Used 2006 Dodge Caravan Minivan Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,965 - $2,862

Used Caravan for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Sounds like a bird

sad, 06/14/2006
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

I got this van in November it had 6 miles on it. Brand new! And the bird noise started then. I thought it was just the newness and would stop after I drove it a while. But, it didn't. I've had it in the shop just about every month. They have replaced the belt and have put on a new pully, they even used duck tape (that worked for a while..longer than anything). I don't like the looks from people as I drive down the road. I do like my van I just don't want the noise. It's going back to the dealer today to see what they think. I'd like to know if anyone else has had this problem.

Report Abuse

MY Dodge caravan is crap

Mike, 11/09/2015
SXT 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 4A)
13 of 13 people found this review helpful

We bought the 2006 SXT new in 07 just after they got rid of the 100,000 mile warranty, dealer stated because the dodge caravan vans were built much better with fewer problems "yeah right" The vehicle drove OK up to 70.000 miles with routine maintenance, accept for the automatic doors, poor design wire kept breaking. After that The transmission 2,200 rebuilt went due to a faulty over heated converter was on the recalled list but we were never notified but dodge replace it only converter thanks. ECM electrical board went 1,800 AC starter, alternator twice, breaks disk drums, tie rods , front and rear struts 3,000, oil change every 3,000 miles but is burning oil ( maybe or seal PVC val) A/C e-vap unit but we were able to get that fixed for a small fee 100.00 recall ya! Over all with the money we have had to put into caravan I am giving it a two starts over all. The good stow and go, good acceleration, when need it rides smooth if nothing is going on it. Ok in the snow. I should have dump this car after 70,000 miles when the transmission went was a sign this only good up that. I have rear review where people have done well with there's but mine was built on Monday. I will not buy another Dodge due to this bad experience after all said and done 1119, 000 miles we have spent 37,000 dollars over all 24,500 for the vehicle and over all the maintenance and repairs again thanks Dodge.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Uh oh

pigeons, 03/26/2006
13 of 14 people found this review helpful

This thing is great to drive. solid on the road, fast, quiet, efficient. It is just really nice to drive. But it breaks down all the time. Dealer assured us that Dodge had fixed the notorious transmission problems associated with Caravans.

Report Abuse

Like my caravan

Bryan, 11/19/2018
SXT 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

13 years old. First owner of the car. Regularly maintenance. Oil and filter change by myself. Long travels and daily drive. Highway and local. Worry free in shine or snow. Just like it. Glad to buy it.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Lemon

fedupowner, 11/10/2010
5 of 5 people found this review helpful

This car should be called the Dodge Random; everything simply works randomly. Doors, windows, locks, engine - you never know from day to day when things will work. Expensive repairs to make them work are only temporary. Scary to roll a window down not knowing if you will ever get it up, or even if the van will start. Many many problems with this van - please do not invest your money here!

Report Abuse

low repair costs

bart25, 11/25/2011
10 of 12 people found this review helpful

its not the most reliable, but its cheap to fix, if you're a do-it-yourselfer and make the repairs yourself its the best you can own, parts are dirt cheap for the Caravan

Report Abuse

Lemon of the Year Dodge Caravan SXT 2006

Bart Tur, 07/28/2015
SXT 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Major problems with the braking system. Axel failed at 14k. Rack & Pinion failed 23k. 5 Alternators replaced last 9 years. Major engine problems, water pump 38k, head light cheaply made. Poor Fuel. Transmission failed 59k, Radiator replaced 61k. Great for taking kids to the park but after extended warranty expires you need a bank. Thank you Chrysler. These van have braking issue due to bad clapier pin not retracking. One final note, The heater cores are known to fail around 100k. My van is currently 95,. Never will I buy a DODGE /CHRYSLER. I am done. Close up shop guys.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Pretty nice little van.

Reid Benham, 08/04/2006
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

Nice to drive, wish it gave better gas mileage. Driver's seat is difficult to move back and forth. No defects in material or workmanship. In 6,600 miles I have changed the oil twice and rotated the tires, not bad for American Iron.

Report Abuse

Glad we bought it

Geri, 10/07/2005
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

We've only had the van for a couple of weeks. The gas mileage did work out to be 26 on the highway and 20 in city. The pick up on the highway was much better then expected for a 4 cyl. It runs like a 6 cyl. The bench seats are easy to remove and change around. Plenty of leg room (front and back) and comfortable ride for long trips if you're in the bucket seat in front. We do have the tinted glass windows. This is a must with the way the wind shield is being so large and angled. Your legs do get warm even with the tint. We would recommend this van for anyone on budget that needs a van. It is affordable and perfect for the homeowner that does dry wall.

Report Abuse

Mechanical Lemon, Regret Buying

chrzanow, 01/05/2012
3 of 3 people found this review helpful

This car is a LEMON. 70,000 miles entire navigation and panel unit failed. 100,000 miles alternator died, transmission aux unit blew out, radiator failed, lots of oil leaks. 120,000 miles another alternator died, retractable doors fail, plastic parts on stow and go seats failed causing seat frame to not stow, cooling system leaking, and now warning lights keep coming on and off (ABS, airbag, etc) for no reason. This car is junk. I will NEVER buy a Dodge product again. I should have learned with my 1998 Caravan. That car’s transmission blew out at 100,000. Now at 150,000 the computer keeps dying and not allowing the car to start.

Report Abuse

2nd Caravan

Bill Sparrow, 10/08/2009
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Bought a demo with 8k, 3.3 litre SE. Live 80 km north of Winnipeg so almost all hwy use. Have over 50k, not a single problem, get 9 litres/100km, hwy (31 mpg Imperial, 26 US). Took out the back seats and put in a hinged bed for camping. This is my 2nd Chrysler mini-van; 1st a Plymouth w/ 3 litre engine. Did 110k on that one with only tires, brake pads and battery required. Paid $18,000.00 for Caravan, Sienna would have been almost double. Looking forward to the plug- in hybrid model. Can't understand why some say they only get 16 hwy; these vans are made on an assembly line; should be fairly consistent. I baby my vehicles, so may be a connection there. Keep oil and air filter clean. Tnx.

Report Abuse

First Month

Robert, 09/27/2006
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Have owned a Grand Caravan in the past. Like the looks and the size of the standard. SXT model came equipped with all of the desired options. Appreciate the comfortable mid-row bucket seats. Keeps the kids seperated and happy (and that makes me happy). Looking forward to many family trips.

Report Abuse

5 Year Review

joegiant, 09/28/2011
4 of 5 people found this review helpful

Have had "Bonnie" now for 5 years. #1 thing about the van - value. Bought new and Chysler was giving these away at the time so I thought I'd take one since we needed the "family vehicle" for kids sports etc. etc. As noted on Edmunds reliability rating, our SXT 3.3L did in fact have the water pump go at 45k. The rack and pinion steering was replaced within the first year of ownership. Aside from regular maintenance, that's about it. Currently 71k on the odometer. Will admit, for a lower hp'ed V6, not real good on gas. 21mpg all around I'm guessing, lil' better on the hwy but nowhere near the sticker 26 mpg. Very comfortable ride IMHO. American made (Fenton, MO) which is hard to find today.

Report Abuse

Done with Caravans

weicht, 06/04/2015
SE 4dr Minivan (2.4L 4cyl 4A)
5 of 7 people found this review helpful

I hate Caravans! I bought it used with around 36,000 miles. Around 50,000 miles had to have a position sensor replaced. Now I have 136,000 miles on it and the transmission went.

Report Abuse

Stay Away

Annoyed, 01/13/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

At 12000 miles front rotors needed replaced under warranty (had to fight with Chrysler for this). Done again at 30000 miles not under warranty. At 30000 catalytic converter replaced also under warranty. At 43500 engine needs replaced. Dealer says the crankshaft thrust bearing went bad. The crankshaft walked and took out the front seal. Engine started leaking oil. 2006 the only warranty was 3 years/36000 miles. No warranty on engine replacement. These motors are garbage. They are will not hold up in a Caravan.

Report Abuse

Bad Experience

Manny, 10/11/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought it used (10K miles). Currently 42K miles. Transmission broke down. Second 4-cylinder Caravan I own, same thing happened to first. Don't buy it! Transmission and 2.4, 4 Cyl engine NOT a good combination.

Report Abuse

so far so good

fordfan, 11/11/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Bought it as used at carmax. 2.4l engine. Kind of loud. Other than that everything is good. 20-22 combined mpg. Reliability is good for my 3 yrs ownership. Nothing broken down. Good value.

Report Abuse

Flipper!

Josh R., 12/01/2009
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I've had this van as a work vehicle through my company for the past two years, and it's been a good little trooper. I neither baby my vehicles nor treat them especially rough, and though the fuel mileage isn't what I would like it to be, it's been very reliable and I enjoy driving it. It holds a LOT of cargo, has Stow-n-Go seating for passengers should I need to carry them, and handles better than I ever expected a minivan would. The 3.3L V6 is quiet and has decent torque, laboring only in 100-degree heat when the air is running full blast and you're trying to get up to freeway speed. It's comfortable too, though the seats need better hip and thigh support.

Report Abuse

Great mini van

bobby&sharon, 01/10/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

we bought this van about 1 week ago and we love it. Fuel economy is great, good ride, good room, beautiful red outside. I feel it will be a good van for a long time.

