Used 2004 Chevrolet Tracker SUV Consumer Reviews

List Price Estimate
$3,898 - $7,617

Used Tracker for Sale
None for sale nearby. Instead:
See all for sale

Trending topics in reviews

Pros
Cons

a great compact suv

steve 18903, 09/19/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
10 of 10 people found this review helpful

This compact suv is the total package, it has power to pull a popup camper and the guts to go mudding. I love it

Report Abuse

I have loved 2 trackers!

Kkfairy, 08/21/2004
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
9 of 9 people found this review helpful

This is my second Tracker and they have both been wonderful - not even a lightbulb went out on my 2001 in three years of ownership! - I find it dependable, fun to drive and just what I was looking for - all for a very reasonable price. The back seat could use a bit more room, but then, I don't sit back there, so I don't really care!

Report Abuse

chevy traker 2002

FFHS74, 11/09/2003
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 7 people found this review helpful

I just love the car and would buy another one. It is very comfy and it is nice looking...I get compliments on how nice the car looks all the time. I goes great in the snow and ice and I have not had any problems with it during bad weather.

Report Abuse

More than you think!

Emily, 06/15/2016
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
11 of 12 people found this review helpful

First off this car or at least mine has a tank size of about 13 or 14, not 16 and gets 26 mpg on the highway you can freeway drive about 4.5 hours w/o gasing up. It doesn't do steep hills at freeway speeds well (rpm goes through the roof) but most other cars cant or don't either. It's a great little car with good visablity and handles a canoe on top like a pro.

Safety
Performance
Interior
Comfort
Report Abuse

tracker options that could be added

sarahjd8, 06/26/2004
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
7 of 8 people found this review helpful

it doesn't have enought power when going up a small hill it kicks back asn forth into gear. It needs a bigger transmission and motor.

Report Abuse

2004 Tracker ZR2

merit110, 11/29/2003
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

Greatly UNDER rated. A lot of REAL SUV for the price.

Report Abuse

More for the money

Tom, 01/23/2005
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I bought the Tracker after I had wrecked my Blazer. I did so out of economical reasons and wound up being pleasantly surprised. It has more strength in the V6 engine and pretty good mileage. It handled better than my old Blazer in the poor weather and it is handling its first winter like a champ! The only problem is that it is just a tad too small for rear adult passengers and cargo. However, for a single person who wants more versatility out of their vehicle, the Tracker is the smart way to go.

Report Abuse

2004 tracker is a great little SUV

shming007, 06/25/2006
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

The Chevy Tracker ZR2 is the best vehicle I have ever had. I have never slipped a tire in the snow and ice even when other vehicles around me are slidding everywhere. When I put my foot on the accelerator I can get out of any situation.

Report Abuse

2004 Wildfire Red 4WD

Roger Engelken, 02/24/2007
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I purchased the car for the 4WD given the harsh December and January we had here in Northern Colorado. It has worked admirably in the snow, and now is a joy to drive on once again dry roads. I've had no issues with it, and getting replacement parts thus far has been very easy to do. After five coats of wax it has a good new shine once again. No missing the wildfire red color.

Report Abuse

Great SUV

Deena, 10/29/2007
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 4 people found this review helpful

I love my Tracker. I had been without a car for a couple years and got a job that required me to have a car. I looked at 2 cars. The Tracker was the only one I test drove and I loved it the second I got in it. It's great on road trips and I can get everything I need into it. The cargo space could be just a tad longer but it works for me.

Report Abuse

Tracker Opinion

Paul, 04/01/2007
Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Not a bad vehicle. It has plenty of power to pull my 3000lb sail boat. Its pretty light so mileage is good but, it also means that it get blown around when its windy. Leg room for the back seats is lacking for normal sized humans. The seats fold down well so there is a lot of cargo capacity. The major negative for this vehicle is the interior. The interior is cheap plastic, and the seats are uncomfortable for any duration. The lack of sound insulation is another big issue. The interior road noise for this car is very loud. On the positive, the engine is over-sized. And handling is very stable, with little body roll. It actually handles better than my previous car, a Pontiac Grand Am.

