Used 2013 Ford F-150 SuperCab Consumer Reviews

List Price Range
$17,988 - $28,990

Used F-150 for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Very nice truck, 3.7 best suited for light-medium duty

digitalekg, 06/19/2013
XLT 4dr SuperCab 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
31 of 34 people found this review helpful

This is my company vehicle which I will put 50k miles on per year. It's a comfortable place to be, I drive long distances, and the 3.7L V6 is powerful enough if you don't haul heavy stuff. I get 17-18 mpg overall, I know the EPA highway figure is 23, and I have never come close. The steering, brakes, and ride are quite good. It is a quiet cab which my sleeping baby boy likes. It has a commanding view and no real blind spots. Overall it is a very nice vehicle but if I were buying it for myself I would get the ecoboost V6. I would recommend this truck to a friend.

Report Abuse

Great Mileage

solarspinniker, 11/05/2013
XLT 4dr SuperCab 6.5 ft. SB (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
22 of 26 people found this review helpful

After driving for a couple of months I really like this truck. Already get better gas mileage then the 08 explorer. Got the 20 inch wheels, chrome and trailer towing package. Cold weather does effect the mpg but am getting 24 mpg highway (USA) and hope to get the gov rated 27 mpg by the time I get to Texas. By losing the pounds of the eco charger and 4x4 I can get great city mileage even with my wife onboard! Only complaint I have is when my dog gets out on my side he turns the heat and fan to full because the knobs have such a good grip. Update 2016/5/5 When I bought the vehicle it came with a tonneau cover and twenty inch wheels - I added back wheel liners which are not included = go figure! Wind and temperature effects mileage. In cold weather with a headwind I get 23 to 25 mpg highway. In warm weather with a tailwind I get 25 to 30 mpg. Get 25 mpg driving 2000 miles Canada to RGV Texas at 70 mph in spring and fall. Speed from 55 to 75 mph will vary mpg by 1.5 gallons. City is 18 to 22 mpg depending on the temperature. Update 2016/11/4 Still runs like it was new. Always great mileage and for the trip to RGV it always shows 510 mpg = 820 km after a full up. If it was not for flying stones hitting windshields or drivers turning in front of you when they shouldn't I would never need to bring her in for a checkup.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Report Abuse

Worst truck experience ever

Mike Ryan, 08/16/2018
XLT 4dr SuperCab 6.5 ft. SB (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
20 of 24 people found this review helpful

Ever wonder why Ford only gives a 65k power train warranty? I'll tell you why. Because at about 70k miles you start to have all sorts of problems with your engine. A month ago, my truck started to run very rough out of the blue, so I took it to Surprise Ford and was told I need new spark plugs and one new coil to the tune of a little over $800. I told them that was and I would get other estimates which I did that were all at half the cost of them. they said they would price match and since I was told by the service advisor at Ford that these eco boost have very tricky plugs and that even their seasoned mechanics drop about 1 out of three plugs into the cylinder heads as they are a two piece plug and if you dont take them out right they will drop and you have to have a special tool to get it out of head, I let Surprise ford do the job. Well I get the truck back and notice that my fuel mileage is getting worse. I only put about 250 miles on it in these 6 weeks so it took me a while to figure this out. I was going to call the dealership and take it back to them to find out why this is happening and also to figure out why I also now had a pull to the right on the steering which wasn't there before. Its monsoon season in Az so I figured I would go wash the truck and get it to the dealership on Monday. Low and behold I was driving home from the car wash and I hear a loud pop like something exploded. I notice smoke coming from my engine compartment and guy next to me is yelling at my saying my truck is on fire. I pull over and get my 8 year old son out of the truck and to safety. The fire went out and only did some damage to the under carriage. I have it towed to Surprise Ford. This is on Saturday Night. Wednesday I finaly get a call from the dealership saying I need a new engine because there is a hole in the block, but can't say if it threw a rod or a cylinder exploded, but in any case its not anything they did and now they want around $11,000 for a new engine. ARE you kidding me? Never again will I buy a ford.!

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

STX with a BANG!

Daniel, 03/02/2018
STX 4dr SuperCab 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2013 F-150 STX brand new. I purchased it with the 5.0 V-8 Flex fuel engine and 6-speed transmission. Some positive highlights about the truck are: great power, excellent throttle response, great towing (I towed about 8,500 lbs from TX to KY and back without any issue), spacious interior even with the super cab, plenty of cargo space (6.5 ft bed) and super low maintenance. Some negatives: Vibration between 55-75 mph (after new tires and rims, vibrations persisted. Ford dealerships in KY and TX were of NO HELP) front doors hinges allow doors to open too wide or too narrow. This is an issue parking between vehicles and attempting to open the back suicide door. The center console of the 40 20 40 split bench seats is terrible. No cup holders or storage is offered on the arm rest. Overall, the negative highlights weren't enough to give me a bad experience. This truck offers more than enough for a daily driver without sacrificing its use for special weekend projects or long hauls. The STX package offers the minimum amount of luxury so I recommend it as a work vehicle or as a backup truck.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Don't buy the ecoboost

Gary, 08/19/2017
STX 4dr SuperCab 4WD 6.5 ft. SB (3.7L 6cyl 6A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Love the truck but feel misled by the eco boost. The fuel economy with the eco boost is terrible. The truck averages about 12.8 around town with some highway and only 16 on the highway. Hauling a small 5x9 covered trailer the milage dropped to 10mpg. The V8 I had in the last F150 did much better with miles per gallon and without the diesel lag on starts. Think I will be the last Ford!

Performance
Comfort
Report Abuse
Items per page: