Skip to main content

Used 2005 Ford Escape SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price
$8,999

Used Escape for Sale
Select your model:
See all for sale
12345...69

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons
5 out of 5 stars

I Love my Escapee!

missg3, 05/28/2014
updated 06/13/2022
2005 Ford Escape XLT Fwd 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
74 of 75 people found this review helpful

I owned my Escape for just over 15 years, until the day that someone ran a red light and t-boned me. I still miss my Escape. It had 132,000 miles on it, ran like a champ. I never had to do anything other than regular maintenance things to it...very sad ending to a wonderful vehicle. I still cry when I see one driving down the road.

Safety
5 out of 5 stars
Technology
4 out of 5 stars
Performance
5 out of 5 stars
Interior
5 out of 5 stars
Comfort
5 out of 5 stars
Reliability
5 out of 5 stars
Value
5 out of 5 stars
Report Abuse

4.38 out of 5 stars

Ford Escape purchased brand new

kyleservice, 05/11/2012
2005 Ford Escape XLT Fwd 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
71 of 72 people found this review helpful

We picked up this Ford Escape new in 2005. So far in 2012, it has about 72,000 miles on it, with absolutely zero problems so far. (Well, I did have to replace the battery this spring.) This SUV still has the same tires, same brakes, same exhaust system. I've looked at the front and rear brakes, they look like they'll go many more miles before needing replacement. We might have to replace the tires this fall, this is Wisconsin, and we do have snow around here.

Report Abuse
4 out of 5 stars

Rusty SUV, But Good

jfohl, 10/05/2014
2005 Ford Escape XLT AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
99 of 103 people found this review helpful

I bought this SUV last winter with 100k miles on it. Took it to my mechanic to get all the filters, fluids changed, who found rust holes in rear passenger inner wheelwell that compromised the strut and safety of vehicle. Fixed that, and took all the plastic cladding off exposing more rust than I've ever seen. Driven 20k miles and no real mechanical problems except the exhaust needs replaced. Very simple interior compared to new vehicles. AWD system is excellent. I get 20mpg. 3.0 engine may have been powerful 10 years ago, but its relatively slow compared to today's SUV standards. These are great deals if you are looking for an AWD vehicle.

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

First Escape, not the last

bnosay, 04/25/2014
2005 Ford Escape XLT AWD 4dr SUV (3.0L 6cyl 4A)
63 of 66 people found this review helpful

I've owned my 05 XLT AWD for 5 years now and only ever had problems with coil packs going bad. I think it's a great little SUV that has just enough room for my family plus the dog and any luggage we need. Seats stain somewhat easily but overall quality I give it a 9 out of 10. There are some design flaws like the rear seat headrests that cause terrible blind spots. but other than that, nothing major. Its small enough to whip into parking spaces and maneuver yet big enough that everyone is seated comfortably up front and room in the back. My favorite - gas mileage. no one believes me but I get 23-24 MPG on a regular basis. Roughly 320 Miles to a tank. can't complain 188,000+ strong

Report Abuse

4.63 out of 5 stars

keeps on ticking...

rebel16, 07/12/2014
2005 Ford Escape XLS AWD 4dr SUV (2.3L 4cyl 4A)
68 of 72 people found this review helpful

176,000 miles plus..still a daily commuter, just lost the A/C compressor, that is the only major thing since I bought it in april 2005...other wise has preformed flawlessly

Report Abuse
12345...69
Items per page: