List Price Range
$23,995 - $33,995

Used F-450 Super Duty for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Found On the Road Dead

badbadford, 01/26/2012
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
29 of 31 people found this review helpful

I bought this when my 2005 f 350 blue its motor the third time while stuck in Wyoming with six horses and a family in a motel, the 2008 got me home but over the last three years it broke down seven times, four radiators, two turbos an engine and now another break down and a new engine, now its 2000 miles out of extended warranty. It is unreliable, poorly built and only a fool would recommend it, the ones that do have never used it for long hauls or extensive ranch work which is what it was built to do.....FORD found on the road dead how true is that. Ford should be ashamed to sell this crap and a class action suit should be had. 29 repair items this time around....

Report Abuse

Probably worst mistake in my life

Yuri, 10/30/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
18 of 19 people found this review helpful

Since 11/07, truck has been in shop 7-8 times. Last time it had the entire head replaced; took about 30 days. Absolutely NO POWER to this date. Also have an 08 GMC 2500 Duramax, blows this Ford out of water with power. I am sad to find all these posts as I am doing research tonight on my new truck- 2009 Sierra 3500. Will be at GMC tomorrow getting trade-in appraisal for it. I do excavating so I am daily towing 10-12k trailer w/ either a mini-ex or skid-steer. Absolutely a dog in power. Took to Ford dealer several times, they say it's fine. Get literally 7-8 mpg avg. GMC gets 11-12 towing same exact load w/ tons more power. If you love yourself, PLEASE do not buy this truck.

Report Abuse

Another one bites the dust

seehorse, 11/01/2012
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
31 of 36 people found this review helpful

I bought it in Texas thanks to a blown head gasket on my 05 F350 that left me stranded (5th time) and I had to get my 40' trailer to NM by the next day. Since the repair would have been a 3 day event I bought the 08 F450 off the dealer's lot. At first all was well, the truck pulled better than the 350 and it ran perfectly. It was trouble free for the first 4 years I owned it aside from it's abysmal fuel efficiency (6 MPG towing, the older 350 averaged around 10 with the same trailer). Then, things started to happen. A sensor crippled the truck. Repair. A turbo blew. Repair. Oil leak. Repair. DPE failure leading to blown engine. Currently broken, 66k and 10 days out of warranty.

Report Abuse

Defective 6.4L Engine life expectancy = 100,000

Laura, 12/31/2016
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

After my last review (below) and after investing $20,000 for a new engine and being refused a better warranty then the 2 year warranty they gave us, the truck had another $3500 repair, 8 days after the 2 year warranty was up, and would not honor the warranty. Penske, the dealer, did cut the cost in 1/2..probably because they felt sorry for us after benefiting from so many repairs made to the truck. Ford, on the other hand, makes sure you can not reach a real person with real authority. I planned to take Ford to small claims, but we sold the truck instead and I decided I didn't want any more stress or grief trying to get Ford's attention. My husband & I were Ford truck "believers" for many years until 2016! From our past experience, we expected our 2008 F450 diesel (with the 6.4L engine), to take us into retirement and beyond until the engine blew up this year, with just over 100,000 miles! $18,455.66 later (this doesn't count the $7600 repair one year ago), and a lousy 2 year warranty on the new (same defective engine), we found out that this engine is "expected" to fail around 100,000 miles making it the worst engine in the Ford truck line. (Our 1999 F350 is still on the road at 250,000+ miles!) I tried to contact Ford's customer service (which is really their customer dis-service as the one answering the phone only has a first name and no boss to appeal to). My expectation was to get a reasonable 10 year/100,000 mile warranty on the new engine instead of a crappy 2 year warranty (which is equivalent to a 30,000 mile warranty). The mechanics told us they could bullet proof the replacement engine, after the 2 year warranty expired, for about $8000! My question is, why isn't the replacement engine "bullet proofed" already? What was once a great company with integrity has been replaced by fraud and failure. I am embarrassed to be driving a Ford after my humble retirement account has been robbed of $20,000.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Piece of junk Stay away dont buy

snowkartracer, 07/30/2012
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
15 of 17 people found this review helpful

