35mpg at mostly between 75-80. I've changed the oil 14 times myself and had the dealer do the 15K and the 30K mile service. Even the little 13 inch tires are still servicible, but have always been awful in the rain. Overall I think I got a great deal at $6995 and if the next 40,000 miles are like the first., I might just buy another one.

Report Abuse

The Best Kept Secret in the Auto World

David V. White, 11/26/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I consider the Hyundai Accent to be an exceptional value compared to similar sized economy vehicles, such as the Nissan Sentra or Ford Escort. It came with a 10-year manufacturer warranty that transfers as a 5-year warranty on resale. It is roomy for passengers, with ample rear seat leg room. The rear seats fold down to give plenty of cargo space. In three years, the car had no mechanical problems whatsoever. My only complaint was a pesky "Check Engine" warning light that came on twice for no apparent reason.

Report Abuse

car

klpzack, 01/09/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Actually I was in an accident a few days ago and the insurance company wants to total out my car. I am having a hard time finding a good site to get an idea of a ballpark figure to accept as an offer. My car was very reliable. I had it serviced regularly. The tires are 4 months old. It was a fun little car. I have 2 small children and even being a compact, it was fairly convenient. I felt safer with the dual airbags.

Report Abuse

2,351 dollars including tax anad tags

TrogdoR!, 09/25/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I just bought this car 3 days ago so I know i can't really say anything about reliability but for having only a 92 hp engine this car flys. I bought it for 2,351 dollars including taxes and tags it has 75,000 miles on it has no leaks oil and transmission both look good clutch is nice and firm the outside of the car is still shinny and the inside is clean as ever for my third car id have to say i enjoy this the most.

Report Abuse

Cheap wheels, great commuter car

cjkip, 12/22/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I needed an affordable car when I got a new job requiring 100 commuting miles per day. 100% reliable, cheap transportation. LOVE the cargo room for such a small car - you wouldn't believe what I have fit into it - my friends didn't! Only complaint before 100k miles was pretty bad paint chipping from the front bumper. After 100,000, small things began to break like a plastic holder for the cargo shield, but easily replaced. Have put a little money into it, but not much, for timing belt, oxygen sensor, exhaust pipe. Still going strong at 116k. A great little car so far and still reliable.

Report Abuse

cheapest and nicest car i ever bought

niceDave, 10/12/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This car gets great gas mileage and is fun and easy to drive.

Report Abuse

FUN TO DRIVE

KDNGIRL, 01/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought 1 year ago in the worst Alberta weather and it started no problem. It handles great on the snow and ice. A simple basic car for transportation. Good fuel economy. Very little engine noise for a car at this price.

Report Abuse

Great first car

Brandon G. from CA, 01/20/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Ya, I'm 16 and I got my accent about 6 months ago and it has been great. It's not the fastest car in the world but it's still fun to drive.Also it's small size helps a lot with parking. It seems like a very reliable car and I'd recommend it.

Report Abuse

Lot of Car for the money

akasurf, 08/10/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Since purchasing my Accent in 1999, it has served me well! I replaced a Toyota that was 17 years old. I was a bit nervous about purchasing the Accent at first. But since owning this car I am sold on them! This car is every bit as good as my Toyota. It use to take me 60 miles to work and home again. Never skipping a beat, never letting me down! I offen recommand a Hyundai to my friends, and several have purchase them.

Report Abuse

99 Accent

Allison, 08/15/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought the car with 10300 km's on it for $4400 in Canada. The hub caps rusted very easily and needed to be replaced almost right away. The car is small and comfy, but if you're a tall person I don't recommend this car.

Report Abuse

1999 Hyundai Accent

robert rascon, 11/18/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Very good back and forth to work 120 miles per day.

Report Abuse

Great first car!!

Anuj, 03/14/2008
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought a 2nd owner Accent with 54K on it. I needed to for college and moving around the city. I used to drive it for more than 20 miles a day for 7 months and never and I repeat never did it malfunction. About an year now and I did not have to visit the mechanic once, sparing the routing emission test. To my surprise, the engine cranked to a start after more than 45 days in the cold. The pickup is not great, nor does it have a power steering, but it is simply awesome for the price. Go get one in a decent condition, you will not regret it..

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050