Used 1996 Dodge Neon Coupe Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$779 - $1,841

Used Neon for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Don't let looks fool you

Don't let LOOKS fool, 04/10/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Bought used in 2000 and got rid of in '03.<(which is the best thing I've ever done!) Bought to replace my aging '89 Corsica that I loved till the major breakdowns. Obviously, this car wasn't much better. Tons of problems. Was in the shop more than on the road. Oxygen sensor, battery, alternator; just a few of the problems I had w/ it out of many. HIt 2 different deer w/ it and 2 different times. Had 3 different accidents w/ it w/ other vehicles. I think red is a magnet for things to want to attract too. That or bad luck, not sure which? Who knows, but it was always something going wrong. One good thing is that just going to/from work it got good mileage 28/39! Looks are deceiving.....

Report Abuse

Don't buy a neon

redcurls417, 07/02/2003
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

My maintenence log has become a novel for my 96 Dodge Neon. --original paint has peeled off --air conditioner broke 5 times in first 3 years --engine belt shreaded first week of ownership --hole in gas tank and oil leak in past year --gas mileage has gone down considerably in the past year

Report Abuse

Don't repeat my mistake!

sirlordsoul, 07/09/2003
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

A rip off! Don't buy this car. I bought mine new and have had an endless series of major repairs (oil leaks, the car computer, door handles coming loose, and the air conditioning -- TWICE!) over seven years. Whatever I "saved" in the relatively low purchase price has been taken away in repairs. And keep in mind that I kept up with ALL of the recommended maintenance. Now I'm stuck with a lemon drawing its last breaths! Thank you very much Chrysler -- I'm going to avoid your crappy product as long as I live! And they wonder why people don't like American cars ...

Report Abuse

It's Used

Casie, 05/20/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

This car seems to be lacking serious horsepower. Or at least mine is. I have the worst gas mileage in the history of 4 cylinders (5spd to boot) Approx 16 mpg. Also it has a major problem with the window sealing. I have a major leakage. Anytime it rains it leaks. If I am driving I hear a lot of air leaking through. But what can I say, it's used.

Report Abuse

ehh.

diggit616, 06/26/2004
3 of 4 people found this review helpful

This has not been my favorite car but it has done exactly what I needed it to do. No more, no less. It has had it's share of problems though. Drivers window has never worked right, HEAD GASKET, A/C, radio, left blinker turns on when you brake, wears front tires uneven, door panel broke,... At this point I am just glad it still starts; and that is one thing it has always done, start. It may not be the best car I have ever had but it gets me to where I need to go. Great car for new drivers and collage kids. Just don't fool yourself into thinking you won't have any problems with it. Neon quality is an extinct dinosaur.

Report Abuse

Had to trash it

phantom, 03/13/2007
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

I absolutely loved this car when I first bought it. Looked great and drove great. After 2 yrs the problems began. The obvious head gasket plus seals had to be replaced. Every sensor on the car pretty much malfunctioned at some point. Every year and yes I mean every year I had to get it serviced due to misfires. One electrical problem after another. Stereo went out. Door looks worked when they wanted to. Drivers side window was loose and leaked. Oddly enough in the 6 years that I owned that car I never replaced the exaust. Not even the muffler. This is a terrible vehicle and I will never buy a Dodge/Chrysler product again. Terrible!

Report Abuse

OK So far !!

tamra, 04/24/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my Neon last Dec. from a very well know dealership for selling "BAD CARS" i did not know when they sold me the car. So far all I have replaced on my neon is the brakes and a signal bulb. My car is at 93,960. It still runs good, alittle hard sometimes, but overall nice- When I bought it they said I had a new head gasket kit done, etc., so I hope they did not lie to me because if anything goes wrong like the other people? I will be in court...

Report Abuse

Great Car

Original Neon Owner, 05/07/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am the original owner of my 1996 Dodge Neon Highline Coupe. I've had it for 5 years now, and 70,000 miles later, I'm still very happy with it. Yes, I've had the head gasket break too, just like everybody else, but I took care of the problem, and haven't had anything go wrong since, besides a tail light bulb burning out ($1.00 replacement). I drive it hard, and it's been so reliable that I am not even thinking about trading it in yet. I'm planning on keeping this car for at least another 2 or 3 years. It's been a great investment!

Report Abuse

This car ROCKS

loudneon, 08/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Wow what to say. I love my Neon. I ordered it with the DOHC and 5 speed. Best car I have. Buy one. Give it a turbo and suspension drop, then go kick some honda butt. Buy the DOHC not the SOHC. Never had a head gasket problem. I run it hard everyday too. 60mph 5500rpm in third gear hard around corners. Kicked my brothers 96 Avenger to the curb.