Purchased truck early 07 when first came out I know have 128k miles . truck has spent a lot of time at dealer . many items broke main things are rear end . rear springs. trailer wiring .engine blew @ 106 k .3 radiators. air conditioner panel. replaced coolant hoses. replaced temp stat. new turbo and hoses replaced. many other little stuff . Its always fighting with ford they are not real customer helpful there never wanting to stand up to there piece of junk I will never purchase ford again Stay away don't buy

Report Abuse

F450 nothing but trouble

f550owner, 03/17/2012
XL 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
19 of 23 people found this review helpful

Replaced 3 radiators, one at 17k, then at 34k then at 75k, and then a new engine. Fought with Ford, and wound up hiring a lemon lawyer and received a settlement of 20k, 5k to the lawyer, 15k for a used rebuilt engine, plus a 6 month delay while i maintained payments of nearly $900 a month. I settled, but others should get their money back, i would love to hear from others who may have had success in getting or receiving a settlement. Note: i have 104,000 miles and was out of warranty, they told me to pound sand

Report Abuse

hunk of junk that looks good!!

hans, 10/06/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

@ 10770 miles turbo went bad enigne noise, turbo noise over heating all sort of problems, @ 13500 engine rebuilt , engine noise, turbo leak, overheating!! @ 13700 miles radiator replaced. @ 16600 miles date 10/01/09 vehicle in shop AGAIN! turbo leak, temp gauge problem, radiator leak, smell of oil in cabin, engine oil leak. ford refuse to replace the vehicle. just a nightmare. DO NOT BUY THIS TRUCK!

Report Abuse

Pulls well, but can't pass a gas station

gistmarrs, 04/21/2009
XL 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I've got just over 20,000 miles. The fuel mileage is pathetic at 8.4 mpg average (about 7 towing and 9.5 not). It's been in the shop to many times to count. 3 radiators, water pump, idler pulleys, thermistats, wheel bearing, etc. It ruined our last vacation by being stranded in a tiny desert town for several days.

Report Abuse

You've Got to Be Kidding

Ex chevy owner, 08/18/2009
XLT 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

63K miles - 4th time in the shop for major repair. Latest adventure 1 week to replace fuel pump, WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU HAVE TO REMOVE THE CAB TO GET TO IT? This truck was not designed to be maintained. Change fuel filter every other oil change ($$$$). Regular tire shops cannot change or rotate tires (???). This truck is not one of Ford's better ideas.

Report Abuse

Re-Review, I have a change of mind...

85punkrock, 10/08/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

I had originally reviewed this truck well over a year ago. Since that time I've had the rad replaced twice and then a loss of power problem. Ford replaced the fuel pump, but that didn't fix the problem. After 6 months of back and forth they finally figured out it was the high pressure pump. Towing a 18K lb trailer was a challenge on a recent trip when the truck kept losing power. Thankfully they finally fixed it! I have to admit, Ford did help out in the way of giving me a rental vehicle and covering everything under the Powertrain warranty. But would I buy another one? Nah. Should have gone for one of those Freightliners!

Report Abuse

DO NOT BUY !!!

bryan , 12/12/2009
XLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This truck is junk! The truck is in the shop more than its on the road. My dealer has been excellent but the truck is not! When you go to the dealer their shop is field with 6.4 trucks. I have been a Ford guy my whole life but not any more. Dodge here I come

Report Abuse

Junk

BoughtmylastFord, 11/18/2009
XLT 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Very unhappy with this truck, its allways broke down & in the shop, turbo, engine block, numerous sensors. Sensors that only cost $ 50 and Ford doesn't have any in stock in Canada, hence the truck is out of service for a week. Had at least 10 serious breakdowns. Ford should be buying these back.

Report Abuse

More Junk

Charlie, 10/11/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

When it works it is a good truck. In '07 hauling horses and 40 footer it stranded us on the road in Oklahoma. Two weeks, two dealers later it was supposedly fixed. Broke again on the way home. Right now it is in shop in North Carolina. Stranded again on road in Nebraska. Fixed then broke again in NC. Replace injector 1 three times, and elect module once. This truck has been towed to shop four times. When we get it back .... sold.