Report Abuse

Nice little SUV

mrwilson99, 04/10/2011
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
8 of 10 people found this review helpful

I really enjoy driving this SUV. It's small and should be better on gas since it's lighter than most SUVs. Having less leg room is a challenge but overall, a nice ride.

Report Abuse

what a hoot

rockhopper, 02/21/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

I'm sick of professional reviewers knocking the Tracker. The ZR2 is a GREAT vehicle. With its good ground clearance, low-range transfer case, skid plates, and tight turning radius, the ZR2 is fully off-road capable. It's also nimble and zippy around town and on the highway. Body lean is very slight for its high ground clearance and high profile (love that head room and great visibility!), and the ride is taut and firm. Noise levels are fine. The V-6 offers plenty of power, and gas mileage is decent (aboout 22 mpg). The Tracker is built well and is very reliable.

Report Abuse

Small, but all small vehicles are fun

blazinghotts88, 07/21/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

My family just got this vehicle about a year or so ago and we got it used. We never had a problem with it. This is a great starter vehicle for a teenager like me. My dad is handing me down this vehicle and I think it is just perfect for me and I enjoy driving it.

Report Abuse

Great little car

John M Dunlap, 10/30/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have not owned the car for long but so far it is doing a great job. We live deep in the woods over rough gravel roads and it has a fine ride and handles the mud well. Just got thru taking the car on a 1900 mile trip. Rode very well and on the return trip drove 815 miles on day and wasn't beat. Very surprised at the build quality and overall performance

Report Abuse

2004 LT Tracker

RW, 03/28/2007
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
2 of 2 people found this review helpful

Have 28,000 miles on my '04 LT Tracker. I get 22 mpg city, and 24 mpg highway at 70 mph. The interior layout is very dated but functional. It's that 70's retro look. Front seating is a bit cramped and rear seating is really just for kids.

Report Abuse

The best lil' 4x4 on the market \O/

tokie, 01/03/2014
4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
4 of 7 people found this review helpful

We found our 2004 Chevrolet Tracker 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4 speed O/D auto.) in a little car lot in Ocala Florida on : 12-30-'13. I test drove it and was amazed with the overall performance for a small SUV with the 2.5 ltr. V6. It had a 1/4 tank of gas in it previous to the test drive, and I used an 1/16th in my "test session(s) which included a sand hill and 2-High, 4-High and 4-Low. I"tested it"for an hour,mashing the go-peddle every chance I could,windows down,ears-perked for any hint of stress of strain,and ...well...I took it back and never bothered to try and talk the dealer down a dollar. 59K miles and runs like it's brand new. $9,100 later and I'm completely happy.

Report Abuse

chevy tracker roller

patti houston, 11/13/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
3 of 5 people found this review helpful

i did not enjoy the chevy tracker i purchased . the gas mileage was not good and the brakes sucked on gravel roads . needless to say the day i rolled my tracker in to a ditch , it was totaled . the trackers are way too light in the rear end , especially on gravel roads .

Report Abuse

Big guy in little Tracker

edinjerzey, 12/03/2003
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I purchased my 2001 "new" tracker back in feb of 02. I use this vehicle traveling to and from work only. The engine (V6) has a great punch off the line along with a good passing gear as well with plenty of pedal left. The tracker handles curves and cornering well too. I drive mostly city traffic and get decent gas milage, the 4wd is great and makes driving a peice of cake even in over a foot of snow. I have no regrets with my Tracker, it's perfect for what I use and need it for. Go ahead test drive one. Zoom around for yourself. Ed

Report Abuse

Great Deal

Dan, 09/28/2005
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Purchased this vehicle in March of 2005 as new with full warrenty. Dealer sold for $14,000 with sticker of $23,000. Unfortunately we had to accept it with only the std options that it came with. After 10,000 miles no problems. Can't wait to try out the 4x4 in Michigan winters.

Report Abuse

Chers toy

cherbear, 04/18/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

I love my Tracker! Its fun to drive and the 4x4 is great in the New York snow.Its design makes seeing everything easy.The Tracker is also very reasonably priced.I'm very happy with my Tracker!