Report Abuse

The fun ride

michelle becklehimer, 08/19/2006
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this van to go on vacations and for my son who is in sports. It's easy to handle and easy to park, and I will buy a another one just like it because it is so convenient for me to have all the room and the good gas mileage

Report Abuse

Grand Caravan

Daniel Brown, 08/24/2005
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I have been less than pleased witht the performance of this vehicle. Steering is loose and out of control when traveling on curvy roads. Dodge still uses rocker switches for windows, children have been killed using these things. They have put them on a vertical surface which increases safety, however it also decreases ergonomics. Airconditioner and radio controls are too low and force the driver to look down, nearly to the floorboard. The power sliding doors are also in need of improvement. Setting these things aside, the van drives well on straight roads and the stow and go seating is a good idea, however the seats are uncomfortable.

Report Abuse

am so glad i traded this for a honda!

caris75, 02/04/2011
2 of 3 people found this review helpful

so i got the base SE when it was new for a good price--very basic, meaning roll your own windows down, no keyless entry etc.. power was so-so for regular town driving and terrible on the highway, noisy and no pickup!so car was ok for about 50k then we saw oil leaking all over our driveway! it neede towing to a garage and a 3K repair (crankshaft). luckily we had an extended warranty--but we still paid almost 500 dollars and had a rental car for a week. after this experience and not being so thrilled w/ the car we just traded it for a preowned Odyssey (ironically of the same year). what a difference! the odyssey so far is awesome, i would advise anyone to avoid any all caravans...

Report Abuse

Not, so good

gavalladares, 01/30/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is not a real good car, I thought It will start to break down after five years of the date was built. I got a 2006 and it's down already. I had 14 months since I got it, and I'm disappointed with it. I believe the problem I got now it has to do with the ignition coil, the other problem, I had it with the "check engine" light, The mechanic said it was the catalytic converter. The paint job is not very good, the back seat is uncomfortable, the interior materials used are cheap. The engine lacks torque. You can't expect more of it. You have to drive it with care. The back seats are uncomfortable.

Report Abuse

2006 Dodge Caravan

al p, 04/20/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Second minivan I have had from Chrysler - bought it used with 28k kms (19000 miles). Quality seems good but mileage is terrible -3.3 litre is averaging 12 mpg in city and 16mpg on highway ( have translated to US gallons). It has been back to dealer who changed sensor but still the same - they just shrugged when I told them unacceptable. Van is not being driven fast nor rough. HWY is 60-65 mph. Mileage is no comparison to previous 1993 Caravan 3.3 litre.

Report Abuse

Very good vehicle

CassM, 07/09/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Very few problems at 39,000 miles. All minor. Great ride. Cant complain, after 3.5 years. I expected much worse, from reading 'expert' reviews before I bought the vehicle.

Report Abuse

After 1.5 years

Carlos, 01/24/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Reliable and build quality like a Lexus. Well put together, no problems, no leaks, nothing has broken or fallen- off. Never less than 20.5 mpg with my V- 6.

Report Abuse

My first and last Chrysler

No More DCX!, 08/17/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this home from the dealer less than two weeks ago. I've been back twice due to suspension mishaps from the factory.

Report Abuse

Number 4

P Sosnoski, 10/20/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is our 4th Minivan and best yet. Love the DVD player and Stow n Go seating. Dealer was great, our 3 from them. This is much quieter than our 2000 Grand Caravan. No problems so far, and gas mileage is improving weekly (thank god!!)....about 23mpg mixed.

Report Abuse

First Dodge

Chris B, 10/22/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I wanted a Sienna, my husband wanted to save money. Wasn't even going to look at a Dodge but dealer allowed husband to bring it home overnight and I fell in love with it, we bought it next day! Kids love the DVD, I love the seating position and smooth ride.

Report Abuse

Exceeded my expectations

Tonya S., 12/26/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I am very pleased with my Caravan. I love the ride and the handling. Not much I would improve except my husband hates the seat belt chimes that require you to buckle up before it stops beeping. Plenty of room for our family and has all the features I needed. I would buy one again. Best vehicle I have ever owned.

Report Abuse

Number 5

RichD, 01/03/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Our fifth Dodge Minivan and the best by far! Love the seats and stow and go storage! Could use more power.

Report Abuse

My 4th Caravan

Maureen, 02/26/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I have always loved Dodge Caravans and this one is no exception. It offers a smooth classy ride.

Report Abuse

The #1 Minivan In america

baron, 08/06/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

The Dodge Caravan is a reliable minivan. It's the best selling in America. Every time it comes out with an idea, it's copied by another company like stow,n,go.The Honda Oddesey may be a good vehicle but it dosent sell like a Caravan does. Dodge invented the minivan, so why does Honda or Toyota think they can make a better minivan. Whenever the fifth generation of Caravan comes out it's gonna get the whole public. They don't know what dodge has up its sleeves.