Report Abuse

Love Hate Relationship

Horse Show Hubby, 10/22/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought the King Ranch and love the interior. The stereo and nav system are great and I also like the braking. The heating system is excellent and love those heated seats. Really like the low noise diesel engine. Power loss on hills while towing is to be expected but not to s only 11,000 miles on it, I still only get 7mpg hauling and 9.5 in town. 488 gearing robs the mpg. Truck has been takien to the dealer's numerous times because it doesn't feel or sound as though it's running correctly. I'm always told it's fine. I'm waiting for the big "Kaboom!" The governor's got to go and the exhaust system needs a complete over haul.

Report Abuse

Dont Let Ford Keep Doing This

Sharon, 04/11/2008
XLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Ford decided not to honor their warranty because the truck had been abused... Even though all the proper paper work was given to them of all the oil changes. The engineer would not accept that the oil and filter had in fact been changed. All this goes back to the engine.. Smoking and over heating from the beginning. Apparently the fix did not fix it. Any one else having problems with Ford over warranty issues? I guess they will have it towed back to my house.. (another $400 for towing) unless I let them fix it for $5,000 dollars, and there is no way unless the money falls down from the sky!

Report Abuse

Great truck except for the engine. Got rid of it!!

Dee Danner, 07/11/2016
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

After having multiple check engine lights come on while driving on the Interstate, I've had it. Contacted Premier Diesel and Auto in Mansfield TX who told me this 6.4 engine is horrible. They advised me to sell or trade it. The engine was made by International not Ford. They said the engines just "blow up" and they have multiple trucks sitting on their property that need new 6.4 engines. Just bought the truck used in February and having to take a loss to trade it in. Wish I knew then what I know now.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Sweet horse hauler

DGP, 05/22/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

Have 17,500 and love the truck. Interior is beautiful and convenient. Can ride for days and feel fresh. Pulling a 40 ft horse trailer with 8- 10 horses. Have no problem with power. Gas mileage is where I expected it. 10 to 15 mpg hauling 14 to 17 off hook. Notice a big difference in mpg from 55 to 65. No problems so far. Prior truck was gmc 3500. No comparison.

Report Abuse

My last F-450 review... it's DEAD! re-re-review

peacepunk, 02/02/2011
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
14 of 28 people found this review helpful

This is my last update on our 2008 F-450. I no longer wish to own this vehicle. Do not buy a 2008, it will leave you broke! As I was driving my kids home after their karate practice, we noticed a strange clicking sound coming from the engine. The sound kept getting louder and louder so I was attempting to find a safe place to pull over in the middle of no where. Too late. The truck just suddenly shut off. I was told by our Ford service department today that we need a new engine. Cost: $16,000 or the other "cheaper" option is a partial rebuild at $14,000. "Internal problem" is their diagnosis. So dissapointed in a truck I used to love.

Report Abuse

tough trucks

ford104, 06/07/2012
XL 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

I hear alot of discussion on the 2008 ford f-450 and a few reviews stated that they had some serious problems with thier vehicles well i work for a company that operates mostly ford vehicles some chevys too.we use these trucks for dump trucks and heavy haul such as excavators backhoes etc and the ford has really outdone the chevrolet in terms of quality and power the ford responds better in the steering and even acceleration we put these trucks through some of the worst conditions there are and have not had a problem with the trucks at all i had one turbo go out thats it so for those of you who need a powerfull trck for towing and hauling heavy loads thr ford is the truck to buy

Report Abuse

Yes and No!

Denise, 12/19/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I traded up from a 2000 F350 with 50,000 miles. The 08 F450 is a much better riding, and driving truck and the King Ranch package can't be beat. It definitely has more power then the 2000, and the suspension is amazing - I have a Lance 1181 camper that's 4000lbs dry weight in the bed and the truck hardly sits down with it on there. But here's the no! with only 5500 miles on the truck and easy hauling it has been in the shop for more than six weeks with transmission problems, over heating issues and now it's starting to chug and act "weird" intermittently. Boy, I hope I haven't just given up reliability for comfort!

Report Abuse

Outstanding Family Truck

John, 03/09/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

We have the King cab and have people looking at it, asking all kinds of questions and commenting on its good looks every week. The truck is a super hauler, looks great, fun to drive (Wife claims its her's) and is a perfect combination with our 40' toy hauler.

