Used 2000 Daewoo Nubira Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$1,030 - $2,383

Used Nubira for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

Wow, what a car!

robsawriter, 06/14/2008
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used from a friend. I had no idea that what I was getting would be so fun to drive, get such great fuel economy and these days with the price of gas hitting records each day, it is a bonus to own this car.

Report Abuse

165,650 and still going strong

sinclair_00, 03/09/2011
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

11 years and 165,650 miles later, and I still love my Daewoo Nubira SE. It has not left me stranded, and has only overheated twice, once when my water pump died at 152,500, and then when the original radiator cracked at 162,350. Other than that just your basic repairs, if you take care of it it will return the favor. I really wish GM, Suzuki and the unknown third partner had bought the US division and kept it in business because it would have been nice to see where Daewoo could have gone in today’s market. Especially with the fuel prices of today. The best investment was swapping the bad Hancook tires for BF Goodrich Traction T/A tires; it has improved the ride, performance and MPG of the Nubira. This car is definitely a keeper, if not for a daily driver then for a perfect backup vehicle and will be used to the very end which according to my mechanic could quite possible be another 50,000+ miles.

Report Abuse

I like my Nubira

txslingshot, 04/25/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

When I bought my Nubira I had gone to all of the various dealers in the area without being impressed. Either the cars were too expensive, or were bargain basement no-frills junk. When I drove the Nubira, it was nothing like that. The little car has an exceptional ride, a reliable, very responsive engine and very confident road feel. This little car begs to be driven hard and has very few bad habits or quirks, AND the price was extremely low compared to other cars in it's class. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a great little car.

Report Abuse

My First Car

newh1323, 12/26/2008
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I've driven dozens of cars since I've owned this one and I find enjoyment in it every time I take the wheel. It's very peppy from 0-40 mph but accelerates timidly after that. Using it as a delivery car has been smooth sailing and long road trips are easily tackled by this vehicle. It's kind of a rare car wherever you go and parts are nothing short of a scavenger hunt but with appropriate maintenance, the thing is a survivor. It has come with its share of problems though. The CD player and A/C had to be replaced a few years after purchase. Any other difficulties with the car have been due to low quality electrical parts (power windows). It's a respectable first-car to run into the ground.

Report Abuse

the woowoo

jon daewoo, 12/30/2009
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I got this used as a graduation car after driving it while in school. I've had very few problems with it beyond normal wear and tear. I consistently get outstanding mileage with it: I got over 40mpg coming back from TX to KS last winter. The "power" feature is nice for when you want a sportier feel/acceleration and for driving long, climbing stretches (lots of hills). Very comfortable to drive and handles great. The speaker system puts out impressive quality for being a smaller car. My only issue is an oil leak that is hard to fix because there are no dealers anymore.

Report Abuse

Love the Daewoo

jimmie, 06/21/2010
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

In the 10 years I've owned my Nubira I've had only a handful of repairs that were needed, until this year. In Feb of this year a piece of the stainless steal exhaust system rusted out, and then 2 weeks ago the water pump dies, spraying Antifreeze on the timing belt, and then last Friday the Oil pump died. With the exception of those 2 things, and my A/C condenser rusting out, I would highly recommend this car to anyone. It now has 152,500 miles on it, and was bought brand new in 2000 with only 30 miles on it. It is still very comfortable on long trips both freeway and city, and has always started right up, no matter how cold the WI winters are. I wish GM kept this brand in business here.

Report Abuse

2000 NUBIRA CDX

woo, 10/19/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I like driving my NUBIRA. I have had it for about 2 years and I really have not had any major problems. I have added a cold air intake to the car, and it has really boosted it's performance (not that it was bad).

Report Abuse

i hate this car

shea, 11/07/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

this is the worst mess i have ever gotten myself into i have had this "daewoo" for 2 years now and ive had nothin but trouble from it! the first few months i had it the silver around the door handles came off it's just plastic and it cuts your hands tring to get out!! the air cuts on and off and no one can tell me whats wrong wheni took it to get t fixed!! the stering colum is goin out they tell me now! you cant find parts anywhere!the cd player wont spit out the cd's!the handles in the inside 4 the gas and trunk wont open either one?! daewoo recalled the brakes hose which took 4ever to get! i have gone upside down because the company went bankrupt .

Report Abuse

dont buy this car

Rebecca, 10/13/2002
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

i have this vehicle and let me tell you this, thus far there have been too many problems to list. the body and tires are NOT RELIABLE at all many problems

Report Abuse

sucks

hehatedaewoobob, 01/24/2004
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I would not wish this so called vehical on my worst enemy.No parts,waited two weeks to have faulty oil seal fixed,sensors going and did I mention no parts,hub caps peeling,tiers bald at 30,000 miles,gas cap and trunck release don,t work.very noisy at high speeds,fan very loud,no imean no resale or trade value.You better be driving this car untill you pay it off or swallow a lot of money.Did I mention no parts...

Report Abuse

Great car at excellent price

Freya, 05/17/2003
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

If you want a great car at an amazing price, this is it. I've put on 25k in six months, in extreme Florida heat, doing high speeds, and it is incredible. Safe, secure, good for my fat body and tall long legs (I'm five foot ten inches!). I highly reccommend this car for anyone!

Report Abuse

So Much For That...

Shelberz, 10/16/2005
1 of 2 people found this review helpful

$3,000.00 USD worth of repairs within 3 months. I'm freaking out in anticipation of what’s next. I feel ashamed for purchasing this vehicle.

Report Abuse

A disgrace to the word "Automobile".

toiletbeard, 09/02/2012
1 of 3 people found this review helpful

Stay far, far away from this vehicle. My Daewoo was dirt cheap ($2000 with decent mileage) and now I know why. In 2 years, I've had to replace the starter, the alternator, front & rear brake pads, the timing belt, mechanisms for the tires, 2 batteries/loads of bulbs due to the faulty wiring, various hoses, bearings and fuses, oil leaks patched every year, the sunroof broke, the CD player shorted out, all 4 door handles popped off, buttons stopped working on the dash, and more. As we speak, the high beams are stuck "on" because of the bad wiring, so I have to disconnect the battery or pull the fuse when I stop. Good luck getting replacement parts, which are expensive and hard to find.

Report Abuse

2000 Daewoo Nubria

aeo1534, 07/29/2002
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

Fun to drive. A very well built car.

Report Abuse

Well-built car

Bubcas, 09/15/2003
0 of 1 people found this review helpful

We bought this car almost 2 years ago for the price is right. Had no regret owning it since then and so far no problems with the car except for service maintenance every 6 months. The interior of this car is great with good speakers of the CD player. Sad to say that the company went bankrupt coz it was a very well made car compare to other name brands.

Report Abuse

Did what I needed.

shaung973, 07/29/2009
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought used (very used) as I needed a cheap and economical car. I was driving a V-8 LTD and facing long summer commutes. Drives and handles just fine. No power, but that was to be expected. It was well used and not too well maintained when I bought it, as the price I paid suggested. I have kept regular oil changes and tune ups. I did have to put in a new transmission - like I said badly maintained rather than bad product. It has no resale value so I plan to drive it until it falls apart, which is what I do with most my vehicles anyway. Has some vibration in the front end at high speeds, but all older cars do. Only downside is finding a mechanic who will work on it, parts are still reasonable

Report Abuse

purchased used

sojona12, 03/21/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought this car used. It had a couple of dents in it, but nothing major. I thoughtit was reasonably priced . Now hopwever, in our state our inspections are stricter and this car being new as it is(2000) doesn't pass. With the company being now defunct, it is not easy obtaining parts for it as it would be with any other vehicle. I think this should be something for anyone thinking about purchasing one to think about. There are only so many places to get parts and no one to dealer to call to ask questions.

Report Abuse

a good daewoo

rmart, 07/01/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

60,000 + miles and still going strong!!!!

Report Abuse

I Love My Daewoo !

roadtripsal, 08/16/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought my Nubira Wagon new 1/2001, it now has 74,000 miles and is a dream to drive. Drive 70 miles a day to work and it has never failed me. Any repairs were completed with minimal hassle, mostly the dealer's fault. Parts come from the Daewoo Parts Division in California Body in great shape, no rust, even in a snowy climate where road salt is hard on cars. I have made 6 trips to Georgia (1200 miles) and have always been comfortable. Sound system is terrific, all luxury extras were included in the price. Calamitous they no longer sell in US !!

Report Abuse

CDX Wagon 5 speed

DanL, 09/08/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Bought in Sep 2000 and now has 73000 on it. Main belt broke at 52000 killing the engine but was covered on warranty. Tires do not last as long as other cars. I get 27 in town and up to 35 highway. Nice handling and brakes. Has developed a vibration in front end at 70000, and is on its 3rd battery. Power mirros quit early on. No resale so I'll keep it another year.

Report Abuse

Not the worst car I ever bought

darryl daewoo, 11/24/2004
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Even though many people are down on these cars I have to say I have had little to know problems with this car. Of course finding parts and someone who knows the car hasn't been easy. The people at Daewoo have been very good about finding the right people to work on the car. So I have been lucky. I think the motor and transmission in the car are outstanding. Just a shame what GM did to all of us poor folks stuck with a Daewoo.

Report Abuse

so far great car

marcy, 03/16/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I bought my daewoo at 23000 miles, so far it has been a great little car. Cup holders are not big enough, but other then that i have no regrets buying this classy looking car.

Report Abuse

Daewoo Dilemma

xoloitzquintle, 12/05/2005
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I purchased a Daewoo after driving one as a rental in Europe. It is a great car: reliable, well-performing, and well designed. The only problem is that Daewoo left the US market after bankruptcy making service at times difficult. Fortunately I have had no problems with the car and needs little service. I have driven the car cross-country three times. It has a comfortable ride and performs well under all conditions.

Report Abuse

I Love My Nubira

Susan, 04/05/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Last year I purchased a used Daewoo Nubira 2000 SE with 72,000 miles on it. It has been a great car! The only negative thing I've noticed is that the gas mileage is not as good as I expected. After having it over a year I'm very happy with it!

Report Abuse

Great car for the Money

Charlie, 09/17/2006
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have had this car for 3 years: No big problems.

Report Abuse

ALOT OF BANG FOR THE BUCK!

BIG T, 04/04/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

WE HAVE HAD THIS CAR FOR THREE YEARS AND HAD NO MAJOR PROBLEMS. SOME INTERIOR PARTS LIKE DOOR HANDLES HAVE HAD PEALING CROME AND DRIVER SIDE SUN VISOR HAD TO BE REPLACED BECAUSE IT WOULD'NT STAY IN THE UPRIGHT POSSION. OVER ALL I CAN'T BELEAVE THIS COMPANY WENT BANKRUPT, AND THAT GM DIDN'T STEP UP AND TAKE CARE OF THE U.S. CAR MARKET OWNERS. THIS HAS LEFT A BAD TASTE INMY MOUTH AND I WOULD NEVER BUY A GENERAL MOTORS

Report Abuse

The Woo

Iceberg, 05/29/2003
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love my Daewoo. I just wish that there were more dealerships. I would feel more comfortable about going on long trips. But my Woo is an excellent road trip car.

Report Abuse

dont buy this car

rebecca, 10/13/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i have this vehicle and let me tell you this, thus far there have been too many problems to list. the body and tires are NOT RELIABLE at all many problems

Report Abuse

Daewoo CDX 2000

Jimm9394, 03/28/2002
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have about 24000 miles and the car runs perfect and I have had no problems except the wheels look a little ragged. I had a cracked windshield and the dealership said it was a stress fracture and replaced it for free. It has almost everything I want in a car. A great car so far.

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050