Report Abuse

4 Cylinder Works Great!

Mark Weber, 11/22/2005
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I only have 270 miles on this brand new van - I will update in 6 months and adjust "reliability" and "fuel economy" ratings then. Quite frankly, I am pleasantly surprised that a 4 cylinder engine can motivate this minivan the way that it does, and I expect much better gas mileage than I would have gotten with the 6. I am also surprised how much this drives like a passenger car - albeit a large passenger car - with confident, predictable handling. It is sure a lot quieter than the Focus I traded in! Pricing couldn't be beat either, cheaper than a midsized car and cheaper than many compacts, too.

Report Abuse

First Time Mini Owner

Ted D,, 03/06/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great ride. Smooth and very comfortable. Very steady steering and responsive handling. Plenty of power. Form, fit and function excellent. First time Dodge owner and minivan owner. Only question at this point is why I waited.

Report Abuse

Uncomfortable Ride

dave, 03/22/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This new Caravan is the 6th one I have owned ranging back to 1985. It is by far the worst riding vehicle that I have ever owned. The suspension is so tight that it picks up every little imperfection on any road. The ride is so bad I actually took it back to the dealer for service but the technicians said, "This is something you would not expect from a new vehicle but everything checks out as normal." The 1999 Caravan I traded in with 114,000 miles actually road better than this 2006 vehicle. I test drove three versions of this vehicle and they were all the same. I purchased this vehicle because of the great deal I was offered hoping the ride would get better. After 2000 miles it hasn't.

Report Abuse

A basic people hauler

Duff, 06/09/2006
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Performance is fair to good. Acceleration from a stop is mediocre, but at highway speed passing acceleration is very good. Ride is good and comfort is very good. The standard Caravan is more reliable than the Grand Caravan (backed up by Consumer Reports), probably because it has fewer creature comforts. If you are looking for a basic people hauler that is also comfortable for long trips, gets decent mileage (better than the larger engine of the Grand Caravan), is fun to drive and nice looking, the Caravan is a solid choice.

Report Abuse

Great

speeking9, 11/20/2007
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love the Caravan, my second one. Handles great and rides like a Cadilac. Great heater for Alaska winters at 40 below and starts very easy cold temps. The Caravan is the best auto I have ever had by far and I have had a lot cars of all brands and not one has ever met the reliability the Caravan has.

Report Abuse

First Minivan I can say I LOVE to drive!

Soccer Dad, 04/11/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Great ride and handling, and sleek styling. Lots of head and leg room for front passengers over 6 ft tall.

Report Abuse

Still STRONG after 13 years

JIM GESSNER, 02/24/2019
SXT 4dr Minivan (3.3L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

This is my 2nd DODGE CARAVAN. I bought a 1998 used in 2000. It had 170,000 pls miles when it was side swiped by a lady sending a text message. I bought this 2006 STX full option new from a dealer friend new in California. It has 131,000 miles and has served me well these last 13 years. Many miles were driven from and to my old home state California to Oregon, Arizona, Texas [ many times], Michigan, Pennsylvania, Kentucky, Tennessee, Ohio, I have changed oil and filter every 3500-4500 miles. Flushed trans fluid twice., coolant once. The radiator failed in 2017 at 125,000 miles. Another weak item is the RACK and Pinion steering. I have replaced the rack twice, and now I DRAIN AND FLUSH the power steering fluid every 2nd oil change. I have just purchased my 3rd set of tires. I purchased two sets of brake pads and rotors. And for satety, replaced the calipers also on the last brake job, complete front and rear. Last week, replaced the front struts and springs and rear shocks. WOW, What a difference. Rides like a new car. This model has power doors and rear hatch [ all three ] driver side motor went out at 51000 miles, and the dealer replaced no charge. I am handicapped and use a Pride GO-GO three wheel electic scooter which I carry in the back. I use a power hoist to put it in and out the vehicle since 2007. I have thought of selling the van, but can not find a suitable replacement under $35000, so I will keep driving this car. The 3.8 V6 runs well with one major tune up to date.

Safety
Technology
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Reliability
Value
Report Abuse

Ridiculous location for spare tire

dcbpe, 05/10/2010
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

My wife and I purchased our Caravan in 2008, and have had largely no problems with it. Then I came across the location of the spare tire. Putting the spare under the van under the front seats is the most asinine place I've ever seen for a spare tire. I was changing the tire in my driveway, on a nice day, and found it to be a most aggravating experience. I can only imagine how a person is supposed to do this while stopped on the side of the road in inclement weather. I am a licensed professional engineer, and I work on my cars. I am no novice. This system was designed by an imbecile, and he/she ought to be fired. I will never again by a car without checking where the spare is.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050