Report Abuse

a real expensive piece of junk!

ty butler, 06/23/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had all of fords diesels and this one is absolutely the worst. Been in shop 13 times and has to go again. Radiator blown, egr valves clogged many times, and this regeneration is a joke. DO NOT buy this truck, just throw 50k out your window!

Report Abuse

dont buy one

Breaking me, 08/05/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have had my truck for 12 months, it has been in the shop 16 times for a little over 180 days but ford will not buy back! one problem after another. currently if has been in the shop for over 30 days,last week they where test driving it before calling me to pick it up after 3 weeks in and it sucked a valve on the test drive. They cant even keep it running long enough to give it back to me from the previous repair.

Report Abuse

Not a real super duty

chris garland, 02/29/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am a car hauler. my max weight is 20,000 lb. I have 19,000 (5 months ) miles on the truck with 3 week in the shop for repairs on the cooling system. It has been hard to do business with kind of preformance.

Report Abuse

Towing 40 foot toy hauler

esetter3391, 09/05/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased my 2008 F450 on a Tuesday, had the 5th wheel installed on Wednesday and left for the Florida Keys on Friday with 450 miles on the truck. We pulled the 40 foot toy hauler with 3 Harleys in the back, estimated 18,500 pounds and had no problems running in the tow haul mode. Great truck, but it does like a gallon of fuel. We averaged around 7.3 MPG on the trip of about 3,000 miles. My truck has 4.88 gears and turns about 2500 RPM at 65 miles per hour. We ran with the cruise on 70 most of the time. the truck now has about 8,000 miles on it and we love the truck except the mileage. We get about 11.5 MPG around town.

Report Abuse

In the shop again

toran, 03/15/2008
XLT 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In January of 08 I bought an F450 for hauling cars. The first thing I noticed was that I was getting around 6.6-5.0 mileage while towing! My best friend has 07 Dodge & a Chevy and he's getting around 8-10. The next thing is after putting 10,000 miles on it it's been in the shop 2 different times for egr values and a busted radiator! I have 4.10 gears in it I'm looking to swap them out for some 3.73's to get better mileage, if I can get the thing out of the shop!

Report Abuse

Junk

Bill, 03/20/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

14750 miles and 34 days in for repair - ABS problems, cooling problem, loss of power, light bulbs falling out, hub caps falling off, can only use 33 gallons max of the 38 gal tank, 5.1 MPG towing 10,000lbs, 80MPH max speed.. This vehicle has to be the worst I have ever had experience with. I used to put 100,000 mi/yr on F350s and if I was still towing like I was then I would be out of business. Now because of 5MPG towing and 8.5 empty, I can't afford to drive it. On top of it all, Ford will not stand behind it and I am out of luck..

Report Abuse

Ford should get a new motor manufacturer!!

TMT Enterprise cop, 11/14/2018
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am 54 years old and had over 60 Ford trucks all which were diesels from the great 7.3 to the poor 6.0 the 6.4 ex Ford this message is for you you need to really consider the powerstroke manufacturer is junk you need to change your manufacturer of your engines from a contractor that uses heavy trucks and buys a new trucks every year up to 10.. you have given me no other choice but to go with the Dodge have tested all of the diesel trucks out there and iam buying 10 Dodge duallys you do the math I have 14 trucks in the shop as I am writing this that is ridiculous you need to read some of this and do a change I now am a Dodge company note I have tried to sell these trucks all right the Dodge dealership does not want to take these in on trades amazing that a company at your size will not do something about this since the 6.0 bring back the bullet 7 .3 very dish happy old Ford customer...

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

The Best I Ever Owned !!!!

Carlos, 03/15/2009
XLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Love my truck, Job 1, Have had it for almost two years and only minor issue, Radiator leaked, Dealer fixed right away. I tow Horses and 5th wheel up to Utah & Northern New Mexico and Colorado with no problems. Love to pass those Chevy's and Dodge's.I love to drive this truck. Pulls better than my 99, 01,(7.3's) 07,(6.0) f-350's I use to have. Mileage could be better but getting better as the motor breaks in. To date getting 14.5 off the hook and 12 on it, Use synthetics and getting better. But this thing is made for pulling and thats what I do with it. If you want a truck to haul Groceries dont buy this truck! if you need to pull loads all the time this is the TRUCK! Overall love this Truck

Report Abuse

Early F-450 Review

horse56, 03/06/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

First few days of ownership. Overall fit and finish: excellent. Rides amazingly well even without load. Super-quiet, comfortable interior (King Ranch). Complicated, but very capable nav system. A dream to drive with great acceleration (for an 8700# truck), excellent cornering (incredible turn radius). Prefer over the Duramax GMC.

Report Abuse

Good tow unit

nwbucs, 04/18/2011
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
2 of 7 people found this review helpful

I purchased truck about 1 year ago and have not had any problems to date. I have a 38 ft fifth wheel that weighs about 14 K and this truck pulls without effort. We took a trip over Blewett pass and it was like there was no trailer behind me. Keep up with the usual maintenance-oil changes and fuel filters every other oil change. I have owned 4 super duties and this is by far the best.

Report Abuse

The best truck you'll find!

DSpurr, 12/21/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

For the people that want a real truck this Ford F-450 is the one for you. The power this ford has is unbelievable, easy to drive, comfortable, you can sit in this truck for 14 hours and feel like you're ready to go again. Looks like a truck and drives like a car. I can haul a full load of horses in a live in trailer and not even know its behind me. For all you people that talk about the truck being too big buy a smaller one.

Report Abuse

A few hiccups but overall AWESOME

Paul, 05/08/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I use this truck every day to tow various trailers for work and pleasure. From a 6 ton travel trailer to 2 jet skis on a trailer, towing is simply amazing. I had the same radiator problems everyone else seems to have had but mine was fixed in a day at the dealer. Perimeter lights on the bed fell out constantly but those too were fixed and have been ok since then. The 80mph governor was a surprise but I read it has to do with the stock tires. It has been terrific advertisement for my company and a great work horse- I've tugged a semi out of a ditch with it, no problem! Upgrade to the "Banks Combo" for more HP and better efficiency, 15k will get you a lift, new wheels and tires to die for!

Report Abuse

First Pick Up

Salvatore, 08/08/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Said I would never own a pickup. Seems to be a very very nice tow vehicle. Perhaps one of the very few that doesn't wear on you when travelling long distance. Fit and quality seem excllent. Brakes and wheels are awesome. Mileage is 12-13 around town, 15-16 on the interstate, and 10-12 when towing a 10,000lb Airstream. As long as you remember its intended purpose, you'll love the truck. I had zero problems so far, and have 7200 miles on it. I highly recommend this tow vehicle.

Report Abuse

A nice ride for a big truck!

85PUNKROCK, 05/27/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is one big truck! We purchased this so we can tow our 40' toy hauler. The 1 tons won't do the job. The quality of this truck is impressive.The 6.4L diesel barely makes a sound and the interior is amazing! Navigation, rear DVD for the kids, 6 disc CD, wow! This truck handles and feels like a car but you're above the traffic and know you're in a truck. Ford made the right choice to make a commercial truck into a heavy duty hauler for a family. More people are buying large 5th wheels and this is the natural choice. And I know I made the right one!

Report Abuse

My Ownership Diary of This Vehicle

BrianG, 11/14/2020
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

13Nov2020: I just bought this used for $25K... I don't even have it yet. I should take possession of it in about a week or two. Mine is used with 100K miles on it. I loved that it was in my budget and had all the capability and capacity I wanted and then some. I don't need 20000lbs towing capacity, but WHY NOT? It was not that much more than the other less capable trucks I was looking and and I do hope to one day pull a 5th wheel trailer. I do not intend to put a lot of miles on mine per year. HOWEVER... got home and starting finding consumer reviews of this vehicle.. now I am a bit scared because there are a lot of bad ones and those are the most recent with the longest ownership history. I checked reviews of other vehicles I was looking at. There seems to be an across the board tendency to either have reviews of fanboys who just bought their brand new truck or salty dogs who are mad after a number of years of ownership and are motivated to write. I am neither at this point. I will add more detail to this as I experience things. For now, wish me luck! UPDATE AFTER 3 WEEKS: Well, I got my money back and I never even saw this vehicle. I am feeling pretty good about my decision to stop this purchase. Every diesel mechanic I spoke to warned be off if this vehicle. I now have a 2004 Chevy Silverado and I am much happier with my purchase. There will be no more updates to this review. Sorry! (would just remove it if they gave the option but there still might be useful advice for this)

Report Abuse

Best SD that I own, had 7 from 2003

Herman Chaisson, 04/20/2009
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bad mama jama I haven't towed my 5th wheel yet but will soon. 12.5 mpg @ 65 mph with a 4.88 rear end I have 14000 miles now and when I had 7000 miles I got 10.5 mpg.

Report Abuse

Rock Solid TRUCK!

usa_dfndr, 05/15/2010
XLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Owned V-10 F250 and 2006 GMC 3500HD Duramax. This truck is superior to all vice three(3) distinct challenges: mileage/Ford-offered retrofits to resolve&increase mileage ARE NON-EXISTENT, drive-train (transmission/differential)slip especially releasing gas and re- stepping on it to begin acceleration again. Duramax+Allison transmission combo. FAR superior in this regard. 3rd item is moderate bucking caused w/ 43.5ft 5th wheel Toyhauler atch'd and truck headed downhill w/ cruise control on. Thought truck was pulling itself apart on 1,900mile cross- country trip. Glad to date/zero ENGINE problems @ 30,000 miles. Knocking on wood and saying a prayer for 300,00 to 500,000 miles problem- free.

Report Abuse

Early F-450 Review

horse56, 03/20/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

First impression...900 miles. For a very large pickup, drives and handles great. King Ranch package definitely worth it...very lush! Navigation system quite complex, but user friendly. Expect mileage to be 10-15 mpg, once broken in. Great performance while handling 15,000# trailer...awesome tires and brakes!

Report Abuse

Tow Boss

Chis, 05/09/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Amazing Truck. Moved up from an '03 F-350 w/ v10 auto. Interior looks like something from a luxury car. Smooth ride, ultra quiet, motor has plenty of power to move this 8300 lb. truck. Yea it costs a pretty penny, but well worth it if you need a truck that will tow. Only buy this thing if you need to tow more than 8 tons, it's a luxury work truck and not a hybrid.

Report Abuse

F-450

blackhawk, 05/25/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After owning 4 GMT800 duallys and after researching the new GMT900 dually, I made the switch to Ford. Solid front axle, truck like dash, and heavy duty frame and components instead of GM's IFS were key to my decision. Not to mention a host of other nice features. GM's new lineup have left a lot of customers like myself out in the cold and they will switch to Ford like I did. This truck is solid, rides better than my '05 3500 4x4 GM dually. It gets more looks and thumbs up than my H2. I just have to get used to the solid front axle bump steer, unlike the bolted to the road GM IFS. To sum it up, if you want a commercial grade tow vehicle with Cadillac features, this truck is for you.

Report Abuse

Mixed Blessing

West Coast Morgans, 07/05/2007
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Most everything about the truck is great. However the engine makes strange noises, and Ford neglets to tell future owners the engine is goverened between 80 and 85 mph

Report Abuse

F-450 is King of the Road

Smithy, 04/03/2008
Lariat 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had my F-450 for a year and have had zero problems. I tow a trailer that weighs in at 11,000 lbs empty, and 24,000 + lbs loaded. It handles the loads easy, has plenty of power to keep it moving up big hills (Grape Vine, Pacheco Pass). The Tow Command system is incredible with seemless, smooth braking and downshifting to get you stopped in a hurry. This truck rides excellent, interior is beautiful and comfortable. The sound system is top notch. My fuel mileage started out low; about 7.5- 8.0 mpg towing and 9.5- 10 mpg empty. When I hit 15,000 miles the mileage took a jump to 9.5 mpg towing and 14 mpg empty (driving at 70 mph with 4.88 gears). Bottom line, I love this truck.

Report Abuse

Garbage Truck! It still sucks!

John, 10/04/2016
XLT 4dr Crew Cab 4WD LB DRW (6.4L 8cyl Turbodiesel 6M)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This truck is a piece of crap! Ford does not want to help with customer care. In 29,000 miles I've replaced 3 radiators, 1 secondary cooling system, left rear axle seal, Turbo pick up tube, 2 power steering pumps and a crank seal! DO NOT BUY this truck! Burn it and walk away..........

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050