Used 2015 Honda Civic Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$10,399 - $16,480

Used Civic for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Choices

askabry1, 05/23/2015
EX-L 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
24 of 24 people found this review helpful

I'm a long time Honda fan, returning to the fold. End of the day, there are STILL no free lunches. When you look at the Accord EX-L and the Civic EX-L, you will simply give up speed and size to gain MPG and dollars. Fit and finish of materials are good. The array of technological controls are mind-boggling; if that is cool to you, at this price point I can't see where you'd do better. Bottom line, is the juice worth the squeeze? All in (no games on trade-ins), Accord EX-L w/4cyl, $10,400 for three years of lease ownership. The Civic is $8600, plus 10-12% savings in gas/ins. Hard to justify it.

Report Abuse

So Happy!

supermars24, 04/19/2015
LX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
12 of 13 people found this review helpful

My previous car, a Nissan Altima, was a disappointment and had over a 100,000 miles that worried me when I first brought it back in 2010. Over the years, I had to constantly do repairs on it, such as power steering replacement; new alternator belt; new power plug; the bottom replaced (the plastic cover); and headlights replaced. I was so scared that I would have to spend more than I decided to look into a new car. I've been waffling between the Toyota Corolla and this. I heard that the Corollas have been about less than average because of transmission and reliability, so I test drove the Civic and been a happy customer ever since! I am so happy with this car, you have no idea! You don't!

Report Abuse

Funky styling to stand out

Paul B., 12/15/2015
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

I love this little coupe but I would definitely save the money and go for the new 2016 coupe. I have two complaints with the car. Getting in and out is a hassle as the doors open very wide, but that comes with the territory of a coupe. The CVT isn't a favorite transmission. It is constantly hunting for a good RPM to keep speed and jerks like a normal automatic transmission. It becomes very annoying on the highway with cruise control on. The touchscreen is clear and easy to use and I love the Passenger side LaneWatch camera. My Civic has been very reliable, coming from a very unreliable 2014 Dodge Dart. I will own this car for a few more years before I trade up to a new Civic SI or an Accord Sport. Update: I sold my 2015 Civic for a 2016 Civic sedan in March of 2016. I wish I would have kept my 2015 though. The 2016 doesn't have the reliability that the 2015 had, but has more features...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Another great Honda Product

everett melnick, 04/11/2016
LX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 11 people found this review helpful

I have been buying & driving Honda's since the early 90's. Most of them are still on the road. Instead of trading them in, we have been giving them to our children & grandchildren. We have already given this Civic to our son & are looking to replace it with a new Pilot. In addition to fine automobiles, we also have Honda lawnmower's & Generator's. Other than a rare recall, I've never had to return to my dealer for any unscheduled repair. That is the best recommendation for a car regardless of its price.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Overall, a great daily driver

civicpilot1, 05/01/2015
LX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

Recently bought a 2015 Civic LX sedan with the 5 speed manual transmission, which I think is the best combination for a daily commuter car. To date, my gas mileage has averaged 37mpg doing about a 40 / 60 mix of city and highway driving. The manual transmission also makes the best of the 1.8R engines meager power band. When searching for a new car, I also looked at the Mazda3, Ford Focus, Toyota Corolla, and the Kia Forte. I felt the Civic had the best balance of features of all of them, the dealer giving me a competitive price of $16,250 cinched the deal. I did like the Mazda and the Ford's more fun to drive characteristics, but the Honda felt like a better built car. **Update**. After 1 year of ownership, average gas mileage has improved to 38 - 39 mpg, best freeway only gas mileage has been 42.5mpg. Still wish the car had at least another 30 hp and torque.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Spaceship Civic...

gregrnel, 04/20/2015
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

So, when reviewing a vehicle, I believe you need to put it in the context of the car before it. Well, here it is kids, I am one of the very, very, very few that went from an S197 Mustang GT to a Civic. Yes, you read that right...a Mustang GT. I've owned Hondas in the past, but not for a while. This car is an absolute thrill to drive, why? It's slow, it gets 38MPG on the highway, It has all the cams, moonroof, it's comfy, very smooth ride and the tech is outstanding. Basically, this makes the 'Stang seem Flintstone-ish. Sure the 'Stang is fast as hell, but the Civic is way more advanced. Wish I could keep them both, but my old back is not going to miss that Mustang clutch. My wife just got the 2017 Civic hatchback with the 1.5 turbo, an absolute blast to drive. I'll be turning this one in for the turbo next year.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sporty ride

Tim Johnson, 06/18/2016
LX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This is a great car for the price. It's sporty and fun to drive. If you have children or are going to be driving other people around you probably want to consider the 4 - door.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Another Honda

Joseph Fabian, 08/14/2015
LX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl 5M)
8 of 11 people found this review helpful

Was torn between Civic LX & Mazda3. But, with only 2 Mazda dealers in state, I opted for Civic with 3 dealers in Town. Front seat side bolsters are very firm and I find them uncomfortable after a while of driving. Plan on putting seat covers on with seat bottom cushion to ease the pressure of these. ALSO, why does Honda have to put the roughest material they can find on the armrest? It's like sandpaper to my poor elbows. It's like this in my 2009 CRV also. Had to find covers for the armrest to make comfortable. It is definately not a luxury car. I was looking for the lowest price high gas mileage car that I could find that was still enjoyable to drive and the Civic LX fits the bill. Shifts Great (5 Speed Manual) and handling is sporty. Overall, I'm very happy with the car, with Honda overall, and our closest dealer. Compared Civic with Mazda3, Toyota Corolla, Nissan Sentra & Versa.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Want my 2013 back

Steve, 09/22/2015
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

I traded in a 2013 EX Coupe for a 2015 because i liked the looks of the refresh. However after having the 15 for 5 months i kinda wish i had kept the 13. The 2015 has more horse power, and yet i have to smash the accelerator to the floor to get it to take off from a stop light at an acceptable speed. When i apply the breaks they pop loudly. Have no idea what that's all about. My drivers side power window makes all sorts of noise when rolling down. These are probably small issues, but i didnt have them with the 13. Plus side is it is a beautiful car, glossy black with much nicer looking wheels than the 13. Very sporty looking. It was worth the money . If you don't mind some of the little quirks it has.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Nice to be back in a Honda

Rick S., 10/13/2015
EX 2dr Coupe (1.8L 4cyl CVT)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

After 25 Years of driving mostly Toyotas, I thought I would give a Honda a try again. Our "weekend " car is a very nice Lexus ES 350, so I drive my new Civic Coupe almost every day. I am very pleased with the fit and finish on this car, and like most Honda's, it is mostly fun to drive. I found the CVT to be a pleasant surprise, as my experience with them on rental cars was not good. They always seemed to be sluggish, but not so with this little Honda. Looks like they got it right with this car. My only gripe with the car is with the infotainment system. Being a very tech savvy person, I thought it would be easy to figure out, but I have found myself going to the owner's manual more than I would like. That said, this a great little car, and I look forward to many pleasant years of ownership.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
12
Items per page:
51050