Report Abuse

My Second Tracker

ultrapilot, 07/26/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Just Picked Up My New Tracker LT to Replace my 1999 4x4 4 door Tracker. Great New Engine and I Love having cruise control now

Report Abuse

I like my 2004 Yellow Tracker

jerry s, 07/05/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 2 people found this review helpful

No review intended I just wanted to rate the tracker. I guess My review would be wonderful the best car I ever had.

Report Abuse

MY REVIEW

JA32905, 10/05/2003
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

GREAT LITTLE SUV. ALL I ANTICIPATED, AND MORE. CHECKED OUT ALL OTHER COMP VEHICLES, AND CHOSE THE TRACKER. WITH LEATHER INTERIOR, IT HAS A VERY PLUSH FEEL. THE QUICK LITTLE SIX BANGER HAS MORE THAN ENOUGH PUNCH TO MAKE ME HAPPY. I DONT KNOW WHO DOES YOUR EVALUATIONS, BUT I SUSPECT HE HAD A BAD NIGHT BEFORE THE TESTS. STORAGE IS MORE THAN NECESSARY WITH A LOAD OF GROCERIES AND THE GRAND KIDS. FIT AND FINISH ARE EXCELENT.

Report Abuse

My opinion of 2004 Tracker

James Luther, 12/06/2003
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

While the 2004 Tracker may be small, to me the design and performance of this vehicle ranks very high. The fact that Chevrolet now makes this vehicle is why I purchased this vehicle for my wife and daughter.

Report Abuse

Mike's tracker LS

mrdiligence, 12/17/2003
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

well worth the price , V6 outstanding.

Report Abuse

Get One

talkitup, 02/03/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

The power of this vehicle is well designed for its size. Fun vehicle to drive even in the snow. The 4WD works very well.

Report Abuse

Almost Perfect

nonebad, 02/16/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

It's great off-road, it tows my utility trailer loaded with firewood, it has ample room with the rear seats folded down, and it NEVER breaks. It's even comfortable on long trips.

Report Abuse

I'm driving a cloud!!

Teresa :), 02/23/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I absolutely LOVE my White Chevy Tracker!!! It drives like a dream, and I'm VERY comfortable in my sweet leather seats!! It was truely love at first sight!! Needless to say, the 0.0% financing (the entire 60 months) and the $1,500. cash back rebate was a blessing!! KUDOS TO CHEVROLET for making my dreams come true!!!

Report Abuse

Traded in Jeep G.Cherokee for Chevy

v68j90j98, 02/27/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

So far so good. Everything is in working order and there is less road noise and roll than the Cherokee. I am much happier now that we went back to Chevy.

Report Abuse

n/a

carriebe, 03/12/2004
Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

My Tracker handles well, has much more room inside then it appears, is comfortable to drive. I believe it gives a "sporty" feel. I am completely satisfied with my vehicle.

Report Abuse

City SUV

ericbythebay, 03/25/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I live in the City by the Bay and gota tell ya this little SUV climbs those hills and is a snap to park! Very comfortable ride for small truck like vehicle. Full of options for the price! and when it snows in SF (chuckle chuckle) I will have 4 wheel drive! Fun vehicle and great little grocery getter...Not a huge SUV vehicle, but rugged...

Report Abuse

Engine Problems

Haji, 03/25/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

After driving sedans exclusively for the past 15 years, this was an enjoyable aquisition. We were looking for a second car and decided to try a Mini SUV - fits the profile well. Only issue was an Engine problem where by the only way to start the tracker was to pump the gas and then it would be rough running for the first minute. Turned out to be a temp sensor as part of the injector system. Had it fixed and worked fine since but the problem has come back at least twice since. I bumped into one person with another 2004 Tracker ZR2 and surprise they are having the same problem... GM please fix it.

Report Abuse

happy

Big Nasty, 04/10/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like this vehicle

Report Abuse

TRACKER

MELISSA LEDONNE, 05/08/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I HAVE HAD THE CAR SINCE MARCH AND IT IS A GREAT VECHILE. IT IS GREAT ON GAS MILEAGE. THE ONLY COMPLAINT IS THE INTERIOR IS NOT AS PLUSH AS SOME OTHERS

Report Abuse

great

MARKlee, 05/13/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

i love it it drive great and its strong

Report Abuse

chevrolet tracker opinion

demetria hammonds, 05/23/2004
Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I like my chevrolet tracker,i'ts a good price,good on gas mileage,fun to drive

Report Abuse

Fun Fun Fun

Charlotte, 06/24/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is the perfect vehicle to zip around town. Not being a big person and not having any young children makes the size a practical fit. True, it is not anything fancy on the inside but, it does have all the features one needs. I drove this vehicle when I was on travel and loved it so much I had to buy one. I would recommend to a person who loves SUVs but does not need or care about all the extras. This is a fun vehicle...

Report Abuse

my tracker

carole lentz, 07/10/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I love this car.I have never enjoyed any car as much as this one.I would reccomend it to everyone.

Report Abuse

fun little car

tr5t1, 08/07/2004
Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is my first SUV. I love to drive it and feel safe getting to where I need to go. I feel fancy without the fancy sticker price. It is the right size and power for a single mom on the go.

Report Abuse

big bang for the bucks

singleshot, 08/09/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I came from the grand jeep limited by way of a honda crv to my tracker and am very happy i did. i get a solid 24 mpg on the highway and 19 around town (i check numbers on every tank). it rides and handles very well but has an intermitant rattle that deives me nuts. lots of after market parts to set it up.

Report Abuse

Great Truck for the Budget!!

Hooch, 08/22/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have really enjoyed this truck. Its made in the same factory and same everfything as the Nissan RAV4 only sold cheaper. Nissan engine will last FOREVER!

Report Abuse

I have 3 Tracker;

salvatore, 09/07/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have 4 tracker a 1998 , a 2000 and a2001 and a 2001 I like them and would like ot get a new one in 2005

Report Abuse

Tracker # 2 Fantastic Vehicle

ultrapilot, 09/15/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

This is My second Tracker I traded my 1999 4 cyl automatic for a 2004 ZR2 fully loaded, The armrests,cruise control & V6 were needed upgrades Great Vehicle I take it everywhere. Good gas mileage for an SUV. sorry to see that GM is discontinuing the tracker Guess My nest vehicle will be a Suzuki grand vitara (same vehicle without the Bowtie)

Report Abuse

family fun

Jeff Porter, 09/18/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I have a family of four and we love the Tracker . The overdrive button and passing power button the fuel consumption is awsome for an suv .My family enjoys the music sound and the extra power ports for tv , computer ,games ,ect. Going from a Grand am we are very happy

Report Abuse

Good Suv

KellyLewd, 10/01/2004
ZR2 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

Does good. Runs well and no problems yet. A little bumpy ride but not too bad. vey small and compact suv yet more room than a car!!

Report Abuse

i'm happy

paulz34, 10/03/2004
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

this is my second tracker the first is a 95 with 130k and still runs well the second replaced my trans-am it's not as flashy but, it is certainly more reliable than my 97 t/a. so far th e nly trouble has been a rattle int he pass. seat that the dealer fixed the first time.

Report Abuse

The Tracker

Cotton, 10/09/2004
LT Rwd 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

To Small cargo area, rear seats do not fold down all the way feels cramoed in front seats, not really made for tall persons.

Report Abuse

Nimble and no-fuss

firesweet, 02/01/2020
LT 4WD 4dr SUV (2.5L 6cyl 4A)
0 of 0 people found this review helpful

I am the original owner of my ‘04 Chevy Tracker 4x4. In 16 years I have had 0 (ZERO!) problems. When living up north it climbed mountains in the snow and never left me stranded. Now I live in the south and keep thinking if it starts having issues I will trade it in but it still goes strong, looks great, and costs me no money to keep. I have always loved it’s nimbleness and size. It can turn a circle on a dime and maneuvers into the tiniest parking spots with ease. Negatives include back seat space- limited. But seats fold flat- perfect for the dogs, they don’t care about legroom. Another word of caution- the oil filter is awkward to reach so ensuring a tight seal can be tough. My Tracker almost met its demise when I had to have an oil-change shop do the job when on an extended trip. They pulled it out with oil pouring out because someone did not tighten the filter and luckily I noticed before driving away. I’m sure many Trackers have suffered premature death from this issue. If you want luxurious and fancy look elsewhere. But if you want fun to drive simplicity and reliability - find a Tracker before they are extinct!

Report Abuse
Items per page:
51050