Report Abuse

Stay Away from this Car

NoMoreNeons, 09/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I promise this, is my last Chrysler product. I have had bad experiences with everyone of them except a Jeep Wrangler, but I got rid of it just in time. My neon is the worst of the lot. Head Gasket blew at about 30K, fortunately, still under warranty. I have 80,000 miles now and pray it won't blow again based on other reviews. Constant problems ever since though. Can't seem, to keep the AC running more than 2 months at a time. Spent $1,000 repairing it this June, and it went out in less than 6 weeks. Took three more trips to the shop to try to fix it. Leaks oil, transmission fluid, etc.

Report Abuse

Stay Away From A Neon!!!

Not a good car!!!!!, 11/09/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I used to own this vehicle and then traded it in for a "Honda" product. You just can't compare the two! You name it, I had it go wrong with my Neon! Headgasket (twice!), breaks, fuel indicator...reading full, when in fact empty....Air Conditioning, interior lighting, etc..etc..etc!! Unless, there are significant improvements, I suggest scrapping the Neon all together!! And avoid all the consumer headaches!!!!

Report Abuse

I've Been Duped

NeonHater, 12/16/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Trouble from the beginning, that summarizes the ownership of this Neon. I've had the entire AC replaced twice. In warranty the first time, out of warranty the second time. Now, at 39,000 miles (I only drive it to work and back about 100 miles a week) the head gasket went out. Cost me $1405 to get it fixed. I went to Edmunds and found out it's only worth about $1600. Yes, I was duped. But, you can avoid it by staying away from Chrysler.

Report Abuse

Please Stay Away

Noneon, 02/17/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Original owner 85,000 miles went thru 2 head gaskets under warranty and Head Gasket is leaking at present time. (no warranty) Had Transmission replaced under warranty.(Lucky) This car is slowly falling apart one piece at a time. Paint on trunk is falling off, interior not holding up well. I will not go near a chrysler product again.

Report Abuse

My nice little car.. I just Luv it.

Bhavesh, 07/24/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

To be frank I was very afraid while buying this car because of tones of bad reviews. But my experience with this sweety has been wonderful. I simply luv my car. I have it for about two years now and I am very happy with my decision. The only expense in these two years have been once every three month oil changes and some problem with right wheel which cost $270. Its obviously not a powerful as some of the other more expensive cars, especially when you turn on the AC the power drops, but its still very likeable. I would recommend it to anyone. Infact my next car would be a DODGE.

Report Abuse

Great box on wheels. Great college car.

bartwart, 09/07/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

We've owned our NEON since it was new in 1996. I'm going to buck the trend here and actually tell you that this is the best, most reliable vehicle I've ever owned. However, we got it with a manual transmission and NO options, period. No AC, no power anything, no radio, no nothing. This is your prototypical box on wheels. We even get 40 mpg! At this rate it will last us another 10 years.

Report Abuse

3 more days and its gone!

bilahn, 07/19/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had many of the problems stated by the others, the worst of which was a catastrophic oil leak that cost $900 and 3 trips. Now they tell me there's a "miniscule" radiator hole. Plus, the car shakes and vibrates all the time! I wish I hadn't fallend for the hype back in 1996. Rotten car.

Report Abuse

Should have been Recalled

feqmxa, 08/08/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought it new. Had $8500 of body damage 2 weeks after I bought it. Insurance fixed it(should have totalled it). Head cover gasket started leaking oil around 65000 miles. Had it replaced at $600. Started leaking again around 80000 miles. Then head gasket blew. Donated it to charity.

Report Abuse

Very Disappointed

Very Disappointed, 03/04/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had numerous problems since I bought this vehicle 6 years ago: the paint discolored on the hood and trunk twice; the interior light works only when it wants to; the break lights stayed on continuously; the turn signal broke twice; major head gasket leak: the dealer said the factory was offering a $100 deductable because it was an ongoing problem with this vehicle. No problems yet w/the new headgasket;AC has gone bad 5 times now.

Report Abuse

neon is nothing special

danda, 05/02/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

For a long time it was a great car. It is still pretty reliable. My problems are with the paint, and the durability of the accessories. The door panels keep falling off and breaking. The windows haven't worked right for a long time, The antenna fell off. The gas tank door broke one day. The car is horrible in the snow. It's a reliable vehicle. The gas mileage has decreased, but it still gets 25-32 mpg.

Report Abuse

A good little car really

TexasNeon, 04/14/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My parents bought me this as my first car. It certainly isn't the most flash car ever...it's accelleration is suffering a bit with age...but all in all, as a first car it has served it's duty. It is fairly reliable

Report Abuse

Don't buy it

Thom Bollinger, 07/01/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Spent much in repairs: head gasket, EGR valve, radio works from time to time, heater cuts off after half hour of use, door windows not secure in door and are now scratched, seat stitching separated after two